DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10, 12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: the phrase “by one or more processors” in line 5 is unclear. It is not clear whether these processors are the same as or distinct from the other “one or more processors” recited throughout the claim.
Examiner recommends changing this limitation to “by the one or more processors” to correct this problem.
Regarding claims 2, 5, 12, and 15: the intended scope of the term “brand” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear how the term “brand” differs from “supplier”, “vendor”, or “manufacturer”.
Regarding claim 18: the phrase “the non-transitory computer-readable medium, when executed by a computer” in lines 2-3 are unclear. In particular, it is unclear how a non-transitory computer readable medium (such as a memory) can be “executed” by a computer. This should be amended to clarify that it is software (or instructions) stored on the non-transitory computer readable that is (are) executed by the computer.
Claims 2-10, 19, and 20 depend from independent claims 1 and 18 and are therefore similarly indefinite for reasons stated above in the rejections of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niemela et al (US 2023/0276253).
Regarding claim 1: Niemela discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by one or more processors, a first connection between an environmental monitoring unit (EMU) management component and a first EMU associated with first sensors installed at a first cell site of cell sites (disclosed throughout; see Figure 2, for example; in particular, see the E2 interfaces established between the xAPPs (such as 211-213) and the RAN site function(s) 200; the xAPPs, for example, are interpreted as an EMU management component and the RAN site functions (for the auxiliary equipment), for example, are interpreted as EMUs; for example, see [0200]-[0201], which describes one detailed example of an E2 device/RAN site function (the power supply unit) interacting with an EMU management component (a battery control xAPP); as indicated in [0200]-[0201], these two elements perform measurement and calibration of the power supply, which is interpreted as environmental monitoring; further, see [0060] and [0077], which indicate that the auxiliary equipment may include sensors (temperature, humidity, etc.); further, see also Figures 3A and 3B, which includes a EMU management function (E2 related xAPP 311) and an EMU (RAN site function 301); see also [0079], which indicates that the RIC and E2 interface are used to create a control and management mechanism for the auxiliary equipment at a cell site; further, this control and management mechanism can apply to any of the AUX equipment use cases; see [0080], which indicates that this may create a “single platform controlling any aspects relevant to the RAN and RAN site operation”);
establishing, by one or more processors, a second connection between the EMU management component and a second EMU associated with second sensors installed at a second cell site of the cell sites (see the description above regarding the first connection between the EMU management component (an xAPP on the near-RT RIC) and a first EMU (the RAN site function); as indicated in Figures 2 and 9, for example, the near-RT RIC and the associated xAPP creates multiple E2 connections to multiple EMUs/RAN site functions at different cell/RAN sites; clearly, one of the E2 connections and the associated RAN site function is a second connection and second EMU associated with second sensors), wherein the EMU management component is located remotely from the first cell site and the second cell site (the EMU management component is located in the near-RT RIC 210, which is remote from the cell sites where the RAN site functions are located);
determining, by the one or more processors, one more EMU operations, associated with at least one of the first EMU or the second EMU, to perform at one or more of the first cell site or the second cell site (disclosed throughout; see step 1102 of Figure 11; see also “perform action” 803 of Figure 8A, for example; as indicated in [0150] and [0236], the near-RT RIC/xAPP may “determine one or more command for controlling the cell site auxiliary equipment”);
causing, by the one or more processors, the one or more EMU operations to execute (disclosed throughout; see step 1103 of Figure 11 and 804/805 of Figure 8A, which describe executing the operations in the EMU (RAN site function) by sending a command which is “applied” by the RAN site function/cell site auxiliary equipment); and
obtaining, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this information in the acknowledgement is data associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s)); wherein the data identifies an outcome associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this indicates an outcome associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s) – i.e. the extent to which the cell site can comply with/perform the operation).
