DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4, “configured to” should be amended to –configured to:--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (JP 2004146113 A) in view of Choi (US 20220281341 A1) in further view of Lomax (US 20170102110 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kurihara discloses a hydrogen filling control method, comprising:
acquiring first hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure (Paragraph [0052], the pressure of the tank is obtained by the control unit (18) and transmitted) of a first hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) provided in a first vehicle (10A, Figure 1);
acquiring third hydrogen tank data including internal pressure (Paragraph [0053], the pressure of the third hydrogen tank is obtained by the control unit of the second vehicle and transmitted) of a third hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) provided in a second vehicle (10B, Figure 1) different from the first vehicle (10A, Figure 1); and
the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, the first hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle (Paragraph [0053] and [0055], the control unit in the first vehicle controls the flow of the hydrogen between vehicles).
Kurihara does not disclose:
acquiring first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank; and
determining a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data acquired by the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle.
Choi teaches a charging system for a vehicle, comprising:
acquiring first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle (Paragraph [0033] and Figure 1, the pressure sensor measures the pressure within the multiple tanks and transmits the information to a controller).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara to include acquiring first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle as taught by Choi with the motivation to refuel the vehicle when there are insufficient hydrogen station structures.
Kurihara and Choi do not teach:
the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank; and
determining a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data acquired by the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle.
Lomax teaches a system for refueling hydrogen vehicles, comprising:
the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank (Paragraph [0042] and Figure 2, the second hydrogen tank (22) can have a different pressure than the first hydrogen tank (21)); and
determining a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data acquired by the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data (Paragraph [0049] and [0053], the hydrogen tank combination is based on the pressures obtained from the pressure sensors measuring the pressure in the first, second, and third tanks),
the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle (Paragraph [0050] and [0053], the hydrogen tank combination is dependent on the pressure in the third tank (1) and the pressure of the first and second tanks where the lowest pressure tank fills the third tank).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara and Choi to include the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank and determining a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data acquired by the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle as taught by Lomax with the motivation to fill the vehicle using a cascade method to accommodate changing pressures in the sources.
Regarding Claim 3:
Kurihara discloses:
the acquiring first hydrogen tank data (Paragraph [0052]) and the acquiring third hydrogen tank data (Paragraph [0053]) are performed by the inter-vehicle communication (Paragraph [0059], the communication cable allows for inter-vehicle communication to share internal pressure information) between the first vehicle (10A, Figure 1) and second vehicle (10B, Figure 1).
Kurihara does not disclose:
the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data are performed by inter-vehicle communication between the first vehicle and the second vehicle.
Choi teaches:
the first vehicle (1, Figure 1) comprises a first hydrogen tank and a second hydrogen tank (Figure 1, the first vehicle has multiple tanks) that has first and second hydrogen tank data acquired (Paragraph [0030]).
Kurihara and Choi do not teach:
the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data, and the acquiring of the third hydrogen tank data are performed by inter-vehicle communication between the first vehicle and the second vehicle.
Lomax teaches:
the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data (Paragraph [0049] and [0053], the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data are obtained from the pressure sensors).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara and Choi to include the acquiring of the first hydrogen tank data and the second hydrogen tank data as taught by Lomax with the motivation to arrange the pressures of the tanks in the control system based on pressure to dispense the hydrogen gas easier based on the organization.
Through the combination, the first vehicle of Kurihara can have multiple tanks as seen in Choi where the first and second hydrogen tank data would be obtained as seen in Lomax in which the first and second hydrogen tank data in the first vehicle would be communicated with the second vehicle as disclosed in Kurihara.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara in view of Choi in further view of Lomax and Maehara (US 20220161183 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Kurihara discloses:
the first hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) provided in the first vehicle (10A, Figure 1).
Kurihara does not disclose:
the first vehicle is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank.
Choi teaches:
the first vehicle (1, Figure 1) comprises a first hydrogen tank and a second hydrogen tank (Figure 1, the first vehicle has multiple tanks).
Kurihara and Choi do not teach:
the first vehicle is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank.
Lomax teaches:
the dispenser is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank (21, Figure 2) and the second hydrogen tank (22, Figure 2), by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank (Paragraphs [0049-0050], the pressure is measured in the first and second hydrogen tanks where the lowest detected pressure tank takes priority).
Kurihara, Lomax, and Choi do not teach:
the first vehicle is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank.
