DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “signal a in a bitstream” (line 14) should read -- signal in a bitstream -- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “signal a in a bitstream” (line 12) should read -- signal in a bitstream -- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou et al. (US 2023/0290008 A1, referred to herein as “Mammou”) in view of Huang et al. (US 2023/0412849 A1, referred to herein as “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Mammou discloses: A device for decoding encoded mesh data (Mammou: paragraphs [0003] – [0007], disclosing decoding of encoded mesh data), the device comprising:
a memory (Mammou: paragraphs [0645] – [0647], disclosing a memory); and
processing circuitry coupled to the memory (Mammou: paragraphs [0645] – [0647], disclosing a processor coupled to the memory) and configured to:
receive, in a bitstream of the encoded mesh data, one or more syntax elements (Mammou: Fig. 4, paragraph [0058], disclosing that an encoder generates encoded mesh data as a compressed bitstream; Fig. 5, paragraph [0066], disclosing that a decoder may receive the compressed bitstream; paragraph [0277], disclosing use of syntax elements to signal encoded mesh data);
determine an offset value based on the one or more syntax elements (Mammou: paragraph [0457], disclosing signaling of offset values in an SEI message);
determine a set of transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0076], disclosing use of wavelet transform to generate transform coefficients);
[…]
inverse transform the set of updated transform coefficients to determine a set of displacement vectors (Mammou: paragraph [0076], disclosing use of inverse wavelet transform of coefficients to determine reconstructed displacements of an updated displacement field; paragraph [0166], disclosing use of displacement vectors in generating mesh data); and
determine a decoded mesh based on the set of displacement vectors (Mammou: paragraphs [0277] – [0279], disclosing use of decoded displacements to generate decoded mesh data).
Mammou does not explicitly disclose: apply the offset to the set of transform coefficients to determine a set of updated transform coefficients.
However, Huang discloses: apply the offset to the set of transform coefficients to determine a set of updated transform coefficients (Huang: paragraph [0009], disclosing mesh coding of volumetric data; paragraphs [0148] and [0154], disclosing that an offset may be applied to transform coefficients to determine updated coefficients of the mesh data).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the transform coefficient offset of Huang in the device of Mammou.
One would have been motivated to modify Mammou in this manner in order improve coding efficiency by separately quantizing different objects or parts of volumetric data at given bit depths (Huang: paragraphs [0003] – [0008] and [0147). Additionally, Mammou and Huang are both directed to the same field of endeavor—namely, mesh coding of 3D data (Mammou: paragraph [0002]; Huang: paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein to inverse transform the set of updated transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is further configured to apply an inverse lifting transform (Mammou: Figs. 12-13, paragraph [0081], disclosing a lifting scheme and inverse lifting transform).
Regarding claim 3, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein to inverse transform the set of updated transform coefficients to determine the set of displacement vectors, the processing circuitry is configured to inverse transform the set of updated transform coefficients to determine values for a normal component of the set of displacement vectors (Mammou: paragraphs [0084] – [0086], disclosing determination of a normal component of subdivided mesh data at each vertex in order to determine displacement vectors).
Regarding claim 4, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein to apply the offset to the set of transform coefficients to determine the set of updated transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is configured to add the offset to each coefficient of the set of transform coefficients (Huang: paragraphs [0148] and [0154], disclosing that the offset may be applied to each transform coefficient).
The motivation for combining Mammou and Huang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 5, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein to determine the decoded mesh, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine, from the bitstream of the encoded mesh data, a base mesh with a first set of vertices (Mammou: paragraph [0075], disclosing encoding of a base mesh with associated vertices); subdivide the base mesh to determine an additional set of vertices for the base mesh (Mammou: paragraphs [0072] and [0077] – [0080], disclosing a subdivision scheme to generate additional vertices); deform the base mesh, wherein deforming the base mesh comprises modifying locations of the additional set of vertices based on the one or more displacement vectors (Mammou: paragraph [0181] – [0182], disclosing mesh deformation involving modifying locations of vertices); and determine the decoded mesh based on the deformed base mesh (Mammou: claims 11-13, paragraphs [0572] – [0583], disclosing reconstruction of mesh data based on the deformed base mesh).
Regarding claim 6, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 5, wherein the first set of vertices correspond to a highest level of detail and the additional vertices correspond to lower levels of detail (Mammou: paragraph [0124], disclosing use of different levels of detail associated with mesh resolutions), and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a respective offset value for each level of the lower levels of detail (Mammou: paragraph [0457], disclosing signaling of offset values in an SEI message); determine a respective set of transform coefficients for each level of the lower levels of detail (Huang: paragraphs [0148] and [0154], disclosing that an offset may be applied to transform coefficients to determine updated coefficients of the mesh data); apply the respective offset for each level of the lower levels of detail to the corresponding respective set of transform coefficients for each level of the lower levels of detail to determine a respective set of updated transform coefficients for each level of the lower levels of detail (Huang: paragraph [0183], disclosing that the coefficients may be quantized and ordered according to a level of detail; paragraph [0154], disclosing updating of the transform coefficients by use of the offsets); inverse transform the respective set of updated transform coefficients for each level of the lower levels of detail to determine a respective set of displacement vectors for each level of the lower levels of detail ( Mammou: paragraph [0076], disclosing use of inverse wavelet transform of coefficients to determine reconstructed displacements of an updated displacement field; paragraphs [0124] – [0127], disclosing level of detail); and determine the decoded mesh based on the respective set of displacement vectors for each level of the lower levels of detail (Mammou: paragraphs [0277] – [0279], disclosing use of decoded displacements to generate decoded mesh data; paragraphs [0124] – [0127], disclosing level of detail).
