DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11 December 2024, 06 January 2025, and 20 January 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed medium can include both transitory (i.e. non-statutory) media and non-transitory (i.e. statutory) media. While the Specification describes a specific non-transitory medium, the claims lack such specificity and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the claims medium encompasses non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 12-15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sevinc et al. (US 20190149512) in view of Klimovs et al. (US 20170272442).
As per claims 1, 9, and 17, Sevinc et al. discloses a system including one or more networks including enforcement points with a processor and memory with instructions (see Fig. 1) to perform a method to perform packet level data centric protection enforcement in one or more networks, the method comprising: receiving a packet at an enforcement point (EP) within one or more networks that include a plurality of enforcement points (EPs) (see paragraphs [0023], [0043], and [0054] showing the that the rules are applied between devices in a specific order);
accessing enforcement data that indicates allowed communications between the EP and one or more other EPs, wherein the data are generated from a policy; and enforcing the flow of the packet at the EP based on the data (see paragraphs [0020], [0023], and [0043] where the rules, i.e. policies, are applied to enforce the policy).
While Sevinc et al. generally teaches that the rules are applied in a specific order, there lacks an explicit recitation of a policy that specifies how traffic flows the one or more networks and a determination of possible data movements between at least two of EPs in the plurality of EPs.
However, Klimovs et al. teaches a policy that specifies how traffic flows the one or more networks and a determination of possible data movements between at least two of EPs in the plurality of EPs (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the policy based on traffic flows of Klimovs et al. in the Sevinc et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to enforce the specific directional flow of traffic thereby ensuring they are reviewed at the required EPs.
As per claims 2, 10, and 18, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses generating a graph that identifies the plurality of EPs and possible data movements between the plurality of EPs, and wherein the enforcement data is generated based, at least in part, on the graph (see Klimovs et al. paragraph [0044]).
As per claims 4, 12, and 20, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses assigning unique Origin IDs to each of the plurality of EPs; and wherein the enforcement data includes Origin IDs for EPs that are neighbors to the EP and an indication of whether communication is allowed with each of the neighbors (see Klimovs et al. paragraph [0043]).
As per claims 5 and 13, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses the enforcement points comprise network virtualization devices (NVDs) that include NICs (see Sevinc et al. paragraph [0033]), but fails to explicitly disclose the NICs are smartNICs. However, Official Notice is taken that at a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to use smartNICs in the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system in order to increase the speed of the system by performing the steps at the NIC.
As per claims 6 and 14, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses enforcing the flow of the packet occurs prior to a transmission of the packet to a next hop (see Sevinc et al. paragraphs [0020], [0023], [0043], and [0054] and Klimovs et al. paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
As per claims 7 and 15, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses determining a source of the packet based, at least in part, on a first Origin ID; determining a destination of the packet based, at least in part, on a second Origin ID; and wherein enforcing the flow of the packet includes preventing the packet from transmission to a next hop based, at least in part, on one or more of the first Origin ID or the second Origin ID (see Sevinc et al. paragraphs [0020], [0023], [0043], and [0054] and Klimovs et al. paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of Gopal et al. (US 20190215306).
As per claims 3, 11, and 19, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system discloses generating a graph based, at least in part, one or more rules in the policy that specify how traffic flows through the enforcement point and other enforcement points wherein the enforcement data is generated based, at least in part, on the graph (see Sevinc et al. paragraphs [0020], [0023], [0043], and [0054] and Klimovs et al. paragraphs [0043]-[0044]), but fails to explicitly disclose the policy includes one or more layer 4 rules and one or more layer 7 rules; and wherein the enforcement data is generated based, at least in part, on the graph.
However, Gopal et al. teaches a distributed rule enforcement system that includes a policy includes one or more layer 4 rules and one or more layer 7 rules (see paragraphs [0040] and [0125]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to check layer 4 and layer 7 rules in the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to make the system more robust by checking additional OSI-layer information.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 20220329566).
As per claims 8 and 16, the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system fails to explicitly disclose distributing first enforcement data to the EP and distributing second enforcement data to a second EP.
However, Huang et al. teaches distributing first enforcement data to the EP and distributing second enforcement data to a second EP (see Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0118]-[0119] and [0136])
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically distribute the enforcement data in the modified Sevinc et al. and Klimovs et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to ensure that the data is up-to-date.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards policy/rule enforcement.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409