DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The following title is suggested: “Server, User Terminal, and Service Providing Method, And Control Thereof for Display of an Environment Using Photographing Location” or a title more indicative of the claimed subject matter.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 16, 2026 has been entered. Claims 13-32 are now pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have addressed all informalities as previously set forth in the non-final action mailed on March 16, 2026.
Response to Arguments
The previous claim objections have been removed based on the current claim amendments.
Applicant’s arguments see page 7, filed June 16, 2026, with respect to the statutory and non-statutory double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The statutory and non-statutory double patenting rejections have been removed based on the current claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 13-17, 19-27, and 29-32 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Berstis (US 6,182,010 B1, hereinafter referenced “Berstis”) in view of Vincent (US 2008/0291217 A1, hereinafter referenced “Vincent”).
1.- 12. (Canceled)
In regards to claim 13. (New) Berstis discloses an electronic device (Berstis, Abstract) comprising:
-a display (Berstis Column 3, lines 34-36; Reference discloses FIG. 1 illustrates a representative pervasive computing client device 10 having a graphical display 12);
-and at least one processor (Berstis, Column 4, lines 46-51; Reference discloses the inventive functionality of the pervasive computing client 10 is preferably implemented in a software executable in a processor, namely, as a set of instructions (program code) in a code module resident in the random access memory of the computer) configured to: obtain a first image corresponding to first location information (Berstis, Column 5, lines 32-41; Reference discloses such a device may include a GPS receiver or, alternatively, internal positioning devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a compass, and the like). Such devices may be used to provide position and direction information to the device. In addition, the device typically includes mapping routines to illustrate various characteristics of a given geographic area. Such a mapping routine, for example, would generate an overlay image illustrating physical features and characteristics, contours, property lines, dwellings, roads, waterways, and the like (i.e. a first image in relation to a first corresponding location)),
-obtain map data, control the display to display the map data including an icon moving along a moving path (Berstis, Column 5, lines 53-60; Reference discloses FIG. 4 depicts an illustrative display on graphical display 12 of the pervasive device. In this example, direction arrow 80 indicates the direction of travel along a road 82. The destination is represented, for example, by cross 84. Other features such as roads 86 and lake 88 are also depicted. Preferably, the vehicle's location along the route is displayed and updated continuously in real-time or according to some given time interval (e.g., every 5 seconds)(i.e. direction arrow and updating of vehicles location along road 82 within map interpreted as obtain map data, control the display to display the map data including an icon moving along a moving path),
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-and based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320 (i.e. based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information). As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 14. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a plurality of images respectively corresponding to a plurality of location information, wherein the plurality of images includes the first image corresponding to the first location information and a second image corresponding to second location information, control the display to display the map data by moving the icon, based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0025] and [0031]; Reference at [0025] discloses as illustrated by FIG. 1, panorama viewer 120 requests configuration information 130 from server(s) 150... Panorama viewer 120 retrieves visual assets 140 for the panorama, for example, in the form of panoramic images or in the form of panoramic image tiles (i.e. obtain a plurality of images respectively corresponding to a plurality of location information wherein the plurality of images includes the first image corresponding to the first location information and a second image corresponding to second location information). Para [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320. As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Likewise, as the user manipulates the orientation or location of avatar icon 320 within the mapping service, the mapping service informs the panorama viewer so that the panorama viewer can update its visual representation (i.e. manipulation of avatar icon causes manipulation of viewport and transition between panoramic images thus being control the display to display the map data by moving the icon, based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 15. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 14.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information instead of the first image (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at para [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320. As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Likewise, as the user manipulates the orientation or location of avatar icon 320 within the mapping service, the mapping service informs the panorama viewer so that the panorama viewer can update its visual representation (i.e. based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information instead of the first image).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 16. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 14.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the moved spot of the icon not corresponding to the plurality of location information, control the display to display the map data without displaying the plurality of images (Vincent, para [0034]; Reference discloses when the user reaches a “dead end” where the road continues but no further imagery is available, there is only one arrow on the street indicating the direction in which the user can navigate. In the other direction, a symbol and message embedded in the image can be presented to inform the user that imagery is not available in this direction (i.e. informing user that no imagery is available in a given area interpreted as based on the moved spot of the icon not corresponding to the plurality of location information, control the display to display the map data without displaying the plurality of images)).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 17. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis further discloses
-wherein the first image is an image captured by a photographing unit (Berstis, Column 6, lines 51-55; Reference discloses these photographs can be gathered for the navigational system in a number of ways. A preferable way is the use of a digital camera (such as that shown in U.S. Pat. No. 5,859,666, which is incorporated herein by reference, mounted to vehicles which regularly travel the area).
