DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zrenner (EP 3730257 A1) in view of Payton et al. (US 2022/0118629 A1) and John et al. (US 2024/0237583 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Zrenner discloses a suction cup assembly comprising first suction cup (Figure 3: suction gripper 18a);
a second suction cup (Figure 3: suction gripper 18b);
and a valve assembly comprising an inlet and first and second flow channels in respective fluid communication with the first and second suction cups (Figures 4-7b shows inlets 20, 28a, 28b, first and second flow channels 38a and 38b, Paragraph 48);
wherein the first and second flow channels are movable to activate the first or second suction cup, in dependence on alignment of the inlet with the respective first or second flow channel, when vacuum pressure is supplied to the inlet in use (Paragraph 48).
Zrenner does not disclose a finger gripper assembly that comprises:
a first finger element:
a second finger element: and
a drive mechanism to open and close the first and second finger elements relative to each other the drive mechanism comprising:
an actuator:
a first linkage assembly connecting the actuator to the first finger element for direct actuation of the first finger element: and
a second linkage assembly and gear mechanism connecting the actuator to the second finger element for passive actuation of the second finger element, the gear mechanism comprising a first gear connected to the first linkage assembly and a second gear connected to the second linkage assembly and arranged to mesh with the first gear to passively actuate the second finger element in dependence on actuation of the first finger element by the actuator.
Payton et al. discloses a hybrid robotic picking device that uses gripper fingers that are linkage assemblies and extendable suction assembly together (Figure 3A and 3B: fingers 304, suction device 302, extendable stem 306, Paragraph 79: the fingers are made from a plurality of linkages). The suction cup assembly and gripper fingers are used together for the purpose of increasing the utilization of the robotic picking solution (paragraph 46) and the fingers with linkages are used for the purpose of providing both flexibility and a spring force for compliance (Paragraph 79).
John et al. discloses an agricultural manipulator for a robotic arm that comprises:
a first finger element (Figure 1: the gripper 8 that has rotation shaft 14):
a second finger element (Figure 1: the gripper 8 that has rotation shaft 15): and
a drive mechanism to open and close the first and second finger elements relative to each other the drive mechanism comprising (Figure 1: gripper driver 12, Paragraph 41):
an actuator (Figure 1: the gripper driver 12 drives the rotation shaft 14):
the actuator is connected to the finger element for direct actuation of the first finger element (Paragraph 40): and
a gear mechanism connecting the actuator to the second finger element for passive actuation of the second finger element (Figure 1: the transmission 13 is a gear mechanism and allows for passive actuation of the second finger, Paragraph 40) , the gear mechanism comprising a first gear connected to the first finger and a second gear connected to the second finger and arranged to mesh with the first gear to passively actuate the second finger element in dependence on actuation of the first finger element by the actuator (Figure 1: the transmission 13 is made from a gear on the first finger and a gear from the second finger, Paragraph 40: the second finger is passively actuated). This driving mechanism is used for the purpose of allowing the grippers to open and close (Paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Zrenner by combining the use of a suction cup assembly with a finger grip assembly as disclosed by Payton et al. for the purpose of increasing the utilization of the robotic picking solution, using the manipulator and drive mechanism disclosed by John et al. for the purpose of allowing the grippers to open and close, and using the fingers with linkages disclosed by Payton et al. for the for the purpose of providing both flexibility and a spring force for compliance.
Regarding Claim 20, Zrenner in view of Payton et al. and John et al. disclose the limitations of claim 11. The combination as applied in claim 11 discloses the first and second suction cups are angularly offset about the valve assembly (Zrenner Figure 3: two suction grippers angularly offset, 18a and 18b);
and the valve assembly is rotatable to move the first and second flow channels relative to the inlet (Zrenner Figures 4-7b show inlets 20, 28a, 28b first and second flow channels 38a and 38b, Zrenner Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 21, Zrenner in view of Payton et al. and John et al. disclose the limitations of claim 20. The combination as applied in claim 20 discloses the valve assembly comprises a first part comprising the inlet and a second part comprising the first and second flow channels, the first and second parts being rotatable relative to each other (Zrenner Figure 7b shows seals 48c that divide the suction cup assembly into two parts with an inlet 20 in the first part and a first and second flow channel in the second part 38a and 38b, Zrenner Paragraph 48).
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zrenner (EP 3730257 A1) in view of Payton et al. (US 2022/0118629 A1) and John et al. (US 2024/0237583 A1) in further view of Gross (US 2021/0229936 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Zrenner in view of Payton et al. and John et al. disclose the limitations of claim 11. The combination as applied in claim 11 does not disclose the first suction cup is of at least one of a different size or a different compliance to the second suction cup.