Regarding claim 11: Niemela discloses a computer system including one or more electronic processors configured to programmatically interact with environmental monitoring units (EMUs) associated with cell sites of a cellular network, wherein the system comprises:
first EMUs installed at a first portion of the cell sites (disclosed throughout; see the RAN site functions (for the auxiliary equipment) disclosed throughout; for example, see the RAN site function(s) 200 of Figure 2 and the RAN site function 301 of Figure 3);
second EMUs installed at a second portion of the cell sites (disclosed throughout; see the RAN site functions (for the auxiliary equipment) disclosed throughout; for example, see the RAN site function(s) 200 of Figure 2 and the RAN site function 301 of Figure 3; as indicated in Figures 2 and 9, for example, the near-RT RIC and the associated xAPP creates multiple E2 connections to multiple EMUs/RAN site functions at different cell/RAN sites; clearly, one of the RAN site functions is a second EMU); and
an EMU management component installed a location that is remote from the cell sites, the EMU management component configured to perform actions (disclosed throughout; see Figure 2, for example; in particular, see the E2 interfaces established between the xAPPs (such as 211-213) and the RAN site function(s) 200; the xAPPs, for example, are interpreted as an EMU management component and the RAN site functions (for the auxiliary equipment), for example, are interpreted as EMUs; for example, see [0200]-[0201], which describes one detailed example of an E2 device/RAN site function (the power supply unit) interacting with an EMU management component (a battery control xAPP); as indicated in [0200]-[0201], these two elements perform measurement and calibration of the power supply, which is interpreted as environmental monitoring; further, see [0060] and [0077], which indicate that the auxiliary equipment may include sensors (temperature, humidity, etc.); further, see also Figures 3A and 3B, which includes a EMU management function (E2 related xAPP 311) and an EMU (RAN site function 301); see also [0079], which indicates that the RIC and E2 interface are used to create a control and management mechanism for the auxiliary equipment at a cell site; further, this control and management mechanism can apply to any of the AUX equipment use cases; see [0080], which indicates that this may create a “single platform controlling any aspects relevant to the RAN and RAN site operation”), including to:
determine, by one or more processors, one or more EMU operations, associated with at least one of the first EMUs or at least one of the second EMUs, to perform (disclosed throughout; see step 1102 of Figure 11; see also “perform action” 803 of Figure 8A, for example; as indicated in [0150] and [0236], the near-RT RIC/xAPP may “determine one or more command for controlling the cell site auxiliary equipment”);
cause, by the one or more processors, the one or more EMU operations to execute (disclosed throughout; see step 1103 of Figure 11 and 804/805 of Figure 8A, which describe executing the operations in the EMU (RAN site function) by sending a command which is “applied” by the RAN site function/cell site auxiliary equipment); and
obtain, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this information in the acknowledgement is data associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s)); wherein the data identifies an outcome associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this indicates an outcome associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s) – i.e. the extent to which the cell site can comply with/perform the operation).
Regarding claim 18: Niemela discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to facilitate interaction with environmental monitoring units installed a cell site, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to (disclosed throughout; see the memory 1320 and instructions 1322 of Figure 13 as well as the descriptions in [0252]-[0253], for example):
establish, by one or more processors, a first connection between an environmental monitoring unit (EMU) management component and a first EMU associated with first sensors installed at a first cell site (disclosed throughout; see Figure 2, for example; in particular, see the E2 interfaces established between the xAPPs (such as 211-213) and the RAN site function(s) 200; the xAPPs, for example, are interpreted as an EMU management component and the RAN site functions (for the auxiliary equipment), for example, are interpreted as EMUs; for example, see [0200]-[0201], which describes one detailed example of an E2 device/RAN site function (the power supply unit) interacting with an EMU management component (a battery control xAPP); as indicated in [0200]-[0201], these two elements perform measurement and calibration of the power supply, which is interpreted as environmental monitoring; further, see [0060] and [0077], which indicate that the auxiliary equipment may include sensors (temperature, humidity, etc.); further, see also Figures 3A and 3B, which includes a EMU management function (E2 related xAPP 311) and an EMU (RAN site function 301); see also [0079], which indicates that the RIC and E2 interface are used to create a control and management mechanism for the auxiliary equipment at a cell site; further, this control and management mechanism can apply to any of the AUX equipment use cases; see [0080], which indicates that this may create a “single platform controlling any aspects relevant to the RAN and RAN site operation”);
establishing, by one or more processors, a second connection between the EMU management component and a second EMU associated with second sensors installed at a second cell site (see the description above regarding the first connection between the EMU management component (an xAPP on the near-RT RIC) and a first EMU (the RAN site function); as indicated in Figures 2 and 9, for example, the near-RT RIC and the associated xAPP creates multiple E2 connections to multiple EMUs/RAN site functions at different cell/RAN sites; clearly, one of the E2 connections and the associated RAN site function is a second connection and second EMU associated with second sensors);
determining, by the one or more processors, one or more EMU operations, associated with at least one of the first EMU or the second EMU, to perform at one or more of the first cell site or the second cell site (disclosed throughout; see step 1102 of Figure 11; see also “perform action” 803 of Figure 8A, for example; as indicated in [0150] and [0236], the near-RT RIC/xAPP may “determine one or more command for controlling the cell site auxiliary equipment”);
causing, by the one or more processors, the one or more EMU operations to execute (disclosed throughout; see step 1103 of Figure 11 and 804/805 of Figure 8A, which describe executing the operations in the EMU (RAN site function) by sending a command which is “applied” by the RAN site function/cell site auxiliary equipment); and
obtaining, by the one or more processors, data associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this information in the acknowledgement is data associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s)); wherein the data identifies an outcome associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations (disclosed throughout; see at least [0114], which discloses that the instructions from the near-RT RIC (such as report, insert, control, and policy) may “cause the cell site to provide and acknowledgment, which identifies the extent to which it can comply with the request”; this indicates an outcome associated with the execution of the EMU operation(s) – i.e. the extent to which the cell site can comply with/perform the operation).