In regards to claim 19. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis further discloses
-wherein the first location information is generated by receiving a GPS signal (Berstis, Column 5, lines 30-36; Reference discloses according to an alternate embodiment, the inventive display routine is implemented within a handheld pervasive computing device. Such a device may include a GPS receiver or, alternatively, internal positioning devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a compass, and the like).Such devices may be used to provide position and direction information to the device).
In regards to claim 20. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the processor is further configured to: based on the current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information around the icon on the map data (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320 (i.e. based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information). As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Fig. 3 illustrates image around icon on map data).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 21. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display to display the map data on a display screen of the display, and control the display to display the first image on a sub screen within the display screen (Vincent, Fig. 3; Reference illustrates map display around avatar 320 as first image in display in viewport 330 interpreted as the sub screen).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 22. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the first location information is tagged with the first image (Vincent, Fig. 3; Reference illustrates map display where street names are labeled within the displayed location in the viewport 330 of the image).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 23. (New) Berstis discloses a method for an electronic device (Berstis, Abstract), the control method comprising:
-obtaining a first image corresponding to first location information (Berstis, Column 5, lines 32-41; Reference discloses such a device may include a GPS receiver or, alternatively, internal positioning devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a compass, and the like). Such devices may be used to provide position and direction information to the device. In addition, the device typically includes mapping routines to illustrate various characteristics of a given geographic area. Such a mapping routine, for example, would generate an overlay image illustrating physical features and characteristics, contours, property lines, dwellings, roads, waterways, and the like (i.e. a first image in relation to a first corresponding location)),
-obtaining map data, displaying the map data including an icon moving along a moving path (Berstis, Column 5, lines 53-60; Reference discloses FIG. 4 depicts an illustrative display on graphical display 12 of the pervasive device. In this example, direction arrow 80 indicates the direction of travel along a road 82. The destination is represented, for example, by cross 84. Other features such as roads 86 and lake 88 are also depicted. Preferably, the vehicle's location along the route is displayed and updated continuously in real-time or according to some given time interval (e.g., every 5 seconds)(i.e. direction arrow and updating of vehicles location along road 82 within map interpreted as obtain map data, control the display to display the map data including an icon moving along a moving path),
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-and based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, displaying the first image corresponding to the first location information (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320 (i.e. based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information). As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 24. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a plurality of images respectively corresponding to a plurality of location information, wherein the plurality of images includes the first image corresponding to the first location information and a second image corresponding to second location information, displaying the map data by moving the icon, based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, displaying the second image corresponding to the second location information (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0025] and [0031]; Reference at [0025] discloses as illustrated by FIG. 1, panorama viewer 120 requests configuration information 130 from server(s) 150... Panorama viewer 120 retrieves visual assets 140 for the panorama, for example, in the form of panoramic images or in the form of panoramic image tiles (i.e. obtain a plurality of images respectively corresponding to a plurality of location information wherein the plurality of images includes the first image corresponding to the first location information and a second image corresponding to second location information). Para [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320. As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Likewise, as the user manipulates the orientation or location of avatar icon 320 within the mapping service, the mapping service informs the panorama viewer so that the panorama viewer can update its visual representation (i.e. manipulation of avatar icon causes manipulation of viewport and transition between panoramic images thus being control the display to display the map data by moving the icon, based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 25. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 24.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein displaying the second image comprises: based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, displaying the second image corresponding to the second location information instead of the first image (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at para [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320. As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Likewise, as the user manipulates the orientation or location of avatar icon 320 within the mapping service, the mapping service informs the panorama viewer so that the panorama viewer can update its visual representation (i.e. based on the moved spot of the icon corresponding to the second location information, control the display to display the second image corresponding to the second location information instead of the first image).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 26. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 24.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the method further comprises: based on the moved spot of the icon not corresponding to the plurality of location information, displaying the map data without displaying the plurality of images (Vincent, para [0034]; Reference discloses when the user reaches a “dead end” where the road continues but no further imagery is available, there is only one arrow on the street indicating the direction in which the user can navigate. In the other direction, a symbol and message embedded in the image can be presented to inform the user that imagery is not available in this direction (i.e. informing user that no imagery is available in a given area interpreted as based on the moved spot of the icon not corresponding to the plurality of location information, control the display to display the map data without displaying the plurality of images)).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 27. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis further discloses
-wherein the first image is an image captured by a photographing unit (Berstis, Column 6, lines 51-55; Reference discloses these photographs can be gathered for the navigational system in a number of ways. A preferable way is the use of a digital camera (such as that shown in U.S. Pat. No. 5,859,666, which is incorporated herein by reference, mounted to vehicles which regularly travel the area).
