DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyato et al. (# WO 2021/015046) for English translation Examiner used Miyato (# US 2022/0143998).
Miyato et al. discloses:
1. An ink jet recording method (see Abstract) comprising:
preparing a resin base material (see Abstract; [0005]-[0008]; [0029]-[0040]; [0182]-[0186]);
preparing a pretreatment liquid which contains water and an aggregating agent (see Abstract; [0029]; [0187]-[0266]);
preparing a first ink which contains water, a water-soluble organic solvent, and a pigment and is one of a colored ink and a white ink ([0280]-[0322]);
preparing a second ink which contains water, a water-soluble organic solvent, and a pigment and is the other of the colored ink and the white ink (Two or more kind of inks; [0347]-[0348]); and
the pretreatment liquid onto the resin base material during transportation in a state where a tension T of 20 N/m or greater is applied to the resin base material (30 N/m; [0029]) and applying the first ink and the second ink in this order onto a region of the resin base material where the pretreatment liquid has been applied respectively by an ink jet recording system, wherein a value X defined by Equation (X) is 85 or greater (i.e. X = 60/0.1=600 to 60/10 = 6),
Value
X = (d/A) × ΔHSP Equation (X)
in Equation (X), d represents a thickness of the resin base material in units of μm (15 to 60 micrometer; [0081]), A represents a total amount of the water-soluble organic solvent to be applied in units of g/m.sup.2 in the pretreatment liquid (0.1 to 10 g/m2; [0337]) and the first ink applied onto the resin base material in the applying step, and ΔHSP represents an HSP distance in units of MPa.sup.1/2 between the water-soluble organic solvent in the pretreatment liquid (1; see Examples) and the first ink applied onto the resin base material in the applying step and the resin base material (i.e. X = 60/0.1=600 to 60/10 = 6).
Given that the Miyato et al. reference discloses a range of X (6 to 600) that overlap with the presently claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught ranges, including those presently claimed, to obtain a suitable composition. It is also noted that according to MPEP 2131.03 and MPEP 2144.05, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. As to optimization results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276,205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclose by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
2. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the value X is 400 or less (X = 60/0.1=600 to 60/10 = 6; [0081]; [0337]).
3. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein a value T/X, which is a value obtained by dividing the tension T by the value X, is 0.30 or greater and 0.65 or less (i.e (30 N/m; [0029] & X = 60/0.1=600 to 60/10 = 6; [0081]; [0337]; so T/X=30/600=0.05 to 30/6=5, so range is 0.05 to 6).
Given that the Miyato et al. reference discloses a range of T/X (0.05 to 6) that overlap with the presently claimed range (0.30 to 0.65), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught ranges, including those presently claimed, to obtain a suitable composition. It is also noted that according to MPEP 2131.03 and MPEP 2144.05, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. As to optimization results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276,205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclose by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
5. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the tension T is 200 N/m or less (30 N/m; [0029]).
6. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the tension T is 120 N/m or less (30 N/m; [0029]).
7. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the tension T is 30 N/m or greater (30 N/m; [0029]).
8. An ink jet recording device (figure: 2) configured to be used in the ink jet recording method according to claim 1, the device comprising an unwinding device for unwinding the resin base material (element: W1, figure: 2), and the device further comprising: a pretreatment liquid applying device (element: P1, figure: 2); a pretreatment liquid drying zone (figure: 2); a first ink jet head (IJ1, figure: 2); a first drying zone (element: D1, figure: 2); a second ink jet head; a second drying zone; and a winding device (element: W2, figure: 2); in this order from an upstream side in a transport direction of the resin base material with respect to the unwinding device (figure: 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The ink jet recording method according to claim 1, wherein the ΔHSP is 10.0 or greater and 23.0 or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Fukaya et al. (# US 2010/0330281) discloses Surface treatment solution comprises; calcium alginate (0.008-0.074 wt.%); sodium alginate (0.013-0.084 wt.%); a water-soluble organic solvent; and water (see Abstract).
(2) Kuronuma et al. (# US 2024/0102237) discloses an inkjet recording method is provided that includes the following steps: applying a pretreatment liquid to a fabric; applying a first white ink by an inkjet method and a wet on wet method onto an application region of the pretreatment liquid obtained in the applying of the pretreatment liquid, to form an image; applying a second white ink by an inkjet method and a wet on wet method onto the image formed in the applying of the first white ink; and applying a color ink by an inkjet method and a wet on wet method onto an image obtained in the applying of the second white ink (see Abstract).
(3) Tahara et al. (# US 2010/0302307) discloses a method of ink-jet recording that includes the steps of pretreating by applying a pretreatment liquid onto a recording medium in advance of ink-jet recording, and recording by ejecting a pigment ink onto the recording medium by an ink-jet method. The pretreatment liquid includes the following components (i) and (ii), and water. Component (i): at least one of succinic acid and acetic acid Component (ii): alkali metal halide (see Abstract).
