Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892) in view of Tran (US 9610476).
Regarding claim 1 KAWAMURA discloses a glove comprising a dorsal hand side, a thumb sleeve, and a forefinger sleeve, with an empty space positioned over a webbing between a thumb and a forefinger (fig.1, 15), specifically configured to hold an active technology device (ATD) during a sport activity ( Also, by using a glove-type mobile phone terminal, you can always wear the mobile phone terminal, and when you want to use it without the hassle of taking out the mobile phone terminal from a pocket, bag, etc. Can be used quickly. Also, even during jogging, cycling, driving, sports, etc.), wherein said ATD is placed at an optimal viewing angle, perpendicular to a line drawn from a first joint of said thumb to a first joint of said forefinger, with an area between said thumb and said forefinger being the least active part of a hand, reducing viewing errors and enhancing user performance and safety by maintaining an always-in-view perspective of said ATD during activity (fig.1, fig.9, fig. 10),
KAWAMURA is silent on wherein said ATD is embedded into said glove to allow sensors of said ATD to contact a skin of a user and enable real-time monitoring of physiological data, said configuration being distinct from prior glove- mounted sensors or phone terminals by ensuring uninterrupted sensor contact and visibility during dynamic sports activities.
However, Tran discloses wherein said ATD is embedded into said glove to allow sensors of said ATD to contact a skin of a user and enable real-time monitoring of physiological data, said configuration being distinct from prior glove- mounted sensors or phone terminals by ensuring uninterrupted sensor contact and visibility during dynamic sports activities (FIG. 7 shows an exemplary glove which can be thin to provide touch sensitivity or thick to provide shock protection for boxers. A body 12 of the boxing glove 10 includes an impact measuring device 14 is embedded within the glove 12 in an area protected from direct impact. Such an area includes the cuff 15 of the glove 12 or that portion of the glove 12 adjacent a user's palm, or adjacent an inside surface of a user's fingers. Placement of the impact measuring device 14 into the lining of the glove in such an area allows for the force of a blow to be measured without presenting a hazard to the recipient of the blow. Under the embodiment, an impact measuring device 14 would be included in the right glove 12 for a right handed fighter, or the left glove 12 for a left handed fighter. For fighters that are equally effective with both hands, or to improve monitoring accuracy, an impact measuring device 14 would be included in both gloves 12. The impact measuring system 20. The impact measuring system 20 includes an impact measuring device 14 and impact display unit 16. The impact measuring device 14 is linked to the impact display 28 via a radio frequency (rf) link 32. Under the embodiment, the impact measuring device 14 includes at least one 3-axis accelerometer. A thin version of the glove can be worn to detect a golf stroke or a tennis stroke with legacy clubs or rackets that lacks IoT intelligence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine KAWAMURA in light of Tran teaching so that it may include wherein said ATD is embedded into said glove to allow sensors of said ATD to contact a skin of a user and enable real-time monitoring of physiological data, said configuration being distinct from prior glove- mounted sensors or phone terminals by ensuring uninterrupted sensor contact and visibility during dynamic sports activities.
The motivation is to provide a system that can use gaming to help sport enthusiasts improve performance.
Regarding claim 2 Kawamura teaches further comprising an ATD docking connector designed to securely hold and enable easy insertion and removal of said ATD, wherein said ATD docking connector allows for both secure attachment and electrical connectivity to said ATD, thereby supporting power supply and data exchange, which ensures continued functionality without requiring said user to handle said ATD separately during physical activities (fig. 5 and FIG. 15 is a diagram for explaining attachment / detachment of the charging connector. The secondary battery in the main board unit 55 is configured to be connected to a charging connector so that charging power is supplied from the outside. FIG. 15A shows a state in which the hook-and-loop fastener 60 covering the insertion port 61 of the charging connector 62 is removed. On the other hand, FIG. 15B shows a state in which the charging connector 62 is inserted from the insertion port 61 and connected to the main board unit 55. Thus, by providing the charging port 61 in the outer glove 10, the secondary battery fixed to the surface of the inner glove 50 can be easily charged.).
