Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 13 August 2026.
Claims 1-30 are presently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
2. Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground. Regarding claims 1-20, applicant argues that Asikainen fails to disclose a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client configured to transmit a post request to an integration server via an integration application programming interface, together with a daily workout screen (DWS) server
and DWS software configured to poll both the integration server for data and the DWS server for content updates.
In response to applicant’s argument, Asikainen discloses network connected workout system including client devices (130), personal training applications (110), personal training backend server (120), third-party servers (140) and application programming interface (136). Specifically, the client device 130 comprises desktop computer executing personal training application 110c wherein the application communicates with backend server 120 and third-party servers 140 over network 105. Furthermore, Asikainen discloses that API 136 receives authenticated requests from the personal training application while the backend server implements its own API for exchanging instructions, data and results with client applications (see fig. 1A and ¶ [0037]-[0039]). Accordingly, the client-server architecture in Asikainen allows backend servers to manage workout programs, provide workout-related information to interactive training devices which execute personal training application to present workout content and associated information to the users. Therefore, Asikainen discloses a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client configured to transmit a post request to an integration server via an integration application programming interface, together with a daily workout screen (DWS) server and DWS software configured to poll both the integration server for data and the DWS server for content updates, as currently recited in the claims. Thus, meeting the required scope of the claimed invention as currently presented.
Applicant employs broad language, which includes the use of word, and phrases, which have broad meanings in the art. In addition, Applicant has not argued any narrower interpretation of the claim language, nor amended the claims significantly enough to construe a narrower meaning to the limitations. As the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, which are broader than Applicant’s disclosure, the Examiner is forced to interpret the claim limitations as broadly as reasonably possible, in determining patentability of the disclosed invention. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir.1993). It is the Examiner’s position that the detailed functionality that allows for Applicant’s invention to overcome the prior art used in the rejection, fails to differentiate in detail how these features are unique. It is advised that, in order to further expedite the prosecution of the application in response to this action, Applicant should amend the base claims to describe in more narrow detail the true distinguishing features of Applicant’s claim invention.
Failure for Applicant to significantly narrow definition/scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant intends broad interpretation be given to the claims. The Examiner has interpreted the claims with scope parallel to the Applicant in the response and reiterates the need for the Applicant to more clearly and distinctly defines the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asikainen et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0296966.
Regarding claim 1, Asikainen discloses a workout system (see Asikainen, ¶ [0005]; system for performing exercises is disclosed), comprising: an integration server (see Asikainen, fig. 1 item 140 and ¶ [0042]; a server connection to client device and personal training backend server is provided); a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client configured to transmit a post request to the integration server via an integration application programming interface (see Asikainen, ¶ [0039]; interactive personal training devices capable of transmit voice commands are disclosed); a daily workout screen (DWS) server (see Asikainen, ¶ [0044]-[0045]; personal training server is provided); and a DWS software configured to poll the integration server for data and configured to poll the DWS server for content updates (see Asikainen, ¶ [0008] and [0047]; personal training application is provided to user’s personal training devices).
Regarding claim 2, Asikainen discloses wherein the integration server is connected to a web portal (see Asikainen, ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Asikainen discloses wherein the web portal is configured to receive instructions from an administrator (see Asikainen, ¶ [0104] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Asikainen discloses wherein the DWS server is connected to a web portal (see Asikainen, ¶ [0133]).
Regarding claim 5, Asikainen discloses wherein the web portal is configured to receive instructions from an administrator (see Asikainen, ¶ [0104] and [0112]).
Regrading claim 6, Asikainen discloses wherein the workout system integrates at least one audio file with at least one visual file (see Asikainen, ¶ [0043] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Asikainen discloses wherein the integration server stores at least one of latency data, time data, content data, and authentication data (see Asikainen, ¶ [0042] and [0063]).
Regrading claim 8, Asikainen discloses wherein the at least one of latency data, time data, content data, and authentication data is provided by the VTS desktop client (see Asikainen, ¶ [0040] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Asikainen discloses a method for syncing a workout system (see Asikainen, ¶ [0005] and [0073]; synchronized system for performing exercise is provided), comprising: transmitting data from a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client to an integration server (see Asikainen, ¶ [0039]; interactive personal training devices capable of transmit voice commands to the server); storing the transmitted data on the integration server (see Asikainen, server stores user data and content items); polling, via the daily workout screen (DWS) server, for the data stored on the integration server (see Asikainen, ¶ [0008] and [0047]; personal training application is provided to user’s personal training devices to retrieve contents stored in the backend server is disclosed); calculating latency associated with the data (see Asikainen ¶ [0074]; calculating and analyzing latency reduction data is provided); and syncing the workout system based on the calculated latency (see Asikainen, ¶ [0074] and [0082]; synchronizing and optimizing workout based on latency reduction is disclosed).
