DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1
“detector configured to detect when the piston rod has reached the final position;
a conveying mechanism configured to move the piston rod along the thrust axis;
a control unit configured to control”
Claims 8-11, 16,
“control unit”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlbrenner et al (Pub. No.: US 2009/0247960) in view of Shaked et al (Pub. No.: US 2021/0128823)
Regarding claim 1, Kohlbrenner et al disclose a conveying device for a medicament delivery device, comprising:
a piston rod movable along a thrust axis from an initial position to a final position defining a thrust range [see 0022, 0068] by disclosing thrust sleeve 90 therefore acts as a piston rod for the piston [see 0068]
a detector (dose limiting arrangement behaves as a detector, emphasis added) configured to detect when the piston rod has reached the final position (by reaching its maximum range)) [see 0022, 0069, 0103];
a conveying mechanism configured to move the piston rod along the thrust axis [see 0014-0015, 0068];
Kohlbrenner et al don’t disclose a control unit configured to control a speed of movement of the piston rod at a target speed,
wherein the thrust range is divided in at least two zones:
a final zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to zero upon the detector determining a stall or stop of the piston rod when the piston rod has reached the final position, a priming zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to a reduced speed upon the detector determining a stall or stop of the piston rod in the priming zone.
Nonetheless, Shaked et al disclose control a speed of movement of the piston rod at a target speed [see 0218]
wherein the thrust range is divided in at least two zones:
a final zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to zero upon the detector determining a stall (by detecting partial rotation, emphasis added) or stop (by preventing rotation, emphasis added, 0222) of the piston rod when the piston rod has reached the final position (due to the infusion being ended, emphasis added) [see 0218-0219, 0222];
a priming zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to a reduced speed upon the detector determining a stall or stop (by preventing rotation, emphasis added) of the piston rod in the priming zone [see 0222] and disclose the worm gear serves to reduce rotational speed and/or transmit higher torque [see 0145].
Therefore, it would have been motivated to combine Kohlbrenner et al Shaked et al by controlling a speed of movement of the piston rod at a target speed and a final zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to zero upon the detector determining a stall or stop of the piston rod when the piston rod has reached the final position, a priming zone in which the control unit is adapted to decrease the target speed to a reduced speed upon the detector determining a stall or stop of the piston rod in the priming zone; to prevent overspeed.
Regarding claim 2, Kohlbrenner et al disclose wherein the priming zone (initial position) is defined by the piston rod reaching less (the piston is controllable and can reach it maximum thrust range; therefore the priming zone can be set to be 30 %, emphasis added) than 30% of the thrust range, and wherein the final zone starts upon the piston rod reaching above 80% (the piston is controllable and can reach it maximum thrust range; therefore the priming zone can be set to be above 80% emphasis added) of the thrust range (maximum thrust range) [see 0022].
Regarding claims 3-5, Kohlbrenner et al don’t disclose wherein the target speed is stepwise or
continuously decreased to zero or to the reduced speed and wherein the reduced speed is below 60% of
the target speed and reduce the target speed to zero before setting the target speed at the
reduced speed.
Nonetheless, Shaked et al disclose wherein the target speed is stepwise or continuously decreased to zero or to the reduced speed and wherein the reduced speed is below 60% (via speed control) of the target speed and reduce the target speed to zero (via speed control) before setting the target speed at the reduced speed [see 0217-0218].
Therefore, it would have been motivated to combine Kohlbrenner et al Shaked et al by having the target speed is stepwise or continuously decreased to zero or to the reduced speed and wherein the reduced speed is below 60% of the target speed and reduce the target speed to zero before setting the target speed at the reduced speed; to prevent overspeed.
Regarding claim 6, Kohlbrenner et al don’t disclose wherein the piston rod is adapted to be
moved using an electric drive comprising an electric motor, and wherein the detector is activated by detecting non-rotation or limited rotation of the electric motor.
Nonetheless, Shaked et al disclose the piston rod is adapted to be moved using an electric drive comprising an electric motor [see 0221]
wherein the detector is activated by detecting non-rotation or limited rotation (partial rotation) of the electric motor [see 0217-0219].
Therefore, it would have been motivated to combine Kohlbrenner et al Shaked et al by using an electric drive comprising an electric motor, and wherein the detector is activated by detecting non-rotation or limited rotation of the electric motor; to prevent overspeed.
Regarding claim 7, Kohlbrenner et al don’t disclose wherein the detector is adapted to determine the non-rotation or limited rotation of the electric motor by at least one of:
measuring steps of the electric motor,
measuring a Back-EMF signal, using an encoder,
or
measuring a current of the electric motor.
Nonetheless, Shaked et al disclose measuring a Back-EMF signal, using an encoder [see 0218]
Therefore, it would have been motivated to combine Kohlbrenner et al Shaked et al by measuring a Back-EMF signal; to control piston speed and infusion rate and to indicate when the infusion has ended.
Regarding claim 13, Kohlbrenner et al disclose a reservoir containing a medicament and
a plunger (thrust flange 100) moveable within the reservoir by the piston rod [see 0068-0069].
Regarding claim 14, Kohlbrenner et al disclose wherein the initial position of the
piston rod is defined by a plunger position for a full reservoir, and wherein the final position is defined by a plunger position for the plunger engaging a neck region of the reservoir preventing further plunger movement [see 0068-0069].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlbrenner et al (Pub. No.: US 2009/0247960) in view of Shaked et al (Pub. No.: US 2021/0128823) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kuhni et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0261654)
Regarding claim 15, Kohlbrenner et al don’t disclose a wearable bolus injector.
Nonetheless, Kuhni et al disclose a wearable bolus injector [see 0004].
Therefore, it would have been motivated to combine Kohlbrenner et al, Shaked et al and Kuhni et al by using a wearable bolus injector; so it can be attached to desired position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: No prior arts of record alone or in combination discloses the following:
Claim 8,
“wherein the control unit is adapted to activate the electric motor for moving the piston rod at the target speed by rotation of the electric motor at a target rotational speed, and wherein the control unit is adapted to decrease the target rotational speed to zero when the detector detects the final position in the final zone or is adapted to decrease the target rotational speed to a reduced rotational
speed for moving the piston rod at the reduced speed when the detector is activated in the priming zone”
Claim 16,
“wherein the control unit is adapted to activate the electric motor for moving the
piston rod at the target speed by rotation of the electric motor at a target rotational speed,
wherein the control unit is adapted to decrease the target rotational speed to zero
when the detector detects the final position in the final zone, or is adapted to decrease the
target rotational speed to a reduced rotational speed for moving the piston rod at the
reduced speed when the detector is activated in the priming zone”
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797