DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 9/12/2024.
2. Claims 1-5 are pending in the case.
3. Claim 1 is independent claim.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: parking monitoring service.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the higher image quality of the video of the camera". The term “higher” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “higher” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is also insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, “the higher image quality” was not previously introduced.
For examination purposes, claim 2 will be considered as “wherein the program further causes the terminal to execute shortening playback time based on a quality of the video of the selected camera
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamdan, Majed; U.S. Published Application No. 20050190262 A1 in view of Palmer et al. (hereinafter “Palmer”), U.S. Published Application No. 20150105934 A1.
Claim 1
Hamdan teaches A non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a terminal used by a user to execute functions of: (e.g., computer readable medium storing program to cause computer to execute logical functions. par. 78; If embodied in software, each block may represent a module, segment, or portion of code that comprises program instructions to implement the specified logical function(s). The program instructions may be embodied in the form of source code that comprises human-readable statements written in a programming language or machine code that comprises numerical instructions recognizable by a suitable execution system such as a processor in a computer system or other system. Par. 80; Also, where the control system 206 comprises software or code, it can be embodied in any computer-readable medium for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system such as, for example, a processor in a computer system or other system. In this sense, the logic may comprise, for example, statements including instructions and declarations that can be fetched from the computer-readable medium and executed by the instruction execution system. In the context of the present invention, a "computer-readable medium" can be any medium that can contain, store, or maintain the control system 206 for use by or in connection with the instruction execution system.)
accepting an operation of selecting a camera desired by the user from the list; (e.g., designating a camera installed on vehicle based on directional button par. 14; To this end, the vehicle 100 includes a vehicle video system 101 having a plurality of cameras mounted on or in the vehicle 100. par. 41; The video image selector 116 includes a number of directional buttons 173 including, for example, a "left front" button LF, a "right front" button RF, a "left rear" button LR, and a "right rear" button RR. The directional buttons 173 allow a user to select a respective left front, right front, left rear, or right rear video image 111 (FIG. 2) from a corresponding camera 103, 106 (FIG. 2) associated with such positions to be included as one of the output video images 133 on a respective monitor 113 associated with the video image selector 116.)
and performing playback of a video of the camera that is selected. (e.g., performing video playback of the selected camera par. 91; To implement the playback feature of the video processing unit 109', a user manipulates a video image selector 116' to transmit a control signal to the control processor 153 indicating that playback of the output video image 133 at its current position is desired. In response, the control processor 153 transmits a signal to the digital video recording processor 403 causing it to play back the output video image 133. In addition, the user may manipulate a video image selector 116' to fast forward or rewind the output video image 133.)
Hamdan fails to expressly teach accepting designation of a vehicle desired by the user, from among a plurality of vehicles associated with the user;
displaying a list of cameras installed in the vehicle that is designated;
However, Palmer teaches accepting designation of a vehicle desired by the user, from among a plurality of vehicles associated with the user; (e.g., drop down box to designate a driver and associated vehicle par. 108; A driver 113 drop-down type selection box 114 may permit operators of these playback systems to select other fleet drivers to which these playback systems may be pointed to view events associated with that particular driver.)
displaying a list of cameras installed in the vehicle that is designated; (e.g., displaying a list of tabs associated with vehicle camera views par. 64; To address this, these players may have two players side-by-side with the video type selectable in the interface by way of a tab strip control 33, which as shown in FIG. 3 for example, may include five tab selections (e.g., "BackCam", "StreetView", "MapView", "BirdseyeView", "Driver View", and/or other tab selections). In agreement with which tab is selected and triggered, the video playback may be switched between the possible video presentation types. Par. 64; Additional views that correspond to additional cameras may be provided, for example. In some implementations, the cameras may include a forward road camera, an interior cab camera, a left side backward facing camera, a rear of the vehicle backward facing camera, and/or other cameras.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle video recording system as taught by Hamdan to include selectable elements representing vehicles and camaras as taught by Palmer with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of quickly displaying a desired video event from a plethora of video related menu options.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Hamdan teaches wherein the program causes the terminal , for switching predetermined equipment installed in the vehicle on or off, during playback of the video of the camera that is selected. (e.g., hand held device for switching between visible light and night vision capability devices (i.e., predetermined equipment) to display video par. 14; Specifically, the cameras include a number of visible light cameras 103 and a number of night vision cameras 106. Alternatively, a single camera may be employed in the place of one of the visible light cameras 103 and one the night vision camera 106 that includes both visible light and night vision capability. Par. 15; The vehicle video system 101 further includes video image selectors 116 that may be hand-held devices or may be mounted in the commercial vehicle 100 in an appropriate manner. Par. 22; The cameras 103, 106 selected to be in one of the subsets from which the output video images 133 are generated may be selected according to various characteristics. For example, a given subset of cameras 103, 106 may include only visible light cameras 103 or only night vision cameras 106. In this respect, an operator can thus dictate that the output video images 133 incorporate video images 111 generated entirely by visible light cameras 103 or night vision cameras 106, depending upon the nature of the environment surrounding the vehicle 100.)
