DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because:
Claim 1, line 6, “the corresponding first through holes” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 2, “the respective surfaces” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20240188230 [English translation for JP7315055 published 07/23/2023].
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses (figs.1-12) a key input device comprising:
Keys (14); and a member (10) having surfaces parallel to each other, the surfaces (11a) each having at least one first through hole among first through holes [para.0050], wherein
the keys (14) are inserted to the corresponding first through holes [para.0050];
the member (10) has a first end side, a second end side, a third end side, and a fourth end side, the first end side being opposite the second end side, the third end side being perpendicular to the first end side and opposite the fourth end side;
the surfaces (11a) of the member (10) are flat from the first end side toward the second end side; and
the member (10) has a step between a surface on the third end side and a surface on the fourth end side among the surfaces [see fig.9, paras.0070-0072].
Regarding claim 5, Kimura further discloses where a positional relationship between a moving surface (14e1) of a key (14te1) on the third end side and a lateral surface of a first through hole [para.0050], corresponding to the key (14te2) on the third end side is identical to a positional relationship between a moving surface (14e2) of a key (14te2) on the fourth end side and a lateral surface of a first through hole [para.0050] corresponding to the key on the fourth end side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Suwa, US 5247143.
Regarding claim 2, Kimura fails to explicitly disclose the key input device, further comprising sheets mounted on the respective surfaces and having second through holes corresponding to the first through holes of the surfaces.
Suwa discloses (fisg.4-6) a key input device, comprising sheets (8) mounted on respective surfaces (9) and having second through holes corresponding to first through holes (9a) of the surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the key input device of Kimura with the inclusion of the sheets of Suwa, thereby providing a key structure that reduces the repulsion force, so-called click touch and good operability and reduces noise.
Regarding claim 3, Suwa further discloses where each of keys (10) has a flange (10b) configured to face a corresponding surface (of, 9) among the surfaces with a corresponding sheet (8) among the sheets in-between.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed key input device, further comprising projection parts each having a support and ribs, wherein the projection parts each extend over two surfaces among the surfaces; the ribs protrude in directions perpendicular to a direction in which the support protrudes; the ribs protrude in the directions perpendicular to each other; and the ribs are fitted to notches formed in the sheets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hsu et al, Kano et al, Yao, Chiang et al, Lin et al, Ohira, Blaser and Takamura et al are examples of key input devices configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831