DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 5/29/2026. Claims 1, 8, 14, 16 and 18 were amended. No claims were canceled. Likewise, claims 1-20 were pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by unpatentable over Jakes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2022/0301369).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Jakes teaches a method for enabling unlocking an ultra-wide band (UWB) device in a communication system (para. 003; techniques for unlocking a lock on a device based on ultra-wideband (UWB) location tracking), comprising:
receiving a set of location parameters entered by a user (par 027; only when the user 302 approaches the device 306 from a particular direction relative to the front of the device 306 and enters the three-dimensional cone-shaped area 310 does the device 306 unlock its hardware lock 309 (Examiner notes that user’s specific movement and entry to the specific location enables the receipt of the parameters) along with par. 003; track a location of a second device different from the first device using one or more UWB signals received from the second device via the UWB transceiver.", par. 047; ...an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver 191 configured to transmit and receive data using UWB signals and UWB communication protocol(s)...);
determining an unlockable range based on the set of location parameters and a map (par. 027; ...UWB-enabled devices such as smartphones with UWB transceivers may be used to not only validate that an authorized user is present in proximity to the locking device, but that the user is at a specific expected position such as at the keyboard for the locking device when activating the locking device...", par. 048];...various UWB algorithms, time difference of arrival (TDoA) algorithms, and/or angle of arrival (AoA) algorithms may be used for system 100 to determine the distance to and location of another UWB transceiver on another device that is in communication with the UWB transceiver on the system 100 to thus track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 054;:...the device 306 (or phone 304) determines that the phone 304 has entered a predetermined area 310 in front of the device 306, the device 306 may unlock the hardware lock 309...", see also par. 084; ...determine a bearing 806 to a second device 804 using UWB signal exchange, which may be accurate to plus/minus three degrees 808 or even less. Depth (distance) between the first device 802 and second device 804 may also be determined using UWB to plus/minus ten centimeters 810 or even less.", see also fig. 3 and 8);
receiving, in a lock mode, one or more location-indicative signals from an infrastructure of the communication system (par. 053; an end-user 302 is holding his or her smartphone 304 in one hand while walking toward a device 306 that is sitting on a table 308 and has a hardware lock 309 such as a UWB-enabled smart door lock, deadbolt lock, barrel bolt lock, cam lock, or padlock. Based on UWB signals transmitted by the phone 304 to the device 306...track the location of the phone 304 in real time using UWB as the phone 304 moves about the environment to determine whether to unlock the lock 309.", see also par. 084; ..the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles);
computing a self-position on the map based on the one or more location-indicative signals (see citations above, particularly, par. 027; …not only validate that an authorized user is present in proximity to the locking device, but that the user is at a specific expected position...", see also par. 055; ...only when the user 302 approaches the device 306 from a particular direction relative to the front of the device 306 and enters the three-dimensional cone-shaped area 310 does the device 306 unlock its hardware lock 309.", see also par. 083; ...the first device has locked its hardware lock. Accordingly, as shown the GUI 700 may include a prompt 702 indicating that the first device has locked its hardware lock...Orientation of the other device may also be determined based on UWB location tracking itself as the first device might determine based on the angle of arrival of UWB signals from the other device and the known location of UWB transceiver on the other device.", determine par. 084; "So, for example, whether the second device the device 802 may 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles.", see also fig. 7 and 8); and
determining whether the self-position is within the unlockable range (par.
027; These things may be done based on use of UWB by the locking device to detect both direction and distance to the user's personal device such as their smartphone.", par.048; ...track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 056; ...using UWB location tracking, the device 306 may track the real-time current location of the phone 304 to identify a motion vector from the smartphone 304 toward the device 306 that indicates motion of the phone 304 with respect to the front of the device 306 bearing the lock 309.", see also par. 084; "So, for example, the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles.", see also fig. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Jakes teaches the method of claim 1, and Jakes further teaches comprising, in response to the self-position being in the unlockable range, obtaining, in the lock mode, a distance from a second UWB device (par. 003, 047-048).
Regarding claim 3, Jakes teaches the method of claim 2, and Jakes further teaches wherein the obtaining of the distance from the second UWB device comprises: transmitting an uplink time-difference of arrival (UL-TDoA) signal to an infrastructure; and receiving the distance from the infrastructure (par. 048).
