DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10-11, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baur et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0154591), hereinafter referred to as Baur.
In regard to claim 1, Baur teaches an electronic device (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) connected to a camera device that captures a rear view image of a vehicle (Baur Fig. 1A noting rear facing video camera 12; and Baur Fig. 1 showing camera 12 capturing a rear view area of the vehicle; and Baur paragraph 76 noting that the rear view camera captures video images), the electronic device comprising:
an interface module configured to communicatively connect to the camera device (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18); and
a processor configured to connect to the interface module, and to process the rear view image received through the interface module (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) to a plurality of target images for a plurality of functions (Baur paragraph 74 noting The system may process the captured images and crop the images or display a portion of the images. For example, the system may display a left or right sideward portion depending on which direction the driver is attempting to turn or change lanes. The video screen may utilize only that side of the screen for displaying the video images, and the unused portion or portions of the video display screen (that does not display video images) may optionally show an icon or other information, such as, for example, a traditional icon that represents or indicates that a vehicle is present in the blind spot area at that side of the vehicle. Such "smart cropping" can be implemented to utilize different percentages of the video display area dependent on the customer or type of vehicle or the like. Optionally, the rearward facing camera may have a zoom capability that can be used with the blind spot feature (or the video processing may process the captured image data to enlarge the displayed images) in order to enlarge the blind spot area that is displayed on either a portion of the video display screen or across the entire video display screen. Alternatively, or additionally, electronic zooming can be provided via the video processor via algorithmic manipulation of the video images fed thereto from the rear video camera, and in addition, the multi-function video processor).
In regard to claim 5, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches a display module configured to connect to the processor (Baur Fig. 1A showing video display 16 connected to the video processor 18),
wherein the processor is configured to display a portion of the rear view image on the display module as a second target image that is a portion of an around view image around the vehicle (Baur paragraph 91 noting the processor receives video feed from the rear view camera; and may process the video image data and seamlessly merge the image data or images in the multiple video feeds to generate, for display on a single video display screen, a surround view or top-view or panoramic view or "birds-eye" view of the area at and around the equipped vehicle).
In regard to claim 10, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches a preprocessing module configured to duplicate the rear view image and to generate a plurality of rear view images; and a plurality of processing modules assigned with the functions, respectively, and configured to receive the rear view images, respectively, and to process the rear view images to the target images according to the functions, respectively (Baur paragraph 74 noting the system may process the captured images and crop the images or display a portion of the images. For example, the system may display a left or right sideward portion depending on which direction the driver is attempting to turn or change lanes. The video screen may utilize only that side of the screen for displaying the video images, and the unused portion or portions of the video display screen (that does not display video images) may optionally show an icon or other information, such as, for example, a traditional icon that represents or indicates that a vehicle is present in the blind spot area at that side of the vehicle. Such "smart cropping" can be implemented to utilize different percentages of the video display area dependent on the customer or type of vehicle or the like. Optionally, the rearward facing camera may have a zoom capability that can be used with the blind spot feature (or the video processing may process the captured image data to enlarge the displayed images) in order to enlarge the blind spot area that is displayed on either a portion of the video display screen or across the entire video display screen. Alternatively, or additionally, electronic zooming can be provided via the video processor via algorithmic manipulation of the video images fed thereto from the rear video camera, and in addition, the multi-function video processor).
In regard to claim 11, Baur teaches an operating method of an electronic device (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) connected to a camera device that captures a rear view image of a vehicle (Baur Fig. 1A noting rear facing video camera 12; and Baur Fig. 1 showing camera 12 capturing a rear view area of the vehicle; and Baur paragraph 76 noting that the rear view camera captures video images), the method comprising:
receiving the rear view image from the camera device (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18); and
processing the rear view image (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) to a plurality of target images for a plurality of functions (Baur paragraph 74 noting The system may process the captured images and crop the images or display a portion of the images. For example, the system may display a left or right sideward portion depending on which direction the driver is attempting to turn or change lanes. The video screen may utilize only that side of the screen for displaying the video images, and the unused portion or portions of the video display screen (that does not display video images) may optionally show an icon or other information, such as, for example, a traditional icon that represents or indicates that a vehicle is present in the blind spot area at that side of the vehicle. Such "smart cropping" can be implemented to utilize different percentages of the video display area dependent on the customer or type of vehicle or the like. Optionally, the rearward facing camera may have a zoom capability that can be used with the blind spot feature (or the video processing may process the captured image data to enlarge the displayed images) in order to enlarge the blind spot area that is displayed on either a portion of the video display screen or across the entire video display screen. Alternatively, or additionally, electronic zooming can be provided via the video processor via algorithmic manipulation of the video images fed thereto from the rear video camera, and in addition, the multi-function video processor).
