DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 0042 designates element 31 as the “inner side portion” and element 32 as the “outer side portion,” but subsequently states that the inner pad plate 21 and inner brake pad 11 are supported “on the inner side portion 32.” The reference numeral for the inner side portion is inconsistent and must be corrected.
¶ 0042 states that the guide holes are “formed to penetrate through the footer 210” while also describing the guide holes as being provided on both sides of the carrier 30 for the guide rods 40. This is inconsistent with ¶ 0044, which describes the guide rods 40 as permitting the caliper housing 100 to slide relative to the carrier 30. Applicant must clarify which component contains the guide holes.
¶ 0053 separately identifies “a power connector 258” and “an electrical connector 258,” whereas Fig. 2 illustrates a single connector 258. Applicant must clarify whether element 258 is a single connector performing both functions or whether separate connectors are intended, and apply the reference numerals consistently.
¶ 0069 identifies element 262 as both a “sheet 262” and a “seat 262.” Figs. 2 and 4 and the remainder of the specification identify element 262 as the seat. Consistent terminology is required.
¶ 0081 identifies a controller connector as “connector 285.” However, reference numeral 285 designates the solenoid actuator in ¶¶ 0073 and 0076-0080 and Figs. 6 and 9-11, while the controller connector is identified as connector 258 in ¶ 0053 and Fig. 2. The reference numeral must be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 16, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 17 recite, “configured to advanceable or retractable,” which is grammatically incomplete.
Claim 1 recites, “an other end portion” which should read “the other end portion.”
In claim 11, the phrase “a protrusion protruding from a surface of the pad plate” is grammatically incomplete and is not written parallel to the preceding groove limitation.
Claim 16 recites “the actuator” without previously introducing an actuator.
Appropriate antecedent basis should be provided.
In claim 19, “a rotor of0. a wheel” should read “a rotor of a wheel.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “a rotatable structure” but subsequently refers to “the ball nut,” and recites "a linearly movable structure” but subsequently refers to “the ball screw shaft.” Neither “the ball nut” nor “the ball screw shaft” has antecedent basis in claim 17. It is unclear whether these components are intended to be the previously recited structures or additional components.
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and does not cure the foregoing ambiguities.
--
Claim Rej-ections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electromechanical brake system (100), comprising:
a footer (coupling plate 134 and screw part housing 136) configured to advanceable or retractable to move a brake pad toward or away from a rotor of a wheel of a vehicle (Kim discloses coupling plate 134 connected to the front end of screw shaft 132, with the resulting force transmitted through the torque-sensor and screw-part housing assembly to the caliper, which is connectable through bolt holes 137) (see ¶¶ 0002, 0040-46, 0062 and Figs. 2, 3, and 8);
a motor (112) configured to provide power (see ¶ 0032);
a reduction gear unit (reduction gear 113, pinion gear 114, and ring gear 123) configured to transmit the power of the motor (112) (see ¶¶ 0032, 0034, 0051, and Fig. 5);
a power conversion unit (ball-screw nut 122 and screw shaft 132) configured to convert a rotational motion, transmitted from the reduction gear unit, into a linear motion to advance or retract the footer (rotating ball bearing 122 and screw shaft 132 converting rotation of the ring gear 123 into linear movement of the screw shaft 132 and coupling plate 134) (see ¶¶ 0039-40, Fig. 5); and
