DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP § 606.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10-11, 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Irani et al., US 2019/0371317 A1, in view of Gross et al., US 2016/0360336 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Irani discloses a terminal device, comprising:
At least one memory; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are electrically coupled, the at least one memory stores program instructions, and at least one the processor is configured to invoke all or a part of the program instructions stored in the at least one memory. Irani fig. 2A.
Displaying a first page of a first application, wherein content of the first page comprises one or more components, and the one or more components comprise a first component. Irani teaches displaying an application screen (e.g., messaging application screen). Irani fig. 8X. The application screen may comprise a component (e.g., an avatar for MOM). Id.
Receiving an input first operation, wherein the first operation comprises at least one input operation; displaying a second page of the first application or a third page of a second application in response to the first operation. Irani teaches a menu button and a menu screen (i.e., home screen) that may be used to navigate to any application. Irani fig. 5A, ¶¶ 193, 198-221. Additionally, Irani teaches navigating to another screen of an application in response to an input operation. Id. ¶ 407, fig. 10Q.
Irani does not disclose, but Irani in combination with Gross renders obvious receiving an input second operation; displaying a fourth page in response to the second operation, wherein at least one component label is displayed on the fourth page, and the at least one component label comprises a first component label. Irani teaches displaying a search screen interface comprising suggested applications and suggestion affordances. Irani fig. 8O, ¶ 310. The suggested applications and suggestion affordances may comprise labels. Id. fig. 8O, ¶¶ 310-311. Irani does not explicitly disclose displaying the search screen interface in response to an input operation. However, Gross teaches displaying a search interface in response to detecting a gesture. Gross fig. 9A, ¶¶ 793-796.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Irani’s process of displaying a search screen interface with Gross’s process of displaying a search interface in response to detecting a gesture. Such a modification would yield the predictable result of allowing a user to directly and quickly display the search screen interface when desired.
Irani discloses when receiving a third operation performed on the first component label, and in response to the third operation, starting the first application, displaying the first page, and displaying the first component on the first page. Irani teaches receiving a selection of a suggestion affordance. Irani ¶¶ 313-314, fig. 8Q (touch gesture 896). In response, a corresponding application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) may be displayed. Id. ¶ 318, fig. 8X. The application screen may comprise a component (e.g., an avatar for MOM). Id. fig. 8X.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Irani discloses:
Wherein the first component is an insert-type component. Irani teaches the application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) may comprise a message composition field. Irani fig. 8X (message composition field 818A), ¶ 318.
When receiving a fourth operation performed on the first component label, and in response to the fourth operation, starting the first application, and displaying a first content page of the first component, wherein the third operation is different from the fourth operation. Irani teaches selection operations being one of two different types of input. Irani ¶ 313.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 3, Irani discloses wherein the third operation or the fourth operation is an operation of the following operations: a tap operation performed on the first component label; a touch and hold operation performed on the first component label; a rightward slide operation performed on the first component label; a leftward slide operation performed on the first component label; an upward slide operation performed on the first component label; or a downward slide operation performed on the first component label; and wherein the third operation is different from the fourth operation. Irani teaches a selection operation being, for example, a tap operation. Irani ¶ 313.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Irani discloses:
Wherein the first component is an insert-type component. Irani teaches the application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) may comprise a message composition field. Irani fig. 8X (message composition filed 818A), ¶ 318.
When receiving a fourth operation performed on the first component label, and in response to the fourth operation, starting a third application, and displaying a second content page of the first component, wherein the third operation is different from the fourth operation. Irani teaches selection operations being one of two different types of input. Irani ¶ 313. Irani teaches receiving a selection of a suggestion affordance. Id. ¶¶ 313-314, fig. 8Q (touch gesture 896). In response, a corresponding application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) may be displayed. Id. ¶¶ 317-318, fig. 8X. The application screen may comprise a component (e.g., an avatar for MOM). Id. fig. 8X.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 1, Irani discloses:
Wherein the fourth page further comprises a first control and a second control. Irani fig. 8N.