Regarding claim 4, Jakes teaches the method of claim 3, and Jakes further teaches wherein the obtaining of the distance from the second UWB device comprises computing the distance using Bluetooth ranging (par. 048, 068).
Regarding claim 5, Jakes teaches the method of claim 2, and Jakes further teaches further comprising: in response to the distance being less than a predetermined activation distance that is less than the unlockable range, entering an activation mode by displaying non-confidential features on a locked screen (par. 084).
Regarding claim 6, Jakes teaches the method of claim 5, and Jakes further teaches comprising turning on at least one of Bluetooth, UWB, or an angle-of-arrival (AoA) (par. 048, 068, 083).
Regarding claim 7, Jakes teaches the method of claim 6, and Jakes further teaches comprising: monitoring the distance or a relative angular position of the second UWB device using the at least one of Bluetooth, UWB, or AoA; and in response to the distance being less than a predetermined unlock distance, entering an unlock mode by unlocking non-confidential features and confidential features (Fig 7 with par. 048, 068, 083).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Jakes teaches the method of claim 5, and Jakes further teaches comprising: receiving, from the user, a set of second location parameters corresponding to an unlock perimeter; determining, in the activation mode, whether the second UWB device is within the unlock perimeter using at least one of [[the]] Bluetooth, UWB, or AoA;in response to the second UWB device being within the unlock perimeter, entering an unlock mode by unlocking the locked screen; and in response to the second UWB device being beyond the unlock perimeter, maintaining the activation mode (Figs 3, 7 & 8, with par. 048, 083-084).
Regarding claim 9, Jakes teaches the method of claim 8, and Jakes further teaches wherein the set of second location parameters comprise an unlock distance range and an unlock angle (Fig 8, with par. 048, 083-084).
Regarding claim 10, Jakes teaches the method of claim 6, and Jakes further teaches comprising: receiving, from the user, a set of configuration parameters corresponding to a trigger movement and a time period; determining, in the activation mode, whether the trigger movement is received in the time period (par. 053-056).; in response to receiving the trigger movement in the time period, entering an unlock mode by unlocking the locked screen; and in response to not receiving the trigger movement in the time period, maintaining the activation mode (par. 083-084)..
Regarding claim 11, Jakes teaches the method of claim 10, w and Jakes further teaches wherein the trigger movement comprises physical contact from the user (par. 053-056).
Regarding claim 15, Jakes teaches the method of claim 1, and Jakes further teaches comprising, in response to the self-position being beyond the unlockable range, maintaining the lock mode (Figs 3, 7 & 8, with par. 048, 083-084).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Jakes teaches a ultra-wideband (UWB) device (para. 003; techniques for unlocking a lock on a device based on ultra-wideband (UWB) location tracking), comprising:
a transceiver operable to perform a UWB communication (par. 053; an end-user 302 is holding his or her smartphone 304 in one hand while walking toward a device 306 that is sitting on a table 308 and has a hardware lock 309 such as a UWB-enabled smart door lock, deadbolt lock, barrel bolt lock, cam lock, or padlock. Based on UWB signals transmitted by the phone 304 to the device 306...track the location of the phone 304 in real time using UWB as the phone 304 moves about the environment to determine whether to unlock the lock 309.", see also par. 084; ..the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles);
a memory (Fig 1) for storing program instructions, a map of an area covered by a wireless network, a table of strengths of WiFi signals in the area, distances, angle-of-arrivals, and device information from the ranging operations (par. 003, 027, 048, 083-084); and
a processor (Fig 1) coupled to the transceiver and to the memory (see (Fig 1) for connections also), wherein the processor is operable to execute the program instructions, which, when executed by the processor, cause the UWB device to perform the following operations to enable unlocking the UWB device in the wireless local network (para. 003; techniques for unlocking a lock on a device based on ultra-wideband (UWB) location tracking):
