DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 10 have been considered. The amendments to the claims, however, require new grounds for rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4 the word resource should be “system”, while the use of “system” in line 1 should be reverted back to resource. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2026/0194945 to Cheng et al.
Cheng discloses;
As to Claim 1, an information handling system (200) comprising: a display assembly (292); and a keyboard assembly (291) rotationally coupled to the display assembly via a hinge at a rear of the keyboard assembly ([0086] “For example, as shown, the display 292 may be hingedly connected to the housing 210…”) the keyboard assembly comprising: a housing (210); an information handling resource housed within the housing ([0015] “e.g. Central Processing Unit and/or a Graphics Processing Unit of the portable electronic device”); heat-rejecting media (250) housed within the housing and thermally coupled to the information handling resource, wherein a portion of the heat-rejecting media is located at the rear of the keyboard assembly (a portion of 250 being located proximate 220a, see also FIG. 2C); and three air movers housed within the housing (271, middle 3 air movers), the three air movers located in-line with one another such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly (fans are aligned with respect to the back wall of the housing); wherein the heat-rejecting media and the three air movers are arranged such that airflow exhausting from the three air movers flows proximate to surfaces of the portion of the heat- rejecting media located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, and such that the airflow exhausts from the rear of the keyboard assembly (air flow from the central 3 air movers 271 exits housing at primary outlet 205, thus conveying airflow over and past heat rejecting media 250).
As to Claim 6, a method comprising: thermally coupling heat-rejecting media to an information handling (resource) ([0015] “e.g. Central Processing Unit and/or a Graphics Processing Unit of the portable electronic device”) within a housing (210) of a keyboard assembly (291) of an information handling (system) (200), wherein the keyboard assembly is configured to rotationally couple to a display (292) assembly via a hinge at a rear of the keyboard assembly ([0086] “For example, as shown, the display 292 may be hingedly connected to the housing 210…”); and arranging the heat-rejecting media and three air movers (271, middle 3 air movers) within the housing such that the three air movers are located in-line with one another with respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly (fans are aligned with respect to the back wall of the housing), such that a portion of the heat-rejecting media is located at the rear of the keyboard assembly (a portion of 250 being located proximate 220a, see also FIG. 2C) and such that airflow exhausting from the three air movers flows proximate to surfaces of the portion of the heat-rejecting media located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, and such that the airflow exhausts from the rear of the keyboard assembly (air flow from the central 3 air movers 271 exits housing at primary outlet 205, thus conveying airflow over and past heat rejecting media 250).
As to Claim 2, the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein the three air movers are located side-by-side-by-side relative to one another (3 central fans 271 clearly seen side by side in FIG. 2A).
As to Claim 5, the information handling system of Claim 1, wherein respective front edges opposite of the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly (all components of the three air movers being totally aligned).
As to Claim 7, the method of Claim 6, further comprising locating the three air movers side-by-side-by-side relative to one another (3 central fans 271 clearly seen side by side in FIG. 2A).
As to Claim 10, the method of Claim 6, further comprising locating respective front edges opposite of the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers at a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly (all components of the three air movers being totally aligned).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,289,176 to Chen et al. in view of US 2026/0194945 to Cheng et al.
As to Claim 1, Chen discloses an information handling system (100) comprising: a display assembly (120); and a keyboard assembly (110) rotationally coupled to the display assembly via a hinge (140) at a rear of the keyboard assembly, the keyboard assembly comprising: a housing (110 also being a housing); an information handling resource housed within the housing (col. 2. ll. 65-67, “The first body 110 may be a host computer, and electronic components (not shown, such as a central processing unit, a graphics chip, or a display chip) are disposed inside the first body 110.”); heat-rejecting media (130) housed within the housing and thermally coupled to the information handling resource, wherein a portion of the heat-rejecting media is located at the rear of the keyboard assembly (clearly seen in FIG. 1); and three air movers housed within the housing (3 fans can be seen in FIG. 1),; wherein the heat-rejecting media and the three air movers are arranged such that airflow exhausting from the three air movers flows proximate to surfaces of the portion of the heat- rejecting media located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, and such that the airflow exhausts from the rear of the keyboard assembly (via ventilation hatch 111 located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, see e.g. col. 3 ll. 7-11 “Correspondingly, a convection groove 111 for airflow to go through is disposed in the first body 110 to boost the circulation capability of airflow to enhance the heat dissipation capability.”)
Chen is silent as to the three air movers located inline with one another such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly.
Cheng in a similar endeavor teaches three air movers (271, middle three air movers) located inline with one another such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of a keyboard assembly (291).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the air movers of Cheng such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly as choice of design, to simplify and standardize production, to allow procurement to acquire in bulk fans of the same size, and to allow production to place fans in various housings with the same tolerances.
As to Claim 6, Chen discloses a method comprising: thermally coupling heat-rejecting media (130) to an information handling (resource) (col. 2. ll. 65-67, “The first body 110 may be a host computer, and electronic components (not shown, such as a central processing unit, a graphics chip, or a display chip) are disposed inside the first body 110.”) within a housing of a keyboard assembly (110) of an information handling system (100), wherein the keyboard assembly is configured to rotationally couple to a display assembly (120) via a hinge (140) at a rear of the keyboard assembly; and arranging the heat-rejecting media and three air movers (3 air movers seen clearly in FIG. 1) within the housing, such that a portion of the heat-rejecting media is located at the rear of the keyboard assembly (FIG. 1) and such that airflow exhausting from the three air movers flows proximate to surfaces of the portion of the heat-rejecting media located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, and such that the airflow exhausts from the rear of the keyboard assembly (via ventilation hatch 111 located at the rear of the keyboard assembly, see e.g. col. 3 ll. 7-11 “Correspondingly, a convection groove 111 for airflow to go through is disposed in the first body 110 to boost the circulation capability of airflow to enhance the heat dissipation capability.”)
Chen is silent as to the three air movers located inline with one another such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly.
Cheng in a similar endeavor teaches three air movers (271, middle three air movers) located inline with one another such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of a keyboard assembly (291).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the air movers of Cheng such that respective back edges at the respective exhausts of each of the three air movers are located a common depth from the rear of the keyboard assembly as choice of design, to simplify and standardize production, to allow procurement to acquire in bulk fans of the same size, and to allow production to place fans in various housings with the same tolerances.
As to Claims 3 and 8, modified Chen further teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 6, wherein a second portion of the heat-rejecting media is located between two of the three air movers (a portion of the heat rejecting media clearly seen dipping between the second and third air mover).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841