Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims appear to contain a typo and recite “a controller configured generate a control signal” it is believed Applicant intended to recite “a controller configured to generate a control signal”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an analytics engine configured to” and “a controllable subsystem controller configured to” in claims 10 and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-20 is/are directed to the abstract idea of a mathematical concept and a mental process. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) recite(s) obtaining a query, obtaining querying context, identifying the query type, generating a prompt, providing the prompt to an analytics engine, determining features, providing a user output for controlling a user system. The rejected dependent claims only supply additional steps (mathematical calculations, and mental processes) that a processor must perform. All of these concepts relate to the abstract idea of certain methods of mathematical concepts and mental processes. The concept described in claims 1-20 is/are not meaningfully different than those methods of mathematical concepts and mental processes found by the courts to be abstract ideas. As such, the description in claims 1-20 is an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim(s) recite(s) the additional limitations of "computing system” “analytics engine” “controller”. The hardware is recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The use of generic computer components that perform the generic functions of [e.g. "transmitting information", "generating information"] common to electronics and computer systems does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation (i.e. mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computing system).
Claims 1-20 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bey, et al. ("A multimodal AI approach for intuitively instructable autonomous systems: A case study of an autonomous off-highway vehicle.")
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Bey discloses a computer implemented method of controlling a user associated system, the computer implemented method comprising: AND an off-road operations computing system comprising: AND an off-road operations computing system comprising: one or more processors; memory; computer executable instructions stored in the memory, the computer executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, (abstract)
obtaining a query from a querying source; obtaining querying source context data; processing the query to identify an interrogative type corresponding to the query based on language in the query; (III. Spoken Language Understanding)
generating, based on the identified interrogative type, a prompt, the prompt identifying a task for an analytics engine; providing the prompt to the analytics engine; executing, with one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data, based on the prompt; (V. Reinforcement Learning Based Navigation & Association with Speech-Vision Data)
determining one or more features of an output to be generated based on the identified interrogative type, the output responsive to the agricultural user query;
generating the output based on the executed analytics and the determined one or more features; and controlling the user associated system based on the output. (VI. AGV Multimodal AI Demonstration)
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Bey further discloses wherein controlling the user associated system based on the output comprises controlling a user interface mechanism of the user associated system to display a user interface based on the output, the user interface comprising one or more display elements corresponding to the one or more determined features and displaying information based on the executed analytics. (C. SLU model validation; VI. AGV Mulimodal AI Demonstration)
Regarding claims 3, and 12, Bey further discloses wherein controlling the user associated system based on the output comprises controlling a controllable subsystem of a work machine, as the user associated system, based on the output. (V. 2) RL validation)
Regarding claims 4, and 13, Bey further discloses wherein processing the query to identify the interrogative type corresponding to the query based on language in the query comprises processing the query to identify, as the interrogative type, one of a descriptive interrogative type, a correlation interrogative type, a causation interrogative type, an intervention interrogative type, or a counterfactual interrogative type, based on language in the query. (III. B. SLU Model Architecture & Training)
Regarding claims 5, and 14, Bey further discloses processing the query to identify one or more variables corresponding to the query based on language in the query; and identifying the task for the analytics engine based on the identified interrogative type and the identified one or more variables. (III. B. SLU Model Architecture & Training)
Regarding claim 6, Bey further discloses wherein executing, with one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data, based on the prompt comprises generating one or more models using the one or more items of the querying source context data based on the prompt. (III. Spoken Language Understanding)
Regarding claim 7, Bey further discloses wherein executing, with one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data, based on the prompt comprises executing one or more preprocessed models using the one or more items of the querying source context data based on the prompt. (III. Spoken Language Understanding)
Regarding claim 8, Bey further discloses obtaining other source context data, wherein executing, with one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data, based on the prompt comprises executing, with one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data and one or more items of the other source context data, based on the prompt. (III. Spoken Language Understanding)
Regarding claims 9, and 18, Bey further discloses identifying a timing indicator based on the querying source context data; and determining as one of the one or more features, a recommended machine setting feature or a recommended prescription feature, based on the timing indicator. (II. Case Study A. Autonomous Vehicle Architecture; III. Spoken Language Understanding; Examiner notes that Bey at least recognizes that the example task “pick up the reb pallet and put it on the truck” timing is to be done right now and not sometime in the future, and further understanding of time is inherent to the spoken language understanding of Bey)
Regarding claim 15, Bey further discloses wherein the querying source context data includes current querying source worksite data and historical querying source worksite data. (III. A. Speech data generation; historical data is inherent to the training dataset)
Regarding claim 16, Bey further discloses wherein the query execution computing system is further configured to obtain other source context data and wherein the analytics engine is configured to execute with the one or more models, analytics on one or more items of the querying source context data and on one or more items of the other source context data, based on the prompt. (III. Spoken Language Understanding)
Regarding claim 17, Bey further discloses wherein the other source context data includes worksite data corresponding to one or more other sources. (IV. Visual Perception and Association with Speech)
Conclusion
/ALAN D HUTCHINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669