In regard to claim 15, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches wherein the processing to the target images comprises displaying a portion of the rear view image on a display module (Baur Fig. 1A showing video display 16 connected to the video processor 18) as a second target image that is a portion of an around view image around the vehicle (Baur paragraph 91 noting the processor receives video feed from the rear view camera; and may process the video image data and seamlessly merge the image data or images in the multiple video feeds to generate, for display on a single video display screen, a surround view or top-view or panoramic view or "birds-eye" view of the area at and around the equipped vehicle).
In regard to claim 20, Baur teaches an image processing system comprising (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18):
a camera device configured to capture a rear view image of a vehicle (Baur Fig. 1A noting rear facing video camera 12; and Baur Fig. 1 showing camera 12 capturing a rear view area of the vehicle; and Baur paragraph 76 noting that the rear view camera captures video images); and
an electronic device (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) configured to process the rear view image (Baur paragraph 76 noting a rear camera on a vehicle in communication to an interior video mirror assembly that comprises a display screen and a video processor, and performs image processing; and Baur Fig. 1A showing rear facing video camera 12 in communication with video processor 18) to a plurality of target images for a plurality of functions (Baur paragraph 74 noting The system may process the captured images and crop the images or display a portion of the images. For example, the system may display a left or right sideward portion depending on which direction the driver is attempting to turn or change lanes. The video screen may utilize only that side of the screen for displaying the video images, and the unused portion or portions of the video display screen (that does not display video images) may optionally show an icon or other information, such as, for example, a traditional icon that represents or indicates that a vehicle is present in the blind spot area at that side of the vehicle. Such "smart cropping" can be implemented to utilize different percentages of the video display area dependent on the customer or type of vehicle or the like. Optionally, the rearward facing camera may have a zoom capability that can be used with the blind spot feature (or the video processing may process the captured image data to enlarge the displayed images) in order to enlarge the blind spot area that is displayed on either a portion of the video display screen or across the entire video display screen. Alternatively, or additionally, electronic zooming can be provided via the video processor via algorithmic manipulation of the video images fed thereto from the rear video camera, and in addition, the multi-function video processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0154591), hereinafter referred to as Baur, in view of Chinomi (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0079585), hereinafter referred to as Chinomi.
In regard to claim 2, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Baur does not expressly disclose a memory configured to connect to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to store the rear view image in the memory as a first target image.
In the same field of endeavor, Chinomi teaches a memory configured to connect to the processor (Chinomi paragraph 49 noting image processing unit 10 can also include other conventional components such as an input interface circuit, an output interface circuit, and storage devices such as a ROM (Read Only Memory) device and a RAM (Random Access Memory) device. The microcomputer of the image processing unit 10 is programmed to control the display device 4 and other components of the vehicle periphery monitoring apparatus. The memory circuit stores processing results and control programs such as ones for image converting operation that are run by the processor circuit), wherein the processor is configured to store the rear view image in the memory as a first target image (Chinomi paragraph 52 noting the first image processing section 12 is configured to take the pixel data of the image (the first original image) that was captured by the rear camera 1 and stored as a frame in the input image frame memory 21 of the image input section 11 and to rearrange the pixel data into the pixels of the rearward image frame memory 25 based on a definition table, thereby generating a rearward image PB (the first displayed image) from the image photographed by the rear camera 1. Since the rearward image PB is obtained by extracting a portion of the image photographed by the rear camera 1, the size of the extracted image is often smaller).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur with the teachings of Chinomi because both disclosures relate to the field of vehicle camera systems that comprise a rearward facing camera that communicates with an image processor, and the images taken are processed, cropped, converted, etc. to be used for functions within the vehicle, and displayed on displays within the vehicle. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Chinomi, the teachings of Baur include all of the limitations presented in claim 2.
