2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/882,168 filed on 9/11/24. Claims 1 – 20 has been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 – 2, 16 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIAO et al. (US 2017/0048773, Miao hereafter) in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 107172695, Zhang hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Miao teaches A method for network registration in a multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipment (UE), the multi-SIM UE including a first SIM and at least one second SIM, the first SIM and the at least one second SIM being connected to a common network (The at least one baseband processor is configured to establish connections with one or more wireless networks, such as using a first wireless cellular protocol software stack for a first subscriber identity associated with a first SIM/eSIM to communicate with a first wireless network and a second wireless cellular protocol software stack for a second subscriber identity associated with a second SIM/eSIM to communicate with a second wireless network, paragraph 37; The wireless communication device can force common use/connections when both (or all) SIMs/eSIMs are from the same wireless service provider or from different wireless service providers but associated with the same physical wireless network, paragraph 33), and the method comprising:
Even though Miao teaches hen two (or more) SIMs of the wireless communication device are associated with the same wireless service provider (or carrier or wireless network operator or mobile network operator or mobile virtual network operator), the wireless communication device can be configured to force both (or all) wireless cellular protocol software stacks to be associated with and/or connect to the same wireless network. In some embodiments, the wireless communication device forces the wireless cellular protocol software stacks to use the same radio access technology (RAT) and/or to connect via the same cell of the same radio access network portion of the same wireless network.
However, does not specifically teach and/or suggest sending network registration information to a first stack associated with the first SIM by at least one second stack associated with the at least one second SIM; and
adapting, by the first stack, a network registration using the network registration information.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches sending network registration information to a first stack associated with the first SIM by at least one second stack associated with the at least one second SIM (After the electronic device closes the first protocol stack module, no protocol stack module transmits the data of the first SIM card. At this time, the terminal will execute a protocol that controls the SIM card carried by the SIM module corresponding to the closed protocol stack to not be closed. The process of sending the network registration information of the SIM card by the stack, that is, the terminal controls the first SIM card to send the network registration information of the first SIM card to the second protocol stack module, step 202); and
adapting, by the first stack, a network registration using the network registration information (thereby using the second protocol stack module to transmit the first SIM card data, Step 202; After a protocol stack, the electronic device transmits the data of the first SIM card and the second SIM card at the same time using the second protocol stack, step 203).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Zhang’s using one stack to register the second sim with the system of Miao. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because the electronic device can effectively reduce the power consumption of the electronic device without affecting the data transmission of the two SIM cards.
Regarding claim 2, Miao with Zhang teaches The method as claimed in claim 1,
Miao further teaches wherein the first stack is a wireless cellular protocol software stack; and
the at least one second stack is at least one wireless cellular protocol software stack (The at least one baseband processor is configured to establish connections with one or more wireless networks, such as using a first wireless cellular protocol software stack for a first subscriber identity associated with a first SIM/eSIM to communicate with a first wireless network and a second wireless cellular protocol software stack for a second subscriber identity associated with a second SIM/eSIM to communicate with a second wireless network, paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 16, the Multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipment (UE), substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the Multi-Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) User Equipment (UE), substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 20, Miao with Zhang teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
Miao teaches registering, by the first stack, with the network based on the adapting (the wireless communication device can register with and/or connect to the wireless network using the information/credentials from the second SIM/eSIM via the cellular protocol software stack, paragraph 38);
generating a communication signal (can receive signaling messages, such as paging messages or paging indications, from a second wireless network for a second subscriber identity. A portion of radio frequency wireless circuitry of the wireless communication device can be reconfigured to communicate with the second wireless network, e.g., to establish a signaling channel with the second wireless network and to respond to signaling messages received from the second wireless network using the established signaling channel. The portion of radio frequency wireless circuitry of the wireless communication device can be reconfigured back and forth between the first wireless network and the second wireless network to maintain a connection with the first wireless network, e.g., a voice connection, a data connection, and/or a signaling connection, while also receiving from the second wireless network limited information that can be provided to a user of the wireless communication device, paragraph 35); and
transmitting the communication signal via the network based on the registering (Processing circuitry of the wireless communication device, e.g., one or more baseband processors, can be configured to switch the single radio frequency transmitter between the two cellular protocol software stacks to support limited communication with the second wireless network while also maintaining communication with the first wireless network, paragraph 35).
7. Claim(s) 19 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIAO et al. (US 2017/0048773, Miao hereafter) in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 107172695, Zhang hereafter) in further view of Gorur Manjunath et al. (US 2022/0329987, Gorur hereafter).
Regarding claim 19, Miao with Zhang teaches claim 16. However, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein the adapting the network registration comprises: attempting, by the first stack, to register with the network before expiration of a timer, the timer being stopped before expiration in response to receiving the network registration information.
In the same field of endeavor, Gorur teaches wherein the adapting the network registration comprises: attempting, by the first stack, to register with the network before expiration of a timer, the timer being stopped before expiration in response to receiving the network registration information (The principal object of the embodiments herein is to immediately send, by a Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) device, a refresh registration signal to a server by detecting that page information is received at a second SIM from the server during a voice call of a first SIM and/or the voice call of the first SIM is terminated. The page information indicates that a pending SMS(es) is available at the server. The refresh registration signal indicates to update registration on the server (e.g. Voice over Long-Term Evolution (VoLTE) registration, Voice over New Radio (VoNR) registration, etc.) for the second SIM and indicates to stop an SMSC timer at the server. As a result, the DSDS device immediately receives the pending SMS(es) from the server and the server does not need to wait for the SMSC timer to expire for sending the pending SMS(es), which avoids delay in SMS delivery and enhances user's experience, paragraph 9, 50).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Gorur’s timer with the combined system of Miao and Zhang. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because the electronic device can effectively reduce the power consumption of the electronic device by not keep searching and/or connecting to a network if there is a failure; making the system more user friendly.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 3 – 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632