DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the apparatus, claims 4-11, in the reply filed on 12/15/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, “its proximal end section” should read “a proximal end section of the control wire”.
In claim 5, line 2, “its separation” should read “the control wires separation”.
In claim 7, line 2, “the eyelet” should read “an eyelet of the hook-eyelet connection”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: means… for fixation of the kink in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "means…for fixation of the kink" in line 2. The structure the “means” is unclear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the tool parts are designed as two legs connected to one another via a hinge” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if the “tool parts” is part of the claimed invention since it is not positively recited yet further defined. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as not part of the claimed invention and treated as functional language. Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10 by virtue of dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howell et al. (US 2011/0184345).
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to obstruction removal device, Howell discloses (Figs. 1-2) a device (10) for the endoscopic removal of stones or concrements from the bile and pancreatic duct (Abstract), having a control wire (30) which is guided in a tube (20) and at the proximal end of which a control element (70) for the axial displacement of the control wire within the tube and at the distal end of which a catch basket (35) consisting of basket wires (36) are fastened [i.e. fastened at element 40] (Par. 0029 & 0046), wherein an axial displacement of the control wire by means of the control element leads to a loop-like expansion or contraction of the catch basket (Par. 0046), wherein the control wire is separable from the control element and is couplable for lithotripsy of the stone received by the catch basket to an actuating element [i.e. lithotripter], with which a sufficient force is producible on the catch basket (Par. 0047).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Howell et al. (US 2011/0184345) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McAlister (US 6,402,761).
Regarding claim 2, Howell discloses the device according to claim 1. Howell further discloses wherein a tractive force of up to 500N is applicable with the actuating element in order to shatter the stone [i.e. Howell details using a lithotripter for mechanically crushing a stone, hence a tractive force of up to 500N would obviously be applicated] (Abstract & Par. 0047).
In the analogous art of lithotripsy, McAlister teaches wherein a tractive force of up to 500N is applicable with the actuating element in order to shatter the stone (Abstract & Col. 7, lines 40-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Howell to have wherein a tractive force of up to 500N is applicable with the actuating element in order to shatter the stone. Doing so would provide a device for repeated use that can crush larger foreign objects that cannot be removed intact (Abstract & Col. 1, lines 43-52), as taught by McAlister.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al. (US 2011/0184345) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ciervo et al. (US 5,403,324).
Regarding claim 3, Howell discloses the device according to claim 1. Howell fails to disclose wherein a traction means extends from the actuating element and is couplable to the control wire via a form-fitting connection.
In the analogous art of lithotripsy, Ciervo teaches (Fig. 2) wherein a traction means (54) extends from an actuating element (28 & 30) and is couplable to a control wire (14, 15, 17, 19) via a form-fitting connection (64 & 66; Col. 4, lines 30-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Howell to have wherein a traction means extends from the actuating element and is couplable to the control wire via a form-fitting connection. Doing so would provide a device for repeated use that can crush larger foreign objects that cannot be removed intact (Abstract & Col. 1, lines 43-52), as taught by McAlister.
Regarding claim 4, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, disclose wherein the form-fitting connection is designed as a hook-eyelet-connection [i.e. hook wire engagement with fixture plate holes see Ciervo column 4, lines 30-55].
Regarding claim 5, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, disclose wherein the control wire is provided with a kink at its proximal end section after its separation from the control element, the kinked proximal end section extending at an acute angle or parallel to the control wire [i.e. a kink (72) and a kinked proximal end section that is parallel to a distal section of the control wire, see Ciervo figure 2 and annotated figure below].
Regarding claim 6, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, disclose wherein means interact with the proximal end section for fixation of the kink [i.e. hole 66 interacts with the proximal end section for fixation of the kink, see Ciervo figure 2 and column 4, lines 30-55].
Regarding claim 8, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, discloses wherein the actuating element has a shaft extending in the same longitudinal direction as the traction means and having a tensioning device, which is extending transversely thereto and rotatably mounted thereon and into which a proximal end of the traction means is suspendable [i.e. control shaft (30) and threaded portions (80-83), see Ciervo figures 3-4 and column 4, lines 56-68 & column 5, lines 1-5].
Regarding claims 9-11, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, discloses wherein the kink in the proximal end section of the control wire can be produced by means of a tool which has two tool parts performing an angular movement relative to one another [Claim 9]; wherein the tool parts are designed as two legs connected to one another via a hinge, the control wire being fixable to one of the legs [Claim 10]; and wherein the legs have grooves aligned with each other and for receiving the control wire and in that on at least one of the legs a clamp for fixing the control wire is provided [Claim 11] [see Ciervo figure 2 and Column 4, lines 30-55]. The claimed phrase is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the kink in the proximal end section of the control wire. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al. (US 2011/0184345), in view of Ciervo et al. (US 5,403,324) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Tremaglio et al. (US 2005/0250983).
Regarding claim 7, Howell, as modified by Ciervo, disclose wherein the proximal end section of the control wire suspended in the eyelet of the traction means is retracted together with the eyelet into a lumen of a spiral tube that serves as a means for fixation of the kink [i.e. the wires and the plate are retracted into handpiece and threaded portions (34, 80, 81), see Ciervo column 4, lines 56-68 & column 5, lines 1-5]. However, the combination fails to disclose a spiral tube made of metal.
In the analogous art of lithotripsy, Tremaglio teaches a spiral tube made of metal (Par. 0117).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Howell, in view of Ciervo, to have wherein a traction means extends from the actuating element and is couplable to the control wire via a form-fitting connection. Doing so would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (Par. 0117), as taught by Tremaglio.
Conclusion
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 January 11, 2026