DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed 09/12/2024, in which claims 1-13 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in U.S. parent application No. 17285107, filed on 04/14/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 09/12/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,703 in view of US Patent Publication No. 2015/0118341 to Kuijt et al., (hereinafter Kuijt).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of US Patent No. 12,115,703 on view of Kuijt anticipates the claims of the instant application:
Instant App
US Patent No. 12,115,703
1. A rotational moulding system, comprising a mould having a mould wall surrounding a mould cavity,
a temperature sensor arranged within the mould cavity for measuring an internal air temperature of the mould cavity, a mould heating and cooling system at least partly integrated with the mould wall and provided for applying a temperature-time program to the mould, a motion system to which the mould is connectable and provided for applying a motion-time program to the mould, and a control system for controlling the mould heating and cooling system and the motion system, wherein the control system is configured for determining
a first mould surface temperature-time program and a first
suitable motion-time program for the rotational moulding of an object by means of the rotational moulding system on the basis of
a target mould cavity temperature-time profile,
wherein the at least one mould surface temperature-time program is a temperature over time to which the mould surface needs to be heated or cooled to such that the internal air temperature of the mould cavity approaches the target mould cavity temperature-time profile, and wherein the control system is provided for:
applying the first mould surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program, monitoring the internal air temperature of the mould cavity by means of the temperature sensor,
and switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program.
1. A rotational moulding system, comprising a mould having a mould wall surrounding a mould cavity,
at least one sensor arranged within the mould cavity for measuring an internal air temperature of the mould cavity, a mould heating and cooling system at least partly integrated with the mould wall and provided for applying a temperature-time program to the mould, a motion system to which the mould is connectable and provided for applying a motion-time program to the mould, and a control system for controlling the mould heating and cooling system and the motion system, wherein the control system is configured for determining
at least one
suitable mould surface temperature-time program and at least one
suitable motion-time program for the rotational moulding of an object by means of the rotational moulding system on the basis of
a predetermined rotational moulding thermal characteristic of a raw material to be used for the rotational moulding of the object, wherein the predetermined rotational moulding thermal characteristic is
a target mould cavity temperature-time profile for the at least one raw material, wherein the at least one mould surface temperature-time program is a temperature over time to which the mould surface needs to be heated or cooled to such that the internal air temperature of the mould cavity approaches the target mould cavity temperature-time profile, and wherein the control system is provided for
adjusting the at least one mould surface temperature-time program and the at least one motion-time program on the basis of the internal air temperature measured by the at least one sensor. (“Application of a first surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program,” is implied by the “adjustment of at least one mould surface temperature-time program and the at least one motion-time program on the basis of the internal air temperature measured by the at least one sensor” of the Patent claim, since the programs are adjusted based on the measured (i.e. monitored) air temperature.)
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program.
However, Kuijt, from the same or similar field of rotational molding, teaches switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program (Another temperature-time program is used for a subsequent heating/cooling cycle, thus a switching to a second program. Alternatively, a subsequent run of a different mold with different material, uses an independent temperature-time and/or motion-time program relative to previous mold, and can also be interpreted as switching to a “second” temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program, see p49, p34, p12, p36, Kuijt. Also note that Kuijt also teaches applying a temperature-time program and a motion-time program in the aforementioned paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational molding as described by the Patent claim and incorporating a switch to a second program, as taught by Kuijt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide more tailored or fine tuned temperature and/or motion control program sequence to subsequent mold operations based on desired characteristics of a molding material or desired characteristics, and/or a specific subsequent cycle function, such as a cooling function after a previous heating or motion function, and by applying the program to produce the desired operation (see p49, p34, p36, p12 Kuijt).
2. The rotational moulding system according to claim 1, wherein the rotational moulding system comprises at least one further sensor for collecting feedback of at least one further process parameter during the rotational moulding of the object.
2. The rotational moulding system according to claim 1, wherein the rotational moulding system comprises at least one sensor for collecting feedback of at least one process parameter during the rotational moulding of the object.
3. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for evaluating the collected feedback and adjusting at least one of the temperature-time program and the motion-time program that is being applied.
3. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for evaluating the collected feedback and adjusting at least one of the temperature-time program and the motion-time program that is being applied.
4. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for evaluating the collected feedback and determining a further temperature-time program and/or a further motion-time program to be applied for the rotational moulding of subsequent pieces of said object.
4. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for evaluating the collected feedback and determining a further temperature-time program and/or a further motion-time program to be applied for the rotational moulding of subsequent pieces of said object.
5. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for transmitting the collected feedback to a remote server.
5. The rotational moulding system according to claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for transmitting the collected feedback to a remote server
6. The rotational moulding system according to claim 1, wherein the control system comprises a raw materials database containing data sheets of a plurality of raw materials, each of said data sheets comprising for each raw material at least one rotational moulding thermal characteristic.
6. The rotational moulding system according to claim 1, wherein the control system comprises a raw materials database containing data sheets of a plurality of raw materials, each of said data sheets comprising for each raw material at least one rotational moulding thermal characteristic.
7. The rotational moulding system according to claim 6, wherein each rotational moulding thermal characteristic is segmented and each segment is approximated by a mathematical function.
7. The rotational moulding system according to claim 6, wherein each rotational moulding thermal characteristic is segmented and each segment is approximated by a mathematical function.
8. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein at least one segment is approximated by a second order, third order, or higher order mathematical function.
8. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein at least one segment is approximated by a second order, third order, or higher order mathematical function.
9. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein each segment is determined based on at least one raw material thermal property.
9. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein each segment is determined based on at least one raw material thermal property.
10. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein transitions between the segments are determined based on at least one raw material thermal property.
10. The rotational moulding system according to claim 7, wherein transitions between the segments are determined based on at least one raw material thermal property.
11. The rotational moulding system according to claim 6, wherein each data sheet contains flow characteristics of the respective raw material and wherein the control system is provided for considering the flow characteristics in determining the suitable motion-time program.
11. The rotational moulding system according to claim 6, wherein each data sheet contains flow characteristics of the respective raw material and wherein the control system is provided for considering the flow characteristics in determining the suitable motion-time program.
12. A method for rotationally moulding an object by means of a rotational moulding system, wherein the rotational moulding system comprises a mould having a mould wall surrounding a mould cavity,
a temperature sensor arranged within the mould cavity for measuring an internal air temperature of the mould cavity, a mould heating and cooling system at least partly integrated with the mould wall and provided for applying a temperature-time program to the mould, a motion system to which the mould is connectable and provided for applying a motion-time program to the mould, and a control system for controlling the mould heating and cooling system and the motion system;
and wherein the method comprises the step of the control system determining a first mould surface temperature-time program and
a first motion-time program for the rotational moulding of an object
by means of the rotational moulding system on the basis of
a target mould cavity temperature-time profile,
wherein the at least one mould surface temperature-time program is a temperature over time to which the mould surface needs to be heated or cooled to such that the internal air temperature of the mould cavity approaches the target mould cavity temperature-time profile, and wherein the control system performs the steps of:
applying the first mould surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program, monitoring the internal air temperature of the mould cavity by means of the temperature sensor,
and switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program.
12. A method for rotationally moulding an object by means of a rotational moulding system, wherein the rotational moulding system comprises a mould having a mould wall surrounding a mould cavity,
at least one sensor arranged within the mould cavity for measuring an internal air temperature of the mould cavity, a mould heating and cooling system at least partly integrated with the mould wall and provided for applying a temperature-time program to the mould, a motion system to which the mould is connectable and provided for applying a motion-time program to the mould, and a control system for controlling the mould heating and cooling system and the motion system;
and wherein the method comprises the step of the control system determining at least one suitable mould surface temperature-time program and
at least one suitable motion-time program for the rotational moulding of an object
by means of the rotational moulding system on the basis of
a predetermined rotational moulding thermal characteristic of a raw material to be used for the rotational moulding of the object, wherein the predetermined rotational moulding thermal characteristic is
a target mould cavity temperature-time profile for the at least one raw material, wherein the at least one mould surface temperature-time program is a temperature over time to which the mould surface needs to be heated or cooled to such that the internal air temperature of the mould cavity approaches the target mould cavity temperature-time profile, and wherein the control system is provided for
adjusting the at least one mould surface temperature-time program and the at least one motion-time program on the basis of the internal air temperature measured by the at least one sensor. (“Application of a first surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program,” is implied by the “adjustment of at least one mould surface temperature-time program and the at least one motion-time program on the basis of the internal air temperature measured by the at least one sensor” of the Patent claim, since the programs are adjusted based on the measured (i.e. monitored) air temperature.)
