DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lochbihler (US PGPub 2024/0061397).
As to claim 1
Lochbihler discloses a method for processing tool data (tool data; see paragraph 0124, line 4) on a machine tool (machine tools 3a,3b; see Fig. 1) having a data interface (data interface device 2, see Fig. 1) for connection to a tool management system (tool data management device 1, see Fig. 1), wherein
the method comprises the steps of:
acquiring a unique tool identifier, WID (tool ID; see paragraph 0041, line 3), of a tool (tool 4, see Fig, 2) to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 1-7 and paragraph 0162, lines 1-6);
matching the acquired WID with previously known tool identification data of the machine tool (see paragraph 0152, lines 7-10);
if it is determined that the tool to be picked up is not yet known and/or updated tool data for the WID are available (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-11):
automatically, via the data interface, retrieving tool data directly from the tool management system based on the acquired WID or automatically retrieving the tool data directly from the tool to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-15 and paragraph 0153, lines 1-5);
determining a loading location (magazine slot) for the tool to be picked up based on the retrieved tool data and preferably, picking up the tool at the determined loading location (see paragraphs 0141-0143).
As to claim 2
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
acquiring the WID comprises scanning a tool identification identifier of the tool to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 1-7).
As to claim 3
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool management system is an external tool management system for providing data from the cloud and the data interface is a tool data interface which is connected to the external tool management system via a network connection (see paragraph 0065, lines 1-5 and paragraph 0066, lines 4-12).
As to claim 4
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool data comprise measured values and/or setting values of the tool which have been determined by an external device, in particular a presetting, balancing or shrinking device (see paragraphs 0096-0100).
As to claim 7
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
a predetermined setup location for the tool to be replaced is determined (see paragraph 0045, lines 4-8 and paragraph 0141, lines 1-6).
As to claim 8
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the method additionally determines a setup sequence of the tools depending on a machining assignment, so that the loading locations of the tools are determined according to the machining assignment (see paragraphs 0141 and 0142).
As to claim 9
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the previously known tool identification data are stored on a memory (storage units 311a,311b; see Fig. 1) on the machine tool, in particular an internal memory of the machine tool or the machine tool controller (see paragraph 0139, lines 1-7).
As to claim 10
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the WID and/or tool data are attached directly to the tool or tool holder (tool changing device 322, see Fig. 1) in a machine- readable manner in order to be retrieved by scanning (see paragraph 0152, lines 5-7).
As to claim 11
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool data and/or the WID are stored in a database (storage unit 311);
the tool data and/or the WID are permanently attached to the tool, in particular as an engraved code or printed 2D code;
the tool data and/or the WID are temporarily stored on the tool, in particular as a printed sticker; and/or
the tool data and/or the WID are stored on a data carrier associated with the tool, in particular an RFID chip (see paragraph 0090, lines 1-5 and paragraph 0152, lines 1-7).
As to claim 12
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the 2D code is a data matrix code coding or a QR code coding (see paragraph 0090, lines 1-5).
As to claim 13
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool data are retrieved via a direct data connection so that they arrive directly in the machine tool and are directly available there for further processing, wherein
preferably the tool data are stored on the machine tool side after the retrieval and are used in the execution of a machining assignment (see paragraph 0142, lines 2-12).
As to claim 14
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the data interface is a tool data interface which corresponds to the UPC UA, Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture, and wherein
the interface comprises an OPC UA server (see paragraphs 0027-0029).
As to claim 15
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the UPC UA, Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture, is used for the communication with the tool management system and in particular for retrieving the tool data (see paragraphs 0027-0029).
As to claim 16
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool data are retrieved from an OPC UA server via an OPC UA client as an OPC UA service call (see paragraphs 0027-0029).
As to claim 17
Lochbihler discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the tool data are converted into an input format after the retrieval, said input format being predefined depending on the machine tool controller used (see paragraph 0101, lines 5-15).
As to claim 18
Lochbihler discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, storing instructions for processing tool data (tool data; see paragraph 0124, line 4) on a machine tool (machine tools 3a,3b; see Fig. 1) having a data interface (data interface device 2, see Fig. 1) for connection to a tool management system (tool data management device 1, see Fig. 1), wherein
the instructions, when executed by a control device of a numerically controlled machine tool, cause said machine tool to carry out a process (see paragraph 0017, lines 1-10) comprising:
acquiring a unique tool identifier, WID (tool ID; see paragraph 0041, line 3), of a tool (tool 4, see Fig, 2) to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 1-7 and paragraph 0162, lines 1-6);
matching the acquired WID with previously known tool identification data of the machine tool (see paragraph 0152, lines 7-10);
if it is determined that the tool to be picked up is not yet known and/or updated tool data for the WID are available (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-11):
automatically, via the data interface, retrieving tool data directly from the tool management system based on the acquired WID or automatically retrieving the tool data directly from the tool to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-15 and paragraph 0153, lines 1-5);
determining a loading location (magazine slot) for the tool to be picked up based on the retrieved tool data and preferably, picking up the tool at the determined loading location (see paragraphs 0141-0143).
As to claim 19
Lochbihler discloses a control device (control devices 31a,31b; see Fig. 1) for a machine tool (machine tools 3a,3b; see Fig. 1) having a data interface (data interface device 2, see Fig. 1) for connection to a tool management system (tool data management device 1, see Fig. 1) and to an application-based control system (cloud-based tool data management device; see paragraph 0019, line 5), said control device being configured to:
acquire a unique tool identifier, WID (tool ID; see paragraph 0041, line 3), of a tool (tool 4, see Fig, 2) to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 1-7 and paragraph 0162, lines 1-6);
match the acquired WID with previously known tool identification data of the machine tool (see paragraph 0152, lines 7-10);
if it is determined that the tool to be picked up is not yet known and/or updated tool data (tool data; see paragraph 0124, line 4) for the WID are available (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-11):
automatically, via the data interface, retrieving tool data directly from the tool management system based on the acquired WID or automatically retrieving the tool data directly from the tool to be picked up (see paragraph 0152, lines 10-15 and paragraph 0153, lines 1-5);
determine a loading location (magazine slot) for the tool to be picked up based on the retrieved tool data and preferably, pick up the tool at the determined loading location (see paragraphs 0141-0143).
As to claim 20
Lochbihler discloses the control device according to claim 19, wherein
the data interface is a tool data interface which corresponds to the UPC UA, Open Platform Communications Unified Architecture, and wherein
the interface comprises an OPC UA server (see paragraphs 0027-0029).
As to claim 21
Lochbihler discloses the control device of claim 19, wherein the control device is part of the machine tool (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0124, lines 7-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Lochbihler fails to specifically disclose the method wherein
in order to create a difference list, the tools required for a machining assignment are compared with the tools already present, and wherein
one or more tools to be replaced are determined on the basis of the difference list (in regards to dependent claim 5).
Accordingly, dependent claim 5 includes allowable subject matter.
Further, Lochbihler fails to specifically disclose the method wherein
the method initially comprises the step of scanning an NC program for required tools and preferably creating a corresponding difference list (in regards to dependent claim 6).
Accordingly, dependent claim 6 includes allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115