Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by McKenney et al (US 6230642). With respect to claims 1, 15, McKenney et al disclose the claimed watercraft (note all the Figures) propelled by a jet stream with a boat body 10, a jet pump (12) including an impeller disposed at a rear portion of the boat body to generate a propulsive force, an impeller shaft (inherently; note the Figures) to rotate the impeller¸ a tunnel (at 16) extending in the boat body, a tunnel opening located at one end of the tunnel, disposed in front of the jet pump (note the Figures), directed in a thrust direction intersecting a front-rear direction of the boat body, and opened in the boat body at a position equal to or lower than a virtual plane extending in a horizontal direction along a rotation axis of the impeller and thrust propulsion device (impeller, note the Figures) that generates a propulsive force in the thrust direction by causing a fluid to flow from an inside the tunnel to an outside of the boat body through the tunnel opening. With respect to the preamble of a personal watercraft. Note that the boat disclosed by McKenney et al is capable of being operated by a single person. Also there is no claimed structure to define a personal watercraft over the watercraft disclosed by McKenney et al. With respect to claims 3-4, 6, note McKenney et al, Figure 1.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenney et al (US 6230642) in view of Anderson et al (US 2016/0016651). With respect to claims 7-8, 10, Mckenney et al do not disclose an electric motor and battery. Anderson et al teach a bow thruster with electric motor, transmission (inherently) and battery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to form the bow thruster of McKenney et al with an electric motor, transmission and battery as taught by Anderson et al with a high likelihood of success for improved propulsion and low noise and emissions. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have some years of experience and would have been familiar with various impeller drive systems including electric. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious. With respect to the location of the mounting it is noted that the mounting position would have been an obvious choice of engineering design to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a high likelihood of success for ease of installation.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenney et al (US 6230642) in view of Gasper et al (US 2013/0228115). With respect to claim 15, Mckenney et al do not disclose stabilizers. Gasper et al teach stabilizers 33a, 33b, 106. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to form the device of McKenney et al with a stabilizer as taught by Gasper et al with a high likelihood of success for improved safety via stability. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have some years of experience and would have been familiar with various vessel stability system. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claims 2, 5, 9, 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clarkson (US 6361387) show a bow thruster. Lecours (US 6419533) show a jet boat.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615