DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 11-19 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 12,116,685 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
The claims for the current application are a 1 to 1 correlation to the claims of Patent US 12,116,685 B2 with the following:
Application 18/882,171
Patent US 12,116,685 B2
1
11
2
12
3
13
4
14
5
15
6
16
7
17
8
18
9
19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Chen et. al. (US 2021/0060904 A1).
Regarding claim 16 Chen teaches (fig. 1A-1B) metallic film, comprising:
a layer (12) comprising a metallic material separated from a carrier substrate onto which the metallic material is first deposited (para. 0037),
where the metallic film has a thickness of 40 nm to 120 nm (para. 0020) and at least one of:
a transmission attenuation less than or equal to 45 decibels when measured at a frequency of 20 GHz to 30 GHz on the metallic film (see table 2);
and a transmission attenuation less than or equal to 50 decibels when measured at a frequency of 70 GHz to 80 GHz on the metallic film (para. 0089; see table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et. al. (US 2021/0060904 A1) in view of Tundermann et. al. (3,941,584).
Regarding claim 18 Chen teaches (fig. 1A-1B) metallic film, except where the metallic material comprises NiCr.
Tundermann teaches where the metallic material comprises NiCr (col. 6, lines 26-66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the reflective material as taught by Chen with NiCr as taught by Tundermann for the benefit of stain resistance paint with increased reflectance.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et. al. (US 2021/0060904 A1) in view of Banerjee et. al. (US 2011/0091658 A1).
Regarding claim 19 Chen teaches (fig. 1A-1B) metallic film, except where a discrete metallic particle made by breaking up the metallic film of claim 16.
Banjeree teaches where a discrete metallic particle made by breaking up the metallic film of claim 16 (para. 0006,0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the reflective structure of Chen with the flake dye process as taught by Banjeree for the benefit of creating an omnidirectional paint composition with a narrow band reflectance.
Regarding claim 20 Chen teaches (fig. 1A-1B) metallic film, where a paint, polymer, or coating system comprising the discrete metallic particle of claim 19.
Banjerjee teaches where a paint, polymer, or coating system comprising the discrete metallic particle of claim 19 (para. 0006, 0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the reflective structure of Chen with the flake dye process as taught by Banjeree for the benefit of creating an omnidirectional paint composition with a narrow band reflectance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further prior art related to the current invention include Hieda (US 4,936,913), Okamura et. al. (US 6104530) and Wu et. al. (US 2015/0033988 a1).
/Robert E. Tallman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872