Gross discloses a suction gripper device that uses two different suction heads each with different suction surfaces and sizes (Figures 1-3 show different sized suction cups 131, 141 and their respective surfaces 132, 142. Paragraph 31) for the purpose of selecting appropriate suction heads for different suction surfaces (Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 11 by using the different sized suction heads disclosed by Gross for the purpose of selecting appropriate suction heads for different suction surfaces.
Regarding Claim 23, Zrenner in view of Payton et al. and John et al. disclose the limitations of claim 11. The combination as applied in claim 11 does not disclose a proximity sensor to signal a preset position of the movable first and second flow channels.
Gross discloses a suction gripper device that uses a proximity sensor to signal a preset position of the pivotable suction cup assembly (Figure 8a shows a rotation position sensor 125 and a rotation scanner 225, Paragraph 39 Lines 1-7) for the purpose of determining the exact position of the suction element and/or the suction arm holder in the event of an unscheduled restart (Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 11 by including a rotation position sensor and rotation scanner disclosed by Gross for the purpose of determining the exact position of the suction element and/or the suction arm holder in the event of an unscheduled restart.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payton et al. (US 2022/0118629 A1) in view of Zrenner (EP 3730257 A1) and Parness et al. (US 11865727 B1).
Regarding Claim 24, Payton et al. discloses a robot end effector comprising:
a finger gripper assembly (Figures 3A and 3B: fingers 304);
a suction cup assembly comprising (Figures 3A and 3B: there is a suction cup assembly 302):
a first suction cup (Figure 6: 604);
an extendable stem to which the suction cup assembly is fluidically connected so as to be movable relative to the finger gripper assembly (Figure 6 and 7: linear extension member 602, Paragraph 65); and
a vacuum manifold (Figure 4: 410), the vacuum manifold being fluidically connected to the extendable stem and comprising an integrated vacuum source comprising one or more venturi vacuum generators to supply the vacuum pressure to the inlet of the suction cup assembly, via the vacuum manifold and the extendable stem, in use (Figure 6: venturi vacuum generator 614 is in the manifold, Paragraph 66, Figures 4 and 6: the vacuum manifold 410 is fluidically connected to the extendable stem).
Payton et al. does not disclose a second suction cup; and
a valve assembly comprising an inlet and first and second flow channels in respective fluid communication with the first suction cup and second suction cup, wherein the first and second flow channels are movable to activate the first or second suction cup, in dependence on alignment of the inlet with the respective first or second flow channel, when vacuum pressure is supplied to the inlet in use; and
the vacuum manifold mounted on the extendable stem to move with the extendable stem
Zrenner discloses an end effector with suction grippers comprising: a first suction cup (Figure 3: suction gripper 18a);
a second suction cup (Figure 3: suction gripper 18b); and a
a valve assembly comprising an inlet and first and second flow channels in respective fluid communication with the first suction cup and second suction cup (Figures 4-7b shows inlets 20, 28a, 28b, first and second flow channels 38a and 38b, Paragraph 48), wherein the first and second flow channels are movable to activate the first or second suction cup, in dependence on alignment of the inlet with the respective first or second flow channel, when vacuum pressure is supplied to the inlet in use (Paragraph 48). This suction cup and valve assembly is used for the purpose of enabling reliable gripping of articles lying obliquely and/or at an angle of a container (Paragraph 8).
Parness et al. discloses a robot picking suction cup end effector with a vacuum manifold vacuum manifold mounted on the extendable stem to move with the extendable stem (Figure 2: vacuum manifold 206, compliance mechanism 218 is a stem, translation arrows, Column 6 Lines 30-37: the compliance mechanism can extend and retract indicated by translation arrows 219). The manifold is placed in this configuration for the purpose of enabling precise positioning of the manifold (Column 5 Lines 64-67 and Column 5 Lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Payton et al. by replacing the first suction cup (Payton et al. Figure 6: 604) with the suction grippers and valve assembly disclosed by Zrenner for the purpose of gripping of articles lying obliquely and/or at an angle of a container and moving the vacuum manifold to be mounted on the extendable stem as disclosed by Parness et al. for the purpose of enabling precise positioning of the manifold.
Regarding Claim 25, Payton et al. in view of Zrenner and Parness et al. disclose the limitaitons of claim 24. The combination as applied in claim 24 does not disclose an inline filter assembly connected to the extendable stem and in fluid connection with the suction cup assembly.
