DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication Request for continued examination (RCE) filed on 03/16/2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 have been amended, while claims 9-12 have been newly added.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits, “Kimura and Hojo both fail to disclose or suggest the features recited in amended claim 1 ……. It is respectfully submitted, moreover, that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest the features recited in new claim 10 whereby the wall parts include first, second, third, and fourth wall parts provided to each of the holes” (Remarks, p. 6-7). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As disclosed in the previous office action, Kanako in Fig. 5 as annotated below clearly discloses the newly amended feature of wherein the wall parts 31a1 are separated from each other at the edge of the hole wherein the key 14 is inserted, there is no further element intervenes between the opposed pairs of the wall parts, just an opening for the key to be inserted and space region in between the plurality of the keys, in similar to the claimed invention. Further, regarding the newly added claim limitations Figs. 1 and 3 clearly show the opening where the key is inserted have four wall parts creating a rectangular opening for key to be inserted, similar to claimed invention. Therefore, the Examiner maintains his rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanako (JP 7315055 published 07/26/2023, also published as US 2024188230 used for rejection purposes).
Regarding claim 1: Kanako teaches a key input device (Fig. 1 #10) comprising: a plurality of keys; a member having a plurality of holes through each of which a respective one of the keys is movably inserted (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031] teach a member or top casing 11a have a plurality of holes or openings through which a plurality of keys 14 are movably inserted); and wall parts extending from an edge of each of the holes of the member in a direction perpendicular to a board of the device, wherein the wall parts are separated from each other at the edge each of the holes such that no other element intervenes between respective opposed pairs of the wall parts (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach wall parts 31a1 or 31a2 separate from each other and extending from an edge of the key holes in a perpendicular to a board 22 of the device 10, see annotated fig. 5 below, there is no further element intervenes between the opposed pairs of the wall parts, just an opening for the key to be inserted and space region in between the plurality of the keys in similar to the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 2: Kanako teaches further comprising a space region provided between directly opposed portions of each of the opposed pairs of the wall parts (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031 and 0046-0054] teach a space region provided between directly opposed portions of each of the opposed pairs of the wall pars on the member 11a between each key 14).
Regarding claim 3: Kanako teaches wherein the space region is located between adjacent keys among the keys (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031 and 0046-0054] teach the space region or rib area is located between adjacent keys 14).
Regarding claim 4: Kanako teaches wherein each of the keys includes a flange configured to be in contact with board-side ends of the wall parts extending from the edge of the hole through which the key is movable inserted (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach the key 14 includes a flange or bottom portion of key under the side walls 31a extending from the edge of the hole).
Regarding claim 5: Kanako teaches wherein: the member has a first end side and a second end side opposite the first end side; a height of each of the wall parts is defined between the edge of the hole and a board-side end of the wall part; heights of the wall parts formed on the first end side are substantially uniform; and heights of the wall parts formed on the second end side are lower than the heights of the wall parts formed on the first end side (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031 and 0046-0054] teach the member 11a and the height of the wall parts 31a as claimed, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6: Kanako teaches wherein: among the keys, a height of a touch surface of a key on the first end side from the board is higher than a height of a touch surface of a key on the second end side from the board (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031 and 0046-0054] teach the multiple keys 14 and the height of a touch surface of a key on the first end side from the board is higher than a height of a touch surface of a key on the second end side from the board, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8: Kanako teaches further comprising: an elastic member configured to restore its shape after receiving a pressed key; and rib parts that hold the elastic member between the board and the rib parts (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach the elastic member 21a configured to restore its shape after the pressed key and the protruding or rib parts extending from the top case 11a to the bottom that hold the elastic member 21a between the board 21a and the rib parts).
Regarding claim 9: Kanako teaches a key input device (Fig. 1 #10) comprising: a plurality of keys; a member having a plurality of holes through each of which a respective one of the keys is movably inserted (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0026-0031] teach a member or top casing 11a have a plurality of holes or openings through which a plurality of keys 14 are movably inserted); and wall parts extending from an edge of each of the holes of the member in a direction perpendicular to a board of the device, wherein the wall parts are separated from each other via respective empty space regions formed between adjacent ones of the wall parts of each of the holes (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach wall parts 31a1 or 31a2 separate from each other and extending from an edge of the key holes in a perpendicular to a board 22 of the device 10, see annotated fig. 5 below, there is no further element intervenes between the opposed pairs of the wall parts, just an opening for the key to be inserted and space region in between the plurality of the keys (as shown in Fig. 3) in similar to the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 10: Kanako teaches wherein the wall parts include first, second, third, and fourth wall parts provided to each of the holes (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach the plurality of openings wherein the keys 14 are inserted, each of the opening is rectangular shape comprising four sides or four wall parts).
Regarding claim 11: Kanako teaches The key input device of claim 9, wherein the adjacent ones of the wall parts directly oppose each other across a respective one of the space regions with no other element intervening therebetween (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach wall parts separate from each other, there is no further element intervenes between the opposed pairs of the wall parts, just an opening for the key to be inserted and space region in between the plurality of the keys (as shown in Fig. 3) in similar to the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 12: Kanako teaches wherein the wall parts at the edge of the hole are symmetrical (Figs. 3-5 and paragraph [0046-0054] teach the plurality of openings wherein the keys 14 are inserted, each of the opening is rectangular shape comprising four sides or four wall parts at the edge of the hole and are asymmetrical, as shown in the drawings of claimed invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanako (JP 7315055 published 07/26/2023, also published as US 2024188230 used for rejection purposes) in the view of Suwa (US 5247143).
Regarding claim 7: Kanako does not explicitly disclose further comprising a sheet member provided between the board and the wall parts.
However, Suwa teaches a sheet member provided between the board and the wall parts (Figs. 4 & 6 and column teach a sheet member 7g or 8g placed between the board 3 and the wall parts 4 or 9). It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kanako’s invention by including above teachings of Suwa, because adding a sheet member allows extra cushion element within the key that can lead to better pressing feeling or quieter keys which is very well-known and widely used in the art, as taught by Suwa. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hojo (WO 2012115125).
Regarding claim 1: Kanako teaches a key input device (Fig. 1 #1) comprising: a plurality of keys; a member having a plurality of holes through each of which a respective one of the keys is movably inserted (Figs. 1 and 4-6 and related description teach a member or top casing 10 have a holes through which a plurality of keys 46A-C are movably inserted); and wall parts extending from an edge of each of the holes of the member in a direction perpendicular to a board of the device, wherein the wall parts are separated from each other at the edge each of the holes such that no other element intervenes between respective opposed pairs of the wall parts (Figs. 1 and 4-6 and related description teach wall parts 10A separate from each other and extending from an edge of the key hole in a perpendicular to a board P of the device 1, wherein the wall parts are separated from each other at edge each of the holes as shown in Fig. 1 such that no other elements intervenes between respective opposed pairs of the wall parts).
Conclusion
/AMIT CHATLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624