DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a CON of application 17/053,480 (now US 12,115,277) filed 6 November 2020 which is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2019/061011 filed 30 April 2019. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application EP18171026.0 filed 7 May 2018. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 13-19) in the reply filed on 9 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-8 and 13-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machado et al. (Journal of Nano Research Vol. 25 (2013) pp 67-76) in view of Sapieszko et al. (US 6,383,519).
Machado teaches a thin film composed of titanium nitride (TiN) doped with silver wherein the Ag ranges from 0-50 at% (abstract). The film can be used in the biomedical research area and, due to the low antibacterial activity of TiN alone, has the added benefit of antibacterial activity imparted by the Ag (pg 67, ¶2). The concentration of titanium is 99.96 at%, which is higher than the at% of silver (pg 68, ¶4). When the film is prepared and annealed at 500 ºC, Ag clusters form on the film’s surface at about 1 mm thick (pg 71, ¶2; Fig 6). Machado teaches that the overall coating thickness is also about 1 mm (id). Machado teaches their film as have a “self-lubricating” effect due to the silver on the surface, which is essential for tribological-based applications (pg 68, ¶1).
Machado does not teach the thickness of the thin film of 2.5-6 mm. Machado does not teach the thin film coated on an implant in a spinal implant or cage.
Sapieszko teaches that spinal implants such as cages can be coated with coatings such as titanium nitride (col 43, lns 20-28).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the thin film of Machado for use in biomedical applications wherein the film comprises TiN and silver deposits wherein the titanium is present in 99.96 at% and the silver ranges from 0-50 at%. When annealed at 500 ºC, the silver agglomerates at the surface of the film in clusters of approximately 1 mm. Regarding claim 5, the Applicant does not define the meaning of “stoichiometric TiN layer” and thus the prior art teaching of a titanium nitride coating is presumed to read on a 1:1 ratio of Ti to N and thus a stoichiometric amount. Regarding claim 8, the titanium is blended with nitride, therefore it is an alloy.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the spinal implant of Sapieszko and modify the TiN coating to be the TiN doped with silver coating of Machado, which is taught as being useful in biomedical applications. The added silver agglomerates of Machado provide additional anti-microbial and anti-infective properties to the coating as well as additional lubrication which can be necessary for an implant. Neither Machado nor Sapieszko recite oxide layers being present in their invention.
Regarding the thickness of the thin film, the art teaches the thickness to be about 1 mm, due to the many uses of the film including in biomedical applications, it would have been obvious to modify the thickness of the film. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the thickness can be viewed as a variable which achieves the recognized result of providing a desired film coating property to a surface. The optimum or workable range of film thickness can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized film thickness nonobvious. As such, the art renders obvious instant claims 1-8 and 13-19.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,277. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘277 claims are towards a coating composition comprising ceramic titanium nitride comprising 5-30 at% Ag, wherein the Ag is agglomerates in the range of 5-30 mm, and wherein a portion of the Ag agglomerates are exposed on the surface of the coating, and wherein there is no oxide layer between the implant and the coating. The instant claims recite the same limitations with broader ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613