receiving a set of location parameters entered by a user (par 027; only when the user 302 approaches the device 306 from a particular direction relative to the front of the device 306 and enters the three-dimensional cone-shaped area 310 does the device 306 unlock its hardware lock 309 (Examiner notes that user’s specific movement and entry to the specific location enables the receipt of the parameters), along with par. 053; an end-user 302 is holding his or her smartphone 304 in one hand while walking toward a device 306 that is sitting on a table 308 and has a hardware lock 309 such as a UWB-enabled smart door lock, deadbolt lock, barrel bolt lock, cam lock, or padlock. Based on UWB signals transmitted by the phone 304 to the device 306...track the location of the phone 304 in real time using UWB as the phone 304 moves about the environment to determine whether to unlock the lock 309.", see also par. 084; ..the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles);
determining an unlockable range based on the set of location parameters and a map (par. 027; ...UWB-enabled devices such as smartphones with UWB transceivers may be used to not only validate that an authorized user is present in proximity to the locking device, but that the user is at a specific expected position such as at the keyboard for the locking device when activating the locking device...", par. 048];...various UWB algorithms, time difference of arrival (TDoA) algorithms, and/or angle of arrival (AoA) algorithms may be used for system 100 to determine the distance to and location of another UWB transceiver on another device that is in communication with the UWB transceiver on the system 100 to thus track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 054;:...the device 306 (or phone 304) determines that the phone 304 has entered a predetermined area 310 in front of the device 306, the device 306 may unlock the hardware lock 309...", see also par. 084; ...determine a bearing 806 to a second device 804 using UWB signal exchange, which may be accurate to plus/minus three degrees 808 or even less. Depth (distance) between the first device 802 and second device 804 may also be determined using UWB to plus/minus ten centimeters 810 or even less.", see also fig. 3 and 8);
receiving, in a lock mode, one or more location-indicative signals from an infrastructure of a communication system (par. 053; an end-user 302 is holding his or her smartphone 304 in one hand while walking toward a device 306 that is sitting on a table 308 and has a hardware lock 309 such as a UWB-enabled smart door lock, deadbolt lock, barrel bolt lock, cam lock, or padlock. Based on UWB signals transmitted by the phone 304 to the device 306...track the location of the phone 304 in real time using UWB as the phone 304 moves about the environment to determine whether to unlock the lock 309.", see also par. 084; ..the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles);
computing a self-position on the map based on the one or more location-indicative signals (see citations above, particularly, par. 027; …not only validate that an authorized user is present in proximity to the locking device, but that the user is at a specific expected position...", see also par. 055; ...only when the user 302 approaches the device 306 from a particular direction relative to the front of the device 306 and enters the three-dimensional cone-shaped area 310 does the device 306 unlock its hardware lock 309.", see also par. 083; ...the first device has locked its hardware lock. Accordingly, as shown the GUI 700 may include a prompt 702 indicating that the first device has locked its hardware lock...Orientation of the other device may also be determined based on UWB location tracking itself as the first device might determine based on the angle of arrival of UWB signals from the other device and the known location of UWB transceiver on the other device.", determine par. 084; "So, for example, whether the second device the device 802 may 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles.", see also fig. 7 and 8); and
determining whether the self-position is within the unlockable range (par.
027; These things may be done based on use of UWB by the locking device to detect both direction and distance to the user's personal device such as their smartphone.", par.048; ...track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 056; ...using UWB location tracking, the device 306 may track the real-time current location of the phone 304 to identify a motion vector from the smartphone 304 toward the device 306 that indicates motion of the phone 304 with respect to the front of the device 306 bearing the lock 309.", see also par. 084; "So, for example, the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles.", see also fig. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 19, Jakes teaches the UWB device of claim 18, and Jakes further teaches wherein the operations further comprise, in response to the self-position being in the unlockable range, obtaining, in the lock mode, a distance from a second UWB device (par. 003, 047-048).