an actuator housing (power unit housing 115, ball bearing housing 125, and screw-part housing 136) accommodating the motor (112), the reduction gear unit, and at least a portion of the power conversion unit (122 and 132) therein, (see ¶ 0030 and Fig. 2)
wherein:
the power conversion unit includes
a ball nut configured to be rotatable by the power transmitted from the reduction gear unit (rotating ball bearing, expressly identified as ball-screw nut 122, rotated by ring gear 123) (see ¶¶ 0030 and 0038), and
a ball screw shaft (132) operably engaged with the ball nut (122) and configured to be advanceable or retractable by rotation of the ball nut (122), wherein one end portion of the ball screw shaft (132) is connected to the footer (132 engaged with 122 and having its front end coupled to coupling plate 134) (see ¶¶ 0039-40, and Figs. 2 and 7), and
the actuator housing (ball bearing housing 125) includes a stopper (stopper surface 124) configured to limit a retractable range of the ball screw shaft (132) by being contactable with an other end portion of the ball screw shaft (see ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses an electromechanical brake system (100), comprising:
a footer (coupling plate 134 and screw part housing 136) configured to advanceable or retractable to move a brake pad toward or away from a rotor of a wheel of a vehicle (see ¶¶ 0040-46, 0064-66 and Figs. 2, 7, and 8);
a motor (112) configured to provide power (see ¶ 0032);
a reduction gear unit (reduction gear 113, pinion gear 114, and ring gear 123) configured to transmit the power of the motor (112) (see ¶ 0051, Fig. 5);
a power conversion unit (ball-screw nut 122 and screw shaft 132) comprising a rotatable structure (rotating ball bearing/ball-screw nut 122) configured to be rotatable by the power transmitted from the reduction gear unit (reducer 113, pinion gear 114, and ring gear 123) and a linearly movable structure (screw shaft 132) connected to the footer (coupling plate 134) and configured to be advanceable or retractable by rotation of the ball nut (rotatable ball-screw nut 122 and linearly movable screw shaft 132 connected to coupling plate 134, see ¶¶ 0038-40);
an actuator housing (multipart actuator housing formed by power-unit housing 115 and ball-bearing unit housing 125) accommodating the motor (112), the reduction gear unit, and at least a portion of the power conversion unit therein; and
a stopper (stopper surface 124) configured to limit a retractable range of the ball screw shaft (132) by being contactable with an end portion of the linearly movable structure (rear end of screw shaft 132).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a method of operating an electromechanical brake system (100), the method comprising:
rotating a rotatable structure (ball-screw nut 122) (see ¶¶ 0032, 0034, 0038, 0051 and 0059-60) by power provided through at least one gear (reducer 113, pinion gear 114, and ring gear 123) from a motor (112);
advancing or retracting a linearly movable structure (132) connected to a footer (coupling plate 134 and screw part housing 136) to move a brake pad (disc pad) toward or away from a rotor of0. a wheel of a vehicle by rotation of the rotatable structure (122) (see ¶¶ 0002, 0039-40, 0059-66);
detecting contact (motor controller 101 using sensing means at stopper surface 124) between the linearly movable structure (132) and a stopper (stopper surface 124) included in an actuator housing (ball-bearing-unit housing 125 of the multipart actuator housing) (see ¶¶ 0030, 0047, 0065); and
by a controller (101), controlling to stop an operation of the motor (112) in response to detection of the contact between the linearly movable structure (132) and the stopper (124) (see ¶¶ 0033, 0047, 0065 and Figs. 4 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 1 and further discloses a support plate of the actuator housing (transverse wall of ball-bearing housing 125 supporting fixed ball bearing 121) (see ¶¶ 0034, 0037, and Fig. 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the stopper is disposed in a recessed portion of a support plate of the actuator housing.
