DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification lacks antecedent basis for the claimed “agricultural work vehicle” & “agricultural material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant cited Nishi et al. (US 20180371723 A1), hereinafter Nishi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Nishi (US 20180371723 A1) in view of Small et al. (US 20090045290 A1), hereinafter Small.
Regarding claim 1, Nishi discloses a work assisting system (system illustrated in fig. 26) to assist with work performed by an agricultural work vehicle (shovel 100; fig. 26), the work assisting system comprising:
at least one flying body (flying body comprising aerial vehicle 200 & container 250; fig. 26) including:
a flying apparatus (200) capable of flying and transporting an agricultural material (The aerial vehicle 200 is configured to carry a container 250. The container 250 is a container that stores fluids consumed by the shovel 100. ; [0319]) related to the work performed by the agricultural work vehicle (100); and
a transfer section (250) connected to the flying apparatus (200); and
a flight controller (controller 201; fig. 27) configured or programmed to control flight of the at least one flying body (200 & 250)
Nishi does not appear to specifically disclose the flight controller is configured or programmed to perform a maintaining control to control the flight of the at least one flying body in such a manner as to maintain a positional relationship between the agricultural work vehicle and the at least one flying body while the agricultural work vehicle is traveling and performing the work; and
the transfer section is configured to supply the agricultural material from the at least one flying body to the agricultural work vehicle while the flight controller is performing the maintaining control.
However, Small in the field of inflight refueling of unmanned aerial vehicles (title) teaches wherein the flight controller (flight management computer 72; fig. 8) is configured or programmed to perform a maintaining control to control the flight of the flying body (tanker UAV 14; fig. 1) in such a manner as to maintain a positional relationship between the agricultural work vehicle (mission UAV 12; fig. 1) and the flying body (14, The system is adapted to refuel a first unmanned aerial vehicle from a second unmanned aerial vehicle and includes an arrangement for flying the first and second vehicles to
proximity within a predetermined range… ; [Abstract]) and the at least one flying body (14) while the agricultural work vehicle (12) is traveling and performing the work; and
the transfer section (umbilical 18; fig. 1) is configured to supply the agricultural material (fuel) from the at least one flying body (14) to the agricultural work vehicle (12) while the flight controller (72) is performing the maintaining control.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the work assisting system disclosed by Nishi with the controller configured to maintain a positional relationship between vehicles & transfer the agricultural material during execution of the maintaining control as taught by Smith with a reasonable expectation of success
to provide the benefit of enabling the transfer of the work-related article without requiring a space to accommodate a landing of the flying body on the work vehicle as the flying body can transfer the work-related article while remaining in flight.
Regarding claim 3, modified Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1, wherein:
the flight controller (201) is configured or programmed to control the flight of the at least one flying body (200 & 250) in such a manner as to cause the at least one flying body (200 & 250) to land on the agricultural work vehicle (Subsequently, the controller 201 causes the aerial vehicle 200 to land on the shovel 100 (step ST244). ; [0357]) while the agricultural work vehicle (100) is traveling and performing the work; and
the transfer section (250) is configured to supply the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) after the at least one flying body lands (200 & 250) on the agricultural work vehicle (100).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1, further comprising the agricultural work vehicle (100) wherein
the agricultural work vehicle (100) includes a reservoir (fuel tank 18; fig. 29A) configured to retain the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100);
the reservoir (18) includes an opening facing upward (coupling portion 62 includes an opening facing upwards normally closed off by the spring loaded inflow prevention portion 62A as shown in figs. 30A2 & 30B2); and
the transfer section (250) is configured to supply the reservoir (18) with the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) from the at least one flying body (200 & 250) by moving the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) down to the opening (opening in 62) from above the opening (Fig. 30B2 illustrates how 250 is configured to move the fluids consumed by the shovel 100 down to the opening in 62 from above said opening in 62).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1, further comprising the agricultural work vehicle (100); wherein
the agricultural work vehicle (100) includes a reservoir (18) configured to retain the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100);
the transfer section (250) includes a tubular structure (cylindrical portion 251C; fig. 30B2) to allow the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) to pass through the tubular structure (251C); and
the transfer section (250) is configured to supply the agricultural material (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) from the at least one flying body (200 & 250) to the reservoir (18) through the tubular structure (251C).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Nishi (US 20180371723 A1) in view of Kim (US 20170029104 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1 but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein
the transfer section includes a gripper driven by an actuator to grip the agricultural material, a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material; and
the transfer section is configured to transfer the agricultural material article by the gripper.