Regarding claim 5 KAWAMURA in view of Tran disclosed mitten comprising: a dorsal hand side, a thumb sleeve, and a forefinger sleeve, with an empty space positioned over a webbing between a thumb and a forefinger, specifically configured to hold an active technology device (ATD) (fig.1, see item 15) during a sport activity ( Also, by using a glove-type mobile phone terminal, you can always wear the mobile phone terminal, and when you want to use it without the hassle of taking out the mobile phone terminal from a pocket, bag, etc. Can be used quickly. Also, even during jogging, cycling, driving, sports, etc.), wherein said ATD is placed at an optimal viewing angle, perpendicular to a line drawn from a first joint of said thumb to a first joint of said forefinger, with an area between said thumb and said forefinger being the least active part of a hand, reducing viewing errors and enhancing user performance and safety by maintaining an always-in-view perspective of said ATD during activity ((fig.1, fig.9, fig. 10)), with real- time sensor contact maintained throughout use (Tran: FIG. 7 shows an exemplary glove which can be thin to provide touch sensitivity or thick to provide shock protection for boxers. A body 12 of the boxing glove 10 includes an impact measuring device 14 is embedded within the glove 12 in an area protected from direct impact. Such an area includes the cuff 15 of the glove 12 or that portion of the glove 12 adjacent a user's palm, or adjacent an inside surface of a user's fingers. Placement of the impact measuring device 14 into the lining of the glove in such an area allows for the force of a blow to be measured without presenting a hazard to the recipient of the blow. Under the embodiment, an impact measuring device 14 would be included in the right glove 12 for a right-handed fighter, or the left glove 12 for a left- handed fighter. For fighters that are equally effective with both hands, or to improve monitoring accuracy, an impact measuring device 14 would be included in both gloves 12. The impact measuring system 20. The impact measuring system 20 includes an impact measuring device 14 and impact display unit 16. The impact measuring device 14 is linked to the impact display 28 via a radio frequency (rf) link 32. Under the embodiment, the impact measuring device 14 includes at least one 3-axis accelerometer. A thin version of the glove can be worn to detect a golf stroke or a tennis stroke with legacy clubs or rackets that lacks IoT intelligence).
Regarding claim 6 Kawamura teaches further comprising an ATD docking connector designed to securely hold and enable easy insertion and removal of said ATD, wherein said ATD docking connector provides electrical connectivity and is designed for seamless integration with charging and data transfer mechanisms of said ATD, improving user experience during extended wear, unlike prior art solutions that focus on integrating communication devices (fig. 5 and FIG. 15 is a diagram for explaining attachment / detachment of the charging connector. The secondary battery in the main board unit 55 is configured to be connected to a charging connector so that charging power is supplied from the outside. FIG. 15A shows a state in which the hook-and-loop fastener 60 covering the insertion port 61 of the charging connector 62 is removed. On the other hand, FIG. 15B shows a state in which the charging connector 62 is inserted from the insertion port 61 and connected to the main board unit 55. Thus, by providing the charging port 61 in the outer glove 10, the secondary battery fixed to the surface of the inner glove 50 can be easily charged.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892) in view of Tran (US 9610476) and further in view of Zdeblick (US 20190261888).
Regarding claim 4 Kawamura teaches wherein said ATD docking connector integrates [[wireless]] charging capabilities and is configured to interface with said ATD in a manner that allows said ATD to perform tracking and monitoring functions even during vigorous physical activity, differentiating from other gloves with simple electrical connections or sensor integration (fig. 5 and FIG. 15 is a diagram for explaining attachment / detachment of the charging connector. The secondary battery in the main board unit 55 is configured to be connected to a charging connector so that charging power is supplied from the outside. FIG. 15A shows a state in which the hook-and-loop fastener 60 covering the insertion port 61 of the charging connector 62 is removed. On the other hand, FIG. 15B shows a state in which the charging connector 62 is inserted from the insertion port 61 and connected to the main board unit 55. Thus, by providing the charging port 61 in the outer glove 10, the secondary battery fixed to the surface of the inner glove 50 can be easily charged.).
But silent on wireless charging capabilities.
However, Zdeblick teaches wireless charging capabilities ([0104] FIG. 1C illustrates one embodiment of a charging station 108. The charging station 108 is configured to recharge the battery of the electronics module 106. The charging station 108 may comprise a plug 110 for plugging into a wall socket. Alternatively or additionally, the charging station 108 may comprise a wireless charging module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine KAWAMURA in light of Zdeblick teaching so that it may include wireless charging capabilities.
The motivation is to provide a re-wearable wireless device configured to be attached to a user.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892) in view of Tran (US 9610476) and further in view of Landsman (US 20170368438).
Regarding claim 3 KAWAMURA is silent on wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, with said glove designed to accommodate devices specifically intended for fitness tracking and health monitoring, distinguishing said glove from gloves that incorporate communication devices such as mobile phones.