Kim further teaches wherein a plane of the support plate of the actuator housing (plane of the transverse bearing-supporting wall of ball-bearing housing 125) is orthogonal to an axial direction of the rotor (axis of screw shaft 132). Kim discloses ball-bearing housing 125 and screw-part housing 136 with caliper-connection bolt holes 127 and 137, together with screw shaft 132 moving linearly along the actuator axis. In Kim’s disclosed disk-brake caliper arrangement, the actuator axis corresponds to the pad-actuation direction, and consequently, to the axial direction of the rotor. This correspondence is established by Kim's disclosed geometry rather than by Kim expressly using the term “axial direction of the rotor” (see ¶¶ 0002, 0046, 0064 and Fig. 5)
An Se teaches a recessed portion (internal cavity of damper-accommodating portion 126) of a support plate of the actuator housing (corresponding transverse wall of worm-gear-cover portion 125 adjoining damper-accommodating portion 126) connected to the warm-gear-cover portion (125) and arranged to cover the rear end of the screw (170) (see ¶¶ 0044-45, and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transverse bearing-supporting wall of Kim's ball-bearing housing 125 to include the recessed damper-accommodating portion 126 taught by An Se, with Kim’s stopper surface 124 located at the closed end of the recessed portion, in order to accommodate and cover the rear end of the screw shaft as it moves beyond the rotating bearing, thereby providing an enclosed terminal stroke space and defined retraction stop withing the actuator housing (see ¶¶ 0045-46).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 2, wherein the stopper (rear cup-shaped portion of ball-bearing housing 125 including stopper surface 124) includes:
a sleeve (axial wall of the rear cup-shaped portion of ball bearing housing 125) extending along the axial direction of the rotor (axis of screw shaft 132) so that at least a part of the other end portion of the ball screw shaft (rear end of screw shaft 132) is movable within the sleeve (screw-shaft movement space within the rear cup-shaped portion of ball bearing housing 125) (see ¶¶ 0047-48 and Figs. 4 and 5); and
a seat (closed transverse end wall defining stopper surface 124) extending from the sleeve (axial wall of ball bearing housing 125) in a direction different from the axial direction of the rotor (direction transverse to the axis of screw shaft 132) and facing the other end portion of the ball screw shaft (rear end of 132) to be contactable with the other end portion of the ball screw shaft (rear end of 132) (see ¶¶ 0047-48 and Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 3.
Kim does not expressly disclose further including a damper disposed between the other end portion of the ball screw shaft and the seat of the stopper of the actuator housing.
An Se teaches further including a damper (rear damper 197) disposed between the other end portion of the ball screw shaft (corresponding rear end of screw 170) and the seat of the stopper of the actuator housing (closed end wall of damper-accommodating portion 126) (see ¶¶ 0080-82, and Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stopper of Kim to include the rear damper 197 taught by An Se between the rear end of screw shaft 132 and stopper surface 124, in order to attenuate the impact generated when the screw shaft reaches its retraction limit, thereby preventing direct screw-to-housing contact, resulting component damage, and deterioration of actuator durability (see ¶¶ 0082, 0086).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 3.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the actuator housing further includes:
a first chamber in which the motor is accommodated; a second chamber in which at least a portion of the reduction gear unit is accommodated; and a third chamber in which at least a portion of the power conversion unit is accommodated.
An Se teaches wherein the actuator housing (motor housing, gear housing 123, and screw housing 150) further includes:
a first chamber (interior of the motor housing) in which the motor (110) is accommodated (see ¶¶ 0033, 0040 and Fig. 3);
a second chamber (communicating internal spaces of worm cover portion 124 and worm-gear-cover portion 125) in which at least a portion of the reduction gear unit (worm 121 and worm gear 122) is accommodated (see ¶¶ 0048, 0059 and Fig. 3); and
a third chamber (interior of screw housing 150) in which at least a portion of the power conversion unit (linearly movable screw 170) is accommodated (see ¶¶ 0048, 0059 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Kim's collective actuator housing according to the chamber arrangement taught by An Se, by partitioning it into a first chamber in power-unit housing 115 accommodating motor 112, a separate second chamber in power-unit housing 115 accommodating reduction gear 113 and pinion gear 114, and a third chamber in ball-bearing housing 125 and screw-part housing 136 accommodating rotating ball bearing 122 and screw shaft 132, in order to enclose the motor, gearing, and screw components in component-specific housing spaces and guide the linearly moving screw along a straight path, thereby protecting the drive components from foreign matter and maintaining reliable actuator alignment and movement (see ¶¶ 0040, 0048, 0053).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 6, wherein an inner space of the sleeve (screw-shaft movement space within the rear cup-shaped portion of ball-bearing housing 125) is located at an end side of the third chamber of the actuator housing (rear end of the ball-screw-receiving chamber in ball-bearing housing 125 and screw-part housing 136) in which at least a portion of the power conversion unit (rotating ball bearing 122 and screw shaft 132) is accommodated (see ¶¶ 0040, 0047-48, and Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 17, wherein the stopper (stopper surface 124 formed by the closed end wall of ball bearing housing 125) is provided integrally with the actuator housing (ball bearing housing 125) (see ¶ 0047 and Figs. 4 and 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the stopper includes a damper disposed between the stopper and the linearly movable structure.
