Claim Status
In response to the reply filed 06/01/2026, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/01/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings have overcome all objections.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed 06/01/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues
Examiner’s replies Yang ("Visually lossless content and motion adaptive
shading in games." Proceedings of the ACM on Computer Graphics and
Interactive Techniques 2.1 (2019): 1-19.) discloses where in the MVP matrix information is a transform matrix of the rendering object. (Section 5.2 Motion Adaptation, “for each pixel, we compute its location in previous frame by first reconstructing its clip-space coordinate using screen coordinate and depth,
and then back-projecting it to the previous frame using the camera view-projection matrices from the previous and the current frame. Note that this computation only considers camera motion, which typically applies to the majority of the screen. Static objects such as hand weapons in a first-person-shooter game should be specially masked or faded out while computing the motion influence.) The claim does not have specific description/definition about a transform matrix. Without such information, Examiner has to employ the best broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP § 2111.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the
amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth
below.
Conclusion: The rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are shown to
have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. New citations and parenthetical
remarks can be considered new grounds of rejection, such new grounds of rejection are
necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the present Office
Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 10, claim 9 line 13, and claim 17 line 12 cite “whether the UI rendering texture is independent;’ which renders the claim indefinite.
The specification does not define independent texture. It only describes when the UI rendering texture is non-independent texture, the UI rendering texture needs to be separated without explaining what the texture is separated from. Therefore, it is unclear what independent texture means. For examination purposes, independent is being interpreted as view-independent.
Claims 2-8 are rejected for its dependent from claim 1.
Claims 10-16 are rejected for its dependent from claim 9.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for its dependent from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. ("Visually lossless content and motion adaptive shading in games." Proceedings of the ACM on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques 2.1 (2019): 1-19.) (hereinafter referred to as Yang) in view of Dagani et al. (US 11763521 B2) (hereinafter referred to as Dagani), and further in view of Aksoy et al. (US 11721064 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses A shading method, comprising: (Abstract, "We present a technique that adaptively adjusts the shading rate")
obtaining rendering information of an image, wherein the rendering information comprises a main scene rendering texture, camera information, model view projection (MVP) matrix information of a rendering object, (5 IMPLEMENTATION,
“It computes a shading-rate texture that is later used by the main scene rasterization”; 5.2 Motion Adaptation, “we compute its location in previous frame by first reconstructing its clip-space coordinate using screen coordinate and depth, and then back-projecting it to the previous frame using the camera view-projection matrices from the previous and the current frame. Note that this computation only considers camera motion, which typically applies to the majority of the screen.”)
the image comprises N image regions, each of the N image regions comprises M pixels, N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; (3.1 Image Error with Half-Rate Shading, “across the entire image tile”; Fig. 3; 5.1 Content Adaptation, “For each 16 × 16 pixel tile”)
determining a first guide image based on the main scene rendering texture, the camera information, and the MVP matrix information of the rendering object, wherein the MVP matrix information is a transform matrix of the rendering object ; (4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur, “we then determine the shading rate”; 5 IMPLEMENTATION, “It computes a shading-rate texture that is later used by the main scene rasterization”; 5.2 Motion Adaptation, “we compute its location in previous frame by first reconstructing its clip-space coordinate using screen coordinate and depth, and then back-projecting it to the previous frame using the camera view-projection matrices from the previous and the current frame. Note that this computation only considers camera motion, which typically applies to the majority of the screen. Static objects such as hand weapons in a first-person-shooter game should be specially masked or faded out while computing the motion influence.