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program.
However, Kuijt, from the same or similar field of rotational molding, teaches switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program (Another temperature-time program is used for a subsequent heating/cooling cycle, thus a switching to a second program. Alternatively, a subsequent run of a different mold with different material, uses an independent temperature-time and/or motion-time program relative to previous mold, and can also be interpreted as switching to a “second” temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program, see p49, p34, Kuijt. Also note that Kuijt also teaches applying a temperature-time program and a motion-time program in the aforementioned paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational molding as described by the Patent claim and incorporating a switch to a second program, as taught by Kuijt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide more tailored or fine tuned temperature and/or motion control program sequence to subsequent mold operations based on desired characteristics of a molding material or desired characteristics, and/or a specific subsequent cycle function, such as a cooling function after a previous heating or motion function, and by applying the program to produce the desired operation (see p49, p34, Kuijt).
13. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of simulating the rotational moulding process by means of a rotational moulding simulation system.
13. The method according to claim 12, further comprising the step of simulating the rotational moulding process by means of a rotational moulding simulation system, using said at least one suitable temperature-time program and at least one suitable motion-time program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “….adjusting at least one of the temperature-time program and the motion-time program that is being applied.” It is not clear which “the temperature-time program” and/or which “the motion-time program” is being adjusted. A review of the claim and the claims from which it depends reveals that independent claim 1 alludes generally to “applying a temperature-time program,” “applying a motion-time program,” and specifically alludes to “applying the first mould surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program.” Additionally, claim 1 refers to “switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program.” Since, there are various temperature-time and motion-time programs being explicitly or implicitly alluded to as programs for being applied, and since claim 2 does not explicitly allude, for example, to adjusting at least one of the first surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program that is being applied, it is unclear which one of the many possible temperature-time and/or motion time programs is being referenced as the temperature-time program and the motion-time program in claim 3. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is being broadly interpreted to mean any conceivable temperature-time program or motion-time program.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 2015/0118341 to Kuijt et al., (hereinafter Kuijt), in view of “The DNA of Rotomolding” RotoWorld, 26 November 2013, 4 pgs., by Crawford (hereinafter Crawford).
Regarding claim 1, Kuijt teaches a rotational moulding system (Rotational Molding, see Title, Abs., Kuijt), comprising
a mould having a mould wall surrounding a mould cavity (Mol with wall and cavity, see Abs, Kuijt),
a temperature sensor arranged within the mould cavity for measuring an internal air temperature of the mould cavity (Sensor in, and for measuring, mold cavity environment, which would therefore measure internal air temperature, see p15, Kuijt),
a mould heating and cooling system at least partly integrated with the mould wall (Temperature control device that can be integrated into the mold wall, where temperature control entails heating and cooling, see p14, p32, 35, Kuijt) and provided for applying a temperature-time program to the mould (Heating and cooling performed subject to (i.e., by applying) a temperature-time program, see p30, Kuijt),
a motion system to which the mould is connectable and provided for applying a motion-time program to the mould (Motion system, such as robot, connects to mold for its movement as directed by a motion-time/time-movement program, see p12, p31, p49, p26, p21, Fig. 1, fig. 2, Kuijt), and
a control system (Control system that includes a control unit for control of robot and mold motion and temperature parameters of temperature device, see p24, p30, 14, Kuijt) for controlling the mould heating and cooling system (Temperature control that includes heating and cooling, see p14,p32, 35, p30, 14, 24, Kuijt) and the motion system (Control of robot and mold motion, see p24, p30, p12, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt), wherein the control system is configured for determining a first mould surface temperature-time program and a first suitable motion-time program for the rotational moulding of an object by means of the rotational moulding system (Temperature-time and movement operations performed for molding, thus programs selected suitable for performing desired molding by control system, see p11-12, p26, p49, p24, p30, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt),
wherein the at least one mould surface temperature-time program is a temperature over time to which the mould surface needs to be heated or cooled (Temperature-time to reach specified temperatures at certain periods of time for the mold to reach, see p30, p11-12, p15, p26, p49, p24, p30, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt), and
wherein the control system is provided for:
applying the first mould surface temperature-time program and the first motion-time program (A (first) temperature-time and movement program can be used, see p49, p30, p11-12, p15, p26, p49, p24, p30, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt),
monitoring the internal air temperature of the mould cavity by means of the temperature sensor (Sensor can be used to measure (i.e. monitor) mold inner space environment (i.e. cavity) (Note: Crawford Patent cited in relevant prior art section below also read on these limitations), see p15, Kuijt), and
switching to a second mould surface temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program (A second temperature-time program and/or movement program can be switched to, such as in a subsequent cooling or in using subsequent mold. Another temperature-time program is used for a subsequent heating/cooling cycle, thus a switching to a second program. Alternatively, a subsequent run of a different mold with different material, uses an independent temperature-time and/or motion-time program relative to previous mold, and can also be interpreted as switching to a “second” temperature-time program and/or a second motion-time program, see p49, p34, p12, p36, Kuijt).
