DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated December 19, 2025, claims 1 and 4-6 were amended, claims 2 and 3 were cancelled, and new claims 15 and 16 were presented.
The amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The amendments to the claims overcome the double patenting rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the art rejections over Luzzato have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 5, line 2: "an circumferential direction" should read "a circumferential direction".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2021/0122532 to Dreyer et al. (hereinafter, “Dreyer”).
Regarding claim 1, Dreyer discloses a cap (closure 10, Figs. 1-3) for a container (para. [0001]), comprising a lateral wall (annotated Fig. 3 below) extending around an axis (annotated Fig. 3) and a transversal wall (annotated Fig. 3) arranged transversally to the axis (annotated Fig. 3), a separating line (annotated Fig. 2 below) being provided on the lateral wall (annotated Fig. 3) to define: a retaining ring (retaining ring 30, Fig. 1) intended to remain anchored to a neck of the container (para. [0075]), and a closing element (cap 15, Fig. 1) removably engageable with the neck to open or close the container (para. [0075]); wherein the separating line (annotated Fig. 2) extends around the axis (annotated Figs. 2-3) and is circumferentially interrupted for defining a joining portion (root portion 40, Fig. 3) which joins the retaining ring (retaining ring 30) and the closing element (cap 15), the separating line (annotated Fig. 2) has a first end (annotated Fig. 3) that terminates at a first edge of the joining portion (annotated Fig. 3), the cap (closure 10) further having an incision line (annotated Fig. 2) which extends in the lateral wall (annotated Fig. 2), transversally to the axis (see annotated Fig. 2), so that the separating line (annotated Fig. 2) is axially interposed between the retaining ring (retaining ring 30, see annotated Fig. 2) and the incision line (annotated Fig. 2), the incision line (annotated Fig. 2) has a first end (annotated Fig. 3) and a second end (annotated Fig. 3), the first end of the incision line (annotated Fig. 3) being adjacent axially to the first edge of the joining portion (annotated Fig. 3), two connecting bands (arms 37, 39, Figs. 2-3) being defined between the separating line (annotated Fig. 2) and the incision line (annotated Fig. 2) to keep the closing element (cap 15) connected to the retaining ring (retaining ring 30; see e.g., para. [0076]), wherein a plurality of breakable bridges (annotated Fig. 3; paras. [0006], [0036]) is provided along the separating line (annotated Fig. 2), the breakable bridges of said plurality (annotated Fig. 3; paras. [0006], [0036]) being suitable for being broken (paras. [0006], [0036]) the first time the closing element (cap 15) is brought into an open position (paras. [0006], [0036]) and at least one breakable bridge of said plurality of breakable bridges (annotated Fig. 3) is arranged in a position which, around the axis (annotated Fig. 3), is interposed between the first edge of the joining portion (annotated Fig. 3) and the first end of the incision line (annotated Fig. 3; see also paras. [0006], [0036]).
Dreyer Annotated Figure 2
Dreyer Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 4, Dreyer further discloses two breakable bridges of said plurality (annotated Fig. 3) are arranged in a position which, around the axis (annotated Fig. 3), is interposed between the joining portion (root portion 40) and one end of the incision line (annotated Fig. 3; see also paras. [0006], [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Dreyer further discloses a breakable bridge of said plurality (annotated Fig. 3) is substantially aligned (see annotated Fig. 3), in a circumferential direction with respect to the axis (annotated Fig. 3), with one end of the incision line (annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Dreyer further discloses the incision line (annotated Figs. 2-3) has an angular extent around the axis of 200° or less (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Dreyer further discloses the joining portion (root portion 40) has a substantially constant thickness in a plane perpendicular to the axis (see e.g., Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Dreyer further discloses a connecting band (arm 39, Figs. 2-3) of said two connecting bands (arms 37, 39) is defined between a peripheral part of the incision line (first end of incision line in annotated Fig. 3) and an end portion of the separating line (first end of separating line in annotated Fig. 3), a further connecting band (arm 37, Figs. 2-3) of said two connecting bands (arms 37, 39) being defined between a further peripheral part of the incision line (second end of incision line in annotated Fig. 3) and a further end portion of the separating line (left end of separating line in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Dreyer further discloses the connecting band (arm 39) is arranged symmetrically to the further connecting band (arm 37) relative to a plane containing the axis and a centre line of the joining portion (plane into the page going through axis and root portion 40, see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Dreyer further discloses the incision line (annotated Fig. 2) and the separating line (annotated Fig. 2) extend in respective parallel planes (both extend in horizontal planes in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Dreyer further discloses the closing element (cap 15) is provided with an inner thread suitable for engaging with an outer thread of the neck (see e.g., paras. [0057], [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyer.
Regarding claim 12, Dreyer appears to disclose the joining portion (root portion 40) has an angular dimension around the axis of between 5° and 40° (see Fig. 3).
To the extent the joining portion is not expressly shown as having the claimed angular dimension, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the cap of Dreyer to have the angular extent of the joining portion be between 10° and 30°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II-A); In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). In the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see Specification at p. 9, ll. 20-23).
Regarding claim 14, Dreyer as modified above already includes the angular dimension of the joining portion (root portion 40) around the axis is between 10° and 30° (see modification above).
Regarding claim 15, Dreyer does not expressly disclose the incision line (annotated Fig. 2) has an angular extent greater than 180° around the axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the cap of Dreyer to have the angular extent of the incision line be greater than 180°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (angle of the incision line), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II-A); In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). In the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see Specification at p. 9, ll. 19-20).
Regarding claim 16, Dreyer does not expressly disclose the incision line (annotated Fig. 2) has an angular extent greater than 180° and up to 200° around the axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the cap of Dreyer to have the angular extent of the incision line be greater than 180° and less than 200°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (angle of the incision line), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II-A); In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). In the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see Specification at p. 9, ll. 19-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Dreyer further discloses a plurality of further breakable bridges provided along the incision line (see annotated Fig. 2). However, Dreyer does not disclose at least one further breakable bridge is arranged in a position interposed between the joining portion and a breakable bridge of the plurality of breakable bridges which is nearest to the joining portion. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dreyer to have such an arrangement in combination with the other claim elements without hindsight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733