However, Kim in the field of unmanned aerial vehicles (title) teaches the transfer section (gripper 10; fig. 3) includes a gripper (head 12; fig. 3) driven by an actuator (driving motor 12d; fig. 3) to grip the agricultural material (object 6; fig. 3), a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material; and
the transfer section (10) is configured to transfer the work-related article (6) by the gripper (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work assisting system disclosed by Nishi with the gripper taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the benefit of enabling the flying apparatus to pick up a variety of work-related articles that may be different shapes & sizes (Nishi discloses a number of different work-related articles that may be stored in containers with slightly different configurations: The fluids consumed by the shovel 100 includes fuel such as diesel fuel, a liquid reducing agent such as an aqueous urea solution, grease, lubricating oil, coolant, or engine oil. ; [0319]). Additionally, the gripper provides the benefit of enabling the flying apparatus to quickly drop off an emptied work-related article container and pick up an awaiting full work-related article container instead of having to wait to refill an integrated work-related article container.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Nishi (US 20180371723 A1) in view of Datta Gupta et al. (US 20200031471 A1), hereinafter Datta Gupta.
Regarding claim 11, Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1 but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein
the transfer section is attachable to and detachable from the flying apparatus; and
the flying apparatus is configured to replace the transfer section connected to the flying apparatus with a transfer section of another type including one of (i) a liquid tank configured to discharge the agricultural material downward through a tubular structure,(ii) a transport box including a bottom with an opening-closing section and configured to move down the agricultural material in response to the opening-closing section being opened, and (iii) a gripper driven by an actuator to grip the agricultural material, a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material..
However, Datta Gupta teaches the transfer section (fuel parcel 140; fig. 1) is attachable to and detachable from the flying apparatus (UAV 14 may retrieve and/or load a fuel parcel 140… ; [0080]); and
the flying apparatus (14) is configured to replace the transfer section (140) connected to the flying apparatus (14) with a transfer section (140) of another type (Datta Gupta teaches UAV 14 is configured to carry 140 to transfer liquid fuel: …the fuel parcel 140 comprises a container 150 having a fuel nozzle 152 extending downwardly from a base of the container 150. The nozzle 152 may have an electronically-actuatable valve 154—e.g., permitting UAV computer 130 to control when to dispense liquid fuel therefrom. ; [0080] and 14 can replace 140 with 140’ comprising an auxiliary battery: …UAV 14 may deliver a fuel parcel 140′ in the form of an auxiliary vehicle battery… ; [0105]) including one of (i) a liquid tank configured to discharge the agricultural material downward through a tubular structure,(ii) a transport box including a bottom with an opening-closing section and configured to move down the agricultural material in response to the opening-closing section being opened, and (iii) a gripper driven by an actuator to grip the agricultural material, a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material (Examiner notes 14 is configured to replace the transfer section with one of these types as nothing structurally prevents 14 from utilizing the claimed types of transfer sections).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work assisting system disclosed by Nishi with the detachable & replaceable transfer section taught by Datta Gupta with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the benefit of enabling the flying apparatus to transport a variety of different work-related articles, such as liquid fuel & batteries.
Regarding claim 12, Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1 but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein
the at least one flying body includes a plurality of flying bodies including respective transfer sections of different types including one of (i) a liquid tank configured to discharge the agricultural material downward through a tubular structure,(ii) a transport box including a bottom with an opening-closing section and configured to move down the agricultural material in response to the opening-closing section being opened, and (iii) a gripper driven by an actuator to grip the agricultural material, a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material.; and
the work assisting system further comprises:
an acquirer configured or programmed to acquire a requested assist detail; and
a determiner configured or programmed to determine a flying body suitable for the supply of the agricultural material from among the plurality of flying bodies based on an acquisition result acquired by the acquirer.
