Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13, 19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11-13, the recitation of “n3” and “m3” renders the claim ambiguous because “n3” and “m3” are undefined variables.
Regarding claims 19 and 25, the recitation of “L” enders the claim ambiguous because “L” is an undefined variable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-11, 13-16, 20-22 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Chen (US 2024.0404447).
Regarding claim 1, Chen disclose:
A display panel, comprising a plurality of preset regions, wherein a preset region of the plurality of preset regions comprises at least one first pixel (see Fig. 2, 4-6; plurality of preset blocks (e.g., block 1, 2, 3, etc. ) comprising at least one first pixel P (e.g., P1, P2, etc.))
when the display panel is in a first state, a data voltage received by the first pixel is related to a Gamma curve corresponding to at least one preset region adjacent to a preset region where the first pixel is located (see Fig. 2, 4-6; [0074-0079, 0120-0121]; in a first state, gamma curve of adjacent block determines data (correction) voltage to be received at the first pixel in the first region; where gamma curves are associated with each individual block).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the data voltage received by the first pixel is also related to: a Gamma curve corresponding to the preset region where the first pixel is located; and a grayscale value that is required to be displayed by the first pixel (see [0124]; where gamma voltage corresponding to grayscale value (gradation) of target pixel in target block is used in correction calculation)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
when the display panel is in the first state, at least two adjacent preset regions respectively correspond to different Gamma curves (see Fig. 8-9; [0120-0121])
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the preset region of the plurality of preset regions comprises a first region and a second region, wherein the first region is located on a side of the second region close to an adjacent preset region, and the first pixel is located in the first region; and the second region comprises at least one second pixel, and a data voltage received by the second pixel is related to: a grayscale value that is required to be displayed by the second pixel; and a Gamma curve corresponding to a preset region where the second pixel is located (see Fig. 4; [0084-0089, 0124]; where gamma voltage corresponding to grayscale value (gradation) of target pixel in target block is used in correction calculation and second pixel P2 is close to adjacent block 1, and block 1 determines which data voltage is received at second pixel P2)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
at least a portion of the second region in the plurality of preset regions comprises one second pixel (see Fig. 4; second pixel P2 in second region (block 2))
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the data voltage received by the first pixel is related to a Gamma curve corresponding to an associated preset region, wherein the associated preset region is adjacent to the preset region where the first pixel is located; and the second pixel is not located between the associated preset region and the first pixel (see Fig. 4; where first pixel P3, second pixel P2 and associated region for gamma curve is block 3, where p2 is not between p3 and block 3).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the data voltage received by the first pixel is related to Gamma curves corresponding to m3 associated preset regions; the preset region where the first pixel is located is adjacent to n3 preset regions, m3≤n3, and m1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and the associated preset regions are adjacent to the preset region where the first pixel is located (see Fig. 2, 4-6; [0074-0079, 0120-0121]; where m3=1, n3=2; first pixel P3 in preset region block 2 adjacent regions block 2 and block 1)
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the preset region where the first pixel is located is far from an edge of the display panel, and values of n3 and m3 corresponding to the first pixel satisfy: m3<n3 (see Fig. 4; first pixel P3 located ‘far from edge’ where m3 <n3).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the data voltage received by the first pixel is related to a Gamma curve corresponding to an associated preset region, wherein the associated preset region is adjacent to the preset region where the first pixel is located; and the data voltage received by the first pixel is also related to a distance between the first pixel and a second region in a reference preset region associated with the first pixel, wherein the reference preset region associated with the first pixel comprises the associated preset region corresponding to the first pixel and the preset region where the first pixel is located (see Fig. 4; [0084-0089, 0124]; where adjacent regions are determined based on location of first pixel’s distance to adjacent region)
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the distance between the first pixel and the second region in the reference preset region associated with the first pixel is a minimum distance between the first pixel and an edge of the second region in the reference preset region associated with the first pixel (see Fig. 4; [0084-0089, 0124]; where adjacent regions are determined based on location of first pixel’s distance to adjacent region
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
