CTNF 18/882,737 CTNF 87818 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 05-01 AIA 2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items: i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.). ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication). iii. Filing date. iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action. v. Title of invention. vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503). 3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. 4. Claim interpretation : When multiple limitations are connected with “ OR ”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional. Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 5. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-7 & 10 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Zhu et al (Pub No. US 2019/0205029) . Regarding claim 1 , Zhu et al discloses an electronic device (Fig. 2 & Abstract) comprising: a first body including a first area and a second area (Fig. 2: 1 st body 220 with 1 st area-221 & 2 nd area-222 & Abstract) , the first area being an input area (Fig. 2: 1 st body 220 with 1 st area-221 input key) ; a second body rotating relative to the first body (Fig. 2: 1 st body 220 and 2 nd body-210 & Para. 31-33 ); and a display assembly, an end of the display assembly being fixedly connected to an end of the second body away from the first body ( Fig. 2: display-222 & 211 & Para. 33-36), and a display area of the display assembly including: a first display area arranged inside the first body and being visible to a user through the second area (Fig. 2 & Para. 20-25: First display area arranged inside the first body and being visible ). Regarding claim 2 , Zhu et al discloses wherein the second area is able to be switched between a transparent state and a non-transparent state ( Fig. 2: second area switched between a transparent state-display-22 and a non-transparent state-key 221 & Para. 33-36 ). Regarding claim 3 , Zhu et al discloses the display assembly slides relative to the first body ( Fig. 2) ; the display assembly and the first body have a first relative position and a second relative position; in the first relative position, the second area is in the transparent state, and the first display area is visible to the user through the second area; and in the second relative position, the second area is in the non-transparent state ( Fig. 2 & 5: transparent state-display-22 and a non-transparent state-key 221 & Para. 33-36 ). Regarding claim 5 , Zhu et al discloses a first input assembly cooperating with a display content of the first display area of the display assembly (Fig. 2 ). Regarding claim 6 , Zhu et al discloses a touch area of the first input assembly is arranged in at second area ( Fig. 2 & 5 ). Regarding claim 7 , Zhu et al discloses the display assembly is able to slide relative to the first body; and the first body includes a sliding assembly arranged inside the first body and driving the display assembly to slide relative to the first body ( Fig. 2 & 5 Para. 48-50 ). Regarding claim 10 , Zhu et al discloses the display area of the display assembly further includes: a second display area exposed outside the first body, the display content of the first display area being determined based on a display content of the second display area (Fig. 2 & Abstract) . Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub No. US 2019/0205029) and further in view of Lee et al (Pub No. 2016/0110010) . Regarding claim 4 , Zhu et al discloses the first body includes: an adjustment assembly configured to switch between a transparent state and a non-transparent state to cause the second area to switch between the transparent state and the non-transparent state ( Fig. 2: second area switched between a transparent state-display-22 and a non-transparent state-key 221 & Para. 33-36 ). Zhu et al is silent regarding the adjustment assembly includes at least one of a liquid crystal layer or an electrochromic layer. Lee et al discloses the adjustment assembly includes at least one of a liquid crystal layer or an electrochromic layer (Para. 100 & 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the liquid crystal layer to make the display device for user convenience. Regarding claim 9 , Zhu et al is silent regarding a position of the first display area in the display assembly is determined based on the sliding information of the sliding assembly driving the display assembly to slide relative to the first body. Lee et al discloses a position of the first display area in the display assembly is determined based on the sliding information of the sliding assembly driving the display assembly to slide relative to the first body (Para. 17-18 & 68: sliding display ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the liquid crystal layer to make the display device for user convenience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the sliding type display to adjust the display screen for user convenience in a dual screen mode . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (Pub No. US 2019/0205029) and further in view of Zhang et al (Pub No. 2022/0261093) . Regarding claim 8 , Zhu et al is silent regarding the sliding assembly includes at least one of: a first sliding assembly including: a motor configured to drive the display assembly to slide relative to the first body; and an encoder configured to determine sliding information of the display assembly; and a second sliding assembly including: a motor configured to drive the display assembly to slide relative to the first body; and a position sensor configured to determine the sliding information of the display assembly. Zhang et al the sliding assembly includes at least one of: a first sliding assembly including: a motor configured to drive the display assembly to slide relative to the first body; and an encoder configured to determine sliding information of the display assembly; and a second sliding assembly including: a motor configured to drive the display assembly to slide relative to the first body; and a position sensor configured to determine the sliding information of the display assembly (Para. 204 & 288: Motor controlled display ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the motor-controlled display to adjust the display screen for better view. Other Prior Art 07-96 AIA 7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Kim et al (US 2021/0173533) discloses a first main body including a first surface and a second surface. A rotatable connection connects a part of one side of the first main body part and a part of one side of the second main body part; a first display which is exposed to the first surface of the first main body part; a second display which is exposed to the third surface of the second main body part . Another closest prior art Gao et al (US 2017/0003793) discloses a mobile device having multiple display unit rotate adjacent to each other. Switch display based on the configuration of the display. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MD K TALUKDER whose telephone number is (571)270-3222. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thur from 10 am to 6 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley Kim can be reached on 571-272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/882,737 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648