DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan et al. (J. Funct. Foods, vol. 72, 2020, pp. 12 pages - see PTO-892).
The claims of the present application are drawn to methods of controlling blood sugar comprising administering an effective amount of gallocatechin gallate (GCG) and isoquercitrin (IQC). Dependent claims provide for various ratios, and the various activities the subject being treated needs, such as the subject needs to decrease glucogenesis in liver cells; reduce expression of glucogenesis-related genes, etc., and also wherein the method is for preventing or treating diabetes, diabetic complications, or sugar metabolism diseases.
Kan discloses a composition, derived from peach peel extracts (PPE), comprising quercetin-3-glucoside (a.k.a. isoquercitrin, IQC) and gallocatechin gallate (GCG), with a IQC:GCG weight ratio of about 1:3. (Table 1) which reads on the present compositions being administered. Kan also discloses that the PPE was formulated as a pharmaceutical or food composition. (Sec. 2.1-2.4) Kan further discloses that the PPE extract is effective to regulate lipid metabolism, which in turn is expected to be effective for treating metabolic disorders such as obesity, steatosis, non- alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), cardiovascular diseases, insulin resistance, hypertension and atherosclerosis. (Sec. 1, Sec. 4)
Kan does not exemplify a method of lowering blood sugar and/or treating the claimed conditions.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the composition of Kan would be effectively used in controlling blood sugar and in turn treating diabetes and related sugar metabolism diseases because Kan suggests that the regulation of lipid metabolism exemplified by the same composition claimed herein would be expected to be effective for treating metabolic disorders such as obesity, steatosis, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), cardiovascular diseases, insulin resistance, hypertension and atherosclerosis.
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang et al. (RSC Advances, vol. 27(8), April 19, 2018, pp. 14967-14974) and Wu et al. (Journal of Functional Foods, vol. 48, 2018, pp 200-209).
The claims of the present application are drawn to methods of controlling blood sugar comprising administering an effective amount of gallocatechin gallate (GCG) and isoquercitrin (IQC). Dependent claims provide for various ratios, and the various activities the subject being treated needs, such as the subject needs to decrease glucogenesis in liver cells; reduce expression of glucogenesis-related genes, etc., and also wherein the method is for preventing or treating diabetes, diabetic complications, or sugar metabolism diseases.
Zhang teach methods of inhibiting DPP-4 and increasing GLP-1 and insulin, and reducing fasting glucose and glucose excursions in a diabetic mouse model with IQC. The results showed that IQC significantly inhibited postprandial blood glucose changes in a dose-dependent manner and that IQC has hypoglycemic effects (see abstract and discussion). What is not taught is to add GCG into the compositions herein.
Wu teaches that that GCG has inhibitory activity on α-amylase and α-glucosidase and is useful to efficiently control postprandial glucose levels and has potential as a dietary supplement for the treatment of diabetes (see conclusions and abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine IQC of Zhang and GCG of WU in a new composition to control blood sugar and treat diabetes with these references before them. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious).
Regarding claims 3-8 herein which limit various subjects herein, these would all be obvious as the art teaches the individual drugs are effective in controlling and lowering blood sugar levels, thus this combination would be obvious in all of the populations claimed since the activity occurring would be expected to occur in the different sub-populations.
With respect to the weight ratios, these would be seen to be well within the purview of a skilled artisan, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-20 of copending Application No. 18/663,736 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are drawn to substantially overlapping and obvious subject matter. ‘736 is drawn to treating various diseases such as improving or treating metabolic diseases, which the present claims are drawn to (see claim 9 herein) with the same compositions. As such, a skilled artisan would see they are substantially overlapping.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693