DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on 09/12/2024 for application number 18/883,132. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, IDS, Claims, and Certified Copy of Foreign Priority Application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2024-0005271, filed on 01/12/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 7 recites “sequentially active the plurality of power blocks” (emphasis added), and should instead read, “sequentially activate the plurality of power blocks” (emphasis added).
Paragraph 8 recites similar language regarding “sequentially active” and is objected to accordingly.
Paragraph 40 recites “The MCU 120 may perform and the out-of-band communication with the BMC 11b of the host device 11.” (emphasis added), and should instead read, “The MCU 120 may perform the out-of-band communication with the BMC 11b of the host device 11.” (emphasis added)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 10 recites “sequentially active the plurality of power blocks” (emphasis added), and should instead read “sequentially activate the plurality of power blocks.” (emphasis added)
Claim 20 recites similar language regarding “sequentially active” and is objected to accordingly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 16, 17, 18, and 19 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
In Claim 16, such limitation is “a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to receive a second power supply voltage lower than the first power supply voltage from the host device and to execute a first power-on sequence based on the second power supply voltage.”
Claims 17, 18, and 19 depend on Claim 16, but do not provide additional structural support for the “micro controller unit (MCU)” of Claim 16.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Specifically, paragraphs 42 and 43 of the specification describe the micro controller unit (MCU) of Claims 16-19 as having a power sequence manager implemented by hardware, software, or a combination thereof, with additional structure defined by an embedded processor and embedded memory in the MCU in the case the MCU’s power sequence manager is partially implemented with software. Paragraph 72 describes additional structures power sequence memory 122 and log register 123 implemented in the same aforementioned embedded memory or in separate memory devices within the MCU. As such, in light of the specification, the structure of the micro controller unit is interpreted as having at least a processor capable of executing instructions, said instructions stored in a memory coupled with the processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 15, in lines 2-3, the claim recites the limitation “power-off sequence for normally deactivating the plurality of internal voltages.” The phrase “normally deactivating” in claim 15 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “normally deactivating” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular, paragraph 119 of the specification recites “The normal power-off event may mean a normal end operation according to a request of the host device,” which is a pragmatic definition, as defining “normal power-off” using another context of “normal” does not define what “normal” means in either context.
For the purposes of examination, “power-off sequence for normally deactivating the plurality of internal voltages” is interpreted as “a power off sequence for deactivating the plurality of internal voltages.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH et al. (US 2022/0197541 A1) in view of CHAIKEN et al. (US 2020/0159302 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, OH discloses a method of operating a storage device (storage device 200, FIG. 1, [0002]) which communicates with a host device (storage device 200 communicates with host 100, FIG. 1, [0041]), the method comprising:
receiving a first power supply voltage and a second power supply voltage from the host device (storage device 200 receives various voltages 3.5V, 5V and 12V from host device 100, FIG. 4, [0069]);
executing, by a micro controller unit (MCU) of the storage device, a first power-on sequence for sequentially generating a plurality of internal voltages of the storage device (storage controller includes a pin manager circuit [0008]; pin manager 360 contains turn-on voltage generator 380 that provides a plurality of turn-on voltages TON1, TON2, …, to sequentially turn on selection transistors 531-53q, which are internal to storage device 200 (Fig. 13A, [0123]) based on the second power supply voltage (storage controller 300 powered by voltage V0P2, FIG. 1, [0046]).
OH does not disclose detecting, by the MCU, a first power failure corresponding to the first power-on sequence; and performing, by the MCU, a second power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages in response to detecting the first power failure.
However, in the analogous art of power error detection during start-up, CHAIKEN teaches detecting, by the MCU (embedded controller EC 150, FIG. 1), a first power failure corresponding to the first power-on sequence (EC 150 detects power failure during IHS boot process, [0058]);
and performing, by the MCU, a second power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages in response to detecting the first power failure (embedded controller EC 150 power cycles the system to restart the reboot after detecting power failure during IHS boot process (FIG. 3 Steps 220-250, [0052]), the boot process consisting of a power sequence for sequentially enabling internal IHS components with an operating voltage, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH and CHAIKEN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method of detecting a power failure and performing a second power-on sequence as taught by CHAIKEN into the method of operating a storage device which communicates with a host device as taught by OH in order to incorporate a method of detecting and recovering from a power failure without suffering information loss (CHAIKEN, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 6, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
CHAIKEN further teaches wherein the MCU is configured to detect the first power failure, based on failing in the execution of the first power-on sequence or based on detecting an abnormal power-off event through a monitoring operation of the plurality of internal voltages generated by the first power-on sequence (embedded controller EC 150 detects failure of power-on sequence consisting of Information Handling System (IHS) 100 components powering on, FIG. 1, FIG. 3 Step 230, [0051-0052]).
