DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: a grammatical error exists in the phrasing “wherein the, the side surfaces” (Line 4). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-7 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: “further comprising” should be replaced by a more appropriate grammatical construction, such as “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the (L14) of the object lens group (1)”. It cannot be determined whether there is a typographical omission of “fourth meniscus lens” or whether Applicant intends for the parenthetical reference numerals to limit the structure of the claim. The latter would not conventionally be considered as parenthetical notation is not taken to limit the invention to which the claim is drawn. For the purposes of examination, the language will be understood to limit the invention with “the fourth object meniscus lens (L14) of the object lens group (1)”.
Claim 6 recites “a pupillary distance thereof ranges from about 15 mm to 18mm”. The metes and bounds of this phrase cannot be determined as there is no clear reference by which to measure distance. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the claim appears to limit a distance between a pupil to a reference without defining the reference. Further, it is unclear if the “pupil” referenced is that of the wearer/user of the optical system or the exit or entrance pupil of the optical system itself. The Specifications recites the claim language verbatim but fails to provide any context by which to interpret the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 9,835,871 to Miyazaki (hereinafter Miyazaki) in view of US Pat. 9,581,828 to Tautz, et al. (hereinafter Tautz).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki discloses an optical system of binoculars (col. 5, ll. 15-26) comprising: an object lens group (objective optical system 10, Fig. 11), a prism group (erecting prism 20, Fig. 11), and an eyepiece group (ocular optical system 30, Fig. 11) arranged in sequence from an object side to an observer's side along an optical axis (Fig. 11);wherein the object lens group comprises a first object biconvex lens of a positive focal power (Surfaces 1-2, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), a second object meniscus lens of a negative focal power (Surfaces 2-3, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), a third object meniscus lens of a positive focal power (Surfaces 4-5, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), and a fourth object lens of a negative focal power (Surfaces 8-9, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), arranged in sequence from the object side to the observer's side along the optical axis;; wherein the eyepiece group comprises a first eyepiece biconcave lens of a negative optical focal length (Surfaces 15-16, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), a second eyepiece biconvex lens of a positive optical focal length (Surfaces 16-17, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), a third eyepiece biconvex lens of a positive optical focal length (Surfaces 18-19, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), a fourth eyepiece meniscus lens of a negative optical focal length (Surfaces 19-20, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36), and a fifth eyepiece meniscus lens of a positive optical focal length (Surfaces 21-22, Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36).
Miyazaki discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a fourth object meniscus lens and Behan prism group, wherein the Behan prism group comprises a half pentaprism and a roof prism arranged in sequence from the object side to the observer's side along the optical axis.
Tautz discloses a fourth object meniscus lens (lens 201, Fig. 2-3) and Behan prism group (prism erecting system embodied as Schmidt-Pechan prism, Fig. 2-3; col. 7, ll. 15-27), wherein the Behan prism group comprises a half pentaprism and a roof prism arranged in sequence from the object side to the observer's side along the optical axis (prism erecting system embodied as Schmidt-Pechan prism, Fig. 2-3; col. 7, ll. 15-27).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a Schmidt-Pechan prism system as taught by Tautz with the system as disclosed by Miyazaki. The motivation would have been to remove the need for counterweights and compensate for aberrations (col. 1, ln. 21-col. 3, ln. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki discloses the first object biconvex lens and the second object meniscus lens of the object lens group are glued together along their connecting side surfaces; wherein the side surfaces where the first eyepiece biconcave lens and the second eyepiece biconvex lens of the eyepiece group are glued together along their connecting side surfaces, and wherein the side surfaces where the third eyepiece biconvex lens and the fourth eyepiece meniscus lens of the eyepiece group are glued together along their connecting side surfaces (Fig. 11; Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki discloses a magnification of 10 times (fo / fe = 179.73mm / 15.00mm = 11.98x; Fig. 11; Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36).
Based on Applicant’s disclosure, it is evident that the “magnification of 10 times” limits the invention to a range of magnification exceeding 10x and includes values such as 12x.
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki discloses a field of view thereof about 6⁰ to 6.5⁰ (Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazaki discloses the first object biconvex lens comprises an aperture in a range of 30 mm to 50 mm (180.0 / 4.3 = 41.9; Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazaki discloses a total length not exceeding 130 mm (distance from Surface 1 to Prism Surface 10 = 75.8mm and distance from Prism Surface 14 to Surface 22 = 32.2mm; Table 3, Fig. 11; col. 13, ln. 24-col. 14, ln. 36). Absent the optical path within the prisms, the total length is 108mm. Absent the optical path within the prisms, Applicant’s total length is 106.9mm.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki in view of Tautz, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US Pat. 12,019,304 to Fukumoto (hereinafter Fukumoto).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazaki discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the fourth object meniscus lens of the object lens group is movably arranged along the optical axis, and wherein the fourth object meniscus lens of the object lens group is configured to move along the optical axis to achieve focusing from infinity to 3 meters.
Fukumoto discloses the fourth object meniscus lens of the object lens group is movably arranged along the optical axis, and wherein the fourth object meniscus lens of the object lens group is configured to move along the optical axis to achieve focusing from infinity to 3 meters (“ it is possible to perform focusing from the infinity to the short distance of 3m, and the amount of movement of the second lens group G2 at this time”; col. 15, ll. 10-25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to focus across the claimed range as taught by Fukumoto with the system as disclosed by Miyazaki. The motivation would have been to provide comfortable, clear viewing across a conventional binocular range of object distances.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki in view of Tautz, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of CN 106918902 to Zhou (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazaki discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose an exit pupil diameter thereof ranges from about 3.5 mm to 4.5 mm.
Zhou discloses an exit pupil diameter thereof ranges from about 3.5 mm to 4.5 mm (“the 15X56 telescope optical performance parameter is, magnification: 14.61 times, field of view: 4.5 degrees, pupil diameter is 3.8 mm”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an optical system exhibiting the claimed exit pupil size as taught by Zhou with the system as disclosed by Miyazaki. The motivation would have been to provide comfortable viewing and high resolution (“56 mm aperture telescope exit pupil diameter larger than the telescope of other caliber of the same magnification using a Pechan prism … the human eye is viewed through the telescope more comfortable, but theoretically can reach the resolution is higher”).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art cited herein relates to binoculars having a similar number of lenses, a similar arrangement of concavity and convexity in surfaces, and a similar sequence of refractive powers.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872