DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 18, and 19 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected species.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C and Species Y in the reply filed on May 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 18, and 19 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 5 is directed to non-elected species A. Claim 7 is directed to non-elected species D, E, F. Claim 8 is directed to non-elected species D and F. Claim 9 is directed to non-elected species B. Claim 11 is directed to non-elected species X. Claim 12 is directed to non-elected species Z. Claim 18 is directed to non-elected species A. Claim 19 is directed to non-elected species B.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sage (US 2012/0232603A1).
Re Claim 1, Sage discloses a connector assembly (para. [0046], fig. 4A, connector assembly 22), comprising:
a connector body having an elongated shape with a first end, an opposing second end, and a longitudinal axis, the connector body defining a port at the first end configured to receive a proximal part of a lead or lead extension (para. [0050], fig. 4A, The connector assembly 22 carries a plurality of contacts that electrically couple with respective terminals at proximal ends of the therapy delivery element 14 or extension lead 16.); and
a plurality of coiled ring contacts axially spaced-apart within the connector body and collectively forming a lumen that extends from the port along the longitudinal axis of the connector body (para. [0058], The connector assembly 22 includes a plurality of discrete contacts 23 located in the housing 28 that electrically couple contact rings 15 on the proximal end of the therapy delivery element 14.),
each coiled ring contact (fig. 5A, para. [0060], individual contact, fig. 4A, para. [0058], a plurality of discrete contacts 23 located in the housing 28) comprising
a contact housing comprising a first part and a second part attached to the first part (fig. 5A, 5B, 5C, para. [0061], a pair of annular sidewalls 468A, 468B),
wherein at least the first part comprises a first radial sidewall and a first lateral sidewall extending laterally from the first radial sidewall, the first radial sidewall and the first lateral sidewall defining a pocket (fig. 5B, para. [0061], sidewall 468A has a radial sidewall and a lateral sidewall), and
a coiled ring disposed within the contact housing, wherein the coiled ring contact is configured for disposal of the coiled ring within the pocket defined by the first part of the contact housing and prior to attachment of the second part to the first part (fig. 5A, 5B, para. [0060], outer coil 442 is retained in housing 444A, 444B (collectively “444”)),
wherein the coiled ring is positioned within the contact housing so that insertion of the proximal part of the lead or lead extension through the coiled ring contact results in contact between the coiled ring and the lead or lead extension (fig. 5C, fig. 4A, para. [0058], The connector assembly 22 includes a plurality of discrete contacts 23 located in the housing 28 that electrically couple contact rings 15 on the proximal end of the therapy delivery element 14; para. [0015], individual coils of the outer coil are radially compressed against the housing in response to engagement with the contact rings on the implantable medical device.).
Re Claim 2, Sage discloses that the coiled ring is disposed within the pocket defined by the first part of the contact housing without deformation of the coiled ring (fig. 5B shows that the coiled ring is disposed within the pocket without deformation; para. [0069], Gap 482 permits displacement (with or without elastic deformation) in directions 490, 492, and radial expansion 484 of the outer coil 442, within the limits of the recess 456.).
Re Claim 3, Sage discloses that the coiled ring is disposed within the pocket defined by the first part of the contact housing without asymmetric deformation of the coiled ring (fig. 5B, 5C, para. [0069], Gap 482 permits displacement (with or without elastic deformation) in directions 490, 492, and radial expansion 484 of the outer coil 442, within the limits of the recess 456.).
Re Claim 4, Sage discloses that the second part comprises a second radial sidewall and a second lateral sidewall extending laterally from the second radial sidewall (fig. 5B, para. [0061], sidewall 468B has a radial sidewall and a lateral sidewall).
Re Claim 10, Sage discloses that the first and second parts define a groove within which at least a portion of the coiled ring is disposed (fig. 5B shows coiled ring 485 is disposed), wherein the groove has at least a portion with a circular, semicircular, elliptical, or oval shape (fig. 5C shows that the groove is circular shape).
Re Claim 13, Sage discloses the connector assembly as set forth in claim 1.
Sage further discloses a lead assembly, comprising:
a lead or a lead extension having a proximal portion and a distal portion, wherein the proximal portion of the lead or the lead extension comprises a plurality of terminals electrically insulated from one another (para. [0050], fig. 4A, The connector assembly 22 carries a plurality of contacts that electrically couple with respective terminals at proximal ends of the therapy delivery element 14 or extension lead 16; para. [0057], [0005], The proximal ends of the leads generally includes a series of conductive rings separated by insulating spacers so that when it is fully inserted into the connector assembly, each contact ring is placed in contact with a discrete contact.).
Re Claim 14, Sage discloses the lead assembly as set forth in claim 13.
Sage further discloses an electrical stimulating system comprising:
a control module coupled to the lead assembly, the control module comprising a housing, and an electronic subassembly disposed in the housing, wherein connector assembly is part of the control module (fig. 4A, 4B, para. [0047], the implantable pulse generator 12 includes electronic subassembly 24 (shown schematically), which includes control and pulse generation circuitry (not shown) for delivering electrical stimulation energy to the electrodes 18 of the therapy delivery element 14 in a controlled manner, and a power supply, such as battery 26; para. [0046], Proximal end 42 of the extension lead 16 is electrically coupled to the implantable pulse generator 12 via connector assembly 22 associated with housing 28).