Regarding Claim 7, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
CHAIKEN further teaches determining, by the MCU, whether a second power failure of at least some of the plurality of internal voltages generated by the second power-on sequence occurs (embedded controller EC 150 detects operating voltage sufficiency (failure) through detecting failure of IHS 100 components powering on in a power-on sequence; subsequent power sequencing procedures following a reset similarly checks for no-power boot situations, FIG. 1, FIG. 3, Steps 220-230, [0051-0052]).
Regarding Claim 8, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 7.
OH further teaches wherein the storage device includes: a plurality of power blocks configured to generate the plurality of internal voltages (selection transistors 531-53q coupled with pins on nonvolatile memory devices 400a-400k which sequentially generate merged signal current RnBx, FIG. 14A, [0140, 0146]);
and a recovery block configured to replace a failed power block among the plurality of power blocks (if one of the pins REP or REBP is unusable in the current mode, then the mode is changed and the remaining pin is used in the new mode; pin REP configured to replace pin REBP using a CMOS mode, FIG. 18, [0174, 0175, 0180]),
and the method further comprises: determining, by the MCU, whether the recovery block configured to replace the failed power block causing the second power failure from among the plurality of power blocks exists, in response to determining that the second power failure occurs (storage controller 300 determines whether the operation mode of a leakage pin (defective, failed power block) is replaceable in response to detecting a pin leakage, FIG. 16 Steps S110-S130, [0173-0175]);
replacing, by the MCU, the failed power block with the recovery block in response to determining that the recovery block exists ((if one of the pins REP or REBP is unusable in the current mode, then the mode is changed and the remaining pin is used in the new mode; pin REP configured to replace pin REBP using a CMOS mode, FIG. 18, [174, 175]), changes initial mode of REP pin to replace REPB using a CMOS mode, FIG. 16, [0048, 0180]);
and performing, by the MCU, a third power-on sequence (storage controller 300 performs a power-on sequence after changing the initial mode for the pin that replaces the defective pin, Step 160, [0176]) for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages by using the replaced recovery block (power-up S160 consists of sequentially turning on transistors ([0123]), selection transistors sequentially generate merged signal current RnBx, FIG. 14A, [0146]).
Regarding Claim 13, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
OH further teaches wherein the first power supply voltage is higher than the second power supply voltage (voltage 12V supplied to the storage device 200 is higher than voltage 3.3V supplied to the storage device 200, FIG. 4, [0069]).
Claims 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH and CHAIKEN as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above, and in further view of LI et al. (CN 114840456 A), US 2023/0393959 A1 being interpreted as a translation of CN 114840456 A.
Regarding Claim 2, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
OH further teaches wherein the storage device includes: a storage controller (storage device 200 includes storage controller 300, FIG. 1) configured to perform in-band communication with a processor of the host device (host CPU 110 sends communication via storage interface 140 to host interface 340 of storage controller processor 310 (FIG. 2, FIG. 3, [0053]) host CPU and Storage controller processor perform operations performed by storage interface and host interface, respectively [0049, 0055]).
OH and CHAIKEN do not teach wherein the MCU is configured to perform out-of-band communication with a baseboard management controller (BMC) of the host device.
However, in the analogous art of power management, LI teaches wherein the MCU is configured to perform out-of-band communication with a baseboard management controller (BMC) of the host device. (baseboard management controller BMC 411 in host 410 communicates with micro control unit 411 of storage apparatus 420 via an out-of-band function, FIG. 4, US 2023/0393959 A1 [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH, CHAIKEN, and LI before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method of out-of-band communication between a host and storage device taught by LI into the method of operating a storage device as taught by OH and CHAIKEN in order to offer an alternate communication option between a host and storage device in case of an abnormality in the storage device (US 2023/0393959 A1 [0012]).
Regarding Claim 11, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 7.
