DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2026 and 08/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant submits the following arguments:
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, in the remarks on page 8, first and second paragraph, “Bandou does not disclose equalizing the image based on the property of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected; ….Bandou does not equalize a distorted captured image based on the property of the camera device so as to correct the distortion of the captured image; …Bandou ‘s judment is made against a separate reference image, and not based on a property of the camera device, Bandou does not verify whether an equalizing of the captured image was carried out correctly”.
In response to the arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant for the reasons set forth below:
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, Bandous discloses the installation parameters are reasonable in step S20, so the synthetic image is corrected based on the installation parameters, such that the distortion of synthetic image is corrected (see fig. 6 and par. [0103]). Bandou does correct a distorted captured image based on the installation parameters so as to correct the distortion of the captured image as obtained good synthetic image; …Boudou’s judgment is compare between synthetic image with reference image, the synthetic image is obtained based on the installation parameters, so Bandou’s judgment is based on installation parameters; Bandou does verify the synthetic is carried out correctly based on step S20 is perform successful (see fig. 6 and pars. [0099], [0103]).
It is clear that Bandou encompasses all limitations recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bandou (US 2012/0293659).
Regarding claim 1, Bandou discloses a method for capturing an image outside a motor vehicle, comprising:
capturing an image outside a motor vehicle using a camera device, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 1 and pars. [0048], [0104], capturing an image outside the vehicle 9 using a camera device 21, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device 21);
capturing a property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0087], [0091], wherein capturing image including installation parameters);
equalizing the image based on the property of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected (Bandou: see fig. 6 and par. [0103], in which equalizing the image based on installation parameters of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected):
checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing one or more image features in the equalized image with one or more predefined features defined by the property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0099], [0103], note that checking the equalized image based on the installation parameters to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing synthetic image with reference image defined by the installation parameter of the camera device); and
providing the equalized image to a user of the motor vehicle (Bandou: see pars. [0050]-[0051], providing the synthetic image to a user of the vehicle 9).
Regarding claim 2, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
enabling a function of the motor vehicle depending on the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device (Bandou: see par. [0050], wherein the driver can perform some actions such as pressing the brake pedal based on the synthesis image displayed based on the property of the camera device 21 as the driver of the vehicle 9 can grasp the situation around the vehicle in near real time based on the synthesis image being displayed).
Regarding claim 3, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device comprises checking image features (Bandou: see fig. 6 and par. [0099], wherein calibration process includes checking the synthetic image).
Regarding claim 4, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device is carried out in a functionally safe area (One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device is carried out in a functionally safe area).
Regarding claim 7, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the camera property comprises a captured image section (Bandou: see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the camera property comprises an element captured in the image (Bandou: see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Bandou discloses an apparatus for capturing an image outside a motor vehicle, wherein the apparatus is designed to carry out a method, the method comprising:
capturing an image outside a motor vehicle using a camera device, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 1 and pars. [0048], [0104], capturing an image outside the vehicle 9 using a camera device 21, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device 21);
capturing a property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0087], [0091], wherein capturing image including installation parameters);
equalizing the image based on the property of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected (Bandou: see fig. 6 and par. [0103], in which equalizing the image based on installation parameters of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected):
checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing one or more image features in the equalized image with one or more predefined features defined by the property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0099], [0103], note that checking the equalized image based on the installation parameters to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing synthetic image with reference image defined by the installation parameter of the camera device); and
providing the equalized image to a user of the motor vehicle (Bandou: see pars. [0050]-[0051], providing the synthetic image to a user of the vehicle 9).
Regarding claim 10, Bandou discloses a motor vehicle comprising an apparatus for capturing an image outside the motor vehicle, wherein the apparatus is designed to carry out a method, the method comprising:
capturing an image outside a motor vehicle using a camera device, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 1 and pars. [0048], [0104], capturing an image outside the vehicle 9 using a camera device 21, the captured image being distorted due to the nature of the camera device 21);
capturing a property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0087], [0091], wherein capturing image including installation parameters);
equalizing the image based on the property of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected (Bandou: see fig. 6 and par. [0103], in which equalizing the image based on installation parameters of the camera device, such that the distortion of the captured image is corrected):
checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing one or more image features in the equalized image with one or more predefined features defined by the property of the camera device (Bandou: see fig. 6 and pars. [0099], [0103], note that checking the equalized image based on the installation parameters to verify whether the equalizing of the image was carried out correctly, by comparing synthetic image with reference image defined by the installation parameter of the camera device); and
providing the equalized image to a user of the motor vehicle (Bandou: see pars. [0050]-[0051], providing the synthetic image to a user of the vehicle 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandou (US 2012/0293659).
Regarding claim 6, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Bandou does not explicitly disclose that the camera property comprises a model of the camera device.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the camera property comprises a model of the camera device is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate that camera property into Bandou’s system.
The motivation to do so is to classify the camera.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandou (US 2012/0293659) in view of Alsheimer (US 2024/0288355).
Regarding claim 5, Bandou discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Bandou does not explicitly disclose that the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device is carried out using artificial intelligence.
On the other hand, Alsheimer teaches that the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device is carried out using artificial intelligence (Alsheimer: see par. [0051], wherein the steps of comparing the measured values to the predetermined values and/or generating the image calibration information are performed using machine learning, deep learning or artificial intelligence methods).
One would have been modified to include artificial intelligence method as taught by Alsheimer in the apparatus of Bandou to enable accurate generating of the image calibration information (Alsheimer: see par. [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Alsheimer with the Bandous’s system to include that the checking the equalized image based on the property of the camera device is carried out using artificial intelligence.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAN T NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638