DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10 – 14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (Publication: US 2022/0180898 A1) in view of Tomaru (Publication: US 2021/0256760 A1).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection on claim 20.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection on claim 14.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection on claim 17.
Regarding claim 9, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Ahmed discloses further comprising generating a relative pixel depth map associated with a frame included in the input video sequence ([0029] , [0065] - Replacement media generation constraints 410 may include rules that can be used to match secondary content items with candidate insertion points of media content items. More particularly, the rules may include or be used to generate a “mapping” between compatible scene types (e.g., kitchen counter in comedy, billboard outside in drama) and attributes of compatible secondary content (e.g., product type, product category, brand). Constraints 410 can specify secondary content items (or associated attributes) that are permitted (or, conversely, not permitted) to be “placed” in primary content. For example, the primary content can include a specific media item, a specific clip/scene, or a specific candidate placement. As another example, the primary content may be a video title, clip, or candidate placement having specific attributes. Each secondary content item represents a three-dimensional object, 3D information indicating a depth of the first object, having a flat surface that is suitable for placement on a kitchen counter. In this example, secondary content items 128 include a beer bottle, a soda can, and an Amazon Echo. Replacement clips 130 are generated using original clip 122 and secondary content items 128. Each replacement clip 130 is the same length and corresponds to the same segment of time. Thus Mapping involves 3D information indicating a depth of the secondary content item in the clip, video sequence.).
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Ahmed discloses further comprising generating an ordered list of combinations of virtual objects and planar surfaces based at least on the suitability metric ([0055] - Attributes of a candidate placement can further include a duration of time that the candidate placement is visible on screen. a candidate placement can include attributes of object(s) on which secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., categorization, relative size of the object relative to other content, pixel coordinates, etc.) and/or attribute(s) surface(s) on which the secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., whether the surface is vertical or horizontal, whether the surface is flat or curved, relative size of the surface, etc.).
[0016] - corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed .).
Regarding claim 11, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection on claim 20.
Regarding claim 13, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 12.
Ahmed discloses wherein the suitability metric is further based on a size or a duration associated with the virtual object (
[0055] - Attributes of a candidate placement can further include a duration of time that the candidate placement is visible on screen. a candidate placement can include attributes of object(s) on which secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., categorization, relative size of the object relative to other content, pixel coordinates, etc.) and/or attribute(s) surface(s) on which the secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., whether the surface is vertical or horizontal, whether the surface is flat or curved, relative size of the surface, etc.).
[0016] - corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed .).
Regarding claim 14, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Ahmed discloses wherein the one or more machine learning models include [[a rendering generator or a diffusion generator] -] - ([0086] - Machine learning algorithms used to ascertain media attributes may be automatically updated as new data is collected. This data can include additional attributes that are ascertained, for example, based on analysis of frames of video titles as they are added to video title catalog 702. In addition, the data can include human input that validates (or invalidates) the accuracy of attributes determined via the machine learning algorithms, as well as human input that modifies previously identified attributes of video titles or adds additional attributes to those previously identified.).
Tomaru discloses
include a rendering generator or a diffusion generator ([0123] - The generation of the image of the virtual object in the three-dimensional drawer 45 “rendering generator”can be implemented by performing rendering by using three-dimensional graphics.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed in view Tomaru with include a rendering generator or a diffusion generator as taught by Tomaru. The motivation for doing so the user can institutively perceive the position of an object.
Regarding claim 17, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Tomaru discloses to perform the step of generating a polygon defining a boundary of the planar surface ([0119] - As illustrated in FIGS. 8 and 9A, a pair of straight lines Lθa and Lθb forming the angles θa and θb with the Zv-axis in the Xv-Zv plane in the user viewpoint coordinate system are drawn, and boundary surfaces Sθa and Sθb are formed by trajectories obtained by moving the straight lines Lθa and Lθb in the Yv-axis direction. Although the straight lines Lθa and Lθb and boundary surfaces Sθa and Sθb extend infinitely, FIG. 9A illustrates only part of the straight lines Lθa and Lθb and boundary surfaces Sθa and Sθb. The boundary surfaces Sθa and Sθb can be said to be surfaces that define the area of the reference horizontal view angle.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed with select a virtual object included in an object library as taught by Tomaru. The motivation for doing so the user can institutively perceive the position of an object.