Kuijt does not explicitly teach determining mold parameters on the basis of a target mould cavity temperature-time profile; temperature control such that an internal air temperature of a mould cavity approaches a target mould cavity temperature-time profile.
However, Crawford, from the same or similar field of similar field of rotomolding, teaches determining mold parameters on the basis of a target mould cavity temperature-time profile (An internal air temperature of a mold can be controlled to provide a specified properties of an end product in rotomolding, wherein the internal air temperature is in the form of a specified shape/trace/”fingerprint”/”dna” (profile) over time that is determined to provide a resulting molded part of specified quality, see Pgs. 2-3, Pg. 1, and Figures, Crawford); temperature control such that an internal air temperature of a mould cavity approaches a target mould cavity temperature-time profile (Internal air temperature measurement of a mold is used in controlling all aspects of the manufacturing process, in view of a rotolog trace/”dna/fingerprint” that represents a target profile that will produce a desired part of known quality, with adjustments to molding temperature control to provide a shape that will produce a resulting molded part of specified quality (Note: Crawford Patent cited in relevant prior art section below also read on these limitations), see Pg. 2-3, Pg. 1, Crawford)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by Kuijt and incorporating a target mold cavity temperature-time profile as in an cavity air temperature and controlling temperature and molding parameters to approach the target profile, as taught by Crawford.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better control rotomolding, including temperature, such that an internal cavity air temperature that can be measured will follow the shape of a determined trace so as to produce an end product with desired properties, by virtue of knowing how specified air temperature shape will affect the end product (see Pgs. 2-3, Pg. 1, Crawford).
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuijt, in view of Crawford, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2014/0272256 to Langheld et al., (hereinafter Langheld)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kuijt and Crawford teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt does not explicitly teach wherein a rotational moulding system comprises at least one further sensor for collecting feedback of at least one further process parameter during a rotational moulding of the object.
However, Langheld from the same or similar field of rotation molding processes, teaches wherein a rotational moulding system comprises at least one further sensor, for collecting feedback of at least one process parameter during a rotational moulding of an object (Multiple sensors in a mold, thus at least one further sensor, where at least one sensor can be used to feedback data or reading of a parameter, such as temperature, in a rotational molding process, see P75, Langheld).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating sensor feedback, as taught by Langheld.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide the ability of performing dynamic adjustments in a process by obtaining process measurements that can provide live feedback that can suggest a need for adjustments dynamically during the process (see P75, Langheld).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, and Langheld teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt further teaches a control system (Controller for controlling molding process using programs, including temperature, motion, etc, see p24, p30, p12, 14, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt).
Langheld further teaches evaluating collected feedback and adjusting at least one of the temperature-time program and the motion-time program that is being applied (Readings feed used and adjustments made if needed in molding process cycle in at least on of temperature and motion cycles, see P75, Langheld).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating evaluation of readings, as taught by Langheld.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine a status of a process and make adjustments to cycles to obtain a desired outcome from the process (see P75, Langheld).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, and Langheld teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt further teaches a control system (Controller for controlling molding process using programs, including temperature, motion, etc, see p24, p30, p12, 14, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt).