Re Claim 15, Sage discloses the lead assembly as set forth in claim 13.
Sage further discloses an electrical stimulating system comprising:
a lead extension (fig. 4B, extension lead 16) coupleable to the control module (fig. 4A, implantable pulse generator 12) and the lead (fig. 4B, therapy delivery element 14), wherein the connector assembly (fig. 4A, connector assembly 22) is part of the lead extension (fig. 4A, 4B, para. [0047], the implantable pulse generator 12 includes electronic subassembly 24 (shown schematically), which includes control and pulse generation circuitry (not shown) for delivering electrical stimulation energy to the electrodes 18 of the therapy delivery element 14 in a controlled manner, and a power supply, such as battery 26; para. [0046], Proximal end 42 of the extension lead 16 is electrically coupled to the implantable pulse generator 12 via connector assembly 22 associated with housing 28).
Re Claim 16, Sage discloses a coiled ring contact (fig. 5A, para. [0060], individual contact, fig. 4A, para. [0058], a plurality of discrete contacts 23 located in the housing 28), comprising:
a contact housing comprising a first part and a second part attached to the first part (fig. 5A, 5B, 5C, para. [0061], a pair of annular sidewalls 468A, 468B),
wherein at least the first part comprises a first radial sidewall and a first lateral sidewall extending laterally from the first radial sidewall, the first radial sidewall and the first lateral sidewall defining a pocket (fig. 5B, para. [0061], sidewall 468A has a radial sidewall and a lateral sidewall); and
a coiled ring disposed within the contact housing, wherein the coiled ring contact is configured for disposal of the coiled ring within the pocket defined by the first part of the contact housing and prior to attachment of the second part to the first part (fig. 5A, 5B, para. [0060], outer coil 442 is retained in housing 444A, 444B (collectively “444”)),
wherein the coiled ring is positioned within the contact housing so that insertion of a proximal part of a lead or lead extension through the coiled ring contact results in contact between the coiled ring and the lead or lead extension (fig. 5C, fig. 4A, para. [0058], The connector assembly 22 includes a plurality of discrete contacts 23 located in the housing 28 that electrically couple contact rings 15 on the proximal end of the therapy delivery element 14; para. [0015], individual coils of the outer coil are radially compressed against the housing in response to engagement with the contact rings on the implantable medical device.).
Re Claim 17, Sage discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 16.
Sage discloses a method of making the coiled ring contact, the method comprising:
disposing the coiled ring into the pocket defined by the first radial sidewall and the first lateral sidewall of the first part (fig. 5B, para. [0061], sidewall 468A has a radial sidewall and a lateral sidewall; fig. 5A, 5B, para. [0060], outer coil 442 is retained in housing 444A, 444B (collectively “444”)); and attaching the second part to the first part with the coiled ring disposed therebetween (fig. 5A, 5B, para. [0060], outer coil 442 is retained in housing 444A, 444B (collectively “444”)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sage (US 2012/0232603A1) in view of Ramsey (US 2004/0143297A1).
Re Claim 6, Sage discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claims 1 and 4.
Sage is silent regarding wherein the first lateral sidewall is disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall.
However, Ramsey discloses a container (figs. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], container 112) comprising a first part (para. [0142], end cap 121) and a second part (para. [0142], end cap 114) attached to the first part (fig. 2B), wherein at least the first part comprises a first radial sidewall and a first lateral sidewall extending laterally from the first radial sidewall, the first radial sidewall and the first lateral sidewall defining a pocket (fig. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], end cap 121), wherein the second part comprises a second radial sidewall and a second lateral sidewall extending laterally from the second radial sidewall (fig. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], end cap 114), wherein the first lateral sidewall is disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall (fig. 2B, end caps 114 and 121 attached).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Sage, by configuring the first lateral sidewall to be disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall, as taught by Ramsey, for the purpose of closing the container using end caps (para. [0142]) and because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result.
Re Claim 20, Sage discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claims 16 and 17.
Sage discloses that the second part comprises a second radial sidewall and a second lateral sidewall extending laterally from the second radial sidewall (fig. 5B, para. [0061], sidewall 468B has a radial sidewall and a lateral sidewall).
Sage is silent regarding wherein the first lateral sidewall is disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall.
However, Ramsey discloses a container (figs. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], container 112) comprising a first part (para. [0142], end cap 121) and a second part (para. [0142], end cap 114) attached to the first part (fig. 2B), wherein at least the first part comprises a first radial sidewall and a first lateral sidewall extending laterally from the first radial sidewall, the first radial sidewall and the first lateral sidewall defining a pocket (fig. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], end cap 121), wherein the second part comprises a second radial sidewall and a second lateral sidewall extending laterally from the second radial sidewall (fig. 2A, 2B, para. [0142], end cap 114), wherein the first lateral sidewall is disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall (fig. 2B, end caps 114 and 121 attached).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Sage, by configuring the first lateral sidewall to be disposed radially inward from the second lateral sidewall, as taught by Ramsey, for the purpose of closing the container using end caps (para. [0142]) and because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dawson et al. (US 20190063537 A1) discloses a groove that has at least a portion with a circular, semicircular, elliptical, or oval shape (fig. 22) where coils 102 are disposed within the groove.
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, September 12, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792