Regarding claims 2 and 12: Niemela discloses the limitation that the first EMU is a first brand of EMU and the second EMU is a second brand of EMU (disclosed throughout; see [0081] and [0086], for example, which disclose that the radio units include components from “different vendors” and “multivendor support for all power system manufacturers may be enabled”; this discloses that the first EMU may be a first vendor/brand and the second EMU may be a second vendor/brand).
Regarding claim 3: Niemela discloses the limitations of determining a first IP address of the first EMU and a second IP address of the second EMU; and wherein establishing the first connection to the first EMU comprises connecting to a first cell site router at the first cell site to connect to the first EMU using the first IP address, and wherein establishing the second connection to the second EMU comprises using a second cell site router at the second cell site to connect to the second EMU using the second IP address (see [0115], for example, which discloses that (via the E2 setup procedure), the xApp is able to discover an IP address for each E2 interface in order to establish the E2 connection with each EMU/RAN site function).
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Niemela discloses the limitations of identifying a brand of EMU, from at least two brands of EMUs, deployed at individual ones of the cell sites and wherein determining the one more EMU operations comprises determining to perform one or more first operations based on the brand of EMU (disclosed throughout; see [0081], [0086], and [0096], for example; as indicated in [0081] and [0086], multivendor support for all power system manufacturers (brands) is enabled by the system of Niemela; this may be implemented by utilizing an adapter when necessary; for example, the E2SM may be used to encapsulate specific RAN functions defined by vendors to enable the near-RT RIC to control the operation based on the specific vendor).
Regarding claim 6: Niemela discloses the limitations of determining first sensor configuration data associated with the first sensors (disclosed throughout; see step 601 of Figure 6, for example; as indicated in [0129]-[0130], this message sends updated configuration information for cell site auxiliary equipment to the near-RT RIC; as indicated in [0060], for example, the cell site auxiliary equipment may include sensors (such as a door sensor, temperature sensor, humidity sensor, etc.)); determining second sensor configuration data associated with the second sensors (disclosed throughout; see step 601 of Figure 6, for example; as indicated in [0129]-[0130], this message sends updated configuration information for cell site auxiliary equipment to the near-RT RIC; as indicated in [0060], for example, the cell site auxiliary equipment may include sensors (such as a door sensor, temperature sensor, humidity sensor, etc.); clearly, this sensor configuration information is received for second sensors); and storing the first sensor configuration data and the second sensor configuration data within a data store (disclosed throughout; see [0128], for example, which indicates that the purpose of the E2 node configuration update procedure is to “inform the near-RT RIC of configuration changes…”; if the configuration “changes” the near-RT RIC’s understanding of the E2 node configuration, the near-RT RIC is storing the configuration information; further, see [0256], which indicates that the memory in the near-RT RIC may “comprise a configuration database for storing configuration data”).
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 19: Niemela discloses the limitation that the one or more EMU operations comprise one or more of a health check operation (disclosed throughout; see [0200]-[0204], for example, which disclose an example for the power supply unit; block 1003 transmits a measurement and calibration request, which may request “battery status” and as indicated in [0204], the battery status may include a “state of health” of the batteries; see also [0076] and [0087], which disclose that the system may perform operations such as a “health check” on a battery or cooling pump), an upgrade operation, a restart operation, and a configure EMU operation (disclosed throughout; see [0101], which indicates that the “polity” service may “configure the RAN function or RAN site function to modify a response to a specified trigger event…”).