OH further teaches wherein the storage device includes: a plurality of power blocks configured to generate the plurality of internal voltages (selection transistors 531-53q coupled with pins on nonvolatile memory devices 400a-400k sequentially generate merged signal current RnBx, FIG. 14A) [0140, 0146]);
and a recovery block configured to replace a failed power block among the plurality of power blocks (if one of the pins REP or REBP is unusable in the current mode, then the mode is changed and the remaining pin is used in the new mode; pin REP configured to replace pin REBP using a CMOS mode, FIG. 18, [0174, 0175, 0180]),
and the method further comprises: determining, by the MCU (storage controller 300, FIG. 4), whether the recovery block configured to replace the failed power block causing the second power failure from among the plurality of power blocks exists, in response to determining that the second power failure occurs (storage controller 300 determines whether the operation mode of a leakage pin (defective, failed power block) is replaceable in response to detecting a pin leakage, FIG. 16 Steps S110-S130, [0173-0175]);
determining that the recovery block does not exist, storing the information in the MCU (storage controller 300 determines if there are available affordable pins to replace defective pins [0048], information about defective pins (leakage pins) stored in register 370 [0165]; register 370 is contained in pin manager 360 which is stored in storage controller 300 (FIG. 3), storage controller processor is configured to perform operations performed by the pin manager, [0055])
LI further teaches providing, by the MCU, an error message to the host device, error message containing error information stored in the MCU (storage apparatus 420 provides information surrounding an error (before and after an error) to the baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410 in an out-of-band management mode [US 2023/0393959 A1 0089]; out-of-band management carried out between micro control unit 421 of storage apparatus 420 and baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410, US 2023/0393959 A1 [0079]; MCU 421 stores information surrounding an error in persistent memory 422 of MCU).
Regarding Claim 12, OH, CHAIKEN, and LI teach the method of Claim 11.
LI further teaches wherein the MCU is configured to: operate based on the second power supply voltage while providing the error message to the host device (micro control unit 421 operating using power supplied by second power supply unit (PSU2) 442 [US 2023/0393959 A1 0081], storage apparatus 420 provides information surrounding an error (before and after an error) to the baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410 in an out-of-band management mode (US 2023/0393959 A1 [0089]); out-of-band management carried out between micro control unit 421 of storage apparatus 420 and baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410, US 2023/0393959 A1 [0079]).
and provide the error message of a BMC of the host device by using out-of-band communication (storage apparatus 420 provides information surrounding an error (before and after an error) to the baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410 in an out-of-band management mode [US 2023/0393959 A1 0089]; out-of-band management carried out between micro control unit 421 of storage apparatus 420 and baseboard management controller 411 of host device 410, US 2023/0393959 A1 [0079]).
Claims 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH and CHAIKEN as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of BISBEE (US 7,694,163 B1).
Regarding Claim 3, OH and CHAIKEN teach the limitations of Claim 1.
CHAIKEN further teaches wherein the executing of the first power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages of the storage device based on the second power supply voltage by the MCU of the storage device includes: activating the MCU (embedded controller EC 150, FIG. 1) based on the second power supply voltage (operating voltage supplied by the power management and logic circuitry 155 through one of the power rails, FIG. 1, [0039-0040]);
determining, by the activated MCU, whether the first power supply voltage is provided to a power supply circuit of the storage device (embedded controller EC 150 determines whether platform controller hub PCH 120 is supplied with power from standby power by continuing the power-on sequence only after the PCH is turned on and begins to supply sleep state exit signals to EC 150, FIG. 1, [0040]).
OH and CHAIKEN do not teach loading, by the activated MCU, a sequence instruction defining an enablement order of a plurality of power blocks of the power supply circuit in response to determining that the first power supply voltage is provided to the power supply circuit; executing, by the activated MCU, the first power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages depending on the enablement order, based on the loaded sequence instruction; and updating, by the activated MCU, sequence history information based on executing the first power-on sequence.
