DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 22 (line 12) “when the first panel to the second panel” should recite
--when the first key is engaged in the primary apertures of the first and second panels and the second key is engaged in the second apertures of the first and second panels to secure the first panel to the second panel--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17, 18, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United-Carr Fastener (GB 598,841).
As to claim 1, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector capable of use with a modular display panel system comprising:
a first key 6; and
a second key 7 joined to the first key by a bridge 5;
wherein the first key further comprises an alignment structure 9 configured to align the connector in a primary aperture 2 in a panel 1 when engaged therein, and the second key further comprises an engagement structure 15 configured to releasably engage a secondary aperture 2 in the panel and retain the alignment structure engaged in the primary aperture;
wherein the bridge comprises a lower surface A that is spaced apart from an upper surface of the panel when the first key is engaged in the primary aperture and the second key is engaged in the second aperture (Figure 7 reprinted below with annotations), whereby the bridge is capable of providing a handle form a user to grasp and move the panel (Figures 1-4).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the alignment structure 9 of the first key 6 includes an interior and an exterior surface engageable in the primary aperture 2, and the engagement structure 15 of the second key 7 includes an interior surface engageable in the secondary aperture 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 3, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the interior and exterior surfaces of the first key 6 are engageable with a first end and a second end, respectively, in the primary aperture 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 4, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the interior surface of the second key 7 is engageable with a first end of the secondary aperture 2 when the alignment structure 9 is engaged in the primary aperture 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 5, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector comprising an arcuate ramp 13 adjacent to the first interior surface configured to urge the first exterior surface into contact with the second end as the connector is rotated (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 6, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the first key 6 comprises a retention structure 11,13 configured to limit movement of the first key in a direction normal to the panel 1 through which the primary aperture 2 extends when the first key is engaged in the primary aperture (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 7, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the retention structure 11,13 includes an inner stop 13 and an outer stop 11, the inner and outer stops configured to be positioned in adjacent contact with the panel 1 adjacent to the primary aperture 2 when the second key 7 is engaged the secondary aperture 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 8, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the connector comprises a resilient material (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 9, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the second key 7 comprises a release 15 configured to enable selective disengagement of the second key from the secondary aperture 2 by a flexure of the connector (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 10, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement capable of a connecting at least two panels in a display panel system comprising:
a first panel 1 and a second panel 4, each having a plurality of uniformly sized apertures 2 including at least a primary aperture 2 and a secondary aperture 2, each aperture including a first end and a parallel and oppositely disposed second end spaced apart by a key length;
a connector having a first key 6 and a second key 7 joined thereto by a bridge 5, the connector being formed from a resilient material;
wherein the first key comprises an alignment structure 9 configured to simultaneously align the connector in the primary apertures of first and second panels when engaged therein, and the second key comprises an engagement structure 15 configured to simultaneously engage the secondary apertures in the first and second panels and retain the alignment structure simultaneously engaged with the first and second ends of the first apertures and releasably fix the first panel in relation to the second panel;
wherein the bridge comprises a lower surface A that is spaced apart from an upper surface of the first panel when the first key is engaged in the primary apertures of the first and second panels and the second key is engaged in the second apertures of the first and second panels, whereby the bridge is capable of providing a handle form a user to grasp and move the first and second panels (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 11, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein the first key 6 is engageable in the primary apertures 2 of the first and second panels 1,4 by rotating movement of the connector to bring the second key 7 into engagement with the secondary apertures 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 12, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein the first key 6 comprises an interior surface configured for adjacent contact with the end of the primary apertures 2 of the first and second panels 1,4, and an exterior surface configured for adjacent contact with the respective second ends of the primary apertures when the first key is fully engaged in the primary apertures (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 13, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein the first key 6 comprises an arcuate ramp 13 adjacent to the first interior surface configured to urge the first exterior surface into contact with the second end as the connector is rotated to bring the second key 7 into engagement with the secondary apertures 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 14, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein the first key 6 comprises a retention structure 11,13 configured to limit movement of the first key in a direction normal to the panels 1,4 through which the apertures 2 extend when the first key is engaged in the primary aperture 2 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 15, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein the second key 7 comprises a release 15 configured to enable selective disengagement of the second key from the secondary aperture 2 by a flexure of the connector thereby enabling disengagement of the second key from the secondary apertures, rotation of the connector to disengage the first key 6 from the primary apertures 2, and separation of the connector from the at least two panels 1,4 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 17, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein adjacent pairs of apertures 2 in the plurality of apertures are uniformly spaced by an aperture interval (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 18, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection wherein the aperture interval is greater than the key length (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 22, United-Carr Fastener discloses a method for joining panels in a display panel system comprising the steps of:
providing a first panel 1 having a primary aperture 2 and a spaced apart secondary aperture 2;
providing a second panel 4 having a primary aperture 2 and a spaced apart secondary aperture 2;
providing a connector having a first key 6 and a second key 7 joined by a bridge 5;
positioning the first panel and the second panel to align respective primary and secondary apertures;
inserting the first key into the primary apertures of the first and second panels; and
rotating the connector to move the second key into engagement with the second apertures to fully engage the first key in the primary apertures of the first and second panels thereby securing the first panel to the second panel;
wherein the bridge comprises a lower surface A that is spaced apart from an upper surface of the first panel when the first key is engaged in the primary apertures of the first and second panels and the second key is engaged in the second apertures of the first and second panels to secure the first panel to the second panel, whereby the bridge is capable of providing a handle form a user to grasp and move the first and second panels (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 23, United-Carr Fastener discloses a method comprising the steps of:
disengaging the second key 7 from the secondary apertures 2 by flexing the connector;
rotating the connector to move the secondary key away from the secondary apertures; and
removing the first key 6 from the primary apertures 2 thereby releasing the first panel 1 from the second panel 4 (Figures 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United-Carr Fastener.