”)
determining a third guide image based on the first guide image and the second guide image, wherein the third guide image comprises a lower-rate shading region of the third guide image or a higher-rate shading region of the third guide image; and (Abstract; “We determine per-screen-tile shading rate by testing an error estimate against a perceptually-corrected just-noticeable difference threshold. Our design features an effective and efficient error estimate using spatial and frequency analysis of half and quarter rate shading. We also study the effect of motion in reducing perceived error, a consequence of display-persistence and/or motion blur effects. Our implementation uses the computed per-tile shading rate with variable rate shading (a recent GPU feature) to lower shading cost.”)
shading the third guide image. (Fig. 1)
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose and a user interface (UI) rendering texture, and determining a second guide image based on the UI rendering texture by determining whether the UI rendering texture is independent;
Dagani more explicitly teaches, in the context of shading method, and a user interface (UI) rendering texture, (Claim 1, “detecting, by the GPU, user interface (UI) content in a draw call of an application”) determining a second guide image based on the UI rendering texture; (Claim 1, “generating, by the GPU, a variable-rate shader lookup map based on at least one location of detected UI content in the draw call”)
As both Yang and Dagani are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include and a user interface (UI) rendering texture, and determining a second guide image based on the UI rendering texture, in the context of shading method, by Yang according to the teaching of Dagani in order to improve performance without sacrificing visual quality (Abstract of Yang).
The combination of Yang and Dagani fails to disclose
Aksoy teaches by determining whether the UI rendering texture is independent; (Col3 Line 34-44, "In particular embodiments, the determination of which visible portions of the objects in the scene, or particular triangles thereof, should be re-shaded for the current frame, and/or the rate at which various visible portions of the objects or triangles thereof should be re-shaded, may also be dependent on the materials of the visible portions of the objects. For example, the shading of a wooden object in the scene may be less susceptible to view changes than the shading of a reflective metal object. Such view-independent objects may be re-shaded less often than the view-dependent objects.”; Col3 Lines 56-58, "In particular embodiments, there may be separate atlases, or separate portions of an atlas, for view-independent objects and for view-dependent objects"; Col 12 Lines 49-54, " In this case, the particular triangle might or might not need to be re-shaded for frame 19, rather than being shaded using the shading information from frame 18, depending on whether its shading is view-dependent or view-independent and/or other factors."
As both Yang, Dagani, Aksoy are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining a second guide image based on the UI rendering texture by determining whether the UI rendering texture is independent, in the context of shading method, by Yang and Dagani according to the teaching of Aksoy in order to improve performance without sacrificing visual quality (Abstract of Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Dagani further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a first guide image based on the main scene rendering texture, the camera information, and the MVP matrix information of the rendering object comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 1)
determining a first reference value based on a main scene rendering texture of a first image region, wherein the N image regions comprise the first image region; (3.2 Frequency Domain Analysis of Yang, " Note that the box filter B2 is exactly the one used in image formation with half-rate shading. Transforming Eq.6 to the frequency domain and substituting into Eq.4, we have: … Eq.7 is important because it establishes a connection between the error estimator in spatial domain and the frequency response of the box filter implied by half-rate shading.”;
5.1 Content Adaptation of Yang, “we bind the final image from the previous frame as a texture”; 3.1 Image Error with Half-Rate Shading of Yang, “We define an error term between I and IH across the entire image tile”)
determining a second reference value based on camera information of the first image region and MVP matrix information of a rendering object in the first image region; (4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur of Yang, “we define a motion-compensated error term in the frequency domain as: where F(Bv)is the Fourier transform of the motion blur filter. F(Bv) depends solely on the velocity v.”; 5.2 Motion Adaptation of Yang, “we compute its location in previous frame by first reconstructing its clip-space coordinate using screen coordinate and depth, and then back-projecting it to the previous frame using the camera view-projection matrices from the previous and the current frame. Note that this computation only considers camera motion, which typically applies to the majority of the screen.”)
determining a third reference value based on the first reference value and the second reference value; and (4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur of Yang, “Replacing the error terms in Eq.16 by the motion influenced ones, we then determine the shading rate using”; Eq.22 of Yang)
determining the first guide image based on the third reference value and a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is determined based on luminance values of M pixels in the first image region. (Eq.22 of Yang;
4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur of Yang, “we then determine the shading rate”; 3.4 Shading Rate Adaptation with a Perceptually-Corrected Threshold of Yang, “we define a Just-Noticeable Difference (JND) threshold as:...where Iavg is the average (background) luma in the image tile… l is the environment luminance that affects the sensitivity especially on dark ranges.”)
