DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed February 3, 2026.
3. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended, claims 2-4 canceled, and new claim 6 has been added.
4. Claims 1, 5, and 6 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed February 3, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Lo (US 2014/0229462 A1), herein referenced Lom has been cited to better teach the amended claim limitations. Cotton et al. (US 2018/0108058 A1), herein referenced Cotton, is still applicable to teach the missing limitation the network is an in-vehicle network.
For these reasons above, and the rejections set forth below, claims 1, 5, and 6 have been rejected and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (US 2014/0229462 A1) in view of Cotton et al. (US 2018/0108058 A1).
As per claim 1, Lo teaches an information processing device comprising a processor configured to:
acquire first data collected via a network (see Lo, Abstract: “A system and method that includes providing a query platform with a normalized query tool and a collection interface presenting result items of a collection; adding result items produced by the query tool to a collection, wherein adding a result item to the collection comprising: receiving a query input in a query syntax normalized across multiple query services, retrieving result data of the first query input through a service provider application programming interface (API),… and adding the result item to the collection; and adding at least a second result item to the collection, wherein the second result card is retrieved from a second external service provider API according to the context parameter.”; [0027]: “A card stream interface 110 functions as a collection of digital query result items (e.g., "cards"). The card stream interface 110 is a user interface for interaction with the query platform system.”; and [0051]: “The query platform can use machine learning and other data analysis techniques to predict similar services and queries. Customized services can preferably be fully integrated into the query platform. By enabling outside entities to create and integrate new services, the query platform can grow to supply an ever-increasing range of data formats. Services may additionally be monetized by accounting, metering, charging, measuring, or monitoring usage of a particular service.”);
generate second data by converting the first data such that the second data is on a format supported by a first terminal associated with a first user (see Lo, FIGURE 9, S300; and [0029]: “Normalized query inputs are generalized to common format that can be converted to a native query input supplied to an associated service API module.”; and [0053]: “Additionally, between any two cards there can exist an associative trail of metadata, where context of one card is used to augment or modify another card.”);
determine whether the request is sent from the first terminal or the second terminal (see Lo, [0068]: “a collection and more specifically at least one result card may be rendered differently depending on who is accessing the collection. The augmentation of the collection is preferably automatic based on settings of the user, usage patterns of the user, or detected properties of the user.”),
transmit the second data to the first terminal in a case where the processor determined that the request is sent from the first terminal (see Lo, [0027]: “The card stream interface 110 is preferably presented in a website but may alternatively or additionally be implemented as a mobile application, a desktop application or any suitable application rendering a user interface… The cards are preferably rendered in the stream as a vertically scrollable list of cards. A user can review the previous queries and results (explicitly saved or from query history) by scrolling through the cards and optionally expanding upon queries through interacting with previous cards.”; and [0034]: “In one variation, a card is rendered in a consistent manner across queries to a particular service or more preferably to queries to similar services… ”); and
generate third data by deleting the information from the second data in a case where the processor determines that the request is sent from the second terminal (see Lo, [0068]: “In a variation of a preferred embodiment, modifying a collection can include presenting and augmenting the collection according to a second user S330, as shown in FIG. 18… a collection and more specifically at least one result card may be rendered differently depending on who is accessing the collection. The augmentation of the collection is preferably automatic based on settings of the user, usage patterns of the user, or detected properties of the user… In this way sensitive data may be removed and non-sensitive data of the result card still presented. Enforcing the permissions may be used such that result cards may be used for retrieving personal or sensitive information that would not be appropriate for displaying to other viewers of a collection.”), and
transmit the third data to the second terminal in response to generating the third data (see Lo, [0068]: “… and non-sensitive data of the result card still presented”).
Lo does not explicitly teach that the first data is acquired via in-vehicle network.
Cotton teach that the first data is acquired via in-vehicle network (see Cotton, Abstract: “The visual discovery tool can include at least one hardware processor in communication with the extraction device and the vehicle alert database.”; [0068]: “The extraction (e.g., importation) of data can vary based on the type of data. For example, information related to vehicle service (e.g., service alerts, service alert email notifications, vehicle mileage, service history) may be updated more frequently (e.g., every 15 minutes). Information related to appointments (e.g., pending service alerts, appointment email notifications) may be extracted less frequently (e.g., hourly). Sales or pending sales information (e.g., sales reports, closing alerts, false conquests) may be extracted daily. Information related to inventory (e.g., alerts in a change of used vehicles status, vehicle information in inventory) may also be updated daily. One or more algorithms, such as a file watcher, may track updates from one or more source databases and/or make determinations on when and/or to what extent updated data should be extracted. Thus, extractions may occur at non-regular intervals under the circumstances.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lo in view of Cotton so that the first data is acquired via in-vehicle network. One would be motivated to do so because it is well-known, widely-implemented, routine, and conventional to acquire data from any network regarding any information because the type and origination of data is subjective and does not functionally distinguish the invention in terms of patentability.
As per claim 5, Lo and Cotton teach an information processing method comprising:
acquiring first data collected via an in-vehicle network (see Claim 1 rejection above);
generating second data by converting the first data such that the second data is on a format supported by a first terminal associated with first user (see Claim 1 rejection above);
determining whether the request is sent from the first terminal or the second terminal (see Claim 1 rejection above);
transmitting the second data to the first terminal in a case where the request is determined to be sent from the first terminal (see Claim 1 rejection above);
generating third data by deleting the information from the second data in a case where the processor determines that the request is sent from the second terminal (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
transmitting the third data to the second terminal in response to generating the third data (see Claim 1 rejection above).
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Lo and Cotton further teach wherein the first data is not in a format supported by either the first terminal or the second terminal (see Lo, [0029]: “Normalized query inputs are generalized to common format that can be converted to a native query input supplied to an associated service API module.”).
Conclusion
7. For the reasons above, claims 1-5 have been rejected and remain pending.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443