DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the response filed 6/16/2026 the Applicant Elected the Species of figure 4 with traverse. Applicant identified claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11 and 21-28 as readable on the Species of figure 4.
Regarding the Applicant’s traversal, Applicant does not traverse the entire Election of Species only that figure 3 is related to figure 4. Applicant cites paragraph 87 which they say states that figure 3 may relate to figure 4. However, paragraph 112 of the Specification as filed as states “FIG. 5 may be a schematic circuit diagram of the pixel PX of the image sensor EX1 of FIG. 3”. As Applicant has not traversed that figures 4 and 5 are distinct and figure 3 may be a cross-sectional view of a structure to either figure 4 or figure 5, the examiner will examine claims that correspond to figure 4 and are also supported by figure 3. However, any features of figure 3 which are directed to a non-elected species, such as the species of figure 5 will not be examined since they are directed to a non-elected Species.
Applicant identified claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11 and 21-28 as readable on the Species of figure 4. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with this conclusion. Claims 2, 3, 22 and 23 claim “wherein the first middle layer further comprises a floating diffusion node connected to the transfer transistor”. This is not supported by the Species of figure 4. Figure 4 shows that the FD node is located in the claimed top layer (see annotated figure below). While other species, such as the species of figure 5 shows the FD node located outside of the claimed top layer (see annotated figure below). Therefore claims 2, 3, 22 and 23 do not read on the Species of figure 4 and will subsequently be withdrawn from consideration.
In view of the foregoing, claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 21 and 24-28 will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2025/0008244), hereinafter referenced as Yang, in view of Gomi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0139713), hereinafter referenced as Gomi, and further in view of Kwon et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0134873), hereinafter referenced as Kwon.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses an image sensor comprising: a top layer comprising a photodiode included in a pixel and a transfer transistor configured to transfer an electrical signal generated by the photodiode (figure 1 exhibits die 101 which includes photodiodes PD1 and transfer transistor TX1 as disclosed at paragraph 30); a first middle layer under the top layer and bonded to the top layer (figure 1 exhibit die 102 which is bonded to die 101 as disclosed at paragraph 31), at least one capacitor connected to the transfer transistor through a first output node connected to the transfer transistor, and at least one sampling transistor connected to the at least one capacitor and configured to control the at least one capacitor (figure 1 exhibits sampling transistor switch1 and capacitor MIM1); a second middle layer under the first middle layer and bonded to the first middle layer, wherein the second middle layer comprises a source-follow transistor connected to the at least one sampling transistor through a second output node (figure 1 exhibits die 103 which is bonded to layer 102 and includes a source-follower transistor SF which is connected to MIM1 at an output node of the transistor). However, Yang fails to disclose that the first middle layer comprises the at least one capacitor and the at least one sampling transistor; and a bottom layer under the second middle layer and bonded to the second middle layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuit configured to process a pixel signal output through the source-follow transistor.
Yang discloses an image sensor in which the at least one capacitor and the at least one sampling transistor are located on the second middle layer. Gomi teaches a method for dividing a pixel between substrates. Gomi further teaches that the at least one capacitor and the at least one sampling transistor can be located on a layer above the source follower transistor (figure 5 exhibits separation line D5 as disclosed at paragraph 108; further paragraph 480 teaches that three or more substrates may be used). Because both Yang and Gomi teach separating a pixel onto different layers, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the division point taught by Gomi for the division point taught by Yang to achieve the predictable result of separating a pixel onto different layers.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Yang in view of Gomi fails to disclose a bottom layer under the second middle layer and bonded to the second middle layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuit configured to process a pixel signal output through the source-follow transistor.
Kwon is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon teaches an image sensor wherein the motivation of minimizing the size of a sensor which outputs a digital pixel signal would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon’s known principal of a bottom layer under a middle layer and bonded to the middle layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuit configured to process a pixel signal output through the source-follow transistor (figure 3 exhibits bottom layer 20b which is bonded to a middle layer and includes an ADC circuit which converts a signal output through a source follower transistor as disclosed at paragraph 33).
In view of the motivations such as minimizing the size of a sensor which outputs a digital pixel signal one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 4, 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Gomi in view of Kwon and further in view of Kwon ‘854 (United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0345854).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Gomi and further in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 1, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the top layer further comprises a first front-side bonding pad, wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad and a second backside bonding pad, and the first front-side bonding pad is bonded to the second front-side bonding pad or the second backside bonding pad.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the top layer 101 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the first middle layer 102 and to provide another set of bonding pads between layers 102 and 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the top layer further comprises a first front-side bonding pad, wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad and a second backside bonding pad, and the first front-side bonding pad is bonded to the second front-side bonding pad or the second backside bonding pad.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Gomi and further in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 1, however, Yang fails to disclose, wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second backside bonding via or a second backside bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second backside bonding via or the second backside bonding pad is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 102 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the layer 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second backside bonding via or a second backside bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second backside bonding via or the second backside bonding pad is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Gomi and further in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 1, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second front-side bonding pad of the first middle layer is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 102 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the layer 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second front-side bonding pad of the first middle layer is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Gomi and further in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 1, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third backside bonding pad, a third backside bonding via, or a third front-side bonding pad, wherein the bottom layer further comprises a fourth front-side bonding pad, and wherein the third backside bonding pad, the third backside bonding via, or the third front-side bonding pad is bonded to the fourth front-side bonding pad.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 103 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the ADC layer taught by Kwon such that the combination teaches wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third backside bonding pad, a third backside bonding via, or a third front-side bonding pad, wherein the bottom layer further comprises a fourth front-side bonding pad, and wherein the third backside bonding pad, the third backside bonding via, or the third front-side bonding pad is bonded to the fourth front-side bonding pad.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kwon.