An Se teaches the stopper (closed end wall of damper-accommodating portion 126) includes a damper (rear damper 197) disposed between the stopper and the linearly movable structure (rear end of screw 170) (see ¶¶ 0046, 0080-82, and Figs. 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integral stopper of Kim to include the rear damper 197 taught by An Se between stopper surface 124 and the rear end of screw shaft 132, in order to attenuate the impact produced when the linearly movable structure reaches its retraction limit, thereby preventing direct contact between the linearly movable structure and the actuator housing and avoiding resulting component damage (see An Se, ¶¶ 0082, 0086).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of Ritter et al. (US 20210131511 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 1, and further discloses a controller (101) configured to control an operation of the motor (112) (see ¶ 0033).
Kim does not expressly disclose a controller configured to detect a current provided to the motor.
Ritter teaches a controller (48) configured to detect a current (motor current) provided to the motor (36) by reading and monitoring the motor current (see ¶ 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify motor controller 101 of Kim to include the motor-current detection taught by Ritter in order to obtain an electrical indication of the load on electric motor 112, thereby enabling the retraction limit to be detected without relying solely on a mechanical limit switch (see Kim, ¶ 0047; Ritter, ¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the method of claim 19, including by a controller (101), controlling to stop an operation of the motor (112) in response to detection of the contact between the linearly movable structure (screw shaft 132) and the stopper (stopper surface 124) (see ¶ 0065).
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the controlling to stop the operation comprises:
by a current sensor, detecting a value of current supplied to the motor;
by the controller, controlling to stop the operation of the motor in response to the detected current value exceeding a preset value.
Ritter teaches that contact between nut stop 54 and spindle stop 56 increases the load on motor 36, thereby causing motor current draw 118 to increase. When motor current draw 118 reaches or exceeds predetermined threshold 120, controller 48 recognizes the contact and turns motor 36 off. Ritter also teaches monitoring motor current during the service-release operation (see ¶ 0062). Although Ritter does not expressly name a current sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use conventional current-sensing circuitry to obtain that monitored current value for controller 48's threshold comparison.
Ritter therefore teaches or suggests wherein the controlling to stop the operation comprises: by a current sensor (current-sensing circuitry), detecting a value of current (motor current draw 118) supplied to the motor (36);
by the controller (48), controlling to stop the operation of the motor (36) in response to the detected current value (motor current draw 118) exceeding a preset value (predetermined threshold 120) (see ¶ 0070 and Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kim to use a current sensor to detect the current supplied to electric motor 112 and stop electric motor 112 when the detected current exceeds the preset threshold taught by Ritter, in order to identify contact between screw shaft 132 and stopper surface 124 from the resulting increase in motor load, thereby terminating retraction at the defined limit and preventing continued motor loading and damage to the motor and actuator (see Ritter, ¶ 0054).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and further in view of Seuser et al. (US 20100320041 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 3 and further discloses a driven gear (pinion gear 114) rotatably engaged with the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122 through ring gear 123). Specifically, pinion gear 114 meshes with ring gear 123, and ring gear 123 is coupled to and rotates with ball-screw nut 122 (see ¶¶ 0034, 0038, and Fig. 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the reduction gear unit includes:
a driving gear provided on a driving shaft of the motor,
a driving pulley,
a driving belt connected between the driving gear and the driving pulley to transmit a rotational force of the driving gear to the driving pulley, and
a driven gear fixed to the driving pulley to be rotatable together with the driving pulley.
