Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant originally submitted Claims 1-20 in the application. In the present response, the Applicant amended Claims 1, 3, 5 and 14-16, added new Claims 21-22 and cancelled Claims 12 and 19. Accordingly, Claims 1-11, 13-18 and 20-22 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filled 10/19/2026, with respect to rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new grounds of rejection has been set forth below necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi et al (US 2015/0009631) in view of Shedd et al (US 2017/0105313) and further in view of Mehring (US 2014/0204532).
Regarding Claim 1, Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) discloses an impingement cooling system (100) comprising: a porous heat spreader (120) in thermal contact with a heat source (104), (Fig 1); two or more nozzles (108) each configured to direct a fluid (130) as a jet (130) or a spray impinging upon the porous heat spreader (120), (¶ 28, II. 1-5), (Fig 1); and a baseplate (110) disposed between the porous heat spreader (120) and the heat source (104), (Fig 1), however Joshi does not disclose wherein the two or more nozzles are each configured to direct the fluid at different angles relative to the baseplate.
Instead, Shedd (In Fig 35) teaches wherein the two or more nozzles (155/156) are each configured to direct the fluid (50) at different angles relative to the baseplate (430), (Fig 35).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd with the two or more nozzles being each configured to direct the fluid at different angles relative to the baseplate to benefit from preventing coolant from pooling near the rear wall of the outlet chamber, decreasing the likelihood of stagnation points on the surface to be cooled near the rear wall of the outlet chamber (Shedd, ¶ 495-496), however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein at least one nozzle of the two or more nozzles is configured to direct the fluid as a spray comprising a primary carrier fluid and a secondary dispersed fluid that is at least partially immiscible with the primary carrier fluid, the primary carrier fluid and the secondary dispersed fluid being ejected together from the at least one nozzle with the secondary dispersed fluid carried by the primary carrier fluid as droplets.
Instead, Mehring (In Fig 1) teaches wherein at least one nozzle (28) of the two or more nozzles (28) is configured to direct the fluid as a spray comprising a primary carrier fluid (gas, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) and a secondary dispersed fluid (fluid, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) that is at least partially immiscible with the primary carrier fluid (gas, ¶ 8, II. 7-10), the primary carrier fluid (gas, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) and the secondary dispersed fluid (fluid, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) being ejected together from the at least one nozzle (28) with the secondary dispersed fluid (fluid, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) carried by the primary carrier fluid (gas, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) as droplets (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd and further with Mehring with at least one nozzle of the two or more nozzles being configured to direct the fluid as a spray comprising a primary carrier fluid and a secondary dispersed fluid that being at least partially immiscible with the primary carrier fluid, the primary carrier fluid and the secondary dispersed fluid being ejected together from the at least one nozzle with the secondary dispersed fluid carried by the primary carrier fluid as droplets to benefit from achieving efficient spot cooling with broad coverage area with the need to adjust cooling based on different thermal load distribution (Mehring ¶ 8, II. 10-14).
Regarding Claim 2, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader is made of one of: a metal, a metal alloy (¶ 30, II. 1-8), carbon, graphite, or ceramic.
Regarding Claim 3, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further disclose wherein the porous heat spreader (520) comprises a pin-fin matrix (515), (Fig 11).
Regarding Claim 4, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (120) comprises a porous media that is one of: fibrous (metal fibers, ¶ 26, II. 1-8), a foam, or unstructured.
Regarding Claim 6, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein at least one nozzle (108) of the two or more nozzles (108) is configured to direct the fluid (130) orthogonally to the baseplate (110), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein at least one nozzle of the two or more nozzles is configured to direct the fluid at an oblique angle to the baseplate.
Instead, Shedd (In Fig 35) teaches wherein at least one nozzle (155,156) of the two or more nozzles (155/156) is configured to direct the fluid (50) at an oblique angle to the baseplate (430), (Fig 35).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd with one nozzle of the two or more nozzles being configured to direct the fluid at an oblique angle to the baseplate to benefit from preventing coolant from pooling near the rear wall of the outlet chamber, decreasing the likelihood of stagnation points on the surface to be cooled near the rear wall of the outlet chamber (Shedd, ¶ 495-496).
Regarding Claim 8, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (120) is spatially homogeneous and isotropic (¶ 30, II. 1-11), (Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (420) is anisotropic (Fig 10).
Regarding Claim 10, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (420) has a spatially-varying microstructure and porosity (Fig 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 9, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (420) has first porosity at a first location (1st location, Fig 10 below) where the fluid impinges thereupon, and wherein the porous heat spreader (420) has a second porosity (2nd location, Fig 10 below), less than the first porosity, at a second location spaced apart from the first location (Fig 10 below).
Regarding Claim 13, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (120) has a monolithic structure (¶ 30, II. 1-11).
Regarding Claim 14, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (520) is one of a plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders (520), with each of the discrete porous heat spreaders (520) configured to conduct heat from a common heat source (104), (Fig 11).
Regarding Claim 21, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein the primary carrier fluid comprises a gas, and wherein the secondary dispersed fluid comprises a liquid or a liquid mixture.
Instead, Mehring (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the primary carrier fluid (gas, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) comprises a gas, and wherein the secondary dispersed fluid (fluid, ¶ 8, II. 7-10) comprises a liquid or a liquid mixture.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd and further with Mehring with the primary carrier fluid comprising a gas and the secondary dispersed fluid comprising a liquid to benefit from achieving efficient spot cooling with broad coverage area with the need to adjust cooling based on different thermal load distribution (Mehring ¶ 8, II. 10-14).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi in view of Shedd further in view of Mehring and further in view of Brunschwiler et al (US 2009/0218078).
