DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 6, claim 6 recites, “the support” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the at leads one support” and will be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (“Barnes”) (US 11,680,420) in view of Thomson (US 3,720,964).
Re claim 1, Barnes discloses a sun shelf (Fig. 1A) comprising:
a main body (100) having a first wall (110), a second wall (120), a third wall (115), a fourth wall (see examiner comments), a base (125), the first wall (110) having a first height (height of 110 from 125) from the base (125), the second wall (120) having a second height (height of 120 from 125) from the base (125), the third wall (115) having a third height (height of 115 from 125) from the base (125), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) having a fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments from the front vertical wall of base 125) from the base (125), the fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments) being less than (Fig. 1A) the first height (height of 110 from 125), the second height (height of 120 from 125), and the third height (height of 115 from 125),
but fails to disclose a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet.
However, Thomson discloses a first intake (Fig. 6-7; 56), an outlet (58), and a recess (Fig. 7, the space which receives 60 and 62 within 64), and a tubular member (62, 64) attached to the main body (52) and extending from (Col 5 line 67-Col 6 line 3) the first intake (56) to the outlet (58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet as disclosed by Thomson in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety, as is the normal and logical manner of use of intakes, outlets, and tubular members, and as is well-known and common in the art.
Re claim 7, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, wherein the first intake is disposed through the fourth wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the first intake is disposed through the fourth wall in order to provide water circulation at the fourth wall, at the front of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 8, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the first intake is disposed through the base.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the first intake is disposed through the base in order to provide water circulation at the base, at the bottom of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 9, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the main body defines a second intake; and wherein the tubular member extends from the second intake to the outlet.
However, Thomson discloses wherein the main body (Fig. 6-7) defines a second intake (Fig. 6-7; showing two elements 56), wherein the tubular member (62, 64) extends from (Col 5 line 67-Col 6 line 3) the second intake (Fig. 6-7 showing two elements 56) to the outlet (58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the main body defines a second intake; and wherein the tubular member extends from the second intake to the outlet as disclosed by Thomson in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety, as is the normal and logical manner of use of intakes, outlets, and tubular members, and as is well-known and common in the art.
Re claim 14, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, wherein the first wall (110), the second wall (120), the third wall (115), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) are substantially perpendicular to (Fig. 1A) the base (125).
Re claim 15, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the outlet is disposed through the third wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the outlet is disposed through the third wall in order to provide water circulation and/or drainage at the third wall, at the front of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 16, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, Bergstrom discloses wherein the outlet (58) is disposed through the base (bottom surface of 52).
Re claim 17, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, wherein the first wall (110) has a first sidewall (sidewall of 110), the second wall (120) has a second sidewall (sidewall of 120), the third wall (115) has a third sidewall (sidewall of 115), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) has a fourth sidewall (sidewall of that shown in the examiner comments); and wherein the recess (Bergstrom: the space into which 60 and 62 are inserted) has a length (which would be along the length of Fig. 1A of Barnes) and a width (which would be along the width of Fig. 1A of Barnes), but fails to disclose the length being equal to about 78 inches measured from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, the width being equal to about 67 ½ inches measured from the fourth sidewall to the third sidewall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with the length being equal to about 78 inches measured from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, the width being equal to about 67 ½ inches measured from the fourth sidewall to the third sidewall in order to provide sufficient space on the base for persons utilizing the sun shelf to sit, lounge, or setup chairs. In addition, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 2-6, 10-13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (“Barnes”) (US 11,680,420) in view of Thomson (US 3,720,964) and Bergstrom (US 6,349,427).
Re claim 2, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the main body defines a cavity; and wherein the tubular member is disposed within the cavity.
However, Bergstrom discloses wherein the main body (Fig. 1) defines a cavity (Fig. 5, between 37 and 101); and wherein the tubular member (Fig. 1, unlabeled tubing) is disposed within (Fig. 1) the cavity (between 37 and 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the main body defines a cavity; and wherein the tubular member is disposed within the cavity as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety in an open space to reduce weight.
Re claim 3, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 2, Bergstrom discloses wherein the main body (Fig. 5) has a first exterior surface (101); and wherein the cavity (between 101 and 37) extends from the first wall (37) to the first exterior surface (101).
Re claim 4, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 2, Bergstrom discloses wherein the first wall (37) has a first ledge (35); and wherein the main body (Fig. 5) has at least one support (13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27) disposed within (Fig. 1) the cavity (between 37 and 101), the at least one support (13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27) extending from the base (at 73) to the first ledge (35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the first wall has a first ledge; and wherein the main body has at least one support disposed within the cavity, the at least one support extending from the base to the first ledge as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to increase load bearing capacity of the sun shelf.
Re claim 5, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 4, Bergstrom discloses wherein the main body (Fig. 5) has a fourth exterior surface (86, as applied to Barnes); and wherein the cavity (between 37 and 101) extends from the base (at 73) to the fourth exterior surface (86, as applied to Barnes).
Re claim 6, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 5, Bergstrom discloses wherein the cavity(between 37 and 101) has at least one support (Fig. 5, 29, 31, 33, 71); and wherein the support (29, 31, 33, 71) extends from (as no contact is required) the base (at 72) and away from (Fig. 5) the recess (per the above).
Re claim 10, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 9, wherein the main body (Fig. 1A) has a first exterior surface (exterior surface of 110), a second exterior surface (exterior surface of 120), but fails to disclose a cavity; wherein the cavity extends from the first wall to the first exterior surface; and wherein the cavity extends from the second wall to the second exterior surface.
but fails to disclose a cavity, wherein the cavity extends from the first wall to the first exterior surface; and wherein the cavity extends from the second wall to the second exterior surface.