However, in the analogous art of power management, BISBEE teaches loading, by the activated MCU (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44, FIG. 3), a sequence instruction defining an enablement order of a plurality of power blocks of the power supply circuit in response to determining that the first power supply voltage is provided to the power supply circuit (CMD 44 is programmable, program to sequentially turn on point-of-load (POL) convertors 46 1-46 n stored in CMD memory (Column 4 Lines 18-27), CMD generates enable signal EN as part of the power-on sequence (Column 5 Lines 35-42), power-on sequence starts in response to deriving power from input voltage supply, Column 5 Lines 59-66);
executing, by the activated MCU, the first power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages depending on the enablement order, based on the loaded sequence instruction (CMD 44 performs the power-up sequencing function program (sequence function program stored in CMD memory, Column 4 Lines 18-27), sequentially enables POL convertors 46 1-46 n that produce internal voltages via enable line EN, Column 5 Lines 35-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH, CHAIKEN, and BISBEE before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method of loading and executing a power-up sequence instruction taught by BISBEE into the method of operating a storage device as taught by OH and CHAIKEN in order to ensure proper supply voltage is applied (BISBEE, Column 1 Lines 34-40).
Regarding Claim 4, OH, CHAIKEN, and BISBEE teach the method of Claim 3.
CHAIKEN further teaches wherein the performing of the second power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages in response to detecting the first power failure by the MCU includes: loading, by the activated MCU, the sequence instruction in response to detecting the first power failure (embedded controller EC 150 power cycles the system after resetting the real-time clock RTC 160 in response to detecting a no-power failure (FIG. 3 Steps 220-250, [0052]), a boot process consisting of embedded controller EC 150 executing program instructions to initiate boot process of Information Handling System IHS 100, [0038]);
and executing, by the activated MCU, the second power-on sequence (embedded controller EC 150 power cycles the system to restart the reboot after detecting power failure during IHS boot process (FIG. 3 Steps 220-250, [0052]), the boot process consisting of a power sequence for sequentially enabling internal IHS components with an operating voltage, [0051]).
BISBEE further teaches executing, by the activated MCU, power-on sequence for sequentially generating the plurality of internal voltages based on the loaded sequence instruction (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44 performs the power-up sequencing function program (sequence function program stored in CMD, Column 4 Lines 18-27) for sequentially enabling convertors 46 1-46 n that produce internal voltages via enable line EN, Column 5 Lines 35-42);
and further updating, by the activated MCU, the sequence history information based on executing the second power-on sequence (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44 logs power down conditions (Column 7 Lines 18-21), a power down is a power-off after the failure of a power-on sequence, Column 4 Lines 28-44).
Regarding Claim 5, OH, CHAIKEN, and BISBEE teach the method of Claim 3.
BISBEE further teaches wherein the MCU includes: a power sequence manager configured to execute the first power-on sequence (program stored in programmable and monitoring Chip CMD 44 performs the method of executing power-on sequence, FIG. 3, Column 4 Lines 18-27);
a power sequence memory configured to store the sequence instruction (CMD 44 contains memory 48 storing sequencing function performed by CMD, FIG. 3, Column 4 Lines 18-27);
and a log register configured to store the sequence history information (CMD 44 contains non-volatile flash memory for data logging, Column 4 Lines 52-54).
Regarding Claim 9, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 8.
OH further teaches, further comprising: updating, by the MCU, a sequence instruction corresponding to the second power-on sequence based on executing the third power-on sequence (processor 310 of storage controller 300 changes initial mode of a nonvolatile memory device before executing a power-up sequence (FIG. 16 Step S160), processor functions (inclusive of the power-up sequence) configured to be executable software (instructions), FIG. 3, [0055]).
BISBEE further teaches and updating, by the MCU (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44, FIG. 3), sequence history information based on executing the third second power-on sequence (CMD 44 logs power down conditions (Column 7 Lines 18-21), a power down is a power-off after the failure of a power-on sequence, Column 4 Lines 28-44).
Regarding Claim 10, OH, CHAIKEN, and BISBEE teach the method of Claim 9.
OH further teaches wherein the updated sequence instruction indicates the recovery block instead of the failed power block (power-up sequence occurs after changing the initial mode of the replaced pin (FIG. 16 Step S160, [0176]), processor functions (inclusive of the power-up sequence) configured to be executable software (instructions) FIG. 3, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 15, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
BISBEE further teaches wherein the MCU (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44, FIG. 3) is configured to a power-off sequence for normally deactivating the plurality of internal voltages generated by the first power-on sequence or the second power-on sequence (CMD 44 executes power-off sequence to deactivate previously sequentially powered POL convertors 46 1-46 n generating internal voltages in a first power-up sequence, FIG. 3, Column 4 Lines 37-44).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH and CHAIKEN as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of CHANG (US 2020/0192418 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, OH and CHAIKEN teach the method of Claim 1.