Seuser teaches in an electrical parking-brake actuator, a belt-drive arrangement wherein the reduction gear unit includes a driving gear (first toothed belt pulley 140) provided on a driving shaft (motor output shaft shown in Fig. 1) of the motor (electric motor 130),
a driving pulley (second toothed belt pulley 160), and
a driving belt (toothed belt 150) connected between the driving gear (first toothed belt pulley 140) and the driving pulley (second toothed belt pulley 160) to transmit a rotational force of the driving gear (first toothed belt pulley 140) to the driving pulley (second toothed belt pulley 160), and
a driven gear (first sun gear 200) fixed to the driving pulley (second toothed belt pulley 160) to be rotatable together with the driving pulley (second toothed belt pulley 160) (see ¶¶ 0030, 0032 and Figs. 1-2).
Seuser explains that gearing 170 is driven through second toothed belt pulley 160 and that second toothed belt pulley 160 has centrally arranged first sun gear 200. Thus, first sun gear 200 necessarily rotates together with second toothed belt pulley 160 to transmit its rotational force to the downstream gearing (see Seuser, ¶ 0032, and Fig. 2). In the proposed combination, Kim's pinion gear 114 would be fixed to Seuser's second toothed belt pulley 160 in place of first sun gear 200 while remaining meshed with ring gear 123, which is coupled to ball-screw nut 122 (see Kim, ¶¶ 0034, 0038; Seuser, ¶ 0032 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reduction gear unit of Kim to incorporate Seuser’s first toothed belt pulley 140, toothed belt 150, and second toothed belt pulley 160, with pulley 140 provided on the driving shaft of motor 112 and pinion gear 114 fixed to pulley 160, in order to transmit torque between laterally offset shafts and allow flexible motor placement, thereby permitting compact packaging while retaining rotation of ball-screw nut 122 (see Seuser, ¶¶ 0030, 0032 and Figs. 1-2; Kim, ¶¶ 0051, 0064).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and further in view of Seuser et al. (US 20100320041 A1) and Son et al. (US 20230060796 A1) (Applicant cited).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the power conversion unit further includes an output gear (ring gear 123) having a ring shape, and coupled to the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122) to be rotatable together with the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122), and an inner peripheral surface of the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122) has a second screw thread (internal ball-screw groove) operably engaged with the ball screw shaft (screw shaft 132) (see ¶¶ 0038-40 and Fig. 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose an outer peripheral surface of the output gear has a first screw thread engaged with the driven gear.
Son teaches an outer peripheral surface of the output gear (worm gear 440) has a first screw thread (worm-gear teeth on the outer peripheral surface of second gear 440) engaged with the driven gear (worm 482) (see ¶¶ 0062-63, 0066, and Fig. 4).
In the proposed combination, Kim’s ring gear 123 is configured with Son's worm-gear tooth form, and Kim's pinion gear 114 is configured as Son’s worm 482, while ring gear 123 remains coupled to ball-screw nut 122 and pinion gear 114 remains fixed to Seuser's second toothed belt pulley 160.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gear engagement between pinion gear 114 and ring gear 123 of Kim to use the mating worm 482 and worm gear 440 tooth arrangement taught by Son, while retaining pinion gear 114 fixed to second toothed belt pulley 160 and ring gear 123 coupled to ball-screw nut 122, in order to transmit rotational force between the perpendicular axes of pinion gear 114 and ring gear 123 with reduced operational noise, thereby providing quieter transmission of rotational force to ball-screw nut 122 while predictably retaining its rotation (see Son, ¶¶ 0062-64).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 9, wherein an outer peripheral surface of the ball screw shaft (screw shaft 132) has a third screw thread (external ball-screw groove) operably engaged with the second screw thread (internal ball-screw groove) of the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122) (see ¶¶ 0039-40 and Fig. 5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and further in view of Seuser et al. (US 20100320041 A1) and Son et al. (US 20230060796 A1) (Applicant cited), and further in view of Rieth et al. (US 6405836 B1).