Langheld further teaches evaluating collected feedback and determining a further temperature-time program and/or a further motion-time program to be applied for a rotational moulding of subsequent pieces of an object (Readings feed used and adjustments made if needed in molding process for different cycles in at least on of temperature and motion cycles, where cycles include subsequent cycles of pieces of forming an object, see P75, P41, 50, 39, Langheld).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating evaluation of readings, as taught by Langheld.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine a status of a process and make adjustments to cycles to obtain a desired outcome from the process (see P75, Langheld).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuijt, in view of Crawford, in further view of Langheld, and in further view of Korean Patent Publication No. KR20130007176A to Kwon (hereinafter Kwon. English translation of KR20130007176A is included and cited in this office action).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, and Langheld teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Langheld teaches collected feedback data used in a rotomolding control system (P75, Langheld)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating sensor feedback, as taught by Langheld.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide the ability of performing dynamic adjustments in a process by obtaining process measurements that can provide live feedback that can suggest a need for adjustments dynamically during the process (see P75, Langheld).
Steinberger does not explicitly teach transmitting collected data to a remote server.
However, Kwon from the same or similar field of molding systems teaches transmitting collected data to a remote server (A database server in a remote location can be used to save data relating to molding process, see Pg. 1 Technical-field, Kwon)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating storage of data in a remote server, as taught by Kwon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better centralize information at a location that can offer greater storage capacity, access from multiple sources, perhaps greater processing power if needed for analysis, and for possible backup in case of local corruption of data (see Pgs. 1-3, Kwon).
Claims 6, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuijt, in view of Crawford, in further view of Langheld, in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2017/0057148 to Altonen et al., (hereinafter Altonen), and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2016/0108187 to Wendeln et al., (hereinafter Wendeln).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, and Langheld teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt further teaches a control system (Controller for controlling molding process using programs, including temperature, motion, etc, see p24, p30, p12, 14, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt).
Kuijt does not explicitly teach a raw materials database containing data sheets of a plurality of raw materials, each of said data sheets comprising for each raw material at least one rotational moulding thermal characteristic.
However, Altonen from the same or similar field of molding systems teaches data sheet of a raw material, said data sheet comprising for the raw material at least one rotational moulding thermal characteristic (A datasheet of a material containing thermal characteristics such as MFI that is a thermal flow characteristic of the material is used in molding application, including rotational molding applications, , see P131, P3, P140, Altonen)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating use of a datasheet containing characteristics of a material, as taught by Altonen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine whether a specific material possesses desired properties for a particular application when selecting said material for the application (see P131, P3, Altnonen).
Kuijt does not explicitly teach a database.
However, Wendeln from the same or similar field of materials used in molding teaches a database (A materials database including datasheets including material thermal characteristics such as MFI, see Pg. 9 Table 5, Para155, Tables, Wendeln)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating a database, as taught by Wendln.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide a repository of information accessible to parties that need said information (see P155, Pg. 9 Table 5, Wendeln).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, Langheld, Altonen, and Wendeln teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Crawford further teaches wherein each rotational moulding thermal characteristic is segmented and each segment is approximated by a mathematical function (A segmented thermal characteristic linked to material in rotomolding and each segment is represented by functions with slope, see Pg. 2 and Figure, Crawford)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating segmented characteristic, as taught by Crawford.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better analyze specific portions of a characteristic trace at key points in a process to better determine if the process is providing needed or expected quality, response, or results (see Pgs. 2-3, Crawford).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, Langheld, Altonen, and Wendeln teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Crawford further teaches wherein each segment is determined based on at least one raw material thermal property (A thermal characteristic linked to material in rotomolding, such as mfi, see Pgs. 2-3 and Figures 2, 3, Crawford)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating material property, as taught by Crawford.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better include or understand what aspects of production that contribute to an end result quality (see Pgs. 2-3, Crawford).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, Langheld, Altonen, and Wendeln teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Crawford further teaches wherein transitions between the segments are determined based on at least one raw material thermal property (A segmented thermal characteristic with transitions is linked to material in rotomolding with thermal property such as mfi, see Pgs. 2-3 and Figures 1 to 3, Crawford)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating material property, as taught by Crawford.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better include or understand what aspects of production that contribute to an end result quality (see Pgs. 2-3, Crawford).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kuijt, Crawford, Langheld, Altonen, and Wendeln teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt further teaches a control system of a rotational moulding system and time-motion program (Controlling molding process using program used for rotational mold operation control, including robot motion and temperature-time, wherein properties of a material influence the process, see p11-12, p26, p49, p24, p30,p34, 36, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt).