Regarding claim 10, Asikainen discloses wherein the integration server is connected to a web portal (see Asikainen, ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Asikainen discloses wherein the web portal is configured to receive instructions from an administrator (see Asikainen, ¶ [0104] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Asikainen discloses wherein the DWS server is connected to a web portal (see Asikainen, ¶ [0133]).
Regarding claim 13, Asikainen discloses wherein the web portal is configured to receive instructions from an administrator (see Asikainen, ¶ [0104] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 14, Asikainen discloses wherein the workout system integrates at least one audio file with at least one visual file (see Asikainen, ¶ [0043] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Asikainen discloses wherein the integration server stores at least one of latency data, time data, content data, and authentication data (see Asikainen, ¶ [0042] and [0063]).
Regrading claim 16, Asikainen discloses wherein the at least one of latency data, time data, content data, and authentication data is provided by the VTS desktop client (see Asikainen, ¶ [0040] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Asikainen discloses a workout system (see Asikainen, ¶ [0005]; system for performing exercises is disclosed), comprising: an integration server (see Asikainen, fig. 1 item 140 and ¶ [0042]; a server connection to client device and personal training backend server is provided); and a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client configured to transmit a post request to the integration server via an integration application programming interface (see Asikainen, ¶ [0039]; interactive personal training devices capable of transmit voice commands are disclosed); a daily workout screen (DWS) server (see Asikainen, ¶ [0044]-[0045]; personal training server is provided); and a DWS software configured to poll the integration server for data and configured to poll the DWS server for content updates (see Asikainen, ¶ [0008] and [0047]; personal training application is provided to user’s personal training devices).
Regarding claim 18, Asikainen discloses further comprising: a daily workout screen (DWS) server (see Asikainen, ¶ [0044] - [0045]) and a DWS software configured to poll the integration server for data and configured to poll the DWS server for content updates (see Asikainen, ¶ [0008] and [0047]).
Regrading claim 19, Asikainen discloses wherein the workout system integrates at least one audio file with at least one visual file (see Asikainen, ¶ [0043] and [0070]).
Regrading claim 20, Asikainen discloses wherein the integration server stores at least one of latency data, time data, content data, and authentication data (see Asikainen, ¶ [0042] and [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asikainen in view of Deutsch et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0173395.
Regarding claim 21, Asikainen discloses the workout system comprising: an integration server (); a voice timer system (VTS) desktop client configured to transmit a post request to the integration server via an integration application programming interface (); a daily workout screen (DWS) server (); and a DWS software configured to poll the integration server for data and configured to poll the DWS server for content updates ().
Although Asikainen discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose a workout facility, comprising: a plurality of stations; a plurality of screens, each of the plurality of screens corresponding to one of the plurality of stations; and a workout system connected to each of the plurality of screens, wherein the workout system causes content to be played on each of the plurality of screens.
Deutsch teaches a workout facility, comprising: a plurality of stations; a plurality of screens, each of the plurality of screens corresponding to one of the plurality of stations; and a workout system connected to each of the plurality of screens, wherein the workout system causes content to be played on each of the plurality of screens (see Deutsch, fig. 1, ¶ [0006] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Deutsch with that of Asikainen in order to expand and provide working facility that accommodates plurality of gym users.
Regarding claim 22, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein each of the plurality of screens is associated with a workout session, and the content played on each of the plurality of screens is specific to the workout session (see Asikainen, ¶ [0103] and Deutsch, ¶ [0078]).
Regarding claim 23, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein each of the plurality of screens is associated with a different workout session (see Deutsch, ¶ [0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 24, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the workout session comprises a workout duration, a warning duration, and an active break duration (see Deutsch, ¶ [0077] and [0089]).
Regarding claim 25, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the content played on each of the plurality of screens includes one or more timers correlating to the workout duration, the warning duration, and the active break duration (see Deutsch, ¶ [0033] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 26, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the one or more timers is green during the workout duration, yellow during the warning duration, and red during the active break duration (see Deutsch, ¶ [0089] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 27, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the content played on each of the plurality of screens includes one or more workout instructions (see Deutsch, ¶ [0034]).
Regarding claim 28, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the content comprises an audio of a human voice providing the workout instruction (see Deutsch, ¶ [0099]).
Regarding claim 29, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the workout instruction comprises instructions to conduct a first physical activity during the workout duration and the warning duration and a second physical activity during the active break duration (see Deutsch, ¶ [0077]).
Regarding claim 30, Asikainen-Deutsch teaches wherein the workout duration is approximately two and a half minutes in length, the warning duration is approximately thirty seconds in length, and the active break duration is approximately thirty seconds in length (see Deutsch, ¶ [0033]).
Prior Art of Record
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED IBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444