For purposes of examination, “the actuator” is interpreted as referring to the actuator assembly described in the specification as filed at ¶¶ 0040 and 0048.
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 9, wherein the ball nut (ball-screw nut 122) includes:
a body part (body of ball-screw nut 122) extending along the axial direction of the rotor and having the output gear (ring gear 123) coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the body part (ball-screw nut 122) (see Kim, ¶¶ 0038, 0064 and Fig. 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose a head part provided at one end portion of the body part and having a larger outer diameter than the body part; and
a thrust bearing interposed between the head part and a caliper housing to which the actuator is mounted.
Rieth teaches a head part (radial collar 29) provided at one end portion of the body part (threaded nut 16) and having a larger outer diameter than the body part; and
a thrust bearing (balls and bearing ring 22) interposed between the head part (radial collar 29) and a caliper housing (gear housing 19 formed in one part with the brake caliper) to which the actuator (actuating unit) is mounted (see Reith, col. 5, lines 17-24, 30-42, and 58-65, and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim's ball-screw nut 122 to include the radial collar 29 and axial bearing arrangement taught by Rieth, while retaining ring gear 123 coupled to ball-screw nut 122, in order to axially support ball-screw nut 122 against braking clamping loads within the caliper housing, thereby allowing ball-screw nut 122 to rotate while transmitting the axial braking load through a stable load path (see Rieth, col. 5, lines 58-65).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and further in view of DeMorais et al. (US 20180298963 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 3.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein: a groove is formed to be recessed from a surface of the footer facing a pad plate of a brake pad, and
a protrusion protruding from a surface of the pad plate of the brake pad and inserted in the groove of the footer to limit rotation of the footer and the ball screw shaft.
DeMorais teaches a groove (V-groove 76) is formed to be recessed from a surface of the footer (footing 5) facing a pad plate (backing plate 11) of a brake pad (7), and
a protrusion (pip 75) protruding from a surface of the pad plate (backing plate 11) of the brake pad (7) and inserted in the groove (V-groove 76) of the footer (footing 5) to limit rotation of the footer (footing 5 of piston 10) (see ¶ 0045, and Figs. 20a-20c).
Kim further teaches that the footer (coupling plate 134) is coupled to the front end of the ball screw shaft (132) (see Kim, ¶ 0040 and Figs. 2 and 7). In the proposed combination, limiting rotation of coupling plate 134 would therefore also limit rotation of screw shaft 132.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s footer (coupling plate 134) and the pad plate of the brake pad to include DeMorais’s edge-positioned V-groove 76 and pip 75, respectively, in order to maintain alignment with the brake pad and prevent rotation of coupling plate 134, thereby limiting rotation of connected screw shaft 132 so rotation of ball-screw nut 122 predictably produces linear movement of screw shaft 132 (see DeMorais ¶ 0045 and Kim ¶ 0039-40).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the groove of the footer (edge-positioned V-groove 76) and the protrusion of the pad plate (pip 75 inserted in V-groove 76) are located eccentrically with respect to a rotation axis of the ball screw shaft (axis of screw shaft 132) (see DeMorais ¶ 0045, and Figs. 20a-20c; Kim ¶ 0040 and Figs. 2 and 7 ).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and Seuser et al. (US 20100320041 A1) and further in view of Drennen et al. (US 20030116388 A1) and Usui (US 20100101900 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 8.
Kim does not expressly disclose further comprising a parking driving unit configured to perform parking braking, the parking driving unit including:
a ratchet provided on the driving pulley;
a pawl configured to be movable to be engaged with the ratchet of the driving pulley;
a pawl housing to which the pawl is rotatably coupled; and
a solenoid actuator comprising a solenoid pin configured to move the pawl.