In regards to claim 29. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis further discloses
-wherein the first location information is generated by receiving a GPS signal (Berstis, Column 5, lines 30-36; Reference discloses according to an alternate embodiment, the inventive display routine is implemented within a handheld pervasive computing device. Such a device may include a GPS receiver or, alternatively, internal positioning devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a compass, and the like).Such devices may be used to provide position and direction information to the device).
In regards to claim 30. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein displaying the first image comprises: based on the current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, displaying the first image corresponding to the first location information around the icon on the map data (Vincent, Fig. 3 and para [0031]; Reference at [0031] discloses as the panorama viewer is instantiated by the mapping service, the panorama viewer is presented in the form of viewport 330 embedded in an informational balloon window associated with avatar icon 320. The orientation of the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330 matches the orientation of avatar icon 320 (i.e. based on a current spot of the icon corresponding to the first location information, control the display to display the first image corresponding to the first location information). As the user manipulates the visual representation of the panorama within viewport 330, the panorama viewer informs the mapping service of any changes in orientation or location so that the mapping service can update the orientation and location of avatar icon 320. Fig. 3 illustrates image around icon on map data).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 31. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein displaying the first image comprises: displaying the map data on a display screen of the display, and displaying the first image on a sub screen within the display screen (Vincent, Fig. 3; Reference illustrates map display around avatar 320 as first image in display in viewport 330 interpreted as the sub screen).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
In regards to claim 32. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis does not explicitly disclose but Vincent teaches
-wherein the first location information is tagged with the first image (Vincent, Fig. 3; Reference illustrates map display where street names are labeled within the displayed location in the viewport 330 of the image).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
Claims 18 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Berstis (US 6,182,010 B1) in view of Vincent (US 2008/0291217 A1) as applied to claims 13 and 23 above, and further in view of Anttila (US 2009/0167919 A1, hereinafter referenced “Anttila”).
In regards to claim 18. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
Berstis and Vincent does not explicitly disclose but Anttila teaches
-wherein the first image is a user-captured photo image (Anttila, para [0027] and [0028]; Reference at [0027] discloses for example, if the user is moving in a direction as indicated by changes in location information captured from positioning sensor 37, orientation module 39 can generate orientation information that indicates that the front of the user is oriented in the direction of the movement. Para [0028] discloses in either selective capture mode or preview mode, camera module 36 can operate in conjunction with positioning sensor 37 and orientation module 39 to associate the location and orientation information of mobile terminal 10, at the moment of image capture).
Berstis and Vincent are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis to include the panoramic navigation features of Vincent in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery to increase mapping detail and user understanding of their surroundings, applicable to navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis.
Berstis and Anttila are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis, in view of the panoramic navigation features of Vincent, to include the object indication features of Anttila in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery. Further incorporating the object indication features of Anttila allows for display of an indication of an object within a current field of view via accessing location info for the object and the current FOV facilitating flexibility and immediacy of information transfer, applicable to mobile device and navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis and Vincent.
In regards to claim 28. (New) Berstis in view of Vincent teach the method according to claim 23.
Berstis and Vincent does not explicitly disclose but Anttila teaches
-wherein the first image is a user-captured photo image (Antilla, para [0027] and [0028]; Reference at [0027] discloses for example, if the user is moving in a direction as indicated by changes in location information captured from positioning sensor 37, orientation module 39 can generate orientation information that indicates that the front of the user is oriented in the direction of the movement. Para [0028] discloses in either selective capture mode or preview mode, camera module 36 can operate in conjunction with positioning sensor 37 and orientation module 39 to associate the location and orientation information of mobile terminal 10, at the moment of image capture).
Berstis and Anttila are also combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding navigation display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the pervasive computing client device of Berstis, in view of the panoramic navigation features of Vincent, to include the object indication features of Anttila in order to provide the user with a system that allows for visual image data of a location to be provided in a pop-up display for navigation as taught by Berstis while incorporating the panoramic navigation features of Vincent to allow for a panorama viewer to be included as a combined display item within a map of a navigation system to provide street view imagery. Further incorporating the object indication features of Anttila allows for display of an indication of an object within a current field of view via accessing location info for the object and the current FOV facilitating flexibility and immediacy of information transfer, applicable to mobile device and navigation display systems such as those taught in Berstis and Vincent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614