In regard to claim 4, Baur and Chinomi teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, Chinomi teaches wherein a resolution of the first target image is the same as that of the rear view image, and a resolution of at least one of the target images is less than that of the rear view image (Chinomi paragraph 52 noting the first image processing section 12 is configured to take the pixel data of the image (the first original image) that was captured by the rear camera 1 and stored as a frame in the input image frame memory 21 of the image input section 11 and to rearrange the pixel data into the pixels of the rearward image frame memory 25 based on a definition table, thereby generating a rearward image PB (the first displayed image) from the image photographed by the rear camera 1. Since the rearward image PB is obtained by extracting a portion of the image photographed by the rear camera 1, the size of the extracted image is often smaller).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Chinomi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 12, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the processing to the target images comprises storing the rear view image in a memory as a first target image.
In the same field of endeavor, Chinomi teaches wherein the processing to the target images comprises storing the rear view image in a memory as a first target image (Chinomi paragraph 49 noting image processing unit 10 can also include other conventional components such as an input interface circuit, an output interface circuit, and storage devices such as a ROM (Read Only Memory) device and a RAM (Random Access Memory) device. The microcomputer of the image processing unit 10 is programmed to control the display device 4 and other components of the vehicle periphery monitoring apparatus. The memory circuit stores processing results and control programs such as ones for image converting operation that are run by the processor circuit; and Chinomi paragraph 52 noting the first image processing section 12 is configured to take the pixel data of the image (the first original image) that was captured by the rear camera 1 and stored as a frame in the input image frame memory 21 of the image input section 11 and to rearrange the pixel data into the pixels of the rearward image frame memory 25 based on a definition table, thereby generating a rearward image PB (the first displayed image) from the image photographed by the rear camera 1. Since the rearward image PB is obtained by extracting a portion of the image photographed by the rear camera 1, the size of the extracted image is often smaller).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Chinomi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 14, Baur and Chinomi teach all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. In addition, Chinomi teaches wherein a resolution of the first target image is the same as that of the rear view image, and a resolution of at least one of the target images is less than that of the rear view image (Chinomi paragraph 52 noting the first image processing section 12 is configured to take the pixel data of the image (the first original image) that was captured by the rear camera 1 and stored as a frame in the input image frame memory 21 of the image input section 11 and to rearrange the pixel data into the pixels of the rearward image frame memory 25 based on a definition table, thereby generating a rearward image PB (the first displayed image) from the image photographed by the rear camera 1. Since the rearward image PB is obtained by extracting a portion of the image photographed by the rear camera 1, the size of the extracted image is often smaller).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Chinomi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0154591), hereinafter referred to as Baur, in view of Chinomi (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0079585), hereinafter referred to as Chinomi, and in further view of Chen (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0222391), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
In regard to claim 3, Baur and Chinomi teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches a communication module configured to connect to the processor.
However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to acquire location information through the communication module and to store the location information in the memory with a first target image.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein the processor is configured to acquire location information through the communication module and to store the location information in the memory with a first target image (Chen paragraphs 19-22 noting images from the front and rear facing cameras are exported, saved, and sorted by time and locations in the system; and noting information on the location of the vehicle, date, time, and monitoring real-time vehicle information to be associated with the images. The rear view mirror system may further comprise a back-end cloud database configured for storing data of the user, the vehicle, the one or more cameras, and GPS track).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Chinomi for the same reasons as discussed above regarding claim 2. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Chen because Chen also describes a vehicular rear view system comprising cameras, a control system, memory, and allows for presenting real time photo information and controlling operations of the cameras for various functions. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Chen, the teachings of Baur and Chinomi include all of the limitations presented in claim 3.
In regard to claim 13, Baur and Chinomi teach all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. However, Baur does not expressly disclose acquiring location information of the electronic device, wherein the storing in the memory comprises storing the location information in the memory with the first target image.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches acquiring location information of the electronic device, wherein the storing in the memory comprises storing the location information in the memory with the first target image (Chen paragraphs 19-22 noting images from the front and rear facing cameras are exported, saved, and sorted by time and locations in the system; and noting information on the location of the vehicle, date, time, and monitoring real-time vehicle information to be associated with the images. The rear view mirror system may further comprise a back-end cloud database configured for storing data of the user, the vehicle, the one or more cameras, and GPS track).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur, Chinomi, and Chen for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 3.