Drennen teaches, in an electromechanical brake caliper, a pulley-based parking unit including ratchet (pulley teeth 62) provided on a pulley (60) and a pawl (park-brake lever 64) configured to be movable by a solenoid (68) to be engaged with the ratchet (pulley teeth 62) (see ¶¶ 0019-20 and Fig. 2).
Usui teaches a parking driving unit (parking brake mechanism 25F including drive unit 263) including:
a ratchet (260);
a pawl (engaging pawl 261 formed on pivot arm 262) configured to be movable into engagement with the ratchet (260);
a pawl housing (hollow bracket 270 having supporting pieces 270a) to which the pawl (pivot arm 262 carrying engaging pawl 261) is rotatably coupled by pin 271; and
a solenoid actuator (268) comprising a solenoid pin (plunger 267) operatively connected through connecting pin 273 to move the pawl (pivot arm 262 and engaging pawl 261) (see ¶¶ 0115-0118, and Fig. 16).
In the proposed combination, following Drennen's pulley-mounted arrangement, Usui's ratchet 260 would be provided on Seuser's second toothed belt pulley 160, while Usui’s pivot arm 262 carrying engaging pawl 261, bracket 270, solenoid 268, and plunger 267 would form the remaining parking driving unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electromechanical brake system of Kim by providing Usui's ratchet 260 on Seuser's second toothed belt pulley 160 in Drennen's pulley-mounted arrangement and using Usui’s solenoid-operated pawl drive unit 263 to engage the ratchet, in order to retain parking braking without continuous power and simplify assembly of the parking mechanism (see Drennen, ¶¶ 0019-20; Usui, ¶¶ 0118, 0133).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 13, wherein the parking driving unit further includes a torsion spring (272) configured to apply an elastic force to the pawl (pivot arm 262 and engaging pawl 261) in a direction away from the ratchet (260) (see Usui ¶¶ 0116-0117 and Fig. 16).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20180009412-A) in view of An Se et al. (KR-20130123788-A) (Applicant cited), and Seuser et al. (US 20100320041 A1), further in view of Drennen et al. (US 20030116388 A1) and Usui (US 20100101900 A1), and further in view of Powell et al. (US 20040248687 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified discloses the electromechanical brake system of claim 14.
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the solenoid actuator is configured to:
move the solenoid pin toward the pawl in response to supply of power to the solenoid actuator, and
move the solenoid pin toward the solenoid actuator when the power is not supplied to the solenoid actuator.
Powell teaches a spring-return solenoid (park-solenoid assembly 32) configured to: move a solenoid pin (solenoid plunger 104) outward in response to supply power to the solenoid actuator (park-solenoid assembly 32) (see ¶ 0031 and Fig. 7), and
move the solenoid pin (solenoid plunger 104) toward the solenoid actuator (solenoid body 102) when power is not supplied to the solenoid actuator (park-solenoid assembly 32), under the biasing force of spring (119) (see ¶ 0032 and Fig. 6).
In the proposed combination, Powell’s energized-extension and spring-return operation is applied to Usui's solenoid 268 and plunger 267, with plunger 267 oriented to extend toward pivot arm 262 to move engaging pawl 261 when powered and retract toward solenoid 268 when unpowered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Usui’s solenoid 268 in the combined system to use Powell’s energized-extension, spring-return plunger operation, arranged to act on pivot arm 262 to move engaging pawl 261 when powered and retract toward solenoid 268 when unpowered, in order to provide a powered engagement stroke and automatic unpowered return of the solenoid pin, thereby predictably moving the pawl into engagement when energized and withdrawing the pin when deenergized (see Usui ¶¶ 0116-17; Powell ¶¶ 0031-32).
Conclusion
/K.A.A./
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616