DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Kitamura 2023/0069684).
Regarding Claim 1; Kitamura discloses an information handling system (as constituted by an electronic apparatus—10-Fig. 1 including a laptop, tablet or smartphone—as set forth by para. 0015) comprising: a housing (chassis-14); an information handling resource housed within the housing (as constituted by CPU-30-Fig. 2); a first air mover (43); a second air mover (42); and heat-rejecting media thermally coupled to the information handling resource and having a portion of the heat-rejecting media downstream of airflow of exhausts of the first air mover and the second air mover (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas 38a is a portion of 38 disposed at exhausts of the first and second movers-43 and 42), wherein the portion comprises: a first region downstream of an exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas the portion 38a at a first region downstream the exhaust of the first fan-43 at 41) and having a first depth in a direction substantially parallel to a direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (whereas 38a is spaced from the first fan 43 at a distance defining a first depth); and a second region downstream of an exhaust of the second air mover (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas the portion 38a at a second region downstream an exhaust of the second fan-42 at 40) and having a second depth in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover, wherein the second depth is substantially smaller than the first depth (whereas 38a is spaced from the second fan 42 at a distance defining a second depth defined by a second distance that parallel to and smaller than the first distance and the first depth thereof —as depicted by Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6; Kitamura discloses a heat-rejecting media configured to thermally couple to an information handling resource (whereas 22 atleast includes a heat pipe 38 thermally coupled to the CPU-30—as depicted by Fig. 3) and configured to have a portion of the heat-rejecting media downstream of airflow of exhausts of a first air mover and a second air mover, wherein the portion comprises: a first region configured to be downstream of an exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas 38a is a portion of 38 disposed at exhausts of the first and second movers-43 and 42) and having a first depth in a direction substantially parallel to a direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (whereas 38a is spaced from the first fan 43 at a distance defining a first depth which is parallel to the exhaust from fan 43 toward 41); and a second region configured to be downstream of an exhaust of the second air mover and having a second depth in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 3—whereas the portion 38a at a second region downstream to the exhaust of the second fan-42 which is parallel to the direction of the exhaust toward 40 and parallel to the first exhaust—as depicted by Fig. 3), wherein the second depth is substantially smaller than the first depth (whereas 38a is spaced from the second fan 42 at a distance defining a second depth defined by a second distance that is smaller than a first depth defined by a distance between 43 and 38a —as depicted by Fig. 3).
Regarding Clam 9; the method steps are necessitated by the already disclosed structure of Kitamura.
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Hashiba 2023/0422446).
Regarding Claim 1; Hashiba discloses an information handling system (as constituted by an electronic apparatus—10-Fig. 1 including a laptop, tablet or smartphone—as set forth by para. 0017) comprising: a housing (chassis-14); an information handling resource housed within the housing (as constituted by CPU-30-Fig. 2); a first air mover (43); a second air mover (42); and heat-rejecting media thermally coupled to the information handling resource and having a portion of the heat-rejecting media downstream of airflow of exhausts of the first air mover and the second air mover (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas cooling module 22 includes heat pipes 38 atop a vapor chamber 36 and a portion of 38 at 38a is disposed at exhausts of the first and second movers-43 and 42), wherein the portion comprises: a first region downstream of an exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas the portion 38a at a first region downstream the exhaust of the first fan-43 at 41) and having a first depth in a direction substantially parallel to a direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (whereas 38a is spaced from the first fan 43 at a distance defining a first depth); and a second region downstream of an exhaust of the second air mover (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas the portion 38a at a second region downstream an exhaust of the second fan-42 at 40) and having a second depth in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover, wherein the second depth is substantially smaller than the first depth (whereas 38a is spaced from the second fan 42 at a distance defining a second depth defined by a second distance that parallel to and smaller than the first distance and the first depth thereof—as depicted by Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6; Hashiba discloses a heat-rejecting media configured to thermally couple to an information handling resource (whereas 22 atleast includes a heat pipe 38 thermally coupled to the CPU-30—as depicted by Fig. 2) and configured to have a portion of the heat-rejecting media downstream of airflow of exhausts of a first air mover and a second air mover, wherein the portion comprises: a first region configured to be downstream of an exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas 38a is a portion of 38 disposed at exhausts of the first and second movers-43 and 42) and having a first depth in a direction substantially parallel to a direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (whereas 38a is spaced from the first fan 43 at a distance defining a first depth which is parallel to the exhaust from fan 43 toward 41); and a second region configured to be downstream of an exhaust of the second air mover and having a second depth in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover (as depicted by Fig. 2—whereas the portion 38a at a second region downstream to the exhaust of the second fan-42 which is parallel to the direction of the exhaust toward 40 and parallel to the first exhaust—as depicted by Fig. 2), wherein the second depth is substantially smaller than the first depth (whereas 38a is spaced from the second fan 42 at a distance defining a second depth defined by a second distance that is smaller than a first depth defined by a distance between 43 and 38a —as depicted by Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9; the method steps are necessitated by the already disclosed structure of Hashiba.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 8, 10-11 and 13, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2; the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein a first dimension of the first air mover in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover is smaller than a second dimension of the second air mover in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover.