OH and CHAIKEN do not teach wherein the MCU is configured to: receive an internal voltage dedicated for the MCU from among the plurality of internal voltages generated by the first power-on sequence or the second power-on sequence; and operate based on both the second power supply voltage and the internal voltage dedicated for the MCU.
However, in the analogous art of power supply means and management, CHANG teaches wherein the MCU (functional unit 151, FIG. 1) is configured to: receive an internal voltage dedicated for the MCU from among the plurality of internal voltages generated by the first power-on sequence or the second power-on sequence (functional unit 151 is supplied with internal voltage VDDI (FIG. 1, [0031]); VDDI is generated by power-on after receiving power-on signal SPO, [0027]);
and operate based on both the second power supply voltage and the internal voltage dedicated for the MCU (functional unit 151 is enabled and is supplied with both internal supply voltage VDDI and supply voltage VDD. Functional unit 151 then starts a corresponding operation, FIG. 1 [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH, CHAIKEN, and CHANG before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method of a unit using an internal and an external power supply into the method of operating a storage device as taught by OH and CHAIKEN in order to enable a dependent unit without causing a power surge on the main power supply (CHANG, [0004, 0038]).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH (US 2022/0197541 A1) in view of BISBEE (US 7694163 B1).
Regarding Claim 16, OH discloses a storage device comprising: a storage controller; a non-volatile memory device (storage device 200 comprises of storage controller 300 and non-volatile memory devices NVM1-NVMk, FIG. 4, [0039]);
and a micro controller unit (MCU) (storage controller 300, FIG. 4) configured to receive a second power supply voltage lower than the first power supply voltage from the host device and to execute a first power-on sequence based on the second power supply voltage (storage controller 300 configured to receive voltage 3.3V lower than voltage 12V from host device ([0069]) and executes a power-on sequence of sequentially turning on selection transistors 531-53q [0123] based on power received from host device 100, [0069]).
OH does not disclose a power supply circuit including a plurality of power blocks configured to generate a plurality of internal voltages to be provided to the storage controller and the non-volatile memory device based on a first power supply voltage received from a host device; the power supply circuit configured to sequentially active the plurality of power blocks depending on an enablement order defined in the first power-on sequence under control of the MCU.
However, in the analogous art of power management, BISBEE teaches a power supply circuit (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44, FIG. 3) including a plurality of power blocks configured to generate a plurality of internal voltages to be provided to the storage controller and the non-volatile memory device based on a first power supply voltage received from a host device (CMD 44 includes point-of-load (POL) convertors 46 1-46 n that are configured to produce voltages for devices 42 1-42 n (Column 4 Lines 15-22) based on an input voltage supply Vin (Column 5 Lines 61-62);
the power supply circuit configured to sequentially active the plurality of power blocks depending on an enablement order defined in the first power-on sequence under control of the MCU (CMD 44 performs the power-up sequencing function program (sequence function program stored in CMD, Column 4 Lines 18-27), sequentially enables convertors 46 1-46 n that produce internal voltages via enable line EN, Column 5 Lines 35-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH and BISBEE before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a power supply circuit containing power blocks that generate internal voltages as part of a power-of sequence as taught by BISBEE into the storage system as taught by OH in order to incorporate a circuit capable of generating multiple voltages for a variety of components in a system (BISBEE, Column 1 Line 64 through Column 2 Line 5).
Claims 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH and BISBEE as applied to Claim 16 above, and in further view of CHAIKEN et al. (US 2020/0159302 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, OH and BISBEE teach the storage device and limitations of Claim 16.
OH and BISBEE do not teach wherein the MCU is configured to: detect a first power failure, based on failing in the execution of the first power-on sequence or based on detecting an abnormal power-off event in the plurality of internal voltages generated by the plurality of power blocks activated by the first power-on sequence; and execute a second power-on sequence defining the enablement order in response to detecting the first power failure.