Altonen further teaches wherein each data sheet contains flow characteristics of a respective raw material and wherein a considering the flow characteristics in determining a suitable time-motion (A datasheet of a material containing thermal characteristics such as MFI that is a thermal flow characteristic of the material is used in molding application, including rotational molding applications, and flow considered in movement in molding, see P87, 96-97, P131, P3, P140, Altonen)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating use of a datasheet characteristics of a material consideration in molding, as taught by Altonen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine the characteristic of flow that will facilitate production given a specified material and to control the system to account for the flow (see P87, 96-97, P131, P3, P140, Altonen).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuijt, in view of Crawford, in further view of Langheld, in further view Altonen, in further view of Wendeln, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2010/0213638 to Maziers et al., (hereinafter Maziers).
Kuijt does not explicitly teach wherein at least one segment is approximated by a second order, third order, or higher order mathematical function.
However, Maziers from the same or similar field of rotomolding teaches wherein at least one segment is approximated by a second order, third order, or higher order mathematical function (A relationship can be represented by quadratic, cubic, or other models (i.e. second, third, etc order functions), see P23, 16-22, 29-31, Maziers)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating higher order functions, as taught by Maziers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to use a model that approximates a relationship to a desired degree of complexity (see P23, Maziers).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuijt, in view of Crawford, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2014/0358270 to Sudo et al. (hereinafter Sudo).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Steinberger and Crawford teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Kuijt further teaches a control system of a rotational moulding system and at least one temperature-tine program and at least one motion-time program (Controlling molding process using program used for rotational mold operation control, including robot motion and temperature-time, wherein properties of a material influence the process, see p11-12, p26, p49, p24, p30,p34, 36, p31, p49, p26, p21, Kuijt).
Kuijt does not explicitly teach a step of simulating a rotational moulding process by means of a rotational moulding simulation system.
However, Sudo from the same or similar field of molding teaches a step of simulating a moulding process by means of a simulation system (A simulation system used in mold process, see Fig. Fig. 3, P80, P104, P145, P17, Abs., Sudo)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the molding process as described by the combination that includes Kuijt and incorporating simulation, as taught by Sudo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better determine parameters for manufacturing an object by simulating and using simulation data o analyze expected results (Fig. Fig. 3, P80, P104, P145, P17, Abs., Sudo).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crawford et al., US. Patent No. 5,322,654 teaches rotational molding apparatus and process that includes measuring air temperature inside a mold, which enables feedback control of the molding process in real-time in dependence upon the monitored temperature, so as to optimize the molding process in view of a sequence of temperature time points that will achieve optimum properties of a molded article.
Nugent, U.S. Patent No. 6036897 teaches a rotational molding using infrared thermometry for continuously monitoring temperature of molds during rotation. Also summarizes US Patent No. 5,322,654 to Crawford et al., as: “discloses a system that senses the internal air temperature within the mold to monitor the various stages within the rotating molding cycle. The process disclosed therein uses a sensor mounted on the arm of the molding machine for monitoring the internal temperature of the mold. The sensor output is coupled to a microprocessor which is also mounted to the arm. The microprocessor processes the sensor signal and also comprises means for transmitting the appropriate temperature data, via RF (radio frequency), IR (infra-red) transmission or via datalogging, to a control system.”
Mannebach et al., US. Patent Publication No. 2012/0149834 teaches a novel polyethylene for use in manufacturing rotomolded articles. Also teaches that a mold is prefilled with flowable, granulated polymer and heated with a temperature profile that includes heating and cooling sequence, while the mold is kept in motion.
Conclusion
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117