Regarding claim 20, Jakes teaches the UWB device of claim 19, and Jakes further teaches wherein the obtaining of the distance from the second UWB device comprises: transmitting an uplink time-difference of arrival (UL-TDoA) signal to an infrastructure; and receiving the distance from the infrastructure (par. 048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2022/0301369) in view of Henry et al. (U.S. Patent 11,457,330).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Jakes teaches a method for enabling unlocking an ultra-wide band (UWB) device in a communication system (para. 003; techniques for unlocking a lock on a device based on ultra-wideband (UWB) location tracking), comprising:
receiving, a first signal indicating a first location of a first ultra-wideband (UWB) device (par. 053; an end-user 302 is holding his or her smartphone 304 in one hand while walking toward a device 306 that is sitting on a table 308 and has a hardware lock 309 such as a UWB-enabled smart door lock, deadbolt lock, barrel bolt lock, cam lock, or padlock. Based on UWB signals transmitted by the phone 304 to the device 306...track the location of the phone 304 in real time using UWB as the phone 304 moves about the environment to determine whether to unlock the lock 309.", see also par. 084; ..the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles); and
receiving, a second signal indicating a second location of a second UWB device (par. 003, 027, 048, 083-084);
determining, a distance between the first UWB device and the second UWB device based on the first signal and the second signal (par. 027; ...UWB-enabled devices such as smartphones with UWB transceivers may be used to not only validate that an authorized user is present in proximity to the locking device, but that the user is at a specific expected position such as at the keyboard for the locking device when activating the locking device...", par. 048];...various UWB algorithms, time difference of arrival (TDoA) algorithms, and/or angle of arrival (AoA) algorithms may be used for system 100 to determine the distance to and location of another UWB transceiver on another device that is in communication with the UWB transceiver on the system 100 to thus track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 054;:...the device 306 (or phone 304) determines that the phone 304 has entered a predetermined area 310 in front of the device 306, the device 306 may unlock the hardware lock 309...", see also par. 084; ...determine a bearing 806 to a second device 804 using UWB signal exchange, which may be accurate to plus/minus three degrees 808 or even less. Depth (distance) between the first device 802 and second device 804 may also be determined using UWB to plus/minus ten centimeters 810 or even less.", see also fig. 3 and 8); and
in response to the distance being less than a predetermined activation range, transmitting respective signals to the first UWB device and the second UWB device to turn on at least one of Bluetooth or UWB (par.027; These things may be done based on use of UWB by the locking device to detect both direction and distance to the user's personal device such as their smartphone.", par.048; ...track the real-time location of the other device.", see also par. 056; ...using UWB location tracking, the device 306 may track the real-time current location of the phone 304 to identify a motion vector from the smartphone 304 toward the device 306 that indicates motion of the phone 304 with respect to the front of the device 306 bearing the lock 309.", see also par. 084; "So, for example, the device 802 may determine whether the second device 804 comes within a predetermined area as set forth above to determine whether the first device should unlock its hardware lock consistent with present principles.", see also fig. 7 and 8).
Jakes does not emphasize the use of a network device communicating with the plurality of anchor devices and the UWB devices while also receiving signals therefrom for determining distances there-between. Henry from an analogous UWB ranging art teaches the use of a network device (Fig 1; controller 185) for communicating with a plurality of anchor devices (Fig 1; UWB anchor 115, UWB anchor 120) and UWB based devices (Fig 1; mobile devices 140, radio devices 105) while also receiving respective UWB signals therefrom them all for determining distances there-between (col 3:27-43). control device can designate one of the UWB anchor devices as a primary UWB anchor and other of the UWB anchor devices as secondary UWB anchors. The primary UWB anchor can communicate with the mobile device to complete a location exchange, while the secondary UWB anchors (which are in RF proximity to the primary UWB anchor) can operate as “receive-only anchors,” which passively receive UWB transmissions from the mobile device and from the primary UWB anchor but do not send communications to the mobile device. The secondary UWB anchors can, e.g., report the UWB transmissions, and/or information based on the UWB transmissions, to the control device for processing. For example, each of the secondary UWB anchors can report to a controller of the control device each frame it detects, and to a location engine of the control device, each frame that allows computation of a range/location) and
in response to a distance being less than a predetermined activation range, transmitting by the network device respective signals to the first UWB device and the second UWB device to turn on UWB for the devices (col 12:19-46; in a second stage 502 (shown in FIG. 5B), the mobile device 550 has moved to a location B. The control device 580 is configured to detect this movement, e.g., based on information from one or more of the access points (510-521, 523, and 524), standalone UWB anchor devices 540 and 541, and/or mobile device 550, and to dynamically adjust the anchor assignment as appropriate in response to the movement. For example, the control device 580 can initiate an anchor reassignment in response to a signal strength between the mobile device 550 and AP 516 (i.e., the previous primary anchor for the mobile device 550) falling below a predetermined handover threshold. The signal strength may be detected by, or reported to, the control device 580, e.g., by one or more of the access points (510-521, 523, and 524), standalone UWB anchor devices 540 and 541, and/or mobile device 550; also see col 12:47 thru col 13:3 for more context). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the method of Jakes with the concept wherein the use of a network device communicating with the plurality of anchor devices and the UWB devices while also receiving signals therefrom for determining distances there-between and in response to a distance being less than a predetermined activation range, transmitting by the network device respective signals to the first UWB device and the second UWB device to turn on UWB for the devices, as taught by Henry above, for the purpose of controlling what anchor devices are designated to be UWB coupled to the UWB mobile devices in an orderly fashion based on their respective proximity thereto.