Maehara teaches a hydrogen gas supply method, comprising:
the supply system is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank (10, Figure 1) and the second hydrogen tank (12, Figure 1), by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank (Paragraphs [0054] and [0085], the supply system generates a difference in pressure by using the first hydrogen tank which takes priority depending on the pressure of the third tank (202) as the first hydrogen tank has the lowest pressure).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara, Lomax, and Choi to include the supply system is configured to generate a difference in the internal pressure between the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank, by giving priority to using hydrogen stored in the first hydrogen tank or using hydrogen stored in the second hydrogen tank as taught by Maehara with the motivation to rapidly fill the vehicle tank to reduce the amount of time the user of the vehicle has to wait during the filling process.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (JP 2004146113 A) in view of Choi (US 20220281341 A1) in further view of Lomax (US 20170102110 A1) and Saiki (US 20100276031 A1).
Regarding Claim 4:
Kurihara discloses a hydrogen filling system (Figure 1, the two vehicles (10A and 10B) are the hydrogen filling system), comprising:
acquire first hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle(Paragraph [0052], the pressure of the tank is obtained by the control unit (18) and transmitted) of a first hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) provided in a first vehicle (10A, Figure 1);
acquire third hydrogen tank data including internal pressure (Paragraph [0053], the pressure of the third hydrogen tank is obtained by the control unit of the second vehicle and transmitted) of a third hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) provided in a second vehicle (10B, Figure 1) different from the first vehicle (10A, Figure 1); and
determine a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data and the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating the first hydrogen tank and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle (Paragraph [0053] and [0055], the control unit in the first vehicle controls the flow of the hydrogen between vehicles).
Kurihara does not disclose:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
acquire first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank; and
determine a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle.
Choi teaches a charging system for a vehicle, comprising:
acquire first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle (Paragraph [0033] and Figure 1, the pressure sensor measures the pressure within the multiple tanks and transmits the information to a controller).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara to include acquire first hydrogen tank data and second hydrogen tank data, the first hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a first hydrogen tank provided in a first vehicle, the second hydrogen tank data including internal pressure of a second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle as taught by Choi with the motivation to refuel the vehicle when there are insufficient hydrogen station structures.
Kurihara and Choi do not teach:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank; and
determine a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided in the first vehicle, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle.
Lomax teaches a system for refueling hydrogen vehicles, comprising:
the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank(Paragraph [0042] and Figure 2, the second hydrogen tank (22) can have a different pressure than the first hydrogen tank (21)); and
determine a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data (Paragraph [0049] and [0053], the hydrogen tank combination is based on the pressures obtained from the pressure sensors measuring the pressure in the first, second, and third tanks),
the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle (Paragraph [0050] and [0053], the hydrogen tank combination is dependent on the pressure in the third tank (1) and the pressure of the first and second tanks where the lowest pressure tank fills the third tank).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara and Choi to include the internal pressure of the second hydrogen tank being different from the internal pressure of the first hydrogen tank and determine a hydrogen tank combination based on the first hydrogen tank data, the second hydrogen tank data, and the third hydrogen tank data, the hydrogen tank combination indicating which hydrogen tanks to be involved in hydrogen filling, out of the first hydrogen tank and the second hydrogen tank provided, and the third hydrogen tank provided in the second vehicle as taught by Lomax with the motivation to fill the vehicle using a cascade method to accommodate changing pressures in the sources.
Kurihara, Lomax, and Choi do not teach:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors.
Saiki teaches a fluid charging system, comprising:
one or more processors (31, Figure 1, the processing unit is the processor); and
one or more memories (34, Figure 1, the storage unit is the memory) coupled to the one or more processors (31, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara, Lomax, and Choi to include one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors as taught by Saiki with the motivation to have the vehicle retain a charging profiled to provide to a station in order to properly fuel the vehicle.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara (JP 2004146113 A) in view of Choi (US 20220281341 A1) in further view of Saiki (US 20100276031 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Kurihara discloses a vehicle controller (18, Figure 1), comprising:
an amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer configured to generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas (Paragraph [0020], the pressure sensor (amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer) detects the pressure of the hydrogen tank (amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data)) stored in a hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) of a vehicle (10B, Figure 1); and
a hydrogen filling controller (18, Figure 1) configured to make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle (Paragraph [0053], the control unit (18) of the vehicle controls the filling of hydrogen to the vehicle); and
inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed (Paragraph [0053]).