Regarding claim 19, Ahmed discloses a system comprising ([0038] , [0040] - FIG. 3, a computing environment in which a video content service 302 provides streaming content (e.g., video and/or audio) via network 304 to a variety of client devices (306-1 through 306-5).):
one or more memories storing instructions ([0038] - FIG. 3, memory stores instructions. ); and
one or more processors for executing the instructions to ([0038] - FIG. 3, the processor to execute instructions.) :
identify a planar surface depicted in an input video sequence ([0020], [0073] - surface of box is identified as a candidate placement for secondary content in the clip, frames of the movie “sequence”.
[0073] - the clip, frames of the movie, is retrieved from primary content information, “input video sequence, frames” .);
generate, for a combination of the planar surface and the virtual object, a suitability metric associated with the combination (
[0065] - rules that can be used to match secondary content items “a suitability metric” with candidate insertion points of media content items. More particularly, the rules may include or be used to generate a “mapping” between compatible scene types (e.g., kitchen counter in comedy, billboard outside in drama) and attributes of compatible secondary content (e.g., product type, product category, brand), “generate a suitability metric”.
[0026] - As shown in FIG. 1A, replacement clip is generated using original clip and a secondary content overlay “combination” including an Amazon logo based on the rules used to match. In this example, vertical surface 116 of Amazon box 118 represented in replacement clip contains an Amazon logo, which replaces the text previously shown on vertical surface of box in original clip. Since the actor is moving box in the scene, pixel coordinates of candidate placement may vary among frames in replacement clip, “for a combination of the planar surface and the virtual object; a suitability metric associated with the combination”.
[0016] - corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed, “virtual object”
),
wherein the suitability metric is based at least on a semantic compatibility between the virtual object and the planar surface (
[0051], [0065] - rules that can be used to match secondary content items with candidate insertion points of media content items. More particularly, the rules may include or be used to generate a “mapping” between compatible scene types (e.g., kitchen counter in comedy, billboard outside in drama) and attributes of compatible secondary content (e.g., product type, product category, brand), “suitability metric”. For a given title, clips corresponding to candidate insertion points may be scored according to a set of scoring algorithms, where each candidate insertion point clip includes a representation of an virtual object or associated object surface on which secondary content can be virtually placed. For example, the clip can correspond to a scene in a movie. Candidate insertion points at which segments of a video content item can be replaced with a corresponding replacement clip may be selected based, at least in part, on the scores, “suitability metric is based at least on a semantic compatibility between the virtual object and the planar surface”.
[0016] - candidate replacement, e.g. Amazon logo, corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed, “virtual object”); and
generate, via one or more machine learning models, a modified video sequence based on the suitability metric (
[0026] - As shown in FIG. 1A, replacement clip “video” is generated using original clip and a secondary content overlay including an Amazon logo, “generate”.
Machine learning techniques can be used to identify candidate insertion points , as well as attributes of an identified candidate insertion point. A candidate insertion point may be defined by a clip (e.g., scene) within the media content item, as well as candidate placement(s) “modified” corresponding to surfaces of physical object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product, (e.g. Amazon logo) or branding can be placed. Attributes of a candidate insertion point can include a start time of the pertinent clip, an end time and/or duration of the pertinent clip, and attributes of pertinent physical object(s) represented within the clip, “generate, via one or more machine learning models, a modified video sequence”.
[0065] - include rules that can be used to match secondary content items with candidate insertion points of media content items. More particularly, the rules may include or be used to generate a “mapping” between compatible scene types (e.g., kitchen counter in comedy, billboard outside in drama) and attributes of compatible secondary content (e.g., product type, product category, brand), (e.g. Amazon logo), “generate a modified video sequence based on the suitability metric”.
[0016] - The information that is collected and stored for a media content item may be analyzed to identify “candidate insertion points” at which secondary content may be “inserted” to achieve virtual product placements “modified” or branding. A candidate insertion point is a potential two-dimensional (2D) placement for a virtual product or branding. ),
wherein the modified video sequence depicts the virtual object placed on the planar surface ([0016] - A candidate insertion point may be defined by a clip “video” (e.g., scene) within the media content item, as well as candidate placement(s) “modified” corresponding to surfaces of physical object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product or branding can be placed, “modified video sequence depicts the virtual object placed on the planar surface”.
[0026] - As shown in FIG. 1A, replacement clip “video” is generated using original clip and a secondary content overlay including an Amazon logo.
[0016] - candidate replacement “modified”, e.g. Amazon logo, corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed, “virtual object”
Attributes of a candidate insertion point can include a start time of the pertinent clip, an end time and/or duration of the pertinent clip, and attributes of pertinent physical object(s) represented within the clip. Attributes of an object represented within a clip can include a classification of the object (e.g., a desk, a bus, an empty wall, a billboard). Attributes of a candidate insertion point can also include attributes of the pertinent clip (e.g., scene) and/or media content item such as a setting or genre.
