Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 11-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by DeMars US 2011/0283992.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, DeMars discloses an outdoor cooking station configured to expand or minimize useable surface space adjacent the cooking station, the outdoor cooking station comprising: a main body (DeMars, abstract) including one or more heating elements configured to be supported by the main body; and a side shelf system (10) coupled to one side of the main body, the side shelf system including a first shelf (10), a second shelf (50) sized and configured to be positioned within the interior of the first shelf, and a track system (12a-12b), the track system coupled to opposing interior sides of the first shelf and opposing exterior sides of the second shelf (DeMars, Figure 6), the opposing interior sides of the first shelf defining an interior thereunder (DeMars, Figure 6), the track system configured to facilitate sliding the second shelf relative to the first shelf.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, DeMars discloses a side shelf system (10) configured to be coupled to a main body of a cooking station, the side shelf system comprising: a first shelf (10) extending with opposing interior sides (12a, 12b) to define an interior of the first shelf, the opposing interior sides coupled to a track system such that the track system is coupled to the opposing interior sides of the first shelf; and a second shelf (50) extending having opposing exterior sides and being sized and configured to be positioned within the interior of the first shelf, the second exterior sides coupled to the track system such that the second shelf is moveable relative to the first shelf (DeMars, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, DeMars further discloses a method for modifying useable surface area associated with a cooking station, the method comprising: providing a main body of a cooking station (1), the main body including a side shelf system (10) coupled thereto, the side shelf system including a first shelf (10), a second shelf (50) and a track system (12a, 12b), the first shelf extending to define opposing interior side surfaces and the second shelf extending to define opposing exterior side surfaces, the track system positioned between and coupled to the interior side surfaces of the first shelf and the exterior side surfaces of the second shelf (DeMars, Figure 6); and engaging the track system by pulling on the second shelf (inherent) so that the second shelf is movable relative to the first shelf to move the side shelf system to an expanded position or a compacted position.
Regarding claim 12, DeMars further discloses the engaging comprises expanding the useable surface area by moving the second shelf from an underside of the first shelf (DeMars, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, DeMars further discloses the engaging comprises minimizing the useable surface area by pushing the second shelf to an underside of the first shelf (DeMars, Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 15, DeMars further discloses pulling the second shelf from an underside of the first shelf to expose additional useable surface area provided by the second shelf (DeMars, Figure 5).
Claim(s) 6-9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Salerno et al US 20230255349.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Salerno discloses a side shelf system (100) configured to be coupled to a main body of a cooking station, the side shelf system comprising: a first shelf (110) extending with opposing interior sides (Salerno, Figure 8) to define an interior of the first shelf, the opposing interior sides coupled to a track system (Salerno, Figure 2) such that the track system is coupled to the opposing interior sides of the first shelf; and a second shelf (102) extending having opposing exterior sides and being sized and configured to be positioned within the interior of the first shelf, the second exterior sides coupled to the track system such that the second shelf is moveable relative to the first shelf.
Regarding claim 8, Salerno further discloses the track system includes a lock and release lever configured to lock the second shelf within the interior of the first shelf and release the second shelf from the interior of the first shelf such that the side shelf system is extendable (Salerno, ¶0051).
Regarding claim 9, Salerno further discloses the second shelf extends to define a second surface, the second surface extending to define a recess (1304) therein, the recess being sized and configured to receive a removable insert (114).
Regarding claim 11, Salerno discloses a method for modifying useable surface area associated with a cooking station, the method comprising: providing a main body of a cooking station, the main body including a side shelf system (100) coupled thereto, the side shelf system including a first shelf (110), a second shelf (102) and a track system (Salerno, Figure 2), the first shelf extending to define opposing interior side surfaces and the second shelf extending to define opposing exterior side surfaces, the track system positioned between and coupled to the interior side surfaces of the first shelf and the exterior side surfaces of the second shelf (Salerno, Figure 2); and engaging the track system by pulling on the second shelf (inherent) so that the second shelf is movable relative to the first shelf to move the side shelf system to an expanded position (Salerno, Figure 13) or a compacted position (Salerno, Figure 13).
Regarding claim 12, Salerno further discloses the engaging comprises expanding the useable surface area by moving the second shelf from an underside of the first shelf (Salerno, Figure 13).
Regarding claim 13, Salerno further discloses the engaging comprises minimizing the useable surface area by pushing the second shelf to an underside of the first shelf (Salerno, abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Salerno further disclose the engaging comprises manually moving a lever to unlock the track system to facilitate moving the second shelf relative to the first shelf (Salerno, ¶0051).
Regarding claim 15, Salerno further discloses pulling the second shelf from an underside of the first shelf to expose additional useable surface area provided by the second shelf (Salerno, Figure 13).
Regarding claim 16, Salerno further discloses the pulling comprises exposing a removable insert (114) positioned in the second shelf.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: DeMars US 2011/0283992 discloses a simple compact, transportable griddle. It would not be obvious to complicate the device of DeMars with a lock and release lever as the shelf system is intended to fold within the housing of the device, or with a removable insert that would add additional pieces to the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2010/0242942.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642