DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 8 and 15 of copending application, 18/882,230. This is a provisional double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17 and 19 of copending application, 18/799,377. This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 1, 17 and 19 of copending application, 18/799,377 contain every elements of claims 1-3 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a), as a single means claim.
Re claim 1, it is subject to an undue breadth rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See MPEP 2164.08(a) and In re Hyatt, 708 F.2d 712, 714-715, 218 USPQ 195, 197 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wanuga et al (US 2022/0225121, “Wanuga”).
Re claims 1, 2 and 12, Wanuga discloses receiving/transmitting first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure, for a terminal device, a first time domain resource for performing backscatter communication (paragraph [0119]; figure 5, step 501).
Re claims 3 and 13, Wanuga discloses the first configuration information is used to configure one or more of following information for the terminal device: a start time domain location of the first time domain resource, an end time domain location of the first time domain resource, and duration of the first time domain resource (paragraph [0133]).
Re claims 4 and 14, Wanuga discloses time units comprised in the first time domain resource belong to a same time unit set; or time units comprised in the first time domain resource belong to different time unit sets (paragraph [0133]).
Re claims 5 and 15, Wanuga discloses the first configuration information comprises first indication information, the first indication information is used to indicate a reference time domain location, and the reference time domain location is used to determine a time domain location of the first time domain resource (paragraph [0133]; figure 5, step 502).
Re claims 8 and 18, Wanuga discloses the first configuration information is carried in control information that triggers the backscatter communication, and the reference time domain location is a time domain location of a time domain resource occupied by the control information (paragraph [0133], the WTRU 500b may commence the backscatter measurement and blockage reporting following a time offset from receipt of the indication.. in the MAC-CE used for activation).
Re claim 10, Wanuga discloses determining the first time domain resource based on the first configuration information; and occupying a part of resources or all resources in the first time domain resource to perform the backscatter communication (paragraph [0133]; figure 5, step 503).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467