).
Ahmed does not however Tomaru discloses
select a virtual object included in an object library ([0094] - a virtual object selector to select one of the plurality of virtual objects “library” stored in the information storage.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed with select a virtual object included in an object library as taught by Tomaru. The motivation for doing so the user can institutively perceive the object.
Regarding claim 20, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 19.
Ahmed discloses wherein the suitability metric is further based on a semantic compatibility between the virtual object and a scene depicted in the input video sequence ([0055] - Attributes of a candidate placement can further include a duration of time that the candidate placement is visible on screen. a candidate placement can include attributes of object(s) on which secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., categorization, relative size of the object relative to other content, pixel coordinates, etc.) and/or attribute(s) surface(s) on which the secondary content can be “placed” (e.g., whether the surface is vertical or horizontal, whether the surface is flat or curved, relative size of the surface, etc.).
[0016] - corresponding to surfaces of object(s) represented within the clip, “input video sequence” , on which a virtual product (e.g. Amazon logo), object, or branding can be placed, “virtual object” .).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (Publication: US 2022/0180898 A1) in view of Tomaru (Publication: US 2021/0256760 A1) and Border et al. (Publication: US 2012/0019928 A1). .
Regarding claim 8, see rejection on claim 18.
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Ahmed in view of Tomaru do not however Border discloses
to perform the step of generating, for each of one or more pixels included in the planar surface, a normal vector describing an orientation of the pixel ([0026] , [0029] , [0038] - generate the norma map and the normal map 244 indicates surface normals in the rendered image 240. For example, the normal map 244 could include a respective vector for each pixel of the character indicating a surface normal direction.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed in view of Tomaru with to perform the step of generating, for each of one or more pixels included in the planar surface, a normal vector describing an orientation of the pixel as taught by Border. The motivation for doing so to effectively improve rendering.
Claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (Publication: US 2022/0180898 A1) in view of Tomaru (Publication: US 2021/0256760 A1) and Gusmao et al. (NPL: DeepPlacer: A custom integrated OpAmp placement tool using deep models, Applied Soft Computing, Volume 115, January 2022, 108188)
Regarding claim 5, see rejection on claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection on claim 16.
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Ahmed discloses perform the step of iteratively modifying one or more input parameters associated with the one or more machine learning models based on a function ([0016] , [0086] - Machine learning algorithms used to ascertain media attributes may be automatically updated as new data is collected, “modifying one or more input parameter”. Computer vision and machine learning techniques can be used to identify candidate insertion points, as well as attributes of an identified candidate insertion point. A candidate insertion point may be defined by a clip (e.g., scene) within the media content item, as well as candidate placement(s) corresponding to surfaces of physical object(s) represented within the clip on which a virtual product or branding can be placed. Attributes of a candidate insertion point can include a start time of the pertinent clip, an end time and/or duration of the pertinent clip, and attributes of pertinent physical object(s) represented within the clip. Attributes of an object represented within a clip can include a classification of the object (e.g., a desk, a bus, an empty wall, a billboard). Attributes of a candidate insertion point can also include attributes of the pertinent clip (e.g., scene) and/or media content item such as a setting or genre.
[0089] - the candidate placement identification process may be applied, repeatedly, “iteratively”. ).
Ahmed in view of Tomaru do not however Border discloses
Perform based on a generation loss function (Page 1 – innovative formulation of a generation loss function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed in view of Tomaru with Perform based on a generation loss function as taught by Border. The motivation for doing so to effectively improve the design by automation.
Regarding claim 16, Ahmed in view of Tomaru disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Ahmed discloses to perform the step of iteratively modifying one or more placement parameters based on a placement function ([0106] , Fig. 9 - , replacement clips may be selected for more than one candidate insertion point with an emphasis on repeated exposure to the same product or brand. If there are further candidate insertion points for the video (918), the replacement clip selection process may repeat “iteratively” for subsequent candidate insertion points (910). Step 918 in Fig. 9 is “placement parameters based on a placement function”).
Ahmed in view of Tomaru do not however Border discloses
Perform based on a generation loss function (Page 1 – innovative formulation of a generation loss function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ahmed in view of Tomaru with Perform based on a generation loss function as taught by Border. The motivation for doing so to effectively improve the design by automation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618