However, Landsman teaches wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, with said glove designed to accommodate devices specifically intended for fitness tracking and health monitoring, distinguishing said glove from gloves that incorporate communication devices such as mobile phones (0028] Referring now to FIGS. 6A and 6B, golf club 500 operates in conjunction with a display 612 which shows what is observed by camera 506. Display 612 is preferably mounted in body worn component such as a wrist worn device (e.g., APPLE WATCH) as in FIG. 6A or on a glove as shown in FIG. 6B, its obvious that a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, will also work by substitution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine KAWAMURA in light of Landsman teaching so that it may include wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, with said glove designed to accommodate devices specifically intended for fitness tracking and health monitoring, distinguishing said glove from gloves that incorporate communication devices such as mobile phones.
The motivation is to provide a visual alignment guide sports activity such as golf.
Regarding claim 7 the limitations are similar to the limitations of claim 3 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 8 KAWAMURA in view of Landsman teaches wherein said ATD docking connector integrates both wired and wireless data communication capabilities (Landsman: [0038]), allowing continuous data synchronization without the need for manual intervention during activities, overcoming the limitations of prior art that only provided basic connectivity for specific device functions (Landsman: [0038]).
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892).
Regarding claim 9 KAWAMURA discloses a sleeve comprising a dorsal hand side, a thumb sleeve, and a forefinger sleeve, with an empty space positioned over a webbing between a thumb and a forefinger (fig.1, see item 15), specifically configured to hold an active technology device (ATD) during a sport activity ( Also, by using a glove-type mobile phone terminal, you can always wear the mobile phone terminal, and when you want to use it without the hassle of taking out the mobile phone terminal from a pocket, bag, etc. Can be used quickly. Also, even during jogging, cycling, driving, sports, etc.), wherein said ATD is placed at an optimal viewing angle, perpendicular to a line drawn from a first joint of said thumb to a first joint of said forefinger, with an area between said thumb and said forefinger being the least active part of the hand, reducing viewing errors and enhancing user performance and safety by ensuring uninterrupted monitoring and feedback (fig.1, fig.9, fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10 KAWAMURA discloses further comprising an ATD docking connector designed to securely hold and enable easy insertion and removal of said ATD, with provisions for both physical and electrical integration that facilitate seamless power and data connectivity, unlike prior art gloves that incorporate communication or fitness-related devices in a less ergonomic configuration (fig. 5 and FIG. 15 is a diagram for explaining attachment / detachment of the charging connector. The secondary battery in the main board unit 55 is configured to be connected to a charging connector so that charging power is supplied from the outside. FIG. 15A shows a state in which the hook-and-loop fastener 60 covering the insertion port 61 of the charging connector 62 is removed. On the other hand, FIG. 15B shows a state in which the charging connector 62 is inserted from the insertion port 61 and connected to the main board unit 55. Thus, by providing the charging port 61 in the outer glove 10, the secondary battery fixed to the surface of the inner glove 50 can be easily charged.).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892) in view of Landsman (US 20170368438).
Regarding claim 11 KAWAMURA is silent on wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, providing a more specialized approach to health and fitness tracking compared to prior art sleeves that focus on communication device integration.
However, Landsman teaches wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, providing a more specialized approach to health and fitness tracking compared to prior art sleeves that focus on communication device integration (0028] Referring now to FIGS. 6A and 6B, golf club 500 operates in conjunction with a display 612 which shows what is observed by camera 506. Display 612 is preferably mounted in body worn component such as a wrist worn device (e.g., APPLE WATCH) as in FIG. 6A or on a glove as shown in FIG. 6B, it’s obvious that a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, will also work by substitution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine KAWAMURA in light of Landsman teaching so that it may include wherein said ATD is selected from a group consisting of an Apple Watch, a Fitbit, a Garmin Smartwatch, and a Samsung Smartwatch, providing a more specialized approach to health and fitness tracking compared to prior art sleeves that focus on communication device integration.
The motivation is to provide a visual alignment guide sports activity such as golf.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP 2006165892) in view of Lin (US 20220131297).
Regarding claim 12 teach ATD docking connector.
Kawamura is silent on wherein said docking connector includes waterproofing features to protect from varying environmental conditions.
However, Lin teaches docking connector includes waterproofing features to protect from varying environmental conditions ([0042]).
Kawamura teaches a base sleeve device that would be improved by the docking connector includes waterproofing feature taught in the electrical connector of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized improvements afforded by electrical connector of Lin, and the combination would have yielded predictable results."
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hardy US 20140215684
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625