Regarding claim 17, Jakes teaches the method of claim 16, and Jakes further teaches wherein the first signal comprises time of flight (TOF) information of the first UWB device, and the second signal comprises TOF information of the second UWB device (par. 048];...various UWB algorithms, time difference of arrival (TDoA) algorithms, and/or angle of arrival (AoA) algorithms may be used for system 100 to determine the distance to and location of another UWB transceiver on another device that is in communication with the UWB transceiver on the system 100 to thus track the real-time location of the other device.").
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2022/0301369) in view of Markhovsky et al. (EP 2739986)
Regarding claim 12, Jakes teaches the method of claim 1, but Jakes is silent on claim 12. Markhovsky from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein:the one or more location-indicative signals comprise a plurality of downlink-time difference of arrival (DL-TDoA) signals; and the computing of the self-position comprises performing trilateration on the plurality of DL-TDoA signals with respect to the map (par. 027, 320, 345).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the method of Jakes with the concept wherein: the one or more location-indicative signals comprise a plurality of downlink-time difference of arrival (DL-TDoA) signals; and the computing of the self-position comprises performing trilateration on the plurality of DL-TDoA signals with respect to the map, as taught by Markhovsky in order for performing trilateration on signals.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. 2022/0301369) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. U.S. US 20190239078).
Regarding claim 13, Jakes teaches the method of claim 1, but Jakes is silent on claim 13. Lee from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein: the one or more location-indicative signals comprise a plurality of WiFi signals; and the computing of the self-position comprises comparing strengths of the plurality of WiFi signals with a pre-recorded signal strength table to determine the self-position with respect to the map (par. 092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the method of Jakes with the concept wherein: the one or more location-indicative signals comprise a plurality of WiFi signals; and the computing of the self-position comprises comparing strengths of the plurality of WiFi signals with a pre-recorded signal strength table to determine the self-position with respect to the map, as taught by Lee in order for an executing screen of a predetermined application, or a predetermined image to be displayed on the display.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Jakes teaches the method of claim 1, and Jakes further teaches wherein: the one or more location-indicative signals comprise a WiFi signal or a cellular signal that comprises an IP address (see also par. 054:.the device 306 determines that the phone 304 has entered a predetermined area 310 in front of the device 306).
Jakes is silent on the computing of the self-position comprises determining the self-position based on the IP address. Lee from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein the computing of the self-location comprises determining the self-position based on the IP address (par. 082; If there is no designated wireless device, a wireless device (or ID information of the wireless device) corresponding to the screen unlock mode using a wireless device 1540 may be designated via the UI 1650. For example, the UI 1650 may display a list of arbitrary names or the purposes 1655 respectively corresponding to ID information of at least one wireless device detected by the mobile terminal 100. An arbitrary name may be allocated to a wireless device based on the user input 1660 or a purpose (e.g., ID TAG) corresponding to the wireless device (or ID information of the wireless device) may be allocated to the wireless device. Here, the ID information is unique information for distinguishing a wireless device from other devices and may include a tag ID, a device name, a serial number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, etc., for example. The arbitrary name or the purpose 1715 may be arbitrarily designated or named by a user or an application using a corresponding wireless device, such that the mobile terminal 100 distinguishes detected wireless devices from one another. For example, the ‘ID TAG’ may be designated from among purposes provided by a UI based on a user input in consideration of purposes related to personal information for controlling screen lock or security. Furthermore, for convenience, wireless devices may be distinguished from one another by different colors, patterns, icons, texts, etc. For example, even if different wireless devices detected by the mobile terminal 100 are categorized into a same purpose, the mobile terminal 100 may display wireless devices having different ID information by using different visual effects or texts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the method of Jakes with the concept wherein the computing of the self-location comprises determining the self-position based on the IP address, as taught by Lee in order for distinguishing a wireless device from other devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-20 have been fully considered, but are moot because independent claims 1 and 16 were amended by Applicant to include new features that were never previously presented. Therefore, the scope of claims 1-20 and their dependent claims has changed. However, additional citings and/or another prior art is now applied to reject these claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685