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0154591), hereinafter referred to as Baur, in view of Yamaguchi (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0080902), hereinafter referred to as Yamaguchi.
In regard to claim 6, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above. However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to detect a lower central portion of the rear view image, to convert the detected portion to the second target image, and to display the second target image on the display module.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the processor is configured to detect a lower central portion of the rear view image, to convert the detected portion to the second target image, and to display the second target image on the display module (Yamaguchi Fig. 7 showing imaging region G1 of the imaging surface of the camera; and Yamaguchi paragraph 85 noting the first output unit 16a, and the first display unit 20a are used for implementing the function of substituting for a rearview mirror. That is, a mirror image generated in the imaging region G1 of the imaging surface 14a of the imaging device 14 is image-processed by the first processing unit 15a, output by the first output unit 16a, and displayed by the first display unit 20a. As such, it can be seen that the lower central portion (G1 in Fig. 7) of the rear view camera’s image (14 in Fig. 7) is used to display an image for replacing a rearview mirror image).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi, because both disclosures relate to the field of vehicles that comprise a rear-view camera attached to the rear of a vehicle, and use the rear-view image for multiple functions, including displaying portions of the images on a display in the vehicle. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi, the teachings of Baur include all of the limitations of claim 6.
In regard to claim 7, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Yamaguchi teaches a digital rear mirror configured to connect to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to display a portion of the rear view image on the digital rear mirror as a third target image (Yamaguchi Fig. 7 showing imaging region G1 of the imaging surface of the camera; and Yamaguchi paragraph 85 noting the first output unit 16a, and the first display unit 20a are used for implementing the function of substituting for a rearview mirror. That is, a mirror image generated in the imaging region G1 of the imaging surface 14a of the imaging device 14 is image-processed by the first processing unit 15a, output by the first output unit 16a, and displayed by the first display unit 20a. As such, it can be seen that the lower central portion (G1 in Fig. 7) of the rear view camera’s image (14 in Fig. 7) is used to display an image for replacing a rearview mirror image; and Yamaguchi paragraph 13 noting the imaging surface may include a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position may be in the first imaging region).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 8, Baur and Yamaguchi teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the processor is configured to detect a predetermined partial area of the rear view image, to convert a portion of the detected area to the third target image based on preset mirror variables, and to display the third target image on the digital rear mirror (Yamaguchi paragraph 102 noting the vehicle-mounted camera according to (2), which is installed such that the first position is vertically lower than the second position. [0108] (4) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3), which is installed such that the optical axis is inclined vertically downward toward a rear side. [0109] (5) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3) or (4), in which [0110] the imaging surface includes [0111] a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and [0112] a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position is in the first imaging region. [0113] (6) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (1), which is installed at a lateral portion of a movable body and is turned rearward. [0114] (7) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (6), which is installed such that the first position is outside of the second position. As such, it can be seen that there are different predetermined partial areas of the rear view image that that are used and displayed for different purposes).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 9, Baur and Yamaguchi teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches the processor is configured to adjust at least one of the size or the location based on a user input (Baur paragraph 120 noting the multi-pixel TFT reconfigurable video display screen and/or mirror may include user interface inputs, such as buttons or switches or touch or proximity sensors or the like, with which a user may adjust one or more characteristics of the imaging sensor and/or imaging system).