the distance between the first pixel and the second region in the reference preset region associated with the first pixel is a minimum distance between the first pixel and a center point of the second region in the reference preset region associated with the first pixel (see Fig. 4; [0084-0089, 0124]; where adjacent regions are determined based on location of first pixel’s distance to adjacent region and where central point of closer adjacent region would be closest to first pixel when determining adjacent region)
Regarding claim 20, Chen disclose:
A brightness compensation method for a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of preset regions (see Fig. 4-6)
determining an associated preset region corresponding to a target image pixel based on the target image pixel in a to-be-displayed image, wherein the associated preset region is adjacent to a preset region where a first pixel is located and the first pixel is required for displaying the target image pixel in the display panel (see Fig. 4; [0074-0079, 0120-0121]; preset region (e.g., block 2) with target pixel P (e.g., P2) located therein, where adjacent associated region (e.g., block 1) with first pixel P1 located and uses to determine a to-be-displayed grayscale (image))
obtaining an associated preset data voltage corresponding to the associated preset region based on a Gamma curve corresponding to the associated preset region; and obtaining a target data voltage at least based on the associated preset data voltage, wherein the target data voltage is a data voltage transmitted to the first pixel corresponding to the target image pixel when the to-be-displayed image is displayed (see Fig. 4; [0074-0079, 0120-0121]; where data (correction) voltage to be received based on gamma curve from associated region in order to correct (transmit voltage to) target pixel with to-be-displayed grayscale (image)).
Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
obtaining the associated preset data voltage based on the Gamma curve corresponding to the associated preset region, comprises: obtaining the associated preset data voltage based on a target grayscale value and the Gamma curve corresponding to the associated preset region, wherein the target grayscale value is a grayscale value of the target image pixel (see [0124]; where gamma voltage corresponding to grayscale value (gradation) of target pixel in target block is used in correction calculation).
Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
obtaining a target preset data voltage corresponding to a target preset region based on the target grayscale value and a Gamma curve corresponding to the target preset region, wherein the target preset region is a preset region where the first pixel is located, and the first pixel is required for displaying the target image pixel in the display panel (see Fig. 4; [0074-0079, 0120-0121]; where data (correction) voltage to be received based on gamma curve from associated region in order to correct (transmit voltage to) target pixel with to-be-displayed grayscale (image)).
obtaining the target data voltage at least based on the associated preset data voltage, comprises: obtaining the target data voltage based on each reference preset data voltage, wherein the reference preset data voltage comprises the target preset data voltage and the associated preset data voltage (see Fig. 4; [0084-0089, 0124]; where adjacent regions are determined based on location of first pixel’s distance to adjacent region)
Regarding claim 26, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
A chip, wherein the chip is used for executing the brightness compensation method according to claim 20 (see [0018]).
Regarding claim 27, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen further disclose:
A display device, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (see [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yamakawa (WO 2013.058260).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Chen is not explicit as to, but Yamakawa disclose:
when the display panel is in the first state, temperatures of at least two adjacent preset regions are different (see Fig. 7-10; pg. 8-9; regions A of display where temperature is measured; temperature of adjacent regions are different in the situation where the luminaces of each region differs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to combine the known techniques of Yamakawa to that of Chen to predictably provide correction of the gradation that may be more accurately determined based on the measured temperature differences of the display region ([pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 23, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated herein. While Chen at Fig. 2, 4-6, and [0074-0079, 0120-0121] provides for target preset regions and associated preset regions, it is not explicit as to, but Yamakawa disclose:
obtaining a Gamma curve corresponding to each reference preset region based on a temperature of each reference preset region (see Fig. 7-10; pg. 8-9; where different gamma curves of regions of the display are determined based on the measured temperatures by temperature sensors 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to combine the known techniques of Yamakawa to that of Chen to predictably provide correction of the gradation that may be more accurately determined based on the measured temperature differences of the display region ([pg. 9]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 17-18, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12, 19, and 25 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621