Regarding Claim 4; the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the heat- rejecting media comprises at least a part of a vapor chamber thermally coupled to the information handling resource and a fin stack thermally coupled to the vapor chamber such that the fin stack is disposed within the portion downstream of the exhausts of the airflow of the first air mover and the second air mover.
Regarding Claim 5; the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the heat-rejecting media further comprises: a first heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; and a second heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; wherein: the first region includes a first part of the first heat pipe and a first part of the second heat pipe; and the second region includes a second part of the first heat pipe and excludes the second heat pipe.
Regarding Claim 7; the information handling system of Claim 6, wherein the heat- rejecting media comprises at least a part of a vapor chamber thermally coupled to the information handling resource and a fin stack thermally coupled to the vapor chamber such that the fin stack is disposed within the portion downstream of the exhausts of the airflow of the first air mover and the second air mover.
Regarding Claim 8; the heat-rejecting media of Claim 6, wherein the heat-rejecting media further comprises: a first heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; and a second heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; wherein: the first region includes a first part of the first heat pipe and a first part of the second heat pipe; and the second region includes a second part of the first heat pipe and excludes the second heat pipe.
Regarding Claim 10; the method of Claim 9, further comprising arranging the heat-rejecting media such that a first dimension of the first air mover in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover is smaller than a second dimension of the second air mover in the direction substantially parallel to the direction of airflow from the exhaust of the first air mover.
Regarding Claim 12; the method of Claim 9, wherein the heat-rejecting media comprises at least a part of a vapor chamber thermally coupled to the information handling resource and a fin stack thermally coupled to the vapor chamber such that the fin stack is disposed within the portion downstream of the exhausts of the airflow of the first air mover and the second air mover.
Regarding Claim 13; the method of Claim 9, wherein the heat-rejecting media further comprises: a first heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; and a second heat pipe thermally coupled to the information handling resource; wherein: the first region includes a first part of the first heat pipe and a first part of the second heat pipe; and the second region includes a second part of the first heat pipe and excludes the second heat pipe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Claim 1; the applicant argues on pages 8-9 that Kitamura does not disclose a first depth and a second depth defining a “step-shaped” depth differential, and does not disclose a difference in depth of the heat rejecting media. As an initial matter, the claim does not actually assert a step-shaped depth differential or a difference in depth of the heat rejecting media; whereas the claim only asserts: a portion of the heat rejecting media, wherein the portion comprises: a first region downstream of the exhaust of the first air mover having a first depth in a direction parallel to airflow and a second region downstream of the exhaust of the second air mover and having a first depth in a direction parallel to airflow. As claimed, the office hereby notes that the first and second depth only has to be comprised by “a first region” and “a second region” of “the portion” of the heat rejecting media. However, a first region and a second region of the portion is not explicitly asserted to as defining or limiting the heat rejecting media as a whole, a vapor chamber(which is unclaimed), a first air mover, a second air mover, a space between a first region and the first air mover, a space between a second region and the second air mover, or a respective height, length or width of the first region and second regions in a parallel direction to airflow and/or any particular combination of the aforementioned. It is hereby noted that the applicant appears to argue that which may be intended by the claim language but fails to argue that which is actually defined by the claim, as asserted. In any case, the Kitamura discloses “the portion” as 38a and a first region and a second region of the portion as respective portions of 38a which intersects the airflow of the exhaust of first mover 43 and 42, wherein a first region defines a first depth which constitutes a first distance between a left to right width of 38a to 43 at exhaust port 43a thereof, and further wherein a second region defines a second depth which constitutes a second distance between a left to right width of 38a to 42 at an exhaust port 42a thereof; whereas the second distance is smaller than the first distance—as depicted by Fig. 3. Likewise, as alternatively rejected by Hashiba a second depth is defined by second distance between a left to right width of 38A to 42 at exhaust port 42a thereof is smaller than a first depth defined by a first distance between a left to right width of 38A to 43 at exhaust port 42a thereof. As such, the rejection(s) of claim 1 is maintained and the method steps of claim 9 are respectively necessitated by the respective structure(s) of Kitamura and Hashiba are also maintained. Going forward, it appears the applicant may overcome the prior art by asserting the first region and second region are contiguous OR wherein a gap is not disposed between the first region and the second region.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841