Hamdan fails to expressly teach wherein the program causes the terminal to display a graphical user interface (GUI) component.
However, Palmer teaches wherein the program causes the terminal to display a graphical user interface (GUI) component. (e.g., graphical user interface for switching between vehicle camera equipment as shown in Figure 3 par. 64; In agreement with which tab is selected and triggered, the video playback may be switched between the possible video presentation types. The player may present a synchronized playback of both real and virtual videos in agreement with the event period and/or the timeline control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle video recording system as taught by Hamdan to include a graphical user interface with selectable elements representing equipment installed on a vehicle as taught by Palmer with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the ability to display more camera related functions in effort to increase scalability (see par. 64)
Claim 4 depends on claim 3:
Hamdan teaches wherein the program further causes the terminal to execute: accepting operation of the [[GUI]] component; and transmitting, to the vehicle, a command for switching the predetermined equipment on or off, in accordance with accepting the operation of the [[GUI]] component. (e.g., switching between visible light and night vision capability devices (i.e., predetermined equipment) to display video Par. 22; The cameras 103, 106 selected to be in one of the subsets from which the output video images 133 are generated may be selected according to various characteristics. For example, a given subset of cameras 103, 106 may include only visible light cameras 103 or only night vision cameras 106. In this respect, an operator can thus dictate that the output video images 133 incorporate video images 111 generated entirely by visible light cameras 103 or night vision cameras 106, depending upon the nature of the environment surrounding the vehicle 100. Par. 42; In addition, the video image selector 116 includes a multi-view button 176 that directs the video processing unit 109 to generate an output video image 133 that includes two, three, or four or more video images 111 from multiple ones of the cameras 103, 106 that are included in the subset 165 (FIG. 2). Par. 46; the video processing unit 109 may react to the signals received directly from the video image selector 116 that are generated upon manipulating any one of the buttons 173, 176, 179, 183. )
Hamdan fails to expressly teach (GUI) component.
However, Palmer teaches (GUI) component. (e.g., graphical user interface for switching between vehicle camera equipment as shown in Figure 3 par. 64; In agreement with which tab is selected and triggered, the video playback may be switched between the possible video presentation types. The player may present a synchronized playback of both real and virtual videos in agreement with the event period and/or the timeline control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle video recording system as taught by Hamdan to include a graphical user interface with selectable elements representing equipment installed on a vehicle as taught by Palmer with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the ability to display more camera related functions in effort to increase scalability (see Palmer; par. 64)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamdan/Palmer as cited above, in view of Siemens et al. (hereinafter “Siemens”), U.S. Published Application No. 20060274829 A1.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Hamdan/Palmer fails to expressly teach wherein the program further causes the terminal to execute shortening of playback time the higher image quality of the video of the camera that is selected is.
However, Siemens teaches wherein the program further causes the terminal to execute shortening of playback time the higher image quality of the video of the camera that is selected is. (e.g., assigning selected streaming video camera a higher bit rate (i.e., shortening of playback time) based on a quality of video (e.g., high or low image quality)par. 130; In addition to handling a variety of compression schemes, it is not necessary for all channels to have the same bit rate, or, for that matter, even use the same compression scheme. In one embodiment, one channel maybe configured for a MPEG-2 hi-bit rate and another channel for H.1264 low bit rate. This allows for flexibility to choose how to allocate total bandwidth instead of dividing evenly between video signals. Thus, a primary camera can be given a bit rate that has the highest quality, and the back-up cameras can share a lower bit rate, without sacrificing the video quality of the primary camera.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the graphical user interface communicating with a vehicle equipped with cameras as taught by Hamdan/Palmer to include varying bit rate for playback based on a quality of a camera as taught by Siemens, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of efficiently increasing scalability when bandwidth is limited (see Siemens; par. 130)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamdan/Palmer as cited above, in view of Hayes et al. (hereinafter “Hayes”), U.S. Published Application No. 20180059687 A1.