Parness et al. discloses a robot picking suction cup end effector with an inline filter connected to a suction cup assembly (Figure 3 shows filter 340 and suction cup assembly 320) for the purpose of preventing damage to items in loose packaging when picking (Column 7 Lines 23-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination, as applied in claim 24 by including the inline filter assembly disclosed by Parness et al. for the purpose of preventing damage to items in loose packaging when picking.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payton et al. (US 2022/0118629 A1) in view of Zrenner (EP 3730257 A1) and Parness et al. (US 11865727 B1) in further view of John et al. (US 2024/0237583 A1).
Regarding Claim 26, Payton et al. in view of Zrenner and Parness et al. disclose the limitaitons of claim 24. The combination as applied in claim 24 discloses finger gripper assembly comprises: a first finger element (Payton et al. Figure 3A and 3B: the first finger element is the finger 304 on top); a second finger element (Payton et al. Figure 3A and 3B: the second finger element is the finger 304 on bottom); and a drive mechanism to open and close the first and second finger elements relative to each other (Payton et al. Figure 9: DC Servo Motor 902, Finger drive train 904, Paragraph 77: the fingers may include one or more servo motors configured to drive one or move finger drive trains), the drive mechanism comprising: an actuator (Payton et al. Figure 9: Finger drive train 904); a first linkage assembly connecting the actuator to the first finger element for direct actuation of the first finger element (Payton et al. Paragraph 79: the fingers are made from a plurality of linkages, Payton et al. Paragraph 77); and a second linkage assembly connecting the actuator to the second finger element (Payton et al. Paragraph 79: the second finger would be made of a linkage assembly, Payton et al. Paragraph 78: the second finger would also be actuated by the drive train).
Payton et al. additionally discloses a gear mechanism to actuate the fingers (Paragraph 78).
The combination as applied in claim 24 does not disclose the gear mechanism connecting the actuator to the second finger element for passive actuation of the second finger element, the gear mechanism comprising a first gear connected to the first linkage assembly and a second gear connected to the second linkage assembly and arranged to mesh with the first gear to passively actuate the second finger element in dependence on actuation of the first finger element by the actuator.
John et al. discloses an agricultural manipulator for a robotic arm that comprises:
a first finger element (Figure 1: the gripper 8 that has rotation shaft 14):
a second finger element (Figure 1: the gripper 8 that has rotation shaft 15): and
a drive mechanism to open and close the first and second finger elements relative to each other the drive mechanism comprising (Figure 1: gripper driver 12, Paragraph 41):
an actuator (Figure 1: the gripper driver 12 drives the rotation shaft 14):
the actuator is connected to the finger element for direct actuation of the first finger element (Paragraph 40): and
a gear mechanism connecting the actuator to the second finger element for passive actuation of the second finger element (Figure 1: the transmission 13 is a gear mechanism and allows for passive actuation of the second finger, Paragraph 40) , the gear mechanism comprising a first gear connected to the first finger and a second gear connected to the second finger and arranged to mesh with the first gear to passively actuate the second finger element in dependence on actuation of the first finger element by the actuator (Figure 1: the transmission 13 is made from a gear on the first finger and a gear from the second finger, Paragraph 40: the second finger is passively actuated). This driving mechanism is used for the purpose of allowing the grippers to open and close (Paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination, as applied in claim 24 by using the actuator and gear mechanism disclosed by John et al. for the purpose of allowing the grippers to open and close.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the applicant’s argument to moving vacuum manifold (independent claim 24), a rejection for the newly added claim 24 has been written.
Regarding the applicant’s argument to the inline filter assembly (dependent claim 25), Claim 25 recites “an inline filter assembly connected to the extendable stem and in fluid connection with the suction cup assembly” in lines 1-3. The claim does not recite the inline filter assembly is arranged in the fluid path between the extendable stem and the suction cup assembly. Since the filter is in operational flow with extendable stem and the suction cup assembly it would be connected to the extendable stem and satisfy the claim.
Regarding the applicant’s argument to the passive two-finger drive mechanism (independent claim 11), Payton was cited for its use of suction cup assemblies and finger grip assemblies together in one invention. Payton does not specifically disclose the gear mechanism that actuates the fingers (Payton Paragraph 78: the exact size or configuration of these components may vary as long as the features of the embodiments described herein may be accomplished, this would mean the gearing may vary as long as the fingers open and close). John discloses a gearing mechanism that would be capable of opening and closing the fingers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the finger actuation method of John to move the fingers of Payton.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2024/0100719 A1) shows a finger grip assembly that uses linkages in the
fingers and Xaio (US 2015/0021948 A1) shows a clamping mechanism with second finger that is passively actuated.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653