The motivation for combining Mammou and Huang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 8, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein to determine the set of transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is configured to: receive a set of quantized transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0075], disclosing base mesh encoding that involves quantization of coefficients; paragraph [0066], disclosing that the decoder receives a compressed bitstream—e.g., with quantization transform coefficients); and dequantize the set of quantized transform coefficients to determine the set of transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0278], disclosing a dequantization process that generates the transform coefficients).
Regarding claim 9, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: extract a displacement bitstream from the bitstream of the encoded mesh data; and receive the one or more syntax elements in the displacement bitstream (Mammou: paragraph [0006] – [0007], disclosing decoding of an encoded displacement bitstream; paragraph [0277], disclosing signaling of syntax information)
Regarding claim 10, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 1, further comprising: a display configured to display the decoded mesh (Mammou: paragraphs [0644] – [0646], disclosing a display to present decoded mesh data).
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 3, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 6, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 8, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 9, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 20, Mammou and Huang disclose: A device for encoding mesh data (Mammou: paragraphs [0003] – [0007], disclosing encoding of mesh data), the device comprising:
a memory (Mammou: paragraphs [0645] – [0647], disclosing a memory);
processing circuitry coupled to the memory (Mammou: paragraphs [0645] – [0647], disclosing a processor coupled to the memory) and configured to:
determine a set of displacement vectors for the mesh data (Mammou: paragraphs [0165] – [0166], disclosing determination of displacement vectors for mesh data);
transform the set of displacement vectors to determine a set of transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0278], disclosing that mesh data is transformed and quantized);
determine a bias value for the set of transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0361], disclosing that transform coefficients may be set to linear lifting);
determine an offset value based on the bias value for the set of transform coefficients (Mammou: paragraphs [0451] and [0457], disclosing determination of offset values);
subtract the offset value from the set of transform coefficients to determined bias-adjusted transform coefficients (Huang: paragraph [0175], disclosing that offset values may be used to determine transform coefficients);
quantize the bias-adjusted transform coefficients to determine quantized coefficients (Mammou: paragraph [0076], disclosing quantization of transform coefficient); and
signal a in a bitstream of encoded mesh data the quantized coefficients and an indication of the offset (Mammou: Fig. 4, paragraph [0458], disclosing that encoded mesh data—including quantized coefficients—may be signaled in a bitstream; paragraph [0457], disclosing signaling of offset values in an SEI message).
The motivation for combining Mammou and Huang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 21, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 20, wherein to transform the set of displacement vectors, the processing circuitry is further configured to apply a wavelet transform with a lifting scheme (Mammou: paragraph [0081], disclosing use of a wavelet transform with a lifting scheme).
Regarding claim 22, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 20, wherein to determine the bias value for the set of transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the bias values for values of a normal component of the set of displacement vectors (Mammou: paragraphs [0084] – [0086], disclosing use of a normal component to determine associated displacement fields).
Regarding claim 23, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 20, wherein to determine the set of displacement vectors for the mesh data, the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive an input mesh (Mammou: Fig. 4, paragraphs [0056] – [0058], disclosing receipt of an input dynamic mesh); determine a base mesh based on the input mesh (Mammou: Fig. 4, paragraph [0058], disclosing determination of a base mesh and associated displacements), wherein the base mesh includes a first set of vertices (Mammou: paragraph [0056], disclosing that the base mesh includes sets of vertices); determine a subdivided mesh, wherein the subdivided mesh includes an additional set of vertices (Mammou: paragraphs [0072] and [0077] – [0080], disclosing a subdivision scheme to generate additional vertices); determine a first set of displacement vectors for the first set of vertices and a second set of displacement vectors for the additional set of vertices based on the input mesh and the base mesh (Mammou: paragraph [0068], disclosing determination of displacement vectors for each vertex of subdivided mesh; paragraph [0181] – [0182], disclosing mesh deformation involving modifying locations of vertices associated with meshes); and output an encoded bitstream that includes an encoded representation of the base mesh and an encoded representation of the displacement vectors (Mammou: Figs. 4 and 17, paragraphs [0101] – [0103], disclosing output of a compressed bitstream of the base mesh and displacement data).
Regarding claim 24, Mammou and Huang disclose: The device of claim 23, further comprising: a graphics engine configured to generate the input mesh (Huang: paragraph [0091], disclosing acquisition of mesh data via a computer; paragraph [0214], disclosing use of a graphics processing unit).
The motivation for combining Mammou and Huang has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 27, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 20, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 23, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 17, 25, 26, 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Mammou, either alone or in combination with other prior art of record, does not teach, suggest, or disclose where to determine the respective offset value for each level of the lower levels of detail, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a respective syntax for each level of the lower levels of detail.
Regarding claims 25, 26, 29 and 30, Mammou, either alone or in combination with other prior art of record, does not teach, suggest, or disclose where to determine the bias value for the set of transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the bias value for one of the lower levels of detail, and to determine the offset value based on the bias value for the set of transform coefficients, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the offset value for the one of the lower levels of detail.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER T. BRANIFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/CHRISTOPHER BRANIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484