However, Bergstrom discloses a cavity (Fig. 5, between 37 and 101); wherein the cavity (between 37 and 101) extends from the first wall (as applied to 110 of Barnes; Bergstrom: 37) to the first exterior surface (as applied to the exterior surface of 110 of Barnes; Bergstrom: 101); and wherein the cavity (Fig. 5, between 37 and 101) extends from the second wall (as applied to 120 of Barnes; Bergstrom: 37) to the second exterior surface (as applied to the exterior surface of 120 of Barnes; Bergstrom: 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a cavity, wherein the cavity extends from the first wall to the first exterior surface; and wherein the cavity extends from the second wall to the second exterior surface as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety in an open space to reduce weight.
Re claim 11, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the first intake and the second intake are disposed through the fourth wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein first intake and the second intake are disposed through the fourth wall in order to provide water circulation at the fourth wall, at the front of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 12, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the first intake and the second intake are disposed through the base.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein first intake and the second intake are disposed through the base in order to provide water circulation at the base, at the bottom of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 13, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the first intake extends through the first wall; and wherein the second intake extends through the second wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the first intake extends through the first wall; and wherein the second intake extends through the second wall in order to provide water circulation at the first wall and second wall, at the sides of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 18, Barnes discloses a sun shelf (Fig. 1A) comprising:
a main body (100) having a first wall (110), a second wall (120), a third wall (115), a fourth wall (see examiner comments), a base (125), the first wall (110) having a first height (height of 110 from 125) from the base (125), the second wall (120) having a second height (height of 120 from 125) from the base (125), the third wall (115) having a third height (height of 115 from 125) from the base (125), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) having a fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments from the front vertical wall of base 125) from the base (125), the fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments) being less than (Fig. 1A) the first height (height of 110 from 125), the second height (height of 120 from 125), and the third height (height of 115 from 125), each of the first wall (110), the second wall (120), the third wall (115), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) being substantially perpendicular to (Fig. 1A) the base (125),
but fails to disclose a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a cavity, a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet, the tubular member disposed within the cavity, and a panel disposed over the cavity.
However, Thomson discloses a first intake (Fig. 6-7; 56), an outlet (58), and a recess (Fig. 7, the space which receives 60 and 62 within 64), and a tubular member (62, 64) attached to the main body (52) and extending from (Col 5 line 67-Col 6 line 3) the first intake (56) to the outlet (58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet as disclosed by Thomson in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety, as is the normal and logical manner of use of intakes, outlets, and tubular members, and as is well-known and common in the art.
In addition, Bergstrom discloses a cavity (Fig. 5, between 37 and 101), wherein the tubular member (Fig. 1, unlabeled tubing) is disposed within (Fig. 1) the cavity (between 37 and 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a cavity, and wherein the tubular member is disposed within the cavity as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety in an open space to reduce weight.
In addition, Bergstrom discloses a panel (101) disposed over (Fig. 5) the cavity (between 37 and 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a panel disposed over the cavity as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to increase aesthetic appeal and to provide a finish thereto (Col 2 lines 63-67).
Re claim 19, Barnes as modified discloses the sun shelf of claim 18, but fails to disclose wherein the outlet is disposed through the third wall.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the outlet is disposed through the third wall in order to provide water circulation and/or drainage at the third wall, at the front of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Re claim 20, Barnes discloses a sun shelf (Fig. 1A) comprising:
a main body (100) having a first wall (110), a second wall (120), a third wall (115), a fourth wall (see examiner comments), a base (125), the first wall (110) having a first height (height of 110 from 125) from the base (125), the second wall (120) having a second height (height of 120 from 125) from the base (125), the third wall (115) having a third height (height of 115 from 125) from the base (125), and the fourth wall (see examiner comments) having a fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments from the front vertical wall of base 125) from the base (125), the fourth height (height of that shown in the examiner comments) being less than (Fig. 1A) the first height (height of 110 from 125), the second height (height of 120 from 125), and the third height (height of 115 from 125),
but fails to disclose a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a cavity, the outlet disposed through the third wall, a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet, the tubular member disposed within the cavity, and a panel disposed over the cavity.
However, Thomson discloses a first intake (Fig. 6-7; 56), an outlet (58), and a recess (Fig. 7, the space which receives 60 and 62 within 64), and a tubular member (62, 64) attached to the main body (52) and extending from (Col 5 line 67-Col 6 line 3) the first intake (56) to the outlet (58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a first intake, an outlet, and a recess, and a tubular member attached to the main body and extending from the first intake to the outlet as disclosed by Thomson in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety, as is the normal and logical manner of use of intakes, outlets, and tubular members, and as is well-known and common in the art.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes wherein the outlet is disposed through the third wall in order to provide water circulation and/or drainage at the third wall, at the front of the sun shelf. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
In addition, Bergstrom discloses a cavity (Fig. 5, between 37 and 101), wherein the tubular member (Fig. 1, unlabeled tubing) is disposed within (Fig. 1) the cavity (between 37 and 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a cavity, and wherein the tubular member is disposed within the cavity as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to circulate filtering water to maintain cleanliness and safety in an open space to reduce weight.
In addition, Bergstrom discloses a panel (101) disposed over (Fig. 5) the cavity (between 37 and 101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sun shelf of Barnes with a panel disposed over the cavity as disclosed by Bergstrom in order to increase aesthetic appeal and to provide a finish thereto (Col 2 lines 63-67).
Examiner Comments
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635