DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “interface unit”; “patient monitoring unit”; “display unit” in claims 1-17.
Pages 4 and 5, teaches that the “interface unit”; “patient monitoring unit”; and “display unit” are hardware structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Patent no. 6,379,304 to Gilbert et al.
Regarding Claim 1, 16, and 17-20, Gilbert teaches an ultrasound interface unit, communicatively coupleable in use with both: an ultrasound sensing apparatus and a patient monitoring unit, said ultrasound interface unit configured in use to: receive from the ultrasound sensing apparatus acquired ultrasound data representative of a subject, and perform processing of said data to derive at least one physiological or anatomical parameter related to the subject (fig. 3-5 and col. 5 lines 1 through col. 6 line 50); generate a data output representative of said derived parameter and communicate said data output to the patient monitoring unit, and perform a configuration function comprising communicating with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause adjustment of one or more image-related operating parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus for configuring the ultrasound sensing apparatus to acquire ultrasound data suitable for monitoring said physiological or anatomical parameter over time (fig. 2-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, and col. 5 lines 1 through col. 6 line 50 and claim 8; Gilbert further teaches changing different Modes, B-mode, M-mode, doppler, color doppler etc, which are different imaging parameters, for monitoring anatomic/physical parameters (doppler and color doppler is used for blood flow, which is blood vessel imaging, the anatomical feature being blood vessel).
Regarding Claim 2, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound interface unit is configured in use to supply power to the ultrasound sensing apparatus for driving ultrasound transmission by ultrasound transducers of the ultrasound sensing apparatus (col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to power the probe).
Regarding Claim 3, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus is an ultrasound transducer unit comprising one or more ultrasound transducers (col. 4 lines 30-40).
Regarding Claim 4, Gilbert teaches that the interface unit is configured to generate drive signals for driving ultrasound transmission by the ultrasound transducers of the ultrasound transducer unit, wherein the configuration function comprises configuring parameters of said drive signals (col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to dive the ultrasonic transducers in the probe).
Regarding Claims 5-7, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus includes local drive means for generating drive signals for driving ultrasound transmission by transducers comprised by an ultrasound transducer unit of the ultrasound sensing apparatus, and wherein the configuration function comprises communicating with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause the ultrasound sensing apparatus to adjust parameters of said locally generated drive signals (figs. 3-5; col. 6 lines 37-48 teaches an interface unit to dive the ultrasonic transducers in the probe).
Regarding Claims 8-10, Gilbert teaches that the ultrasound sensing apparatus comprises a display unit, and the ultrasound interface unit is configured to communicate with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause display on said display unit of the at least one physiological or anatomical parameter derived by the interface unit (figs. 3-5 and col.6 lines 22-55).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Gilbert teaches an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the ultrasound sensing apparatus (fig. 3 teaches ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the ultrasound sensing apparatus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent no. 6,379,304 to Gilbert et al. in view of U. S. Publication No. 2017/0112472 to Song et al.
Regarding Claims 11, 14, and 15, Gilbert teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach one or more medical sensors for receiving medical sensor data, and an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the patient monitoring unit.
Song teaches one or more medical sensors for receiving medical sensor data, and an ultrasound interface unit communicatively coupled with the patient monitoring unit (para 066 and 0131 teaches multiple sensors).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Gilbert with one or more medical sensors for patient monitoring as taught by Song, since such a setup would result in coordinated images with patient phyiologic data, resulting in more medical data in the images.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gilbert reference does not teach the limitations of the independent claim.
Examiner would like to point out that the Claims are very broad and the limitations are interpreted using the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 1 requires “receive ultrasound data to acquire physiological/ anatomical parameter related to the subject”. This limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation, merely requires receiving ultrasound signals from the subject. The physiological parameters are not defined.
The limitation “generating data output representative of derived parameter and communicate said data output to the patient monitoring unit”. This limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation, merely requires displaying the acquired ultrasonic data.
Claim 1 further requires “perform a configuration function comprising communicating with the ultrasound sensing apparatus to cause adjustment of one or more image-related operating parameters of the ultrasound sensing apparatus for configuring the ultrasound sensing apparatus to acquire ultrasound data suitable for monitoring said physiological or anatomical parameter over time.
The “configuration function” the “parameters” etc. are not defined, as such any change in ultrasonic mode, or change in any parameters meets the claim limitation.
The Gilbert reference teaches acquiring ultrasonic data from the subject and displaying the data, which includes the receiving and generating step (figs. 2, 3, 8, 16). Gilbert further teaches changing different Modes, B-mode, M-mode, doppler, color doppler etc, which are different imaging parameters, for monitoring anatomic/physical parameters (doppler and color doppler is used for blood flow, which is blood vessel imaging, the anatomical feature being blood vessel), as such meets the claim limitations and the rejection is maintained and is made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798