Regarding Claim 5, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein the secondary dispersed fluid is configured to undergo a phase change from a liquid to a gas on or within the porous heat spreader.
Instead, Brunschwiler (In Fig 6) teaches wherein the secondary dispersed fluid (glycol, ¶ 27, II. 3-5) is configured to undergo a phase change from a liquid to a gas on or within the porous heat spreader (50, ¶ 30, II. 5-10).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd further with Mehring and further with Brunschwiler with the secondary dispersed fluid being configured to undergo a phase change from a liquid to a gas on or within the porous heat spreader to benefit from maximizing the coolant output temperature while maintaining a desired processor chip temperature (Brunschwiler, ¶ 1, II. 1-4).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi in view of Shedd further in view of Mehring and further in view of Bhunia et al (US 2013/0032311).
Regarding Claim 15, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein the porous heat spreader is one of a plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders, with the plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders configured to conduct heat from a plurality of independent heat sources.
Instead, Bhunia (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the porous heat spreader (110) is one of a plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders (110), with the plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders (110) configured to conduct heat from a plurality of independent heat sources (115), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd further with Mehring and further with Bhunia with the porous heat spreader being one of a plurality of discrete porous heat spreaders and configured to conduct heat from a plurality of independent heat sources to benefit from providing passive microporous wick structures to facilitate bubble nucleation for improved power dissipation for high power devices (Bhunia , ¶ 17, II. 1-6).
Claims 16-18 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Arvelo et al (US 2014/0254098).
Regarding Claim 16, Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) discloses an impingement cooling system (100) comprising: a porous heat spreader (120) having at least one spatially-varying property (Fig 5); and two or more nozzles (108/108) each configured to direct a fluid (130) as a jet (130) or a spray impinging upon the porous heat spreader (120); and a baseplate (110) adjacent to the porous heat spreader (120), (Fig 1), wherein the at least one spatially-varying property includes at least one of a microstructure or a porosity (¶ 26, II. 1-8), however Joshi does not disclose wherein the two or more nozzles are each configured to direct the fluid at different angles relative to the baseplate.
Instead, Shedd (In Fig 35) teaches wherein the two or more nozzles (155/156) are each configured to direct the fluid (50) at different angles relative to the baseplate (430), (Fig 35).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd with the two or more nozzles being each configured to direct the fluid at different angles relative to the baseplate to benefit from preventing coolant from pooling near the rear wall of the outlet chamber, decreasing the likelihood of stagnation points on the surface to be cooled near the rear wall of the outlet chamber (Shedd, ¶ 495-496), however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein the baseplate defines an aperture, and a heat source extends through the aperture such that the heat source is in direct contact with the porous heat spreader and with the fluid.
Instead, Arvelo (In Fig 9C) teaches wherein the baseplate (320) defines an aperture (aperture accommodating 312/322), and a heat source (312) extends through the aperture (aperture accommodating 312/322), (Fig 9C) such that the heat source (312) is in direct contact with the porous heat spreader (322) and with the fluid (303).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd and further with Arvelo with the baseplate defining an aperture and a heat source extending through the aperture such that the heat source is in direct contact with the porous heat spreader and with the fluid to benefit from dissipating heat from processor chip which must be cooled to a specific temperature to ensure optimal operation and prevent malfunction (Arvelo ¶ 66, II. 12-14).
Regarding Claim 17, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Arvelo discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the at least one spatially-varying property includes both the microstructure (metal fibers, ¶ 26, II. 1-8) and the porosity (metal fibers, ¶ 26, II. 1-8), (Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Arvelo discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein the porous heat spreader (420) has first porosity at a first location (1st location, Fig 10 above) where the fluid (130) impinges thereupon, and wherein the porous heat spreader (420) has a second porosity, less than the first porosity, at a second location (2nd location, Fig 10 above) spaced apart from the first location.
Regarding Claim 20, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Arvelo discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Joshi (In Figs 1, 5, 7-8 and 10-11) further discloses wherein at least one nozzle (108) of the two or more nozzles (108/108) is configured to direct the fluid (130) orthogonally to the baseplate (110), (Fig 1).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi in view of Shedd further in view of Mehring and further in view of Rini et al (US 6,571,569).
Regarding Claim 22, Joshi in view of Shedd and further in view of Mehring discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Joshi as modified does not disclose wherein the impingement cooling system further comprising one or more outlets configured for the fluid to exit the impingement cooling system, and a separation device disposed at or beyond the one or more outlets and configured to separate the secondary dispersed fluid from the primary carrier fluid.
Instead, Rini (In Fig 10) teaches wherein the impingement cooling system (system of Fig 10) further comprising one or more outlets (75) configured for the fluid (liquid coolant, Col 5, II. 6-16) to exit the impingement cooling system (70), and a separation device (50) disposed at or beyond the one or more outlets (75) and configured to separate the secondary dispersed fluid from the primary carrier fluid (Col 12, II. 54-59), (Fig 19).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Joshi with Shedd further with Mehring and further with Rini with the impingement cooling system further comprising one or more outlets configured for the fluid to exit the impingement cooling system and a separation device disposed at or beyond the one or more outlets and configured to separate the secondary dispersed fluid from the primary carrier fluid to benefit from allowing the process enhancement by using at least a portion of the energy normally wasted in the expansion device to power the spray nozzle, allowing a liquid vapor mixture at high pressure to collect in the phase separator, and allowing either liquid pressure atomizer nozzle or vapor atomizer nozzle to be used (Rini Col 12, II. 1-14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841