As to claim 16, United-Carr Fastener fails to explicitly disclose a connection arrangement wherein the key length ranges between 25 millimeters and 75 millimeters. United-Carr Fastener does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific size of the key length.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection arrangement disclosed by United-Carr Fastener wherein the key length ranges between 25 millimeters and 75 millimeters, as United-Carr Fastener does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific size of the key length, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
As to claim 19, United-Carr Fastener fails to explicitly disclose a connection wherein the aperture interval is 100 millimeters. United-Carr Fastener does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific size of the aperture interval.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection arrangement disclosed by United-Carr Fastener wherein the aperture interval is 100 millimeters, as United-Carr Fastener does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific size of the aperture interval, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United-Carr Fastener in view of Imgrund (DE 2 120 369).
As to claims 20 and 21, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement wherein at least one of the plurality of apertures 2 comprises a third edge and a fourth edge, the third and fourth edges being oppositely disposed and parallel to each other (Figures 1-4).
United-Carr Fastener fails to disclose a connection arrangement wherein, spacing between the third and fourth edges being equal to the key length, the third and fourth edges being angled in relation to the first and second edges by an offset angle ranging from 15 degrees to 90 degrees.
Imgrund teaches a connection arrangement wherein at least one of a plurality of apertures in panels A comprises a third edge and a fourth edge (Figure 9 reprinted below with annotations), the third and fourth edges being oppositely disposed and parallel to each other, spacing between the third and fourth edges being equal to a key length of a key B, the third and fourth edges being angled in relation to first and second edges of the apertures by an offset angle ranging from 15 degrees to 90 degrees; the 90 degrees offset angle between the sets of opposing edges of the apertures enabling the key to be received with the apertures at different angular orientations of the panels, providing for great variety of panel assemblies and greater utility of the connection arrangement (Figures 2-9). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection arrangement disclosed by United-Carr Fastener wherein the apertures comprise third and fourth edges having a spacing therebetween equal to the key length, and angled in relation to the first and second edges by an offset angle of 90 degrees, as taught by Imgrund, in order to enable the key to be received with the apertures at different angular orientations of the panels, providing for great variety of panel assemblies and greater utility of the connection arrangement.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1, 10 and 23, Attorney argues that:
United-Carr Fastener fails to disclose a connector wherein the bridge comprises a lower surface that is spaced apart from an upper surface of the panel when the first key is engaged in the primary aperture and the second key is engaged in the second aperture, whereby the bridge is configured to provide a handle form a user to grasp and move the panel.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1, 10 and 22, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connector wherein the bridge 5 comprises a lower surface A that is spaced apart from an upper surface of the panel 1 when the first key 6 is engaged in the primary aperture 2 and the second key 7 is engaged in the second aperture 2 (Figure 7 reprinted above with annotations), whereby the bridge is capable of providing a handle form a user to grasp and move the panel (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 10, Attorney argues that:
United-Carr Fastener fails to disclose a connection arrangement comprising a first panel and a second panel, each having a plurality of uniformly sized apertures including at least a primary aperture and a secondary aperture, as the United-Carr Fastener reference fails to explicitly recite in the specification that all of apertures 2 are the same size.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 10, United-Carr Fastener discloses a connection arrangement comprising a first panel 1 and a second panel 4, each having a plurality of uniformly sized apertures 2 including at least a primary aperture 2 and a secondary aperture 2 (Figure 1).
As to Attorney’s allegations that the plurality of identically-illustrated and identically-numbered apertures 2 of the United-Carr Fastener reference are not explicitly disclosed as the same size, Examiner notes that Figure 1 clearly shows all of apertures 2 as having the same size. Clearly, the drawings are good for what they clearly show, in that the identically-illustrated and identically-numbered apertures 2 are identical and the same size; absent explicit disclosure of the contrary. Accordingly, such arguments are mere conjecture.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
08/21/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619