Regarding claim 8: Niemela discloses the limitation of causing an update to an inventory management component to reflect a change associated with one or more of the first EMU or the second EMU (disclosed throughout; see [0128], for example, which indicates that the purpose of the E2 node configuration update procedure is to “inform the near-RT RIC of configuration changes…”; if the configuration “changes” the near-RT RIC’s understanding of the E2 node configuration, the near-RT RIC is storing the configuration information; further, see [0256], which indicates that the memory in the near-RT RIC may “comprise a configuration database for storing configuration data”; the database storing configuration data for the E2 nodes (and that is updated for configuration changes for these nodes) is interpreted to be an inventory management component of the system as it manages the inventory of E2 nodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemela et al (US 2023/0276253) in view of Taaghol et al (US 2026/0059011).
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 20: Niemela discloses the limitations of parent claims 1, 11, and 18, as indicated above. Niemela does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 4, 14, and 20 that determining the one more EMU operations comprises determining to perform an upgrade of the first EMU and the second EMU. However, Taaghol discloses a system for managing updates to first and second network applications in analogous art of a distributed software defined network similar to the O-RAN. The system of Taaghol is applied to cellular/RAN networks as indicated in [0049], for example. Taaghol discloses throughout, methods for upgrading network applications that are analogous to the RAN site functions of Niemela. For example, see the various upgrades described in [0133]-[0141], for example. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niemela to include a function to upgrade the RAN site functions/EMUs as suggested by Taaghol. The rationale for doing so would have been to reduce costs and avoid the “very expensive” RAN deployments for “major upgrades every few years as suggested by Taaghol in [0048]-[0049], for example.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemela et al (US 2023/0276253) in view of Guttenfelder et al (US 2018/0220312).
Regarding claims 9 and 16: Niemela discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11 as indicated above. Niemela does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 9 and 16 of accessing, via the one or more processors, validation data associated with the execution of the one or more EMU operations; determining, via the one or more processors and based on the validation data, an occurrence of an error; and determining, via the one or more processors, that the error is resolved. However, Guttenfelder, in analogous art of RAN cell site diagnostic tools, discloses the addition of “multi-component diagnostic routines…autonomously executed” and “analytics…to provide anomaly detection, fault isolation, prioritization and classification, and actionable recommendations, etc…” (see [0012], for example). See also [0050], which also discloses that “faults identified by the diagnostic routines may include and/or identify one or more troubleshooting procedures”. Further, [0050] discloses that “when the RAN cell site test tool system 122 detects that a fault is successfully corrected, the user may be prompted to select from a list of recovery actions which best describes the actions performed to address the fault condition”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niemela to include analytics tools and diagnostic routines such as those suggested in Guttenfelder to analyze (validation) data to determine the occurrence of an error/fault and to further implement troubleshooting procedures and detect that the fault is successfully corrected (the error is resolved). The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the system reliability and the efficiency of finding and correcting errors/faults as suggested by Guttenfelder.
Regarding claims 10 and 17: Niemela discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 10, as indicated above. Niemela does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 10 and 17 of receiving a selection of the one or more EMU operations from one or more user interface elements associated with a graphical user interface. However, Guttenfelder discloses a RAN cell site diagnostic tool. Guttenfelder further discloses a graphical user interface including one or more user interface elements (see Figure 7) for enabling a user to select one or more operations to perform on one or more RAN sites. For example, see [0058], which “FIG. 7 depicts an example graphic user interface or display representations at a user terminal for selecting and launching RAN cell site diagnostic tests in an embodiment of the present invention”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Niemela based on the suggestion and teaching of Guttenfelder to include a graphical user interface at the near-RT RIC that provides one or more user interface elements to enable user selection of one or more of the operations (such as diagnostic tests or other control/measurement) at the RAN site function. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable a user to provide selections in real time to assist in managing the network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lakshmikanta et al (US 2025/0126521) discloses a method for automated cell site provisioning in 5G RANs.
Goska et al (US 2023/0281069) discloses a method for health monitoring in secure data centers.
Do et al (US 2020/0145299) discloses a method for providing intelligent diagnostic support for cloud-based infrastructure.
Szilagyi et al (US 2015/0006689) discloses a method for vendor specific base station auto-configuration.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 July 2, 2026