Kurihara does not disclose:
an amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer configured to generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle;
wherein
the hydrogen filling controller is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed, and
the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer.
Choi teaches a charging system for a vehicle, comprising:
the hydrogen filling controller (200, Figure 1) is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed (Paragraph [0067]), and
the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer (Paragraphs [0033] and [0061-0062], the tank pair data includes the amount of amount of filling (distance needed to travel) based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data (pressure detected) generated by the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer (the pressure sensor and temperature sensor)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara to include the hydrogen filling controller is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed, and the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer as taught by Choi with the motivation to refuel the vehicle when there are insufficient hydrogen station structures.
Kurihara and Choi do not expressly teach:
an amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer configured to generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle.
Saiki teaches a fluid charging system, comprising:
an amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer (29, Figure 1, the pressure sensor is the amount-of-remaining hydrogen measurer) configured to generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored (Paragraph [0020], the pressure of the vehicle tank is the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data) in a hydrogen tank (19, Figure 1) of a vehicle (3, Figure 1); and
a hydrogen filling controller (21, Figure 1) configured to make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0021] and [0046], the charging profile is the hydrogen filling control that is created for the vehicle and stored).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara and Choi to include an amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer configured to generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle and a hydrogen filling controller configured to make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle as taught by Saiki with the motivation to fuel the vehicle with hydrogen according to hydrogen tank to reduce pressure increase during fueling while reducing the amount of time for fueling.
Regarding Claim 6:
Kurihara discloses a vehicle controller (18, Figure 1), comprising:
generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data (Paragraph [0020], the pressure sensor (amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer) detects and sends the pressure of the hydrogen tank (amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data)) regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank (11, Figure 1) of a vehicle (10B, Figure 1);
make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle (Paragraph [0053], the control unit (18) of the vehicle controls the filling of hydrogen to the vehicle); and
inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed (Paragraph [0053]).
Kurihara does not disclose:
A vehicle controller comprising circuitry;
generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle; and
make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle, wherein
the circuitry is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed, and
the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the circuitry.
Choi teaches a charging system for a vehicle, comprising:
the hydrogen filling controller (200, Figure 1) comprising circuitry (Paragraph [0045]), wherein
the circuitry is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed (Paragraph [0067], the supply steps are the hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank (3’) of the vehicle (2)), and
the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the circuitry (Paragraphs [0033] and [0061-0062], the tank pair data includes the amount of amount of filling (distance needed to travel) based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data (pressure detected) generated by the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen measurer (the pressure sensor and temperature sensor)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara to include the hydrogen filling controller comprising circuitry, the circuitry is configured to make the hydrogen filling control based on tank pair data, the tank pair data including an amount of filling or filling time when inter-vehicle hydrogen filling is performed, and the tank pair data is generated based on the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data generated by the circuitry as taught by Choi with the motivation to refuel the vehicle when there are insufficient hydrogen station structures.
Kurihara and Choi do not expressly teach:
A vehicle controller comprising circuitry;
generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle; and
make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle.
Saiki teaches a fluid charging system, comprising:
A vehicle controller (21, Figure 1) comprising circuitry (31 and 34, Figure 1, the processing unit and storage unit are the circuitry);
generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle (Paragraph [0020], the pressure of the vehicle tank is the amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data in a hydrogen tank (19) of a vehicle (3)); and
make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0021] and [0046], the charging profile is the hydrogen filling control that is created for the vehicle and stored).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurihara and Choi to include a vehicle controller comprising circuitry, generate amount-of-remaining-hydrogen-gas data regarding a hydrogen gas stored in a hydrogen tank of a vehicle, and make a hydrogen filling control of the hydrogen tank of the vehicle as taught by Saiki with the motivation to fuel the vehicle with hydrogen according to hydrogen tank to reduce pressure increase during fueling while reducing the amount of time for fueling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feng (US 11519556 B2) teaches a gaseous hydrogen storage system comprising cascade filling and hydrogen tank data.
Okuno (US 10533708 B2) teaches a gas supply system comprising first hydrogen tank data, second hydrogen tank data, and cascade filling.
Borck (US 6779568 B2) teaches a gas distribution system comprising first hydrogen tank data, third hydrogen tank data, second hydrogen tank data, and cascade filling.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753