However, in the analogous art of power management, CHAIKEN teaches wherein the MCU is configured to: detect a first power failure, based on failing in the execution of the first power-on sequence or based on detecting an abnormal power-off event in the plurality of internal voltages generated by the plurality of power blocks activated by the first power-on sequence (embedded controller EC 150 detects failure of power-on sequence consisting of Information Handling System (IHS) 100 components powering on, FIG. 1, FIG. 3 Step 230, [0051-0052]);
and execute a second power-on sequence in response to detecting the first power failure (embedded controller EC 150 power cycles the system to restart the reboot after detecting power failure during IHS boot process (FIG. 3 Steps 220-250, [0052]), the boot process consisting of a power sequence for sequentially enabling internal IHS components with an operating voltage, [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of OH, BISBEE, and CHAIKEN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method of detecting a power failure and performing a second power-on sequence as taught by CHAIKEN into the storage device as taught by OH and BISBEE in order to incorporate a method of detecting and recovering from a power failure without suffering information loss (CHAIKEN, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, OH, BISBEE, and CHAIKEN teach the storage device, power supply circuit, and MCU of claim 17. The remainder of claim 18 recites limitations similar to those of claim 8 and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 19, OH, BISBEE, and CHAIKEN teach the storage device, power supply circuit, and MCU of claim 17. The remainder of claim 19 recites limitations similar to those of claim 11 and are rejected accordingly.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (CN 114840456
A) in view of CHAIKEN (US 2020/0159302 A1) and in further view of BISBEE (US 7694163 B1).
Regarding Claim 20, LI discloses an electronic device (storage system 400, FIG. 4) comprising: a host device configured to generate a main voltage and an auxiliary voltage (host device 410 of storage system 400 receives external voltage from power supply 430 ([0103]) and supplies two voltages through first power supply unit 441 and second power supply unit 442, FIG. 4, [0100];
and a storage device (storage device 420 part of storage system 400, FIG. 4) including a power supply circuit configured to receive the main voltage and a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to receive the auxiliary voltage (main controller 423 and micro control unit 421 of storage device 420 receive power from first power supply unit 441 and second power supply unit 442 respectively, FIG. 4, [0100]).
LI does not disclose wherein the MCU is further configured to: execute a power-on sequence based on the auxiliary voltage; detect a power failure corresponding to the power-on sequence; and again perform the power-on sequence in response to detecting the power failure, and the storage device is configured to sequentially active a plurality of power blocks of the power supply circuit depending on an enablement order defined in the power-on sequence.
However, in the analogous art of power management, CHAIKEN teaches wherein the MCU (embedded controller EC 150) is further configured to: execute a power-on sequence based on the auxiliary voltage (EC 150 executes a power-on sequence after being powered on by one of multiple operating voltages supplied to various IHS 100 components, FIG. 1, [0039-0040]);
detect a power failure corresponding to the power-on sequence (EC 150 detects a no power failure while executing the power-on sequence, FIG. 3, Step 220, [0051-0052]);
and again perform the power-on sequence in response to detecting the power failure (in response to the no power failure, EC 150 resets Real-Time Clock RTC 160 and power cycles the system to restart the boot (power-on) sequence, FIG. 3, Steps 220-250, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of LI and CHAIKEN before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a controller configured to execute power on, detect a power failure, and reboot after power failure as taught by CHAIKEN into the electronic device containing a host and storage device as taught by LI in order to enable a controller with the capability to resolve power failures (CHAIKEN, [0004]).
LI and CHAIKEN do not teach and the storage device is configured to sequentially active a plurality of power blocks of the power supply circuit depending on an enablement order defined in the power-on sequence.
However, in the analogous art of power management, BISBEE teaches the storage device is configured to sequentially active a plurality of power blocks of the power supply circuit depending on an enablement order defined in the power-on sequence (programmable control and monitoring chip CMD 44 is programmed to sequentially activate voltage-generating POL convertors 46 1-46 n dependent on an enable signal EN, FIG. 3, Column 5 Lines 35-42.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, having the teachings of LI, CHAIKEN, and BISBEE before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a controller configured to sequentially power on power blocks dependent on an enablement order as taught by BISBEE into the electronic device containing a host device and storage device with a MCU configured to execute power on, detect a power failure, and reboot after power failure as taught by LI and CHAIKEN in order to enable the power supply circuit to sequentially generate different voltages by using power blocks (BISBEE, Column 1 Lines 56-60).
/J.L.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2175
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175