Claim 5 depends on claim 3:
Hamdan teaches wherein, when the camera that is selected is a camera that shoots forward of the vehicle, (e.g., selected camera with visible light or night vision capabilities mounted in front of vehicle to capture forward view par. 13; Generally, the vehicle includes a front F, rear R, and sides S. par. 14; To this end, the vehicle 100 includes a vehicle video system 101 having a plurality of cameras mounted on or in the vehicle 100. Specifically, the cameras include a number of visible light cameras 103 and a number of night vision cameras 106. Par. 41; the video image selector 116 includes a number of directional buttons 173 including, for example, a "left front" button LF, a "right front" button RF, a "left rear" button LR, and a "right rear" button RR. The directional buttons 173 allow a user to select a respective left front, right front, left rear, or right rear video image 111 (FIG. 2) from a corresponding camera 103, 106 (FIG. 2) associated with such positions to be included as one of the output video images 133 on a respective monitor 113 associated with the video image selector 116.)
Hamden/Palmer fail to expressly teach the predetermined equipment is a headlight of the vehicle, and the GUI component is a GUI component for switching the headlight on or off.
However, Hayes teaches the predetermined equipment is a headlight of the vehicle, and the GUI component is a GUI component for switching the headlight on or off. (e.g., using GUI interface human controller to remotely turn on or off headlights and vehicle safety cameras par. 20; In one or more arrangements, one or more of a computing device included in vehicle 102, mobile device 104, and server 106 may be any type of computing device capable of receiving, generating, and/or displaying a user interface, receiving input via the user interface, and communicating the received input to one or more other computing devices. Par. 50; In some embodiments, the system may have a human controller who, when alerted based on, for example, an on-board fleet vehicle diagnostics system, may choose to control a certain feature to be activated or deactivated. Par. 51; turning on/off safety cameras of the fleet vehicle, turning on/off headlights of the fleet vehicle)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the graphical user interface communicating with a vehicle equipped with cameras as taught by Hamdan/Palmer to include activating or deactivating features for headlights and safety cameras as taught by Hayes, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of minimizing risk factors of autonomous vehicles (see Hayes; paras. 3-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MILLER, KENNIS JAMES CN 106494300 B
The OVERRIDE 216 and OVERRIDE 316, collectively referred to as the override position, may turn on the headlight to light the headlight until the vehicle is in the off state of the ignition switch. Before entering the override mode, the headlight may be controlled in an automatic mode. The automatic mode generally controls the lighting of the headlight based on ambient light. For example, if the ambient light near the vehicle detected by the light sensor in the vehicle is lower than the threshold value, then the headlight is turned on; if the ambient light is higher than the threshold value, the headlight is turned off.
Claus; Christopher et al. US 20160173805 A1
Par. 24; Table 3 lists general modifications that are applied to the QoS parameters to select an SQI that corresponds to the CQI for the channel to maintain transmission of video data at an acceptable quality. In the system 200, the transmitter 204 selects one or more QoS parameters to modify based on the identified state of the CQI for the channel and the current QoS parameters for the video stream. As described above, three illustrative QoS parameters that the transmitter 204 modifies for a video stream include the currently selected frame rate, frame resolution, and frame image quality for the video stream. Adjusting the QoS parameters enables the transmitter 204 to reduce or increase the bandwidth transmission requirements for the video stream to accommodate the constraints of the communication channel between the transmitter 204 and receiver 212 for different channel quality levels.
Doron; Moshe US 10666941 B1
Col. 5 line 14; (28) Various factors may correspond to the type of compression. One factor may be a bitrate of the compression. In an example, the higher quality compression may have a higher bitrate (e.g., which may need a higher bitrate link to transfer via the network 56) than the lower quality compression. In another example, the lower quality compression may be a black (or blank) video. Another factor may be an amount of processing to encode and/or decode the compression.
(29) In an example, more time and/or power may be consumed by the apparatus 100 to generate one type of encoding (e.g., using H.265 encoding) than another type of encoding (e.g., using H.264 encoding). Similarly, more time and/or power may be consumed by the playback device 54 to decode the higher quality compression at a lower bitrate than the lower quality compression at a higher bitrate. In another example, a factor may be the specifications of the playback device 54 (e.g., playback resolution, size of the viewport, aspect ratio, supported decoders, etc.) provided in the signal ROI_COR. In some embodiments, a variable bitrate may be used for the high quality and/or the lower quality compression. The bitrate, lossiness and/or processing used for the compression may be varied according to the design criteria of a particular implementation
/HENRY ORR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172