Displaying a sixth page when receiving a touch input performed on the first control, wherein the sixth page comprises at least one user identifier and the first component label; and when receiving the third operation performed on the first component label on the sixth page, and in response to the third operation, displaying the first page, and displaying the first component on the first page; or displaying a seventh page when receiving a touch input performed on the second control, wherein the seventh page comprises at least one device identifier and the first component label; and when receiving the third operation performed on the first component label on the seventh page, and in response to the third operation, displaying the first page, and displaying the first component on the first page. Irani teaches displaying a display confirmation interface in response to selection of a suggestion affordance. Irani ¶ 314, fig. 8R. The display confirmation interface provides a preview comprising display of a component (e.g., the text “MOM”) from the corresponding application screen (e.g., messaging application screen). Id.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 16, Irani discloses wherein the first component comprises: a component invoked by the first application; a component invoked by the first application during a latest running of the first application; a component invoked by the first application within a first preset duration; or a preset quantity of components with highest usage in components invoked by the first application within second preset duration. Irani teaches displaying an application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) comprising a component (e.g., an avatar for MOM, message composition field 818A, etc.). Irani fig. 8X
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 1, Irani discloses:
Wherein the at least one component label comprises at least two component labels. Irani fig. 8N.
An arrangement order of the two component labels is determined based on latest use time points or use frequencies of components indicated by the component labels. Irani taches ordering suggestion affordances. Irani ¶ 449. The suggestion affordances may be selected based on use time points and or use frequencies. Id. ¶¶ 453-454.
Regarding claim 20, which depends on claim 1, Irani discloses when receiving a seventh operation performed on the first component label, wherein the seventh operation is used to preview the first component on the first page, and in response to the seventh operation, displaying a component snapshot of the first component on the fourth page in an original size or a scaled-up size of the first component. Irani teaches displaying a display confirmation interface in the search screen interface in response to selection of a suggestion affordance. Irani ¶ 314, fig. 8R. The display confirmation interface provides a preview comprising an original size display of a component (e.g., the text “MOM”) from the corresponding application screen (e.g., messaging application screen). Id.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Irani et al., US 2019/0371317 A1, in view of Gross et al., US 2016/0360336 A1, further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Irani does not disclose, but Irani in combination with Official Notice renders obvious wherein displaying the first page of the first application, the content of the first page comprising the one or more components, and the one or more components comprising the first component, comprises: displaying a first part of the first page of the first application, wherein the first page further comprises a second part of the first page; and when detecting an input sliding gesture, displaying the second part of the first page, wherein the second part comprises the first component. Irani appears to show that the application screen (e.g., messaging application screen) may contain scrollable content. See Irani figs. 8X-8Z. Irani does not explicitly disclose that the content is scrollable in response to an input sliding gesture. However, Official Notice is taken of using a swiping gesture to scroll content.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Irani’s process of displaying scrollable content with Official Notice of scrolling content in response to a swipe gesture. Such a modification would yield the predictable result of allowing a user to directly and quickly display additional content when desired.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Irani et al., US 2019/0371317 A1, in view of Gross et al., US 2016/0360336 A1, further in view of Quian, US 2020/0233551 A1.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 1, Irani does not disclose, but Quian discloses wherein the fourth page is a recent tasks screen, and display content of the fourth page comprises an interface snapshot of the first application. Quian teaches displaying a user interface comprising a list of recent tasks and snapshots of applications. Quian figs. 9-10, ¶ 114, 138-139.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Irani’s process of displaying a search screen interface with Quian’s process of displaying a search interface comprising recent tasks and a snapshot of an application interface. Such a modification would increase functionality and usability by allowing a user to quickly recognize and easily access desired tasks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 12-14, and 19 contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 4-9, 12-14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Sun et al., US 2016/0188363 A1, discloses displaying a multi-task interface.
Karunamuni et al., US 2018/0335921 A1, discloses an application switching interface.
Blatz et al., US 2021/0349608 A1, discloses displaying ordered data items based on context.
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171