DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “interface unit”; “patient monitoring unit”; “display unit” in claims 1-17.
Pages 4 and 5, teaches that the “interface unit”; “patient monitoring unit”; and “display unit” are hardware structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12, 13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent no. 6,379,304 to Gilbert et al. in view of U. S. Publication No. 2021/0170205 to Vortman et al.
Regarding Claim 1, 16, and 17-20, Gilbert teaches an ultrasound interface unit, communicatively coupleable in use with both: an ultrasound sensing apparatus and a patient monitoring unit, said ultrasound interface unit configured in use to: receive from the ultrasound sensing apparatus acquired ultrasound data representative of a subject, and perform processing of said data to derive at least one physiological or anatomical parameter related to the subject (fig. 3-5 and col. 5 lines 1 through col. 6 line 50); generate a data output representative of said derived parameter and communicate said data output to the patient monitoring unit, and perform a configuration function comprising communicating with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause adjustment of one or more image-related operating parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus for configuring the ultrasound sensing apparatus to acquire ultrasound data suitable for monitoring said physiological or anatomical parameter over time (fig. 2-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, and col. 5 lines 1 through col. 6 line 50 and claim 8; Gilbert further teaches changing different Modes, B-mode, M-mode, doppler, color doppler etc, which are different imaging parameters, for monitoring anatomic/physical parameters (doppler and color doppler is used for blood flow, which is blood vessel imaging, the anatomical feature being blood vessel).
Gilbert teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach determining atleast one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters, adjusting one or more image-related parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus.
Vortman teaches determining atleast one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters, adjusting one or more image-related parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus (abstract; fig. 4 and para 009, and 037-042 teaches determining at least one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters adjusting parameters of the ultrasound imaging system).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the ultrasound imaging parameters based on the determined anatomical or physiological parameters as taught by Vortman, since such a setup would result in more precise monitoring of the target region.
Regarding Claim 2, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound interface unit is configured in use to supply power to the ultrasound sensing apparatus for driving ultrasound transmission by ultrasound transducers of the ultrasound sensing apparatus (col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to power the probe).
Regarding Claim 3, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus is an ultrasound transducer unit comprising one or more ultrasound transducers (col. 4 lines 30-40).
Regarding Claim 4, Gilbert teaches that the interface unit is configured to generate drive signals for driving ultrasound transmission by the ultrasound transducers of the ultrasound transducer unit, wherein the configuration function comprises configuring parameters of said drive signals (col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to dive the ultrasonic transducers in the probe).
Regarding Claims 5-7, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus includes local drive means for generating drive signals for driving ultrasound transmission by transducers comprised by an ultrasound transducer unit of the ultrasound sensing apparatus, and wherein the configuration function comprises communicating with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause the ultrasound sensing apparatus to adjust parameters of said locally generated drive signals (figs. 3-5; col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to dive the ultrasonic transducers in the probe).
Regarding Claims 8-10, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus comprises a display unit, and the ultrasound interface unit is configured to communicate with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause display on said display unit of the at least one physiological or anatomical parameter derived by the interface unit (figs. 3-5 and col.6 lines 22-55).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Gilbert teaches an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the ultrasound sensing apparatus (fig. 3 teaches ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the ultrasound sensing apparatus).
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent no. 6,379,304 to Gilbert et al. in view of U. S. Publication No. 2017/0112472 to Song et al.
Regarding Claims 11, 14, and 15, Gilbert teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach one or more medical sensors for receiving medical sensor data, and an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the patient monitoring unit.
Song teaches one or more medical sensors for receiving medical sensor data, and an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the patient monitoring unit (para 066 and 0131 teaches multiple sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Gilbert with one or more medical sensors for patient monitoring as taught by Song, since such a setup would result in coordinated images with patient physiologic data, resulting in more medical data in the images.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that Gilbert reference does not teach does not expressly teach determining atleast one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters, adjusting one or more image-related parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus.
Examiner would like to point out that a new reference Vortman teaches determining atleast one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters, adjusting one or more image-related parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus (abstract; fig. 4 and para 009, and 037-042 teaches determining at least one physiological or anatomical parameter and based on the parameters adjusting parameters of the ultrasound imaging system), as such all claim limitations have been met.
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798