(4) Watanabe et al. (# US 2021/0062027) discloses an ink set to be used for printing poorly absorbent or non-absorbent printing media includes an aqueous non-white ink composition containing a non-white pigment, an aqueous white ink composition containing a white pigment, and a treatment liquid containing a flocculant and an alkanolamine (see Abstract).
(5) Komatsu (# US 2011/0234683) discloses an ink jet recording method involves discharging a droplet of aqueous ink composition containing coloring agent onto low-ink-absorbent recording medium as first process and discharging a droplet of clear ink composition with glycol ether at content ratio of 3-10 mass%, and resin component but containing no coloring agent onto the medium as second process. The first/second processes are performed in single operation. The droplet of ink composition discharged in single operation and droplet of clear ink composition discharged in same operation come into contact on the medium (see Abstract).
(6) Fukagawa et al. (# US 2020/0317944) discloses a printing pretreatment liquid for a polyester base material including a polymer which has a Hansen solubility parameter value of 18 MPa.sup.0.5 to 30 MPa.sup.0.5, water, and at least one aggregating agent selected from the group consisting of a polyvalent metal salt, an organic acid, a cationic compound, and a metal complex, and applications thereof (see Abstract).
(7) Araki (# US 2019/0337319) discloses An ink jet recording method includes the steps of ejecting an active-radiation-curable ink composition onto a recording medium by an ink jet process and curing the ejected ink composition by irradiation with active radiation. During transporting of the recording medium in the ejecting and curing steps, an unwinding stress in the recording medium is larger than a winding stress in the recording medium. The recording medium has a thickness of 10 μm to 100 μm. Also provided is a method for manufacturing laminated printed matter using printed matter produced by the ink jet recording method (see Abstract).
(8) Fujii et al. (# US 2020/0216703) discloses an image forming method including a step of preparing an ink which contains water and an organic solvent A having a vapor pressure of 0.20 kPa or less at 20° C. and in which a content of the organic solvent A is 10% by mass or greater, a step of preparing an aggregating liquid containing an aggregating agent, a step of preparing an overcoat liquid which contains a resin and an organic solvent B having a vapor pressure of 2.50 kPa or greater at 20° C. and in which a content of the organic solvent B is 10% by mass or greater, a step of applying the aggregating liquid onto an impermeable base material, a step of applying the ink to at least a portion of a region to which the aggregating liquid has been applied according to an ink jet method to form an image, and a step of applying the overcoat liquid onto the region to which the aggregating liquid has been applied in the impermeable base material, on which the image has been formed; and an ink set (see Abstract).
(9) Taya et al. (# US 2015/0109365) discloses an ink containing a self-dispersible pigment, an acrylic resin particle, a surfactant, a water-soluble organic solvent, and water. The surfactant includes a fluorinated surfactant represented by Formula (1) and having an HLB value determined by a Griffin method of 11 or less. The water-soluble organic solvent includes at least one water-soluble organic solvent selected from a specific group, and the total content of the water-soluble organic solvents of the specific group is 4 times or more the total content of the water-soluble organic solvents other than the solvents of the specific group. The total content of the self-dispersible pigment and the acrylic resin particle is 10% by mass or less based on the total mass of the ink (see Abstract).
(10) Che et al. (# US 2018/0257104) discloses a method of producing a transparent resin base printed material, including: a treatment liquid applying step of applying a treatment liquid which contains an acidic compound onto a transparent resin base material; an ink jetting step of jetting an aqueous ink, which contains a colorant, resin particles, water, and a solvent having a boiling point of 150° C. to 250° C. and in which the content of a solvent having a boiling point of higher than 250° C. is 1% by mass or less with respect to the total mass of the ink, onto the transparent resin base material to which the treatment liquid has been applied according to an ink jet system; and a drying step of drying the aqueous ink under a condition in which the surface temperature of the transparent resin base material is in a range of 60° C. to 100° C (see Abstract).
(11) Fujii et al. (# US 2020/0369904) discloses an ink set which is used for recording an image on a surface having a surface energy of 40 mN/m or greater and included in an impermeable base material, the ink set including an ink containing water, a colorant, and resin particles, and a pretreatment liquid containing water and resin particles, in which the resin particles contained in the pretreatment liquid include at least one of a mixture of acrylic resin particles and polyester resin particles or composite particles including an acrylic resin and a polyester resin, and the resin particles contained in the ink include at least one of acrylic resin particles or polyurethane resin particles; an image recording method; a method of producing a laminate; an image recorded material; and a laminate (see Abstract).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853