DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 24 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/2026.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 5/13/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-24 are pending;
Claim 24 is withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 1-23 are being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
Phase change material with anisotropic thermal conductive fibers (claims 1 and 11);
Container (claim 11);
Cylindrical container (claim 21);
A module and a plurality of modules (claim 22);
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long” in claims 1 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what specific measurement of length is required in order to be considered “long”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US10454147B2).
Re Claim 1. Yang teaches a thermal energy storage composition (10a, 10b, 10c) comprising: a phase change material; and a plurality of long, anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers mixed with the phase change material; wherein the anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers increase the thermal storage efficiency of the composition (Figure 1A; Yang teaches in Column 3 lines 23-67 a thermal energy storage device comprises a microfibrous media (MFM) and a phase change material (PCM). Yang teaches in Column 5 lines 4-13 that the MFM contains “the MFM further contains carbon fibers, graphite fibers, and/or carbon nanotubes, such as single-walled and/or multiwalled nanotubes”, wherein said materials are naturally anisotropic. Yang teaches the various materials of the PCM in Column 6 lines 4-10. Yang also teaches Column 6 lines 60-Column 7 line 32 that the PCM can also contain carbon nano-materials to increase the thermal conductivity of the thermal energy storage composition).
Re Claim 11. Yang teaches a thermal energy storage system comprising: a container (100); a phase change material (within 10a-10c) disposed within the container; and a plurality of long, anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers mixed with the phase change material in the container; wherein the anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers increase the effective thermal conductivity of the system, thereby accelerating phase change of the phase change material to reduce charge and discharge times of the thermal storage system (Figure 1A; Yang teaches in Column 3 lines 23-67 a thermal energy storage device comprises a microfibrous media (MFM) and a phase change material (PCM). Yang teaches in Column 5 lines 4-13 that the MFM contains “the MFM further contains carbon fibers, graphite fibers, and/or carbon nanotubes, such as single-walled and/or multiwalled nanotubes”, wherein said materials are naturally anisotropic. Yang teaches the various materials of the PCM in Column 6 lines 4-10. Yang also teaches Column 6 lines 60-Column 7 line 32 that the PCM can also contain carbon nano-materials to increase the thermal conductivity of the thermal energy storage composition).
Re Claim 2 & 12. Yang teaches the phase change material is present in an amount of at least 95% by weight (Column 3 lines 53-63).
Re Claim 3 & 13. Yang teaches the anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers are present in an amount of up to 5% by weight (Column 3 lines 53-63).
Re Claim 4 & 14. Yang teaches the anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers have a length in the range of 1 to 10 cm (Column 4 lines 36-44).
Re Claim 5 & 15. Yang teaches the phase change material has a thermal conductivity in the range of 0.1 to 0.6 W/(m*K) (Column 6 lines 4-10; Table 1 teaches various PCM that are within the recited range).
Re Claim 6 & 16. Yang teaches the thermal conductivity of the composition is greater than the thermal conductivity of the phase change material (Column 3 lines 64 to Column 4 line 13, Column 6 line 60 to Column 7 line 32).
Re Claim 7 & 17. Yang teaches the anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers have a greater thermal conductivity in an axial direction relative to a thermal conductivity in a radial direction (Column 5 lines 4-13; Column 6 lines 60-Column 7 line 32; carbon fibers naturally have a greater thermal conductivity in an axial direction relative to a thermal conductivity in a radial direction).
Re Claim 8 & 18. Yang teaches the thermal conductivity in the axial direction is in a range of 2-200 W/(m*K), and the thermal conductivity in the radial direction is in a range of 0.5-50 W/(m*K) (Column 5 lines 4-13; Column 6 lines 60-Column 7 line 32; Yang teaches the same carbon fibers as the applicant, and thus the carbon fiber of Yang would have the same material specifications. Thus, the carbon fiber of Yang would also have the thermal conductivity in the axial direction is in a range of 2-200 W/(m* K), and the thermal conductivity in the radial direction is in a range of 0.5-50 W/(m*K)
Re Claim 9 & 19. Yang teaches the thermal conductivity in the axial direction is approximately 2-10 times greater than the thermal conductivity in the radial direction (Column 5 lines 4-13; Column 6 lines 60-Column 7 line 32; Yang teaches the same carbon fibers as the applicant, and thus the carbon fiber of Yang would have the same material specifications. Thus, the carbon fiber of Yang would also have the thermal conductivity in the axial direction is approximately 2-10 times greater than the thermal conductivity in the radial direction).
Re Claim 10 & 20. Yang teaches the phase change material is an organic phase change material or an inorganic phase change material (Column 6 lines 4-10).
Re Claim 22. Yang teaches the container storing the phase change material and anisotropic thermal conductive carbon fibers defines a module (10a), and the thermal energy storage system comprises a plurality of said modules (10a, 10b, 10c) (Figure 1A; Column 3 lines 23-53).
Re Claim 23. Yang teaches a working temperature of the system is in a range of from −50° C. to 700° C (Column 5 lines 45-Column 6 line 3, Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US10454147B2) in view of Colvin (US4807696).
Re Claim 21. Yang teaches the container is rectangular in shape (Figure 1A) but fails to specifically teach the container is cylindrical in shape.
However, Colvin teaches it is known to form thermal energy storage containers as cylinders (Figures 1-3).
Therefore, in view of Colvin’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a cylindrical shape for the container of Yang in order to provide uniform thickness of the phase change material around an individual cell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763