However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the mirror variables include at least one of a size and a location of the portion in the detected area.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the mirror variables include at least one of a size and a location of the portion in the detected area (Yamaguchi paragraph 102 noting the vehicle-mounted camera according to (2), which is installed such that the first position is vertically lower than the second position. [0108] (4) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3), which is installed such that the optical axis is inclined vertically downward toward a rear side. [0109] (5) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3) or (4), in which [0110] the imaging surface includes [0111] a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and [0112] a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position is in the first imaging region. [0113] (6) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (1), which is installed at a lateral portion of a movable body and is turned rearward. [0114] (7) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (6), which is installed such that the first position is outside of the second position. As such, it can be seen that there are different predetermined partial areas of the rear view image that that are used and displayed for different purposes).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 16, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the displaying on the display module comprises: detecting a lower central portion of the rear view image; converting the detected portion to the second target image; and displaying the second target image on the display module.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the displaying on the display module comprises: detecting a lower central portion of the rear view image; converting the detected portion to the second target image; and displaying the second target image on the display module (Yamaguchi Fig. 7 showing imaging region G1 of the imaging surface of the camera; and Yamaguchi paragraph 85 noting the first output unit 16a, and the first display unit 20a are used for implementing the function of substituting for a rearview mirror. That is, a mirror image generated in the imaging region G1 of the imaging surface 14a of the imaging device 14 is image-processed by the first processing unit 15a, output by the first output unit 16a, and displayed by the first display unit 20a. As such, it can be seen that the lower central portion (G1 in Fig. 7) of the rear view camera’s image (14 in Fig. 7) is used to display an image for replacing a rearview mirror image).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 17, Baur teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the processing to the target images comprises displaying a portion of the rear view image on a digital rear mirror as a third target image (Yamaguchi Fig. 7 showing imaging region G1 of the imaging surface of the camera; and Yamaguchi paragraph 85 noting the first output unit 16a, and the first display unit 20a are used for implementing the function of substituting for a rearview mirror. That is, a mirror image generated in the imaging region G1 of the imaging surface 14a of the imaging device 14 is image-processed by the first processing unit 15a, output by the first output unit 16a, and displayed by the first display unit 20a. As such, it can be seen that the lower central portion (G1 in Fig. 7) of the rear view camera’s image (14 in Fig. 7) is used to display an image for replacing a rearview mirror image; and Yamaguchi paragraph 13 noting the imaging surface may include a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position may be in the first imaging region).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 18, Baur and Yamaguchi teach all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above. In addition, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the displaying on the digital rear mirror comprises: detecting a predetermined partial area of the rear view image; converting a portion of the detected area to the third target image based on preset mirror variables; and displaying the third target image on the digital rear mirror (Yamaguchi paragraph 102 noting the vehicle-mounted camera according to (2), which is installed such that the first position is vertically lower than the second position. [0108] (4) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3), which is installed such that the optical axis is inclined vertically downward toward a rear side. [0109] (5) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3) or (4), in which [0110] the imaging surface includes [0111] a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and [0112] a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position is in the first imaging region. [0113] (6) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (1), which is installed at a lateral portion of a movable body and is turned rearward. [0114] (7) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (6), which is installed such that the first position is outside of the second position. As such, it can be seen that there are different predetermined partial areas of the rear view image that that are used and displayed for different purposes).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 19, Baur and Yamaguchi teach all of the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. In addition, Baur teaches at least one of the size and the location is adjustable based on a user input (Baur paragraph 120 noting the multi-pixel TFT reconfigurable video display screen and/or mirror may include user interface inputs, such as buttons or switches or touch or proximity sensors or the like, with which a user may adjust one or more characteristics of the imaging sensor and/or imaging system).
However, Baur does not expressly disclose wherein the mirror variables include at least one of a size and a location of the portion in the detected area.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the mirror variables include at least one of a size and a location of the portion in the detected area (Yamaguchi paragraph 102 noting the vehicle-mounted camera according to (2), which is installed such that the first position is vertically lower than the second position. [0108] (4) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3), which is installed such that the optical axis is inclined vertically downward toward a rear side. [0109] (5) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (3) or (4), in which [0110] the imaging surface includes [0111] a first imaging region for generating a mirror image for substituting for a rearview mirror, and [0112] a second imaging region for generating a near-side image for parking assistance, and the first position is in the first imaging region. [0113] (6) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (1), which is installed at a lateral portion of a movable body and is turned rearward. [0114] (7) The vehicle-mounted camera according to (6), which is installed such that the first position is outside of the second position. As such, it can be seen that there are different predetermined partial areas of the rear view image that that are used and displayed for different purposes).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Baur and Yamaguchi for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Imai – U.S. Publication No. 2023/0114340
A camera that picks up an image behind a vehicle in order to display an image behind the vehicle on an electronic rear-view mirror and a monitor installed on the vehicle is provided with an optical system configured to have a high resolution region that has a high image-forming magnification and a peripheral region that is formed around the high resolution region and has a lower image-forming magnification than the high resolution region and to form an optical image on an image sensor
Yuen et al. – U.S. Publication No. 2018/0115687
A vehicular camera system that provides images to display on any number of a rear-view mirror system, a navigation system, or other user interfaces. Includes details regarding the control system and the communication interfaces for connecting cameras to the processors.
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488