DETAILED ACTION
**This communication is in response to the election of claims 1-16 without traverse. Claims 17-20 are hereby withdrawn**
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. “Li” US 2021/0314807.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for wireless communication, applicable to a first core network device (UPF 430 of Figure 4), the method comprising:
determining information of a reference data set for a target data set, wherein the target data set comprises at least one first data packet (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface (i.e. first data packet). The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session (i.e. reference data) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule. The data is media data (target data); Paragraph 66 and figure 4);
acquiring at least one second data packet by adding the information of the reference data set to a packet header other than an Internet Protocol (IP) packet header of the at least one first data packet (the UPF adds a timestamp to the data in the protocol header of the GTP-U tunnel. The GTP-U protocol header is different than the IP header and this causes a second packet to be acquired as claimed. The timestamp is associated with the received media data/flow of the PDU session thus information corresponding to the reference data; Paragraph 66 and Figure 4 step 402); and
transmitting the at least one second data packet to an access network device (The UPF forwards the data in step 403 of Figure 3 to the NG-RAN (i.e. access network device); Paragraph 66).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches receiving a first indication from a second core network device and the determining is based on the first indication (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface from the DN 450 (i.e. second core network device). The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session (i.e. reference data with indication) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the acquiring is done by adding the information of the reference data set to a GPRS GTP of the first packet (the UPF adds a timestamp to the data in the protocol header of the GTP-U tunnel; Paragraph 66 and Figure 4 step 402. Paragraphs 27 and 35 teaches the GTP-U is GRPS tunneling).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the information includes an identifier of the reference data set or association information between the reference data set and the target data set (The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session that was received (i.e. reference data) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule. The data is media data (target data); Paragraph 66 and figure 4. Thus one can see there is an association between reference and target data sets as well as an identifier of the reference data since the UPF knows the type of information. Broadly speaking, if data is received and reference data is identified (as taught by Li) then there is some sort of identification associated with the data received).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the first core network device is a UPF (430 of Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the first data packet includes a data packet on an N6 interface (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a core network device (UPF 430 of Figure 4), the core network device comprising:
A processor and memory with instructions (Figure 2 and paragraph 41 disclose the network devices include a processor and memory and the ability to utilize stored program instructions (Paragraph 43)) causing the core network device to:
determine information of a reference data set for a target data set, wherein the target data set comprises at least one first data packet (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface (i.e. first data packet). The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session (i.e. reference data) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule. The data is media data (target data); Paragraph 66 and figure 4);
acquire at least one second data packet by adding the information of the reference data set to a packet header other than an Internet Protocol (IP) packet header of the at least one first data packet (the UPF adds a timestamp to the data in the protocol header of the GTP-U tunnel. The GTP-U protocol header is different than the IP header and this causes a second packet to be acquired as claimed. The timestamp is associated with the received media data/flow of the PDU session thus information corresponding to the reference data; Paragraph 66 and Figure 4 step 402); and
transmit the at least one second data packet to an access network device (The UPF forwards the data in step 403 of Figure 3 to the NG-RAN (i.e. access network device); Paragraph 66).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches receiving a first indication from a second core network device and the determining is based on the first indication (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface from the DN 450 (i.e. second core network device). The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session (i.e. reference data with indication) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule.
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the acquiring is done by adding the information of the reference data set to a GPRS GTP of the first packet (the UPF adds a timestamp to the data in the protocol header of the GTP-U tunnel; Paragraph 66 and Figure 4 step 402. Paragraphs 27 and 35 teaches the GTP-U is GRPS tunneling).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the information includes an identifier of the reference data set or association information between the reference data set and the target data set (The UPF finds the QoS Flow in the PDU session that was received (i.e. reference data) corresponding to the DL data according to a filtering rule. The data is media data (target data); Paragraph 66 and figure 4. Thus one can see there is an association between reference and target data sets as well as an identifier of the reference data since the UPF knows the type of information. Broadly speaking, if data is received and reference data is identified (as taught by Li) then there is some sort of identification associated with the data received).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the first core network device is a UPF (430 of Figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the first data packet includes a data packet on an N6 interface (at step 401, the UPF receives data via the N6 interface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 2011/0158166.
Regarding claim 4, Li does not teach application layer packet header information being RTP; however, Lee teaches nodes adding GTP headers to packets for routing purposes. Further, Lee teaches the GTP header can include RTP header information; Paragraph 47.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include RTP headers as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that packets can be properly routed with various header information as taught by Lee; Paragraph 47.
Regarding claim 12, Li does not teach application layer packet header information being RTP; however, Lee teaches nodes adding GTP headers to packets for routing purposes. Further, Lee teaches the GTP header can include RTP header information; Paragraph 47.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include RTP headers as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that packets can be properly routed with various header information as taught by Lee; Paragraph 47.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Gundavelli et al. “Gundavelli” US 2023/0092940.
Regarding claim 6, while Li teaches media data, Li does not expressly teach the target data is video frames or coded slices; however, Gundavelli teaches a network which utilizes UPF along with GPRS GTP-U extension headers for data packets of one or more QoS flows; Paragraph 58. The flows can include video flows (i.e. claimed video frames); Paragraph 6.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include video frames as taught by Gundavelli.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that audio and video packets can be properly routed through a network and ensure the resources are proper for the given type of data such as audio and video as taught by Gundavelli; Paragraph 61.
Regarding claim 14, while Li teaches media data, Li does not expressly teach the target data is video frames or coded slices; however, Gundavelli teaches a network which utilizes UPF along with GPRS GTP-U extension headers for data packets of one or more QoS flows; Paragraph 58. The flows can include video flows (i.e. claimed video frames); Paragraph 6.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include video frames as taught by Gundavelli.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that audio and video packets can be properly routed through a network and ensure the resources are proper for the given type of data such as audio and video as taught by Gundavelli; Paragraph 61.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411