Regrading claim 5, Yang in view of Dagani further teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the first guide image based on the third reference value and a first threshold comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 4)
when the third reference value is greater than or equal to the first threshold, determining that the first image region is a higher-rate shading region of the first guide image; or when the third reference value is less than the first threshold, determining that the first image region is a lower-rate shading region of the first guide image. (4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur of Yang, “Replacing the error terms in Eq.16 by the motion influenced ones, we then determine the shading rate using”; E.q.22 by Yang)
Regrading claim 6, Yang in view of Dagani further teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the determining a first reference value based on a main scene rendering texture of a first image region comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 4)
determining frequency domain information in a horizontal direction and frequency domain information in a vertical direction based on the main scene rendering texture of the first image region; and (3.2 Frequency Domain Analysis of Yang, “We refer to D as the differencing filter. It is a high pass filter that extracts the high frequency contents of the image.”; 3 CONTENTADAPTIVESHADING of Yang, “The following analysis assumes a 1D image slice, although it can be trivially extended to 2D by computing the horizontal and vertical error estimates and shading rates separately.”; 3.4 Shading Rate Adaptation with a Perceptually-Corrected Threshold of Yang, “For 2D image tiles, we compute the detection filter in both horizontal and vertical directions, and determine the X and Y shading rate independently.)
determining the first reference value based on the frequency domain information in the horizontal direction and the frequency domain information in the vertical direction. (3.2 Frequency Domain Analysis of Yang, Eq.7 is important because it establishes a connection between the error estimator in spatial domain and the frequency response of the box filter implied by half-rate shading.; Eq.7;
3 CONTENTADAPTIVESHADING of Yang, “The following analysis assumes a 1D image slice, although it can be trivially extended to 2D by computing the horizontal and vertical error estimates and shading rates separately.”; 3.4 Shading Rate Adaptation with a Perceptually-Corrected Threshold of Yang, “For 2D image tiles, we compute the detection filter in both horizontal and vertical directions, and determine the X and Y shading rate independently.”)
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Dagani further teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the determining a second reference value based on camera information of the first image region and MVP matrix information of a rendering object in the first image region comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 4)
determining motion rate information based on the camera information of the first image region and the MVP matrix information of the rendering object in the first image region; and determining the second reference value based on the motion rate information. (4.1 Diminished Error Under Motion Blur of Yang, “we define a motion-compensated error term in the frequency domain as: where F(Bv)is the Fourier transform of the motion blur filter. F(Bv) depends solely on the velocity v.”; 5.2 Motion Adaptation of Yang, “we compute its location in previous frame by first reconstructing its clip-space coordinate using screen coordinate and depth, and then back-projecting it to the previous frame using the camera view-projection matrices from the previous and the current frame. Note that this computation only considers camera motion, which typically applies to the majority of the screen.”)
Regarding Claim 8, Yang in view of Dagani further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a second guide image based on the UI rendering texture comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 1)
determining a fourth reference value based on a UI rendering texture of a first image region; and (claim 1 of Dagani, “detecting, by the GPU, user interface (UI) content in a draw call of an application”)
when the fourth reference value is greater than a second threshold, marking the first image region as a UI shield region of the second guide image. (claim 4 of Dagani, “wherein the at least one location in the 3D content comprises a location having a luminance value that is greater than the predetermined luminance-value threshold or a luminance spatial-frequency value that is greater than the predetermined luminance spatial-frequency threshold.”)
As both Yang and Dagani are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining a fourth reference value based on a UI rendering texture of a first image region; and when the fourth reference value is greater than a second threshold, marking the first image region as a UI shield region of the second guide image, in the context of shading method, by Yang according to the teaching of Dagani in order to improve performance without sacrificing visual quality (Abstract of Yang).
Regarding claim 9 and 17, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 12, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 4 is applied.
Regarding claim 13, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 5 is applied.