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses an image sensor comprising: a top layer comprising a photodiode included in a pixel and a transfer transistor configured to transfer an electrical signal generated by the photodiode (figure 1 exhibits die 101 which includes photodiodes PD1 and transfer transistor TX1 as disclosed at paragraph 30); a first middle layer under the top layer and bonded to the top layer, wherein the first middle layer comprises a source-follow transistor connected to the transfer transistor through a first output node (figure 1 exhibit die 102 which is bonded to die 101 which include source-follower transistor SF as disclosed at paragraph 31); a second middle layer under the first middle layer and bonded to the first middle layer, wherein the second middle layer comprises at least one capacitor connected to the source-follow transistor, and at least one sampling transistor connected to the at least one capacitor and configured to control the at least one capacitor (figure 1 exhibits die 103 which is bonded to layer 102 and includes capacitor MIM1 and sampling transistor switch1). However, Yang fails to disclose a bottom layer under the second middle layer and bonded to the second middle layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuit configured to process a pixel signal output through the source-follow transistor.
Kwon is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon teaches an image sensor wherein the motivation of minimizing the size of a sensor which outputs a digital pixel signal would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon’s known principal of a bottom layer under a middle layer and bonded to the middle layer, wherein the bottom layer comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuit configured to process a pixel signal output through the source-follow transistor (figure 3 exhibits bottom layer 20b which is bonded to a middle layer and includes an ADC circuit which converts a signal output through a source follower transistor as disclosed at paragraph 33).
In view of the motivations such as minimizing the size of a sensor which outputs a digital pixel signal one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kwon and further in view of Gomi.
Regarding claim 24, Yang in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 21, in addition, Yang discloses a selection transistor connected to the source-follow transistor (figure 1 exhibits transistor RS in layer 103). However, Yang fails to disclose that the selection transistor is located in the bottom layer.
Yang discloses an image sensor in which the at least one capacitor and the at least one sampling transistor are located on the second middle layer. Gomi teaches a method for dividing a pixel between substrates. Gomi further teaches that a selection transistor can be located on a layer below a capacitor (figure 5 exhibits separation line D5 which puts a capacitor 108 on a layer above the row select transistor 112 as disclosed at paragraph 108; further paragraph 480 teaches that three or more substrates may be used). Because both Yang and Gomi teach separating a pixel onto different layers, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute having the capacitor and selection transistor on different layers as taught by Gomi for having the capacitor and selection transistor on the same layer as taught by Yang to achieve the predictable result of separating a pixel onto different layers.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kwon and further in view of Kwon ‘854.
Regarding claim 25, Yang in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 21, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the top layer further comprises a first front-side bonding pad, wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad and a second backside bonding pad, and the first front-side bonding pad is bonded to the second front-side bonding pad or the second backside bonding pad of the first middle layer.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the top layer 101 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the first middle layer 102 and to provide another set of bonding pads between layers 102 and 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the top layer further comprises a first front-side bonding pad, wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad and a second backside bonding pad, and the first front-side bonding pad is bonded to the second front-side bonding pad or the second backside bonding pad.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, Yang in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 21, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second backside bonding via or a second backside bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second backside bonding via or the second backside bonding pad is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via .
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 102 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the layer 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second backside bonding via or a second backside bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second backside bonding via or the second backside bonding pad is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 27, Yang in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 21, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second front-side bonding pad of the first middle layer is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 102 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the layer 103 such that the combination teaches wherein the first middle layer further comprises a second front-side bonding pad, wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third front-side bonding pad or a third backside bonding via, and wherein the second front-side bonding pad of the first middle layer is bonded to the third front-side bonding pad or the third backside bonding via.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 28, Yang in view of Kwon discloses the image sensor of claim 21, however, Yang fails to disclose wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third backside bonding pad, a third backside bonding via, or a third front-side bonding pad, wherein the bottom layer further comprises a fourth front-side bonding pad, and wherein the third backside bonding pad, the third backside bonding via, or the third front-side bonding pad is bonded to the fourth front-side bonding pad.
Kwon ‘854 is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kwon ‘854 teaches a multilayer image sensor wherein the motivation of forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers would have prompted a predictable variation of Yang by applying Kwon ‘854’s known principal of forming bonding pads at matched locations on adjacent layers and bonding the pads together (figure 3A exhibits bonding pads 26 and 36 which are located on different layers and bonded together as disclosed at paragraph 80). When applying this known technique to Yang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a bonding pad in the layer 103 which is bonded to a bonding pad in the ADC layer taught by Kwon such that the combination teaches wherein the second middle layer further comprises a third backside bonding pad, a third backside bonding via, or a third front-side bonding pad, wherein the bottom layer further comprises a fourth front-side bonding pad, and wherein the third backside bonding pad, the third backside bonding via, or the third front-side bonding pad is bonded to the fourth front-side bonding pad.
In view of the motivations such as forming electrical connections between layers so that signals can be transmitted between layers one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Yang.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geurts (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0014444) teaches an image sensor.
Baek et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0389608) discloses an image sensor.
Tsukimura (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0314573) discloses a method for dividing a pixel between layers.
Yu et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0389608) discloses an image sensor.
Conclusion
JASON A. FLOHRE
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/JASON A FLOHRE/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637