However, Datta Gupta teaches wherein
the at least one flying body (14) includes a plurality of flying bodies (Thereafter, server 116, which may interact with multiple UAVs… ; [0078]) including respective transfer sections of different types (140 & 140’) including one of (i) a liquid tank configured to discharge the agricultural material downward through a tubular structure,(ii) a transport box including a bottom with an opening-closing section and configured to move down the agricultural material in response to the opening-closing section being opened, and (iii) a gripper driven by an actuator to grip the agricultural material, a support supporting the agricultural material, or a storage to store the agricultural material (Examiner notes 14 is configured to replace the transfer section with one of these types as nothing structurally prevents 14 from utilizing the claimed types of transfer sections); and
the work assisting system further comprises:
an acquirer (116) configured or programmed to acquire a requested assist detail (According to one example, the fuel delivery request first is received at the remote server 116… ; [0078]); and
a determiner (server 116 also acts as a determiner) configured or programmed to determine a flying body (14) suitable for the transfer of the work-related article (liquid fuel or battery) from among the plurality of flying bodies (plurality of 14) based on an acquisition result acquired by the acquirer (Thereafter, server 116, which may interact with multiple UAVs, determines which UAV to dispatch—e.g., based on proximity to vehicle 12, based on UAV demand or availability, a combination thereof, or the like. ; [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work assisting system disclosed by Nishi with the plurality of flying bodies, the acquirer, & determiner taught by Datta Gupta with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the benefit of having multiple flying bodies on standby prepared to transfer different work-related articles & configuring the system to determine which flying body is the optimal choice to send to the work vehicle.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Nishi (US 20180371723 A1) in view of Kim (KR 102428531 B1), hereinafter Kim ‘531.
Regarding claim 9, Nishi discloses the work assisting system according to claim 1, further comprising:
wherein
the transfer section (250) is configured to, in a case where the weight value is larger than a predetermined threshold, transfer the work-related article (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) by an amount equal to or less than an amount corresponding to the threshold, out of the work-related article (fluids consumed by the shovel 100) before the transfer (Examiner notes 250 is configured to transfer the contained work-related article before transferring the work-related article to the work vehicle by moving outflow prevention portion 251A upwards via an electric stopper: The outflow prevention portion 251A may be fixed by an electric stopper at the lower limit position. For example, the electric stopper is configured to fix the outflow prevention portion 251A at the lower limit position when not receiving power supply, and is configured to move (move upward) the outflow prevention portion 251A from the lower limit position when receiving power supply. ; [0384]).
Nishi does not appear to specifically disclose a weight detector configured or programmed to acquire a weight value indicative of a weight of a plurality of seedling mats as the agricultural before the plurality of seedling mats are supplied.
However, Kim ‘531 in the field of drones (title) teaches a weight detector (Meanwhile, the liquid accommodating unit 400 includes a weight sensor (not shown)… ; [0072]) configured or programmed to acquire a weight value indicative of a weight of a plurality of seedling mats as the agricultural material (Examiner notes the weight sensor is configured to measure the weight of any payload) before the work-related article (liquid contained in tank unit 410) is transferred (Meanwhile, the liquid accommodating unit 400 includes a weight sensor (not shown) capable of detecting the weight of the liquid contained in the tank unit 410. ; [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work assisting system disclosed by Nishi with the weight detector taught by Kim ‘531 with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the benefit of a measurement of the amount of work-related article remaining in the transfer section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pgs. 9-12) that neither Nishi nor Nish in view of Small teaches or suggests all of the features recited in Applicant’s amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nishi discloses supplying agricultural material to a stationary agricultural work vehicle while the teachings of Small improve the system by teaching the transferring of material to a work vehicle that is actively preforming work. Transferring material between moving vehicles is well known in the art (i.e. in-air refueling) and provides the benefit of reducing work vehicle downtime. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642