DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 6, Line 3 and Claim 7, Line 3, the digit “1” should be removed from the recitation of “screen protector positioning box 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a bracket” in Line 1 and Line 5. It is unclear whether these limitations refer to the same or different brackets. For examination purposes, it will be assumed that the brackets are the same and the second recitation in Line 5 should read “the bracket”.
Claims 5-7 recite the limitation “the screen protector applicator positioning box”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as “a screen protector applicator positioning box” was not previously recited (Examiner notes prior recitations in the claims appear to refer to “the screen protector positioning box). For examination purposes, the limitations will be interpreted as “the screen protector positioning box”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the handle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as “a handle” was not previously recited in Claim 6 or Claim 1 (Examiner notes “a handle” is recited in Claim 2. However, Claims 6 and 7 are identical except for their dependency and Claim 6 cannot depend on Claim 2 because Claim 7 depends on Claim 2). For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “a handle provided at the end of the bracket”.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN218537233 cited in IDS with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Song (CN212745830 with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei teaches a screen protector applicator with a bracket ([0001]; Figs. 1, 2- support rod 2), comprising:
a screen protector positioning box (Figs. 1, 2- support body 1),
wherein a positioning frame is arranged on one side of the screen protector positioning box (Fig. 2- positioning framework 4), and the positioning frame and the screen protector positioning box are integrated (Fig. 2- see integrated positioning framework 4 on support body 1),
a positioning strip is arranged on the side of the screen protector positioning box (Fig. 2- positioning hole 6),
a support plate is arranged on the other side of the screen protector positioning box (Figs. 1, 2- phone holder platform 3),
the bracket is movably arranged on the positioning frame (Figs, 1,2- support rod 2 movably arranged, and
a mounting groove is further arranged on a side of the bracket close to the screen protector positioning box (Fig. 1- support rod positioning column 7).
Wei does not specify the support plate is movably arranged on the other side of the screen protector positioning box.
Song teaches an alternative device for supporting a mobile device [0001]-[0003] wherein the support member is movably arranged (Fig. 1- support members 20) in order to reduce the size of the overall device making it more convenient to store, carry, and use [n0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wei to include a movably arranged support member as taught by Song with reasonable expectation of success to reduce the size of the overall device making it more convenient to store, carry, and use [n0011].
Regarding Claim 2, Wei further teaches the bracket is U-shaped (Figs.- see U-shape of support rod 2),
the bracket is bolted to the positioning frame (Fig. 2- showing attachment of support rod 2),
a handle is provided at an end of the bracket (Fig. 2- see handle provided on the end of support rod 2), the handle and the bracket are integrated (Fig. 2- see integrated handle and support rod 2), and
an opening is provided at a position of the handle close to the screen protector positioning box (Fig. 3- see opening on support rod 2).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Wei further teaches a positioning buckle groove is provided on an outer wall of each of two sides of the bracket (Fig. 1, 2- tapered portion of support rod 2 that rests within positioning framework 4), and
a positioning buckle is provided on the side of the screen protector positioning box (Fig. 1, 2- tapered portion of positioning framework 4 that receives the tapered portion of support rod 2), an end of the positioning buckle is buckled into the positioning buckle groove (Fig. 3- showing tapered portion of support rod 2 buckled into tapered portion of positioning framework 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei further teaches the positioning strip arranged on the screen protector applicator positioning box (Fig. 2- positioning hole 6 on support body 1), the positioning strip and the screen protector positioning box are integrated (Fig. 2- positioning hole 6 on support body 1), and the positioning strip is grooved joint in the mounting groove (Fig. 2- positioning hole 6 convexly formed on support body 1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Wei further teaches a plurality of first top blocks are further provided on the side of the screen protector applicator positioning box (Fig. 2- protruding portions shown on positioning framework 4), and
a limit block is provided at a position of the screen protector positioning box close to the handle (Figs 2,4- tapered end of positioning framework 4 preventing lateral movement of support rod 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Wei further teaches the positioning frame and an inner wall of the bracket are both provided with a second top block (Figs. 2, 4- top protruding portion shown on positioning framework 4; protruding portion of support rod 2), the second top block on the positioning frame and the positioning frame are integrated (See Figs. showing integrated parts), the second top block on the bracket and the bracket are integrated (See Figs. showing integrated parts),
a screen protector pulling groove is provided at an end of the positioning frame (Fig. 3, 4- showing opening to pull screen protector).
Wei does not specify away the screen protector pulling groove is provided at an end of the positioning frame from the bracket. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the placement of the screen protector pulling groove to the end of the positioning frame from the bracket because the court has held that if shifting a position of the component would not have modified the operation of the device, it would be an obvious matter of design choice, see MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding Claim 9, Song further teaches the support member is embedded in the device (Fig. 1- support members 20), and an end of the support member is hinged on the device (Fig. 1- showing hinged support members 20), a maximum movable angle of the support plate is 90° (Fig. 1- see angle of support members 20 relative the framework) thus meeting the instant limitation of the support plate is embedded in the screen protector positioning box, and an end of the support plate is hinged on the screen protector positioning box, a maximum movable angle of the support plate is 90°.
Regarding Claim 10, Wei further teaches an end of the bracket connected with the positioning frame is designed with a chamfered angle and is smoothed (Figs.- see chambered smoothed end of support rod 2).
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 3/13/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748