Regarding claim 14, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 6 is applied.
Regarding claim 15, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 7 is applied.
Regarding claim 16, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 8 is applied.
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. ("Visually lossless content and motion adaptive shading in games." Proceedings of the ACM on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques 2.1 (2019): 1-19.) (hereinafter referred to as Yang) in view of Dagani et al. (US 11763521 B2) (hereinafter referred to as Dagani), and further in view of Aksoy et al. (US 11721064 B1) and Yang et al. (US 10930022 B2) (hereinafter referred to as Yang2).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Dagani and Aksoy further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the shading the third guide image comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 1)
Yang in view of Dagani and Aksoy further teaches shading the higher-rate shading region of the third guide image; and supplementing the lower-rate shading region of the third guide image (5.3 Applying Adjusted Shading Rate of Yang, “The computed horizontal and vertical shading rate of the tile is converted into one of the defined shading rate patterns (Sec. 2.1), and the result is saved into the shading rate texture. After that, and before launching the shading passes, we bind the shading rate texture to the pipeline and enable VRS.”; 2.1 Variable-Rate Shading of Yang, “We implemented our adaptive shading algorithm on NVIDIA’s Turing GPUs. In Fig.2 we illustrate how VRS works on Turing. For each 16x16 tile of screen-space samples, the shading rate can be selected from 1×1, 1×2, 2×1, 2×2, 2×4, 4×2 and 4×4 samples per shade. Rate is specified using a shading rate texture that stores a byte per 16 × 16 sample tile to specify the shading rate.”)
However, Yang in view of Dagani and Aksoy does not explicitly teach according to an interpolation algorithm.
Yang2 more explicitly teach, in the context of shading method, according to an interpolation algorithm. (Col 26, Lines 56-60 of Yang2, “The fragment shading stage 670 may generate pixel data (e.g., color values) for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment.”)
As Yang, Dagani, Aksoy, and Yang2 are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to according to an interpolation algorithm, in the context of shading method, by Yang in view of Dagani according to the teaching of Yang2 in order to improve performance without sacrificing visual quality (Abstract of Yang).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Dagani, Aksoy, and Yang2 teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the supplementing the lower-rate shading region of the third guide image according to an interpolation algorithm comprises: (see supra rejection of claim 2)
Yang in view of Dagani, Aksoy, and Yang2 teaches generating a depth checkerboard in the lower-rate shading region of the third guide image, wherein the depth checkerboard comprises a first region or a second region, and a depth of the first region is different from a depth of the second region; (5 IMPLEMENTATION of Yang, “The main algorithm can be implemented in one or a few compute passes that run at the start of the frame (right after a depth pre-pass, if it exists)”; Col 9 Lines 60-62 of Yang 2, “along with a rendered depth buffer of the current frame, which is commonly generated at the beginning of the frame by a depth-only pass.”)
shading the first region; and supplementing the second region according to the interpolation algorithm (5.3 Applying Adjusted Shading Rate of Yang, “The computed horizontal and vertical shading rate of the tile is converted into one of the defined shading rate patterns (Sec. 2.1), and the result is saved into the shading rate texture. After that, and before launching the shading passes, we bind the shading rate texture to the pipeline and enable VRS.”; 2.1 Variable-Rate Shading of Yang, “We implemented our adaptive shading algorithm on NVIDIA’s Turing GPUs. In Fig.2 we illustrate how VRS works on Turing. For each 16x16 tile of screen-space samples, the shading rate can be selected from 1×1, 1×2, 2×1, 2×2, 2×4, 4×2 and 4×4 samples per shade. Rate is specified using a shading rate texture that stores a byte per 16 × 16 sample tile to specify the shading rate.”; Col 26, Lines 56-60 of Yang2, “The fragment shading stage 670 may generate pixel data (e.g., color values) for the fragment such as by performing lighting operations or sampling texture maps using interpolated texture coordinates for the fragment.”)
Regarding claim 10 and 18, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claim 11 and 19, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 3 is applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hyorim Park/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615