DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office Action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
No IDS has been filed for this application. Applicant is reminded of the duty to
disclose from section 2100 of the MPEP:
37 C.F.R. 1.56; Duty to disclose information material to patentability.
A patent by its very nature is affected with a public interest. The public interest is best served, and the most effective patent examination occurs when, at the time an application is being examined, the Office is aware of and evaluates the teachings of all information material to patentability. Each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the basis that “claim 4, which encompasses alleged Species IV, requires all the elements of claim 3, which encompasses alleged Species III. That is, although claim 4 recites additional elements that are not in claim 3, claim 3 does not recite any element that is not also in claim 4. Therefore, in contrast to the Office's assertion, alleged Species III and IV are not mutually exclusive”. This is found persuasive. However, with regard to the other species, even though one or more elements recited in the claims of Species III are similar to one or more elements recited in the claims of Species I-II and V-VIII, the additional elements of the other species will create a serious burden for the Examiner and will require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/sub-classes or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/04/2026.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a collection component . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Therefore, the afore-mentioned claim limitation(s) is/are interpreted as a fingerprint sensor during prosecution of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0362172 A1 to Chien et al. (hereinafter "Chien").
Regarding Claim 10, Chien teaches a collection device comprising: a collection area; and a collection component (Fig. 1; Para. 24 of Chien; electronic device comprises a fingerprint sensor 10, a display 20, a processor 30, and a storage medium 40 storing the codes that the processor 30 requires to perform the fingerprint enrollment process. The processor 30 is coupled to the fingerprint sensor 10, the display 20, and the storage medium 40. The fingerprint sensor 10 is configured to sense the fingerprint of a finger and has a size smaller than the finger) configured to obtain a plurality of collected images based on one or more target configuration parameters, the one or more target configuration parameters, when applied to the collection device, enabling the collection device to obtain an image that meets a clarity condition when an operation body moves in the collection area (Figs. 2A-10; Para. 30-46 of Chien; If the user follows above instruction to move the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the fingerprint sensor 10 senses the finger multiple times during the movement of the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10. Thereby a plurality of fingerprint images 60 can be acquired, as shown in FIG. 10… when the processor 30 determines that the M quailed fingerprint images are acquired or the number of times that the finger touches the fingerprint sensor 10 reaches N, the fingerprint sensor 10 stops sensing the fingerprint. If the fingerprint enrollment method used by the user is moving the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the processor 30 will first determine that the M qualified fingerprint images have been acquired (i.e. the determination in step S30 is YES) and then ends the enrollment process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12, and 19 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0285729 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Chien teaches a collection method and an electronic device comprising: a collection device; and a processor configured to: configure the collection device based on one or more target configuration parameters to obtain a plurality of collected images, the one or more target configuration parameters, when applied to the collection device (Abstract; Claim 1, 14; Fig. 1; Para. 24 of Chien; electronic device comprises a fingerprint sensor 10, a display 20, a processor 30, and a storage medium 40 storing the codes that the processor 30 requires to perform the fingerprint enrollment process. The processor 30 is coupled to the fingerprint sensor 10, the display 20, and the storage medium 40. The fingerprint sensor 10 is configured to sense the fingerprint of a finger and has a size smaller than the finger… During the fingerprint enrollment process, a user inputs a fingerprint of a finger via the fingerprint sensor 10. The fingerprint sensor 10 senses the finger to acquire a plurality of fingerprint images, and transmits the fingerprint images to the processor 30. In step S20, the processor 30 determines if M qualified fingerprint images are acquired. A qualified fingerprint image is used to generate fingerprint enrollment information, and an unqualified fingerprint image is discarded), enabling the collection device to obtain an image that meets a clarity condition when an operation body moves in the collection area; determine target collected images based on the plurality of collected images; and generate a template for biometric verification of the operation body (Figs. 2A-10; Para. 3, 30-46 of Chien; electronic device senses the user's fingerprint and compares it with the enrolled fingerprint to identify the user… If the user follows above instruction to move the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the fingerprint sensor 10 senses the finger multiple times during the movement of the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10. Thereby a plurality of fingerprint images 60 can be acquired, as shown in FIG. 10… when the processor 30 determines that the M quailed fingerprint images are acquired or the number of times that the finger touches the fingerprint sensor 10 reaches N, the fingerprint sensor 10 stops sensing the fingerprint. If the fingerprint enrollment method used by the user is moving the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the processor 30 will first determine that the M qualified fingerprint images have been acquired (i.e. the determination in step S30 is YES) and then ends the enrollment process).
Chien does not explicitly disclose generating a template by splicing the target collected images.
However, Kim teaches generating a template by splicing the target collected images (Claim 1; Figs. 2-5; Para. 54-71 of Kim; user's fingerprint is continuously sliced into a plurality of local fingerprint images. An effective single fingerprint image may be composed from the local fingerprint images and compared with a pre-registered fingerprint image in a fingerprint database to determine, for example, that the person has rights to access mobile device 101… composition unit 60 composites the corrected local fingerprint images into the effective single fingerprint image. The fingerprint recognition unit 70 performs the recognition/identification process with respect to the user's fingerprint using the effective single fingerprint image).
Therefore, at the time when the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include generating a template by splicing the target collected images using the teachings of Kim in order to modify the device taught by Chien. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide a fingerprint recognition system and method employing local fingerprint image composition which can accurately perform the fingerprint recognition even when there is a difference between finger sliding speed and a sampling speed of a sensor (Para. 23 of Kim).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, the combination of Chien and Kim teaches that the processor is further configured to, when determining the target collected images: determine two or more of the plurality of collected images that represent a target movement trajectory matching a target trajectory as the target collected images (Figs. 2A-10; Para. 30-46 of Chien; If the user follows above instruction to move the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the fingerprint sensor 10 senses the finger multiple times during the movement of the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10. Thereby a plurality of fingerprint images 60 can be acquired, as shown in FIG. 10).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination of Chien and Kim teaches that the processor is further configured to, when configuring the collection device to obtain the plurality of collected images: configure the collection device to obtain the plurality of collected images in response to the operation body moving in the collection area along a spiral line (Figs. 4-10; Para. 30-36 of Chien; when the processor 30 determines that the M quailed fingerprint images are acquired or the number of times that the finger touches the fingerprint sensor 10 reaches N, the fingerprint sensor 10 stops sensing the fingerprint. If the fingerprint enrollment method used by the user is moving the finger on the fingerprint sensor 10 in a spiral path, the processor 30 will first determine that the M qualified fingerprint images have been acquired (i.e. the determination in step S30 is YES) and then ends the enrollment process).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references, either singularly or in combination, teach or fairly suggest the
method according to claim 2, wherein determining the two or more of the plurality of collected images as the target collected images includes: determining a first image of the plurality of collected images as one of the target collected images; determining a reference feature point of the first image, the reference feature point coinciding with a center of the first image; determining that a second image of the plurality of collected images includes a target feature point same as the reference feature point; and in response to a position parameter of the target feature point corresponding to a target position in a position set corresponding to the target trajectory, determining the second image as another one of the target collected images.
None of the references, either singularly or in combination, teach or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to, when determining the two or more of the plurality of collected images as the target collected images:
determine a first image of the plurality of collected images as one of the target collected images; determine a reference feature point of the first image, the reference feature point coinciding with a center of the first image; determine that a second image of the plurality of collected images includes a target feature point same as the reference feature point; and
in response to a position parameter of the target feature point corresponding to a target position in a position set corresponding to the